Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Let's hear your Music !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Max Cohen

a version of imogen thomas - the song that never was
    as always with my stuff it still needs a good mixing and general kick up the hole

http://www.filefreak.com/pfiles/89565/imogen.mp3

ps it takes a few seconds to load but try a little patience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Aridstarling

Hey, I've never put anything up here before but my band and I have managed to get a couple of songs recorded to make up a demo. The drums, bass, acoustic guitar, keys and vocals were tracked in my home studio setup in Offaly, the electric guitars were recorded (in a rather more dodgy fashion) using a tempermental Zoom H4 in a kitchen in Maynooth. The whole lot was mixed in the home setup too.

http://www.myspace.com/Aridstar

If anyone gets a chance to listen and comment that would be great. Criticism is very much appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Maccattack

I have a new track called Towards The Sun My Little Warrior up on myspace.

You will find it Here

Let me know what you think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭paulg1770

i was messing with this song its still a demo but it would be coolif you had a listen http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D5yBxhM5cu8

• Registered Users Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

Recorded this track yesterday, leaning slightly toward the movie scoring genre...

http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/234895

• Registered Users Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Rockshamrover

jebuz wrote: »
    Recorded this track yesterday, leaning slightly toward the movie scoring genre...

http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/234895

A very nice piece of music. The Orchestral parts were beautiful. What did you use for these parts?

Very melancholy.

A very nice piece of music. The Orchestral parts were beautiful. What did you use for these parts?

Very melancholy.

Thanks a lot, I used a VST called Eidirol Orchestra for the strings and cello, very good plugin!

Tuff Break wrote: »

Lovin your stuff man, bigtime.
    what vst sequencer are you using?

Thanks a lot, I used a VST called Eidirol Orchestra for the strings and cello, very good plugin!

Really nice sound but unfortunately it doesn't work in Logic.

Did you use it in Pro Tools?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

lookin for honest opinions, i produce in a range of 'styles' but mostly ambient.
    ive made a good few tracks over the past week. i program all the synths(no presets), same as the beats and everything else. no sample loops used

the 2nd track on my page was made on friday evening, i got some nice piano sample sets, i had to draw in the notes because my midi keyboard is in storage.

thanks to anyone who has a listen,

colm
    where did the link go?
    www.myspace.com/frictionfire

• Registered Users Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

where did the link go?
    www.myspace.com/frictionfire

Being careful here 'cos Ambient is a genre close to my heart in many ways both as a practitioner and fanatical listener. First off, anyone who includes Biosphere among their influences is off to a good start in my book anyway. As far as Ambient goes the work is fine and technically it pushes many of the right buttons. I'd not be objective enough here to address mix quality on the basis of a myspace listen so won't go down that road. If I had a negative to mention it would follow along the lines of one of those already posted on your myspace page. Emotion. I think it's of benefit to any musician working in the area of Ambient to spend some time deeply considering some themes that have a personal meaning for them. Not necessarily spiritual but to paraphrase the artist Kandinsky, any abstract art that ignores the spiritual becomes little more than a neck tie pattern. Much Ambient is pretty much by numbers and many seasoned practitioners joke about the holding down one key album. In the case of your music I feel (correctly or otherwise) that it does not address something that matters deeply to you and spending some time exploring some themes would add a huge depth to your music and bring it to another level that may with luck, perseverance, perhaps meditation and some other variables help give it a unique identity.

For homework :p I'd suggest spending some time listening to the freely available download of 'The Circular Ruins - Retrospective' by Paul Anthony Kirby : http://www.dataobscura.com/APK/releases.htm for some insight as to someone currently producing beautiful Ambient that's got personality jumping out all over the place. Perhaps also consider the stuff that inspires the artists you like. Geir Jenssen (Biosphere) is easy to fathom, well his music is anyway. Geir himself is an interesting character (his advice to me was never use didgeridoo in my music) in that Nordic kind of way. Perhaps pick a theme/concept and explore it over the course of an album. In my case it's journeys across Australia. I know Geir is currently looking at the music of Shostakovitch which is tres cool. Prior to that, when I met him he was exploring the sound of the Tuba. You will remember he also did some work around the music of Debusy a few years ago.

Hope that provides some grub for thought. Stick with it all though. Am happy to chat Ambient via email/Pm that sort of thing. Party on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

old gregg wrote: »
    Being careful here 'cos Ambient is a genre close to my heart in many ways both as a practitioner and fanatical listener. First off, anyone who includes Biosphere among their influences is off to a good start in my book anyway. As far as Ambient goes the work is fine and technically it pushes many of the right buttons. I'd not be objective enough here to address mix quality on the basis of a myspace listen so won't go down that road. If I had a negative to mention it would follow along the lines of one of those already posted on your myspace page. Emotion. I think it's of benefit to any musician working in the area of Ambient to spend some time deeply considering some themes that have a personal meaning for them. Not necessarily spiritual but to paraphrase the artist Kandinsky, any abstract art that ignores the spiritual becomes little more than a neck tie pattern. Much Ambient is pretty much by numbers and many seasoned practitioners joke about the holding down one key album. In the case of your music I feel (correctly or otherwise) that it does not address something that matters deeply to you and spending some time exploring some themes would add a huge depth to your music and bring it to another level that may with luck, perseverance, perhaps meditation and some other variables help give it a unique identity.

