Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Martial Arts photographic & video thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 498 ✭✭Damo W

Karate Shotokan – 1946 Demonstration of Shotokan Karate in Japan - film was made by Donn. F. Draeger.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RWVROgQI_FI

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jKdmTonRwJ8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

TommyOHarafamily.jpg

Here's four generations of Judo on the mat!.

The grey haired man is Tommy O'Hara, to his left is his son Bernard (Ben) O'Hara, holding Tommy's Great-Grand daughter (3) and to Tommy's right is Ben's son Karl (Tommy's grandson!).

All are wearing white Judogi.

The photo was taken at last Tuesdays practice - sorry about the poor quality I've scanned it from a paper print.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Some Spanish friends doing what they do:

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 37,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭Khannie

God damn....that looks painful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

I recently had the pleasure of watching a Judo training session at the Kodokan judo institute in Tokyo Japan. Unfortunately I'd just missed a 2nd dan and above only tournament a few days before hand. Never the less it was very interesting to watch. No rendori, which was a bit shocking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭104494431

Keysi Fighting Method

dynamuduhyqesyhyqaqepuremutetabu.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Right Said Fred on the day they split up :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

I'm not the world's biggest fan of kata myself (particularly Empi :p), but it's hard not to be impressed by Shinji Nagaki's example of the explosive style of the JKS:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭MaeveD

Mauro... he's just wow!

Judo training at Trinity, I'll do one for Jujutsu when I get the chance.

Posh Judo in Trinners!.

To posh to breakfall. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 479 ✭✭Furious-Dave

FruitLover wrote: »
    I'm not the world's biggest fan of kata myself (particularly Empi :p), but it's hard not to be impressed by Shinji Nagaki's example of the explosive style of the JKS:

That is impressive :) Always nice to see.

My contribution to this thread is some really old footage of Kyokushin vs Muay Thai. From what I understand though, this is pre-Kyokushin. Rawee vs. Kenji Kurosaki (co-founder of Kyokushin-Kai)

Some great Judo Newaza in this clip (who needs BJJ /opens can of worms :) )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Some great Judo Newaza in this clip (who needs BJJ /opens can of worms :) ).

Didnt Rick Young teach Neil Adams BJJ in exchnage for his Judo?

Killme00 wrote: »

No idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭judomick

Killme00 wrote: »
    from what i remember of his biography he just decided to concentrate on ne-waza, he entered some wrestling comps when he was young, but back then bjj was unheard of in europe

ive heard a tale also that rickson and royce turned up at one of his seminars in the usa

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭lukeyjudo

Nice vid! :D Flavio Canto there, the Brazilian at the start is a bjj bb also afaik...

judomick wrote: »
    from what i remember of his biography he just decided to concentrate on ne-waza, he entered some wrestling comps when he was young, but back then bjj was unheard of in europe

ive heard a tale also that rickson and royce turned up at one of his seminars in the usa

Yeah Neil Adams is one of my all time favorite judo players, he always had brilliant stand up but he lost a contest early on in his career on the ground where he got pinned and he then vowed never to beaten on the ground again haha! He developed an amazing ground work game at the time and was equally dangerous on his feet or on the ground and he ended up winning the World Champs against the Japanese opponent with his own juji gatame technique that he developed over the years (and which I hounded him to teach me everything about it whenever I got to train with him! :D ). He never trained BJJ as judomick said bjj was unheard of in Europe at that time!

Also its true the Gracies either invited Neil to teach them his armlock technique or else turned up at a seminar, you can find the full details in an interview on judoinfo.com.

Edit : Here's Neils armlock...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RTiaFCgLKwk#watch-main-area

• Registered Users Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Judomad

Posh Judo in Trinners!.

Careful you dont rip my armani tshirt under my judogi :)

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭Pingu

Posh Judo in Trinners!.

I see they've been working on their Jigotai stance :rolleyes:

Pingu wrote: »

What is that meant to mean precisely?

Pingu wrote: »
    Boston wrote: »

Just very defensive I guess.

Happy thoughts lads, eh!.

As for the Judoka in the white hot pants :P

Shrug; Thats probably in relation to me towards the end. It's how I roll when fighting a black belt.

As for the guy in hot pants, he had come up from the gym and hadn't intended taking part, but the coach threw him in for a warm up.

This is himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭Pingu

Boston wrote: »

Precisely? Calm down there Bosco! Too early for a full explanation, need more coffee, probably should of put in smiley of some sort.

Jigotai Stance is generally a problem with beginners in Randori, they treat it like Shiai, too worried about being thrown rather than just attacking freely. More often than not they end up looking like too prop forwards.

If the sound track wasn't on you'd hear the coach giving out yards about that.

This time Goliath won!.

attachment.php?attachmentid=95641&stc=1&d=1257765830

To put it into context, I'm 6'2'' and hit the scales at 116.7kgs at the weigh in.

This guy is 2m 13cm (no idea in feet & inches) and 130kgs lean!.

He was a mountain!.

One more, on the mat with the monster from Berlin

attachment.php?attachmentid=95651&stc=1&d=1257770982

:o

This time Goliath won!.

He was a mountain!.

One more, on the mat with the monster from Berlin

attachment.php?attachmentid=95651&stc=1&d=1257770982

:o

LOL He certainly wasnt small! Fair play! :)

lukeyjudo wrote: »
    LOL He certainly wasnt small! Fair play! :)

This one is blurred, but puts his size into context..

I'm 6'2'' and 116kgs!.

attachment.php?attachmentid=95714&stc=1&d=1257810770

Some filming which was shot out in Portmarnock Judo club for the 2009 Judo for Peace festival.

/Yes, I'm in it a few times!.