Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

London 2012 Olympic Countdown

• Registered Users Posts: 16,100 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Interesting series, Dodge.

Michael Phelps has 14 gold and 2 bronze, so 16 in total, only 2 off the all-time record.

He's already qualified for 3 individual events at the US Olympic trials, and will easily add 6+ medals to his total. :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,113 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Interesting series, Dodge.

Michael Phelps has 14 gold and 2 bronze, so 16 in total, only 2 off the all-time record.

He's already qualified for 3 individual events at the US Olympic trials, and will easily add 6+ medals to his total. :eek:

I knew I'd get that wrong :o

Changed now. Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 3,076 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dan man

46---.29
    03--

38-43---30-33
    18-21---08-13
    05--

40-41
    28-31---20-23
    10-11

32----19

It's now 4 weeks to the Opening Ceremony of London 2012, the weeks are just flying by.
    We have already looked back at the various mascots used over the course of Olympic history....today it's the turn of the Olympic host city logo. Below I have posted pics of each Summer Olympic logo, my personal favourite being the Sydney 2000 logo....I think that it was really cleverly designed with a number of Australia specific motifs incorporated into it. What's your favourite? I have to say like most people I find the London 2012 logo really boring and uninventive. Montreal 1976 is one of my least favourites also.
    Note that the IOC use different emblems than the ones listed here for some of the early editions of the Games as there were no official logos in them. Instead I have included some of the promotional posters that were in widespread use for each of those Games. I've had to split the logos into two posts below as there is a limit of 15 images per post.

175px-Athens_1896_report_cover.jpg

200px-JOParis_1900.jpg

200px-1904summerolympicsposter.jpg

1908tt.jpg

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSRnej6Bsolf_-hS0WtPVnKb-B_4Z7pT-CzLUcXW4ijdI7di293

250px-1920_olympics_poster.jpg

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcR_Ji3_kRHTep6Bbw1B2k1pPx6GI7FrHbqHfY-Xk-GHn0_krb2u

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS0TqsAF6QbMCBSLEdiv-uPEsdMC4wceHrkTdIFkZO5ON4Xv8U7

200px-Los_Angeles1932_logo.png

220px-1936_berlin_logo.jpg

160px-Olympic_logo_1948.png

140px-Olympic_logo_1952.png

150px-Olympic_logo_1956.png

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTLilQz5MBBf0zubJn1Zz6ErSyUcvqid2VC2_DH2j5sDczjZFWV

150px-Tokyo_1964_Summer_Olympics_logo.svg.png

46---.29
    03--

38-43---30-33
    18-21---08-13
    05--

40-41
    28-31---20-23
    10-11

32----19

mexico-1968-logo.jpeg?m=1322415997

220px-1972_Summer_Olympics_emblem.svg.png

220px-Montreal_1976_Summer_Olympics_logo.svg.png

270px-1980_Moscow_Summer_Olympics_logo.png

200px-Los_Angeles_1984_Summer_Olympics_Logo.svg.png

150px-Seoul_1988_Olympics_logo.svg.png

200px-1992summerolympicslogo.svg.png

220px-1996_Summer_Olympics.svg.png

174px-Sydney_2000_Logo.svg.png

152px-Athens_2004_logo.svg.png

150px-Beijing_2008_Olympics_logo.svg.png

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ7KfrugqRblUeTqJCY7y4Z1eMEEtEmuoG2ScwG2h0ih1F4hFwXDQ

220px-Olympia_2016_-_Rio.svg.png

Excellent work being done by Dodge briefing each nation's Olympic history and hopes for 2012, perfect for this countdown thread....this thread has turned out well, getting us all into the Olympic spirit.
    I think it's time also that we opened up a separate thread for London 2012 Olympic related news. We can post all sorts of newsworthy topics there, be it related to athletes or controversies or whatever (positive and negative stories) and this thread can continue in the current format (more light-hearted with updates on preparations of the London organisers, and general good humoured posts such as those that have been posted already).

