Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
25-09-2018, 14:10   #46
CiDeRmAn
Category Moderator
 
CiDeRmAn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Right next to my Towel, you Hoopy Frood!
Posts: 31,655
An ad popped up for the Playstation Classic, offering it for $49.99 with free worldwide shipping.
I smell a rat!
So, obviously, I didn't order!

I had it pre-ordered from Amazon but cancelled it, figured I'd give it a little time, pick it up in the new year.
CiDeRmAn is offline  
Advertisement
25-09-2018, 14:44   #47
Retr0gamer
Category Moderator
 
Retr0gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Brig City
Posts: 41,778
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inviere View Post
Are the PS1 downloads on PSN still 50hz over here??
Other than imports that never got a PAL release and a few exceptions like the Resi games, they are all 50Hz.
Retr0gamer is offline  
Thanks from:
25-09-2018, 14:45   #48
o1s1n
Registered User
 
o1s1n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: D1
Posts: 30,404
That's actually shocking.
o1s1n is offline  
Thanks from:
25-09-2018, 14:59   #49
DaveyDave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Dublin
Posts: 1,894
It's been a while since I played Bully on PS4 but if I remember it has a ghosting effect to it as if it's a PS2 on composite running on a HDTV. Looks like crap especially compared to what emulators can do. It also doesn't help that Bully Scholarship Edition on 360 is a better looking point of reference.

I think it's wise for them to have some sort of filters or anti-aliasing, rather than just standard emulation. I believe they say the PS2 Games are upscaled to 1080p but they don't look it.
DaveyDave is offline  
25-09-2018, 15:06   #50
Inviere
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2,976
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retr0gamer View Post
Other than imports that never got a PAL release and a few exceptions like the Resi games, they are all 50Hz.
Fookin' hell Sony Might try and preoder a US one of these, just in case...
Inviere is offline  
Advertisement
25-09-2018, 15:12   #51
Fieldog
Registered User
 
Fieldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: North Dublin
Posts: 7,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inviere View Post
Fookin' hell Sony Might try and preoder a US one of these, just in case...
I don't think they will be 50hZ in this day and age, are they that silly?

Everyone generally has 60hz capable HDTVs...

Nintendo didn't in fairness
Fieldog is offline  
25-09-2018, 15:15   #52
Inviere
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2,976
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fieldog View Post
I don't think they will be 50hZ in this day and age, are they that silly?

Everyone generally has 60hz capable HDTVs...

Nintendo didn't in fairness
If they just dump the EU roms from the EU PSN store onto the Classic, then yeah, Retr0 could be right and we'll end up with the 50Hz versions. You know your bad when Nintendo make you look bad.
Inviere is offline  
(2) thanks from:
25-09-2018, 15:36   #53
The Last Bandit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,053
I would imagine is more to do with legal/licensing and localisation issues, different regions may have had different contracts for the games when first issued and all those EU language localisations aren't available in the NTSC/J versions.

It would be a lot simpler for Sony to maintain as few SKU & firmware images as possible.
The Last Bandit is offline  
25-09-2018, 17:25   #54
Retr0gamer
Category Moderator
 
Retr0gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Brig City
Posts: 41,778
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fieldog View Post
I don't think they will be 50hZ in this day and age, are they that silly?

Everyone generally has 60hz capable HDTVs...

Nintendo didn't in fairness
Yeah surprised and glad Nintendo didn't. But also the developers of the NES and SNES mini hardware were European and knew our plight unlike previous VC iterations. Don't be surprised at how few ****s a US or JAP team gives about Europe. Also it looks like it's using Vita hardware and software so the easy thing to do is just port EU versions of the games.

They are still doing so on PSN with 50 Hz PS2 and PS1 games. I got Metal Slug anthology and it's 50Hz on PS4. and 50Hz causes frame pacing issues on Vita TV and PS4 so there's that to enjoy as well on a 60Hz display.
Retr0gamer is offline  
Advertisement
25-09-2018, 17:31   #55
Cake of Tremendous Power
Registered User
 
Cake of Tremendous Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1,085
Metal Slug Anthology on PS4 is completely unplayable. Never should've been released
Cake of Tremendous Power is offline  
25-09-2018, 18:26   #56
Retr0gamer
Category Moderator
 
Retr0gamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Brig City
Posts: 41,778
I at least got a refund for it.
Retr0gamer is offline  
26-09-2018, 00:47   #57
sugarman
Registered User
 
sugarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dublin
Posts: 6,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retr0gamer View Post
Yeah surprised and glad Nintendo didn't. But also the developers of the NES and SNES mini hardware were European and knew our plight unlike previous VC iterations. Don't be surprised at how few ****s a US or JAP team gives about Europe. Also it looks like it's using Vita hardware and software so the easy thing to do is just port EU versions of the games.

They are still doing so on PSN with 50 Hz PS2 and PS1 games. I got Metal Slug anthology and it's 50Hz on PS4. and 50Hz causes frame pacing issues on Vita TV and PS4 so there's that to enjoy as well on a 60Hz display.
That makes sense, its probably actually a PSTV in a new case! ...in which case id possibly be interested again
sugarman is offline  
03-10-2018, 19:32   #58
Inviere
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2,976
TheFloW working his magic yet again

https://twitter.com/theflow0/status/1047080495312506880
Inviere is offline  
03-10-2018, 19:58   #59
BadTurtle
Registered User
 
BadTurtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,100
Anyone any ideas when the rest of the games might be announced for this?
BadTurtle is offline  
04-10-2018, 01:06   #60
Doge
Registered User
 
Doge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Cork
Posts: 7,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inviere View Post
Managed to fix that corrupt data issue I had with my Vita after playing Kula World.

I just redownloaded VitaShell in the henkaku menu and all was resolved.

Quite handy that it's in the menu.
Doge is offline  
Thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet