Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Fostering a pup?

• 16-05-2019 2:49pm

Both myself and the other half work 9-5ish during the week, with herself on a 4-day while I'm Mon-Fri.

I've always wanted to get a dog, but wouldn't feel right leaving them in the house/garden for, essentially, 10 hrs a day. My brother's solution was to get 2 dags so they'll keep each other company, but I'm not sure I'm ready for that. I looked at adopting an older dog from <snip> etc, one who would be more settled and less destructive, perhaps even glad of a bit of peace and quiet after living in one of the rehoming centres.

Anyway, while doing a bit of research I noticed that they are always looking for homes to foster puppies before they get their jabs etc. I have a 6-week holiday from work coming up, where I'll be at home all day every day and would have the time to be able to devote my attention full time. I'm seriously considering doing this and just wondering if anyone has done this previously?

Any advice on what to look out for, rookie mistakes to avoid, top tips I might not have thought about? I suppose, if I'm being honest, I harbour a hope of adopting the pup in the long run. At least if I am that way inclined at the end of the fostering period, the dog would be well acclimatised to the house and garden and the routine and all that.

Any advice greatly appreciated.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭cocker5

Both myself and the other half work 9-5ish during the week, with herself on a 4-day while I'm Mon-Fri.

I've always wanted to get a dog, but wouldn't feel right leaving them in the house/garden for, essentially, 10 hrs a day. My brother's solution was to get 2 dags so they'll keep each other company, but I'm not sure I'm ready for that. I looked at adopting an older dog from <snip> etc, one who would be more settled and less destructive, perhaps even glad of a bit of peace and quiet after living in one of the rehoming centres.

Anyway, while doing a bit of research I noticed that they are always looking for homes to foster puppies before they get their jabs etc. I have a 6-week holiday from work coming up, where I'll be at home all day every day and would have the time to be able to devote my attention full time. I'm seriously considering doing this and just wondering if anyone has done this previously?

Any advice on what to look out for, rookie mistakes to avoid, top tips I might not have thought about? I suppose, if I'm being honest, I harbour a hope of adopting the pup in the long run. At least if I am that way inclined at the end of the fostering period, the dog would be well acclimatised to the house and garden and the routine and all that.

Any advice greatly appreciated.

what a sensible approach OP!

with a 6 weeks break it would be the perfect time to look at fostering / adopting.. def contact some of your local shelters and make some enquires... what I would do is though loo to the future IF you do adopt a dog.. 10 hours a day / 5 days a week is FAAAR too long .. maybe break it up with a dog walkers 2/3 times per week that would come in and take the dog out for an hour... or doggies day care 2 days per week this would make it much easier on the dog.

when looking at fostering / adopting you need to be clear on what your expectations are... some dogs need lots of exercise, some don't.. some are super clever and need mental stimulation .. some not so much. the rescue centre can assist you on this.

the costs associated with owing a dog... decent food, bedding, insurance, toys, treats, kennel, beds, kennelling (while on holidays), vaccinations, other vets bills,, grooming etc - not trying to put u off just things to consider

Fostering is a great idea - helps the dog and rescue centre and also helps try and see if the situation works for you all..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Choc Chip

If you aren't happy leaving a pup along for 10 hours, I don't think 6 weeks to settle in will help. You'd need to think about what cocker said above and decide whether you're happy for your pup to possibly learn all sorts of potentially fun, disruptive and damaging behaviors while you're not around. I'd still think about an older dog and if you look at other rescues, there are plenty of older dogs looking for fostering.

I mostly foster adult dogs as I like my possessions and I have an inability to put away shoes (even when I know a dog is prone to eating them). I would love 6 weeks to foster a pup and if it's your first try:

1. Research what you should be doing, try your best, and don't beat yourself up when it goes wrong and the pup accidentally eats something it shouldn't or learns something wholly inappropriate (like deciding that socks are the best toy ever and eating holes in every sock it finds).

2. Puppies pee. Learn their routine , take them out after sleeping and eating, and STILL cover everything with old blankets if you're bringing them up with you on the sofa/bed (no one wants to be urgently steam-cleaning the sofa before their partner gets home).