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭FitzjamesHorse

I have a terrible confession to make.....I am a stamp collector...mostly Irish stamps.
    In Dublin this week and An Post have published details of their 2012 Olympic stamps. Actually the design is a bit disappointing.
    Two stamps 55c & 82c will be issued on 19th July.
    The inscription on both is "London 2012 Foireann Éireann-Team Ireland.
    The 55c stamp features a stylised three athletes on podium with the winner with raised arms.
    The 82c stamp has "Eire... Ireland... London..2012 in four panels.

Ireland has been issuing Olympic stamps for every Games since 1972 and this is probably the most disappointing design I have seen.
    When Michael Carruth won his gold medal......I overprinted an Olympic boxing stamp with the word "Gold" and posted it to myself from Dublin.

The British Olympic stamps will be issued on (I think) the Opening Day. And although the initial outlay for stamp collectors wont be too much (just four stamps) the final bill could be quite a lot.
    The British Post Office have plans to issue "Winners" stamps on the following day for each British winner. This is a huge task. A template of the design is at six regional centres and when a winner is announced his/her name and event will be "magically" mixed with the template and printed and taken to 500 post offices in England, Wales, Scotland and "Northern Ireland" where they will be available 24 hours after the event.

Could prove expensive to collect every Olympic stamp........as Britain had 19 gold medalists last time and probably more this time.

46---.29
    03--

38-43---30-33
    18-21---08-13
    05--

40-41
    28-31---20-23
    10-11

32----19

dde6ba9f44384a4cb313ab9c86b8711c-b892f070fe6b4a3d889446e505390a2f-2.jpg

The Olympic village is now said to be ready to welcome the athletes of the 2012 London Games.
    The village will open its doors in a fortnight's time to welcome the first wave of Olympic athletes. The scale of the village and the facilities available to the athletes are quite remarkable.
    Athletes are set to be pampered during the Olympics with the main dining hall open 24-hours a day to cater for all, with unlimited portions free of charge, and they will be able to avail of free dental care as well as a hairdressers with free styling and shaves, a nail bar for the ladies, a non-alcoholic bar, a stage, a music studio (athletes can record their own music tracks!!) and a computer gaming area amongst some of the perks!!
    President of the International Olympic Committee, Jacques Rogge is opting to stay in the Olympic village on as many nights as possible to soak up the atmosphere in what will be his final Olympics in the role of President of the I.O.C.
    Here is a video link courtesy of the Guardian newspaper with an inside look at the Olympic village:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/video/2012/jun/30/olympic-village-video

46---.29
    03--

38-43---30-33
    18-21---08-13
    05--

40-41
    28-31---20-23
    10-11

32----19

Some of the latest pics of the torch relay:

1258005_M01.jpg

3924837.png

the-olympic-torch-relay-day-43-towards-dudley-and-bclm-10-1341077108-view-0.jpg

the-olympic-torch-relay-day-43-burton-to-tamwroth-5-1341049446-view-0.jpg

The torch left Birmingham today and will visit Coventry, Solihull, Redditch and hometown of William Shakespeare, Stratford-upon-avon. Just 26 days to go!!

46---.29
    03--

38-43---30-33
    18-21---08-13
    05--

40-41
    28-31---20-23
    10-11

32----19

We are now halfway through our Olympic Countdown Thread. This evening I will open a new thread where we can post and discuss Olympic news stories.

The BBC have released their title sequence/intro for their coverage of the 2012 Olympics. It's very well created but I'm not a big fan of animated titles for Olympics....I'd rather see clips of real sportsmen/sportswomen in action to bring us to the reality that the Olympic Games are upon us and give us a reminder of the kind of iconic scenes that the Olympics has in store for us.... but as animated sequences go then it's quite good.

Watch here and see what you think:

46---.29
    03--

38-43---30-33
    18-21---08-13
    05--

40-41
    28-31---20-23
    10-11

32----19

Here is the latest view of the Opening Ceremony stage for the July 27th spectacle.

article-0-13E44E46000005DC-344_964x569.jpg

Elsewhere, the London Olympic medals have been locked up in secure vaults in the Tower of London for safekeeping... the Tower being the secure location of other valuables such as the Crown Jewels.

