Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What does the word "dose" mean in Irish slang?

• 27-09-2012 6:03pm
    Registered Users Posts: 49

There's this facebook page called "Looking at someone and thinking "god you're a DOSE" What does it mean in this context?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

You're an idiot, fool, etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I wonder where it comes from?

Is it a variant on "dosey" - as in "ye dosey bollix" (dozey)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

I always used in the context of

I got right dose of flu or the runs

• Registered Users Posts: 9,708 ✭✭✭lertsnim

There's this facebook page called "Looking at someone and thinking "god you're a DOSE" What does it mean in this context?

Must say that I never heard it used in that context.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

But that's the actual meaning of the word.
    a substance, situation, or quantity of anything analogous to medicine, especially of something disagreeable: Failing the exam was a hard dose to swallow.

The meaning and context of the word in the OP is a bit different, I think.

although, yeah, I can see

"Oh God, you're a DOSE" - could "Oh god, you're a dose of very horrible stuff"

• Registered Users Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

lertsnim wrote: »
    Must say that I never heard it used in that context.

Maybe we is no longer down with the young folk

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,247 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Haven't heard it used in that context in years, but it was a pretty common insult when I was a kid in the 70s.

• Registered Users Posts: 391 ✭✭Realtine

disease..... you're a right disease so ya are.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

Maybe we is no longer down with the young folk

Innit though!