For homework :p I'd suggest spending some time listening to the freely available download of 'The Circular Ruins - Retrospective' by Paul Anthony Kirby : http://www.dataobscura.com/APK/releases.htm for some insight as to someone currently producing beautiful Ambient that's got personality jumping out all over the place. Perhaps also consider the stuff that inspires the artists you like. Geir Jenssen (Biosphere) is easy to fathom, well his music is anyway. Geir himself is an interesting character (his advice to me was never use didgeridoo in my music) in that Nordic kind of way. Perhaps pick a theme/concept and explore it over the course of an album. In my case it's journeys across Australia. I know Geir is currently looking at the music of Shostakovitch which is tres cool. Prior to that, when I met him he was exploring the sound of the Tuba. You will remember he also did some work around the music of Debusy a few years ago.

Hope that provides some grub for thought. Stick with it all though. Am happy to chat Ambient via email/Pm that sort of thing. Party on.
    thanks for the detailed critique. im not sure about the emotion part, music has mostly been an escape/self therapy for when i was ill. maybe i dont put the emotional tracks on my myspace but ill check into that.

there are a few tracks i have that i would consider uplifting with a kind of epic/big sound that reach a crescendo, its like a release from frustration, i build up the sound and then it explodes with open filters and harmonics.
    im about to go fulltime with production and give it the attention it deserves, my problem has always been putting in the best effort i am capable of. and i need to use a midi keyboard, i guess the problem with drawing piano notes by hand is that u miss out on some of the emotion perhaps. again thank you, i will read over what u said again later on today

colm

• Registered Users Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

that's cool Colm. Yep, drawing notes with a computer keyboard or mouse is sure gonna dampen much of the spontaneity, emotion and feeling in the music. :)

Really nice sound but unfortunately it doesn't work in Logic.

Did you use it in Pro Tools?

I'm using a program called Reaper, It's a low end sequencer but does the job for me. I'm considering moving onto something else as there are a few issues with the MIDI recording in it, also it's quite limited if you want to share your project for mastering or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 444 ✭✭franklyshocked

Its only an edit / Remix rather than an original piece of music but I think it works, plus I had to map it to the Video too so there..... ;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WIXvwNuL1Cs

It'll probably be removed for copyright infringement by the time I post this so get to it quickly!

I'm using a program called Reaper, It's a low end sequencer but does the job for me. I'm considering moving onto something else as there are a few issues with the MIDI recording in it, also it's quite limited if you want to share your project for mastering or something.

Thanks Jebuz,

I will have to look else where for decent orchestral sounds.

Good luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 46 Heinlein

Just started exploring FM synthesis recently. A few tracks (terribly downgraded quality-wise by MySpace, of course) that probably belong to different genres but I have no idea which exactly:

http://www.myspace.com/mojubamusic

There's one track I'm especially proud of, "April 16", where I used mostly my own sounds built "from scratch" on FM8. Can share these FM8 presets with everyone who likes them. One track is kind of "offbeat" here - "Perfect-square window", which uses acoustic instruments.

I'm no musician myself, no musical background other than hard listening for many-many years. But it doesn't mean you can't criticize me ;)

what are you using for your kicks?

Heinlein wrote: »
    Just started exploring FM synthesis recently. A few tracks (terribly downgraded quality-wise by MySpace, of course) that probably belong to different genres but I have no idea which exactly:

http://www.myspace.com/mojubamusic

There's one track I'm especially proud of, "April 16", where I used mostly my own sounds built "from scratch" on FM8. Can share these FM8 presets with everyone who likes them. One track is kind of "offbeat" here - "Perfect-square window", which uses acoustic instruments.

I'm no musician myself, no musical background other than hard listening for many-many years. But it doesn't mean you can't criticize me ;)

Nice. Fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭flyswatter

This is just a short ambient track I made. Please let me know what you think of it. :)

http://www.zshare.net/audio/59809887deae8a3b/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Haroldo

This is my band from Greystones Co. Wicklow.

We've been goin for a few months now and recorded a few thangs for you beautiful people to indulge in! 'Vietnam' seems to be the preferred choice to people we've talked to but if you could give me a bit of feedback that would be lethal!

http://www.myspace.com/trainstheband

Cheers.:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭frobisher

Max Cohen wrote: »

I get my kicks off bags of glue.

• Registered Users Posts: 46 Heinlein

Max Cohen wrote: »

If the question was for me... it's NI Battery, gives me all sorts of kicks :) But man, MySpace turns it into crap, or I just don't know how to produce music which will sound Ok even when crapified so terribly.

Haroldo wrote: »
    This is my band from Greystones Co. Wicklow.

We've been goin for a few months now and recorded a few thangs for you beautiful people to indulge in! 'Vietnam' seems to be the preferred choice to people we've talked to but if you could give me a bit of feedback that would be lethal!

http://www.myspace.com/trainstheband

Cheers.:pac:
    Very good for only a few months together. Vietnam is my preferred one too. The vocals are very low in the mix (that may be intentional)

Keep at it lads.

• Registered Users Posts: 16 badger06

New EP "Nightfall" on SeedyR including Edwin James Remix.
    http://www.myspace.com/seedyr
    Enjoy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

IamJJ wrote: »
    This is my first single attempt

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Ayydp7q_yA&fmt=18

done on my digi002.

Let me know what yis think.

Cheers,

JJ

excellent work mate , best ive seen / heard so far

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭paulg1770

heres my first recorded song, cheers http://www.myspace.com/pauljoseph1770

• Registered Users Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭eoin5

Howdy, new amateur production: http://www.last.fm/music/ColinAndEoin/Phasers+on+Stunning/Funky+Sexy+Rock+And+Roll

Looking for comments on the mix, song, tips etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭dav nagle

http://www.myspace.com/popstarstudios

I recorded this ladies voice on Friday, she has never stepped foot into a recording studio or ever recorded her voice, she was crying on playback, very cool that music can do that.

I will upload some band stuff in the future and thanks for listening!

D