Photos courtesy of the Daily Mail:

article-2168103-13E587F0000005DC-452_634x433.jpg

article-2168103-13E58FAD000005DC-951_634x424.jpg

article-2168103-13E589C7000005DC-697_634x538.jpg

46---.29
    03--

38-43---30-33
    18-21---08-13
    05--

40-41
    28-31---20-23
    10-11

32----19

We haven't seen too much of the Irish team costume that the athletes will sport for the Olympic Opening Ceremony.
    The Czech team costumes though have been showcased.... they may not be winning any golds for fashion sense but they'll certainly be clad suitably for the British weather if nothing else!! Take a look at their team costumes for the July 27th event:

149885.jpg

149883.jpg

1340898537_P201206280797301.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Dan, are you sure you haven't got things mixed up ? Surely that Czech outfit is for the ploughing championships?

feargale wrote: »
    Dan, are you sure you haven't got things mixed up ? Surely that Czech outfit is for the ploughing championships?

You'd think so but no that's the costume....I wonder will they actually go ahead with the wellies!! Shorts and wellies, did you ever see the likes of it!!? :D Sure if it does rain then all the water will run down their legs and gather in the wellies. We Irish will need to have a word with them to see what they're playing at! Maybe we can sort them out with a few waterproofs :pac:

I think this would do nicely as the Irish national uniform for our athletes, what you think? I think this accurately represents the Irish national costume anyway!

Green_PVC_All_Weather_Storm_Bib_Trousers.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Truman Burbank

1. Sir Roger Banninster
    2. Dame Mary Peters
    3. Sir Steve Redgrave

Very good stuff on the individual countries, Dodge. We await Africa and Europe.

You'd think so but no that's the costume.... Not so much Bloomsday as Bloomersday!

I think this would do nicely as the Irish national uniform for our athletes, what you think? Looks more like the Saudi Arabian women sprinters' running kit!

feargale wrote: »
    Very good stuff on the individual countries, Dodge. We await Africa and Europe.

Cheers. It'll be next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭K_1

1. Sir Roger Banninster
    2. Dame Mary Peters
    3. Sir Steve Redgrave

I'd say it'll be Redgrave.

46---.29
    03--

38-43---30-33
    18-21---08-13
    05--

40-41
    28-31---20-23
    10-11

32----19

Speculation is still swirling as to who will carry the Irish flag at the Opening Ceremony on July 27th.

Sonia O'Sullivan will be the one to decide who gets the honour of Irish flag bearer (she herself was Irish flag bearer in Sydeny 2000).
    She says that gender will not come into the decision (in response to being made aware that women have dominated the role in the last few editions) but that it will be awarded on merit and she will take into account factors such as when the athletes are due to compete and wether they want to take up the honour or not.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/olympics-2012/irish-news/katie-taylor-tipped-to-carry-flag-for-ireland-squad-at-olympics-opening-ceremony-3159252.html

Also, the Irish team costume has been showcased and athletes will not have to wear blazers this time for the opening ceremony and have instead opted for a more casual uniform.
    Officials however will retain the blazers and slacks:

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2012/0704/breaking46.html

"Fourteen of the chosen athletes modelled the gear themselves in catwalk fashion, to aptly chosen music the Clash’s ‘London Calling’.
    Each athlete modelled a different outfit, which included parade outfits, casual wear and performance wear."

Presumably, this is somewhere in the back row, unless we're not sending them to The Opening Ceremony in tracksuits?! I don't think Katie Taylor would take up an offer to be The Flag Bearer - arm strain. Am going for Rob Heffernan

Paddy Barnes is actively lobbying for it.

Dodge wrote: »
    Paddy Barnes is actively lobbying for it.

More on Barnes here as you mention him. http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/olympics/18719665

46---.29
    22----06
    03--

38-43---30-33
    18-21---08-13
    05--

40-41
    28-31---20-23
    10-11

32----19

There are now just 3 weeks to go until the start of the London Olympics and with that the third ring in our countdown clock is now complete.

With the Olympics fast approaching and the Irish Olympic team almost finalised I will be preparing individual profiles on each team member and am hoping to have them ready in the next week or so.