3. Teach a pup to have some alone time with a chew and build this up slowly, even when you're home. It's a huge shock for them if you've been there all day for 6 weeks and then go back to work. This is probably a less expensive lesson to learn with a pup rather than an adult GSDx…

4. Don't immediately give them access to the whole house. They're somewhere new - if you're not supervising contain them in a playpen or crate. Don't give them an opportunity to make bad choices and learn that the sofa/table/dining room chair is edible.

I'm sure more embarrassing / stupid / expensive mistakes I've made while fostering will come to mind.

That is all gold, choc chip, exactly the sorta stuff I'm looking for.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭aonb

What about volunteering at a shelter - there might be one close enough to where you live, to go there every day of your 6 weeks holiday, and walk dogs, spend time with them, play with them etc - you could help with day-to-day chores etc, and get to see whats involved.

If youre working 9-5, unless you can get home during lunchtime, thats just too long for a puppy to be alone all day - it would even be a stretch for an adult dog to be left alone all day every week.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

aonb wrote: »
    What about volunteering at a shelter - there might be one close enough to where you live, to go there every day of your 6 weeks holiday, and walk dogs, spend time with them, play with them etc - you could help with day-to-day chores etc, and get to see whats involved.

If youre working 9-5, unless you can get home during lunchtime, thats just too long for a puppy to be alone all day - it would even be a stretch for an adult dog to be left alone all day every week.

Great idea. and much needed :)

Update:

So, we got the call a lot earlier than expected. Someone found Amanda wandering on the road without so much as a collar on her. She was taken in but too young to have had all her shots, so couldn't be around other dogs. They needed someone at short notice and we said we'd foster Amanda and look after her.

492265.jpeg

We fell for her immediately. A very clever, affectionate Staffador (lab x staffie), she's unbeleiveably playful and inquisitive.

492266.jpeg

After a bit of early issues with toilet training, we managed to get her into a routine and she now sits at the back door waiting to be let out to do her business. She's very independent for such a young pup, doesn't whine or bark much. But loves company from adults, kids and other dogs alike. Mad for exploring and checking everything out, almost to the point of distraction. I suppose all pups are like that but she is super inquisitive.

492267.jpeg

After a week or so we brought her back to get her final jabs and had to make a decision on whether or not to keep her.....there was only one way that decision was gonna go.

492268.jpeg

I was off for the 6 weeks and got her used to her collar, harness, lead, being petted, socialising with our neighbour's and family's dogs etc. We then took her to training in Santry to a place called Little Wags dog school. Easily the best money I've ever spent. The tips and tricks we picked up are worth their weight in gold.

492269.jpeg

Since I've been back in work, Mrs $hifty has been able to look after her two days a week and we leave her in doggy day care (more socialising) the other three. The advice given earlier in the thread about getting her used to being on her own, even when we are in the house, is invaluable.

Small things like that which we have expanded into other areas to train her psychologically and prevent bad habits forming. We go to the dog park in St. Annes often (even more socialising), and we started improving her recall. I started putting her back on the lead, even though we weren't leaving yet, so she doesn't equate the lead with a bad experience (i.e. going home).

We're looking into the next level of training now, as she's picked up a few tricks but still needs to improve her recall. Overall, though, an incredibly rewarding experience and couldn't recommend it enough if anyone is on the fence and thinking about it.

I've a million more photos if anybody is interested.

492270.jpeg

492271.jpeg

492272.jpeg

492273.jpeg

Few more pics.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

This is so lovely, it's brightened my day!

Congrats OP, and well done to you for giving her such a loving home.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,020 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Amanda!! :pac: I love it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Wonderful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

She's gorgeous, fair play.

• Registered Users Posts: 539 ✭✭✭bertsmom

That is so gorgeous OP. Ye sound like amazing doggie parents who spent some time researching before ye made the decision.
    I love the name and Amanda looks like one gorgeous happy dog.
    Wishing ye all a lifetime of happiness together