In the mean time here are some useful links courtesy of The Score to catch up with some of those who are on the Irish Olympic team with a review of their prosects:

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/london-2012-introducing-aileen-morrison-511070-Jul2012/

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/london-2012-introducing-tori-pena-510553-Jul2012/

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/london-2012-introducing-caitriona-jennings-509881-Jul2012/

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/london-2012-introducing-annalise-murphy-508518-Jul2012/

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/scott-evans-london-2012-ireland-olympics-507594-Jul2012/

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/london-2012-introducing-sanita-puspure-507139-Jul2012/

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/london-2012-introducing-michael-conlan-503598-Jun2012/

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/deirdre-ryan-olympics-london-2012-profile-high-jump-501869-Jun2012/

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/olympics-london-2012-barry-murphy-swimming-profile-ireland-breaststroke-501629-Jun2012/

46---.29
    22----06
    03--

38-43---30-33
    18-21---08-13
    05--

40-41
    28-31---20-23
    10-11

32----19

Today we will look at some Olympic records that are long overdue a revision in two show-case sports (athletics and swimming) and the prospects of those long-standing records being broken this summer in London.

Athletics:
    • Men's Long Jump: Bob Beamon 8.90m (Mexico City 1968). This is the oldest Olympic record of all the events on the current athletic programme. When you consider that the gold medal in London could well be won with a jump in excess of just 8.30m, Beamon's 44-year Olympic record should be more than safe this year and could last another 44 years! Beamon's jump in Mexico was seen as a freak of nature at the time. Given the fact that this record was set at altitude and Beamon enjoyed perfrect wind-conditions on this jump coupled with the fact that the current generation of long jumpers are getting nowhere near the kinds of distances to challenge Beamon's leap then this record could stand for a life-time, it is that extra-ordinary. It is still the second-longest legitimate long jump in the history of the sport. Chance of seeing a new Olympic Record: less than 1%!
    • Men's 3,000m Steeplechase Record: Julius Kariuki 8:05:51mins (Seoul 1988). Kariuki's time in Seoul was just over a tenth of a second outside the then world record in the event but since then the men's steeplechase record has progressed quite substantially. His Olympic record time is still a very decent time especially in a championship environment where fast times aren't always possible. Nevertheless, you would think that there is a good prospect that this record could be broken this year in London. Chance of seeing an Olympic record: strong chance.
    • Men's Shot Put: Ulf Timmermann 22.47m (Seoul 1988). As with most of the records set by East Germans at a time when there was a state-sponsored system of doping in sport there will always be a question mark over the performances of those athletes. However, not to dwell on this discussion, is there any chance that this Olympic record could be surpassed in 2012? The answer is yes but it is fairly unlikely. The distance that Timmermann threw for Olympic gold in Seoul has been beaten sparingly in recent years....most recent throws over this distance came from a trio of Americans: Adam Nelson (22.51m) in 2002, Kevin Toth (22.67m) in 2003 and most recently Christian Cantwell (22.54m) in 2004 and whom will be competing in London. So it is not beyond the realms of possibility in this fairly competitive event that someone can surpass Timmermann's record but it would take a monumental effort. Chance of seeing a new Olympic record: not likely
    • Men's Hammer: Sergey Litvinov 84.80m (Seoul 1988). This record isn't as quite out of reach as some of the other throws but it is still fairly unlikely that we will see a new record in London. Ivan Tsikhan has a season's best of 82.81m and in the past has gone within 1cm of the world record. Chance of seeing a new Olympic record: not likely.
    • Women's 800m: Nadezhda Olizarenko 1:53.43mins (Moscow 1980). The second fastest time in history and you can't see this being beaten in London. Although Pamela Jelimo of Kenya has not been too far off this standard in the past, in a championship environment I just cannot foresee any circumstance in which this time will be bettered in London. Chance of seeing a new Olympic record: highly unlikely.
    • Women's Shot Put: Ilona Briesenick 22.45m (Moscow 1980). There isn't a hope in hell that this record will be challenged in London when you consider that Valerie Adams who has been dominating the event over the last few years has a comparable P.B. that is over 1m below Briesenick's mark. Chance of seeing a new Olympic record: less than 0.01%!!.
    • Women's 100m: Florence Griffith-Joyner 10.62secs (Seoul 1988). This is another record that comes under a lot of scrutiny and is the third fastest time in history. Reigning Olympic champion, Shelley-Ann Fraser-Price has posted an impressive 10.70secs this year and is coming into awesome form just before the Olympics. It is still unlikely that she can dip under 10.62secs in London but it isn't beyond possibility. Carmelita Jeter too has a P.B. of 10.64secs so it is within range for her if she hits absolute top-form at the Olympics. Chance of seeing a new record in London: possible but to date only Flo-Jo has run this fast.
    • Women's 200m: Florence Griffith-Joyner 21.34secs (Seoul 1988). Still stands as the 200m world record and there is no way this record will go in London. Allyson Felix who is many people's pick for gold has set a P.B. this year of 21.69secs, well over 3 whole tenths outside of Flo Jo's record. Chance of seeing a new Olympic record: not likely.
    • Women's 1,500m: Paula Ivan 3:53.96mins (Seoul 1988). This time is outrageously beyond the reach of the current crop of runners in an ideal race including pace-makers so there is even less of a chance that they can produce a fast-enough time in a non-paced Olympic final scenario. Chance of seeing a new Olympic record: not likely.
    • Women's Long Jump: Jackie Joyner-Kersee 7.40m (Seoul 1988). Her mark of 7.40m has only been beaten once since then (Tatyana Kotova jumped 7.42m in 2002) so there is nothing on the cards to say that this record won't last at least another Olympic cycle and probably much much longer. Chance of seeing a new Olympic record: less than 1%.
    • Women's Heptathlon: Jackie Joyner-Kersee 7,291 points (Seoul 1988). An incredible record and no one since Jackie Joyner-Kersee has got within range of her records. When you consider that the gold medal winner in London will likely finish more than 200 points behind her total from Seoul 1988 you can safely say that this record will be intact post 2012. Chance of seeing a new Olympic record: less than 1%.

In swimming, there are only 2 records that remained intact after the completion of competition in Beijing 4 years ago.
    • Men's 400m Freestyle: Ian Thorpe 3:40.59mins (Sydney 2000). This record is likely to be consigned to history this year as last year's World Championship in 400m free won that race in a faster time than Thorpe's Olympic record. It's not going to be a formality though as it is a very tough record. Chance of seeing a new Olympic record: very good chance.
    • Women's 100m Butterfly: Inge de Bruijn 56.61secs (Sydney 2000). There is a decent chance that this record will not survive another 4 years as Dana Vollmer was comfortably inside this time range at the U.S. trials this month and you would think she will go even faster in London. Chance of seeing a new Olympic record: very likely.

46---.29
    22----06
    03--

38-43---30-33
    18-21---08-13
    05--

40-41
    28-31---20-23
    10-11

32----19

Another batch of pictures of the Olympic Park from an aerial view:

Olympic Rings on Tower Bridge:
    _61326769_towerbridge.jpg

_61326771_tower42.jpg

The beach volleyball court and practice areas being constructed at the Horse Guards Parade:
    _61326707_beachvolleyball1.jpg

_61326709_beachvolleyball2.jpg

The hockey venue at the Riverbank Arena:
    _61326713_hockey2.jpg

The Orbit Tower that will be openened to the public with panoramic views of the Olympic Park:
    _61326767_orbitlarge.jpg

Olympic Park:
    _61326715_olympicpark2.jpg

_61349243_aerialpark976549.jpg

Olympic Stadium illuminated at night:
    0707013-thumb450x.jpg

46---.29
    22----06
    03--

38-43---30-33
    18-21---08-13
    05--

40-41
    28-31---20-23
    10-11

32----19

If. like me, you enjoy looking at medals tables then maybe you'll be interested in this. I have compiled a virtual Olympic medals table based on results from the most recent World Championships in each sport.
    Some sports were a little problematic as it wasn't as simple as just using the most recent medalists at World Championships events. For example tennis was problematic as there are no official World Championships so I instead combined World rankings with results at the 4 most recent Grand Slams to come up with three medalists (I must update it after Wimbledon).
    Football was another that was a little problematic as there is no official U-23 World Cup event so the medals I had to use for it (FIFA World Cup 2010) aren't in any way accurate.
    Table tennis and badminton are a little different too at World level in that 2 bronze medals are awarded per event whereas in the London Olympics there will be bronze medal matches to determine who wins bronze.
    Apart from those snags, it was a straight-forward process to attribute the medals.

However, it is important to note that the table is not aimed at predicting the outcome for London 2012 events. It may give a small indication as to how each country can expect to perform but itis more a fact based table with medals based on most recent World Championships performances.

Rank |Nation|Gold |Silver| Bronze|Total
    1 | China |44 |31 |28 |103
    2 | United States| 37| 19| 26| 82
    3 | Russia |31| 23| 27 |81
    4 | Great Britain | 21| 28| 14| 63
    5 | Germany| 15| 19| 20| 54
    6 | Japan| 14| 12| 15| 41
    7 | Australia| 13| 17| 7| 37
    8 | France | 13| 16| 16 |45
    9 | Italy| 13| 7 |14| 34
    10 | Kenya| 7| 6| 4| 17
    11 | Brazil | 7| 5| 5| 17
    12 | Iran |7 |3| 5| 15
    13 | South Korea |6 |6| 17| 29
    14 | New Zealand |6 |4| 9| 19
    15 | Belarus |5 |5| 7| 17
    16 | Hungary |5 |4| 4| 13
    17 | Ukraine |5 |3| 8| 16
    18 | Azerbaijan |4 |4| 7| 15
    19 | Jamaica |4 |4 |1| 9
    20 | Greece |4 |2 |1| 7
    21 | Netherlands |3 |7 |5| 15
    22 | Spain| 3 |2 |13| 18
    23 |Canada |2 |10| 5| 17
    24 | Kazakhstan| 2| 7| 7 |16
    25 | Poland| 2| 7| 3| 12
    26 | Turkey| 2| 5| 3| 10
    27 | Cuba| 2 |4| 6| 12
    28 | Czech Republic| 2| 4| 4| 10
    29 | Serbia |2 |3| 2| 7
    30 | Slovakia | 2| 2| 2| 6
    31 | Norway | 2 |2| 1| 5
    32 | Bulgaria| 2 |1| 2| 5
    33 |Austria| 2| 0| 0| 2
    34 | Sweden | 1| 3| 3| 7
    35 |Denmark| 1| 2| 5| 8
    36 |Uzbekistan| 1| 1| 4| 6
    37 |India |1| 1| 3| 5
    38 |Lithuania| 1| 1| 2| 4
    39 |Romania| 1| 0| 6| 7
    40 |Ethiopia | 1| 0| 4| 5
    41| Belgium | 1| 0| 2| 3
    41| Slovenia| 1| 0| 2| 3
    43| Ireland | 1| 0| 1| 2
    43| Israel |1 |0| 1| 2
    45| Argentina| 1| 0| 0| 1
    45| Botswana | 1| 0| 0| 1
    45| Chile |1 |0| 0| 1
    45| Grenada | 1| 0| 0| 1
    49| Croatia |0| 2| 5| 7
    50| Georgia |0| 2| 4| 6
    51| South Africa| 0| 2| 3| 5
    52| Chinese Taipei |0| 2| 1| 3
    53| Puerto Rico| 0 |2| 0| 2
    54| Switzerland | 0| 1| 4| 5
    55| North Korea| 0| 1| 1| 2
    55| Thailand |0| 1| 1| 2
    57| Estonia |0| 1| 0| 1
    57| Malaysia| 0| 1| 0| 1
    57| Montenegro |0 |1| 0| 1
    57| Portugal |0| 1| 0| 1
    57| Saudi Arabia| 0| 1| 0| 1
    57| Singapore |0| 1| 0| 1
    57| Sudan| 0| 1| 0| 1
    57| Tunisia |0| 1| 0| 1
    65| Indonesia |0| 0| 3| 3
    66| Colombia |0 |0| 2| 2
    66| Finland |0| 0| 2| 2
    66| Mexico |0| 0| 2| 2
    66| Mongolia |0| 0| 2| 2
    66| Morocco |0| 0| 2| 2
    66| Saint Kitts and Nevis |0| 0| 2| 2
    66| Tajikistan |0| 0| 2| 2
    73| Afghanistan| 0| 0| 1| 1
    73| Armenia |0| 0| 1| 1
    73| Bahamas |0| 0| 1| 1
    73| Cyprus |0| 0| 1| 1
    73| Dominican Republic |0 |0| 1| 1
    73| Hong Kong| 0| 0| 1| 1
    73| Kuwait |0| 0| 1| 1
    73| Latvia |0| 0| 1| 1
    73| Moldova |0| 0| 1| 1
    73| Nigeria |0| 0| 1| 1
    73| Trinidad and Tobago| 0| 0| 1| 1
    73| Vietnam |0| 0| 1| 1
    73| Zimbabwe |0 |0| 1| 1

• Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭knockcon

Dan man wrote: »

46---.29
    22----06
    03--

38-43---30-33
    18-21---08-13
    05--

40-41
    28-31---20-23
    10-11

32----19

Today we will look at some Olympic records that are long overdue a revision in two show-case sports (athletics and swimming) and the prospects of those long-standing records being broken this summer in London.

Athletics:
    • Men's Long Jump: Bob Beamon 8.90m (Mexico City 1968). This is the oldest Olympic record of all the events on the current athletic programme. When you consider that the gold medal in London could well be won with a jump in excess of just 8.30m, Beamon's 44-year Olympic record should be more than safe this year and could last another 44 years! Beamon's jump in Mexico was seen as a freak of nature at the time. Given the fact that this record was set at altitude and Beamon enjoyed perfrect wind-conditions on this jump coupled with the fact that the current generation of long jumpers are getting nowhere near the kinds of distances to challenge Beamon's leap then this record could stand for a life-time, it is that extra-ordinary. It is still the second-longest legitimate long jump in the history of the sport. Chance of seeing a new Olympic Record: less than 1%!
    • Men's 3,000m Steeplechase Record: Julius Kariuki 8:05:51mins (Seoul 1988). Kariuki's time in Seoul was just over a tenth of a second outside the then world record in the event but since then the men's steeplechase record has progressed quite substantially. His Olympic record time is still a very decent time especially in a championship environment where fast times aren't always possible. Nevertheless, you would think that there is a good prospect that this record could be broken this year in London. Chance of seeing an Olympic record: strong chance.
    • Men's Shot Put: Ulf Timmermann 22.47m (Seoul 1988). As with most of the records set by East Germans at a time when there was a state-sponsored system of doping in sport there will always be a question mark over the performances of those athletes. However, not to dwell on this discussion, is there any chance that this Olympic record could be surpassed in 2012? The answer is yes but it is fairly unlikely. The distance that Timmermann threw for Olympic gold in Seoul has been beaten sparingly in recent years....most recent throws over this distance came from a trio of Americans: Adam Nelson (22.51m) in 2002, Kevin Toth (22.67m) in 2003 and most recently Christian Cantwell (22.54m) in 2004 and whom will be competing in London. So it is not beyond the realms of possibility in this fairly competitive event that someone can surpass Timmermann's record but it would take a monumental effort. Chance of seeing a new Olympic record: not likely
    • Men's Hammer: Sergey Litvinov 84.80m (Seoul 1988). This record isn't as quite out of reach as some of the other throws but it is still fairly unlikely that we will see a new record in London. Ivan Tsikhan has a season's best of 82.81m and in the past has gone within 1cm of the world record. Chance of seeing a new Olympic record: not likely.
    • Women's 800m: Nadezhda Olizarenko 1:53.43mins (Moscow 1980). The second fastest time in history and you can't see this being beaten in London. Although Pamela Jelimo of Kenya has not been too far off this standard in the past, in a championship environment I just cannot foresee any circumstance in which this time will be bettered in London. Chance of seeing a new Olympic record: highly unlikely.
    • Women's Shot Put: Ilona Briesenick 22.45m (Moscow 1980). There isn't a hope in hell that this record will be challenged in London when you consider that Valerie Adams who has been dominating the event over the last few years has a comparable P.B. that is over 1m below Briesenick's mark. Chance of seeing a new Olympic record: less than 0.01%!!.
    • Women's 100m: Florence Griffith-Joyner 10.62secs (Seoul 1988). This is another record that comes under a lot of scrutiny and is the third fastest time in history. Reigning Olympic champion, Shelley-Ann Fraser-Price has posted an impressive 10.70secs this year and is coming into awesome form just before the Olympics. It is still unlikely that she can dip under 10.62secs in London but it isn't beyond possibility. Carmelita Jeter too has a P.B. of 10.64secs so it is within range for her if she hits absolute top-form at the Olympics. Chance of seeing a new record in London: possible but to date only Flo-Jo has run this fast.
    • Women's 200m: Florence Griffith-Joyner 21.34secs (Seoul 1988). Still stands as the 200m world record and there is no way this record will go in London. Allyson Felix who is many people's pick for gold has set a P.B. this year of 21.69secs, well over 3 whole tenths outside of Flo Jo's record. Chance of seeing a new Olympic record: not likely.
    • Women's 1,500m: Paula Ivan 3:53.96mins (Seoul 1988). This time is outrageously beyond the reach of the current crop of runners in an ideal race including pace-makers so there is even less of a chance that they can produce a fast-enough time in a non-paced Olympic final scenario. Chance of seeing a new Olympic record: not likely.
    • Women's Long Jump: Jackie Joyner-Kersee 7.40m (Seoul 1988). Her mark of 7.40m has only been beaten once since then (Tatyana Kotova jumped 7.42m in 2002) so there is nothing on the cards to say that this record won't last at least another Olympic cycle and probably much much longer. Chance of seeing a new Olympic record: less than 1%.
    • Women's Heptathlon: Jackie Joyner-Kersee 7,291 points (Seoul 1988). An incredible record and no one since Jackie Joyner-Kersee has got within range of her records. When you consider that the gold medal winner in London will likely finish more than 200 points behind her total from Seoul 1988 you can safely say that this record will be intact post 2012. Chance of seeing a new Olympic record: less than 1%.

In swimming, there are only 2 records that remained intact after the completion of competition in Beijing 4 years ago.
    • Men's 400m Freestyle: Ian Thorpe 3:40.59mins (Sydney 2000). This record is likely to be consigned to history this year as last year's World Championship in 400m free won that race in a faster time than Thorpe's Olympic record. It's not going to be a formality though as it is a very tough record. Chance of seeing a new Olympic record: very good chance.
    • Women's 100m Butterfly: Inge de Bruijn 56.61secs (Sydney 2000). There is a decent chance that this record will not survive another 4 years as Dana Vollmer was comfortably inside this time range at the U.S. trials this month and you would think she will go even faster in London. Chance of seeing a new Olympic record: very likely.

Nice summary of records with longevity.
    Sally Pearson Is threatening the women's 100 meter hurdle world record with every run. The record set in 1988 is 12.21 and was in a time when there was a cloud of suspicion around the eastern Europe athletes drug practices. It hasn't been threatened since. Pearson has clocked 12.28 and barring a fall is roaring hot favorite to win gold.

46---.29
    22----06
    03--

38-43---30-33
    18-21---08-13
    05--

40-41
    28-31---20-23
    10-11

32----19

The 2012 tournament may just have come to an end but the Wimbledon tennis courts are already undergoing a busy revamp just in time for the start of the Olympic tennis tournament.
    In keeping with the colour theme across other sporting venues, the tradiotonal dark green canvas backstops of the Wimbledon courts are being replaced by those displaying the customary purple brand of the 2012 Olympic competitions. There will only be 12 playing courts at the Olympic competition as opposed to the 19 used during Wimbledon.

2012-07-09T165929Z_416106837_LM1E8791B4E01_RTRMADP_3_OLY-TENNIS-WIMBLEDON.JPG

439x.jpg

614288574.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,988 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Just on your medals table Dan, I see that BBC Radio 5 have gone for 95 medal in total for GB at the games (including 14 in athletics). Surely even home advantage couldn't swing that many events in their favour?

Yes I think 95 medals is way too optimistic. For that too happen they would need to medal in every event in which they are only an outside bet for a medal. 75 medals is possible I suppose, I don't see them getting near 95 though.