Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Garda new recruits in 2020

• 03-04-2020 7:53pm
    Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭

Anyone when the their on new recurits in 2020 l heard thier dating on 800 this year am not getting any luck with the prision service am after faling 2 times that this point trying to join the service

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭St. Westy

Dean2020 wrote: »
    Anyone when the their on new recurits in 2020 l heard thier dating on 800 this year am not getting any luck with the prision service am after faling 2 times that this point trying to join the service

not recruiting this year

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18 Phillip D

St. Westy wrote: »
    not recruiting this year

Will be around late April I heard from a family member but could be bit later with everything going on at the moment, they will definitely be recruiting they need to for the next few years anyway .

Phillip D wrote: »
    Will be around late April I heard from a family member but could be bit later with everything going on at the moment, they will definitely be recruiting they need to for the next few years anyway .

well a super told me he predicts the planned 2020 campaign will be postponed with all that's happened, but I hope there is a campaign as im currently waiting to go to college below

• Registered Users Posts: 3 Slce0395

Heard from a family member in the college also that it’s expected to be in April/May but with all that’s going on it could be delayed, but it is anticipated to go ahead this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Slce0395 wrote: »
    Heard from a family member in the college also that it’s expected to be in April/May but with all that’s going on it could be delayed, but it is anticipated to go ahead this year

Considering that the accommodation block in Templemore was given over to the HSE to use as a patient facility recruitment will not be a priority. Also the recent recruits who were invested will have to return and complete their training.

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭Dean2020

Dunno rather tho to join the garda reserve maybe get bit experince will do be good cause l no fist time around applying for gardas is hard to get in first time l think maybe stick it out in garda reserves for a while and look for job for the time been l dunno yet what am going to do still have time to think.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,420 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

The reserves aren't recruiting.

*posted on the Garda recruitment page on facebook*

When can the next Garda Recruitment campaign be expected?

This is a common question we have been receiving. As we are a private education company that specialise in providing preparation courses for the Garda selection tests, and are not affiliated with the official Garda recruitment process, we can only give general information.

Budget 2020 suggested that the force aimed to deliver up to 700 new Garda recruits in 2020. It was therefore anticipated that there would be a recruitment campaign in the Spring of this year (2020). Understandably however, the unfolding Covid-19 situation will likely have an impact on this. Unfortunately we do not currently have any information on when the next Garda Recruitment Campaign will take place.

However, for those interested in our preparation courses, our Garda Stage 1 online preparation course is currently available to book. This course includes all the Stage 1 Garda test styles that have been used in previous campaigns including the most recent campaign last year.

There is absolutely no disadvantage to advanced preparation and the current situation means that candidates booking this course now will likely have longer access than any previous campaign as the date / time frame of the launch of the next campaign is unknown. If you are interested in finding out more about this course please see here: https://careerservices.ie/garda-stage-1/online-course

In addition, we are still taking sign ups for our Free Job Alert Service which we will use to notify those on the list when we hear of a new campaign.

If you would like to sign up to this you can do so here: https://careerservices.ie/job-alert-service

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 90 ✭✭Macu17ab

Dean2020 wrote: »

Hi Dean,

I haven't heard anything new in a few months regarding the Garda recruitment. I would reccomend using career services to practive for the Garda exam, as that exam and process is actually harder than the prison service exam in my experience.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 JackHiker1995

Anyone hear any developments? The Army have begun their officer recruitment campaign for this year so I'm hoping there will be an update on the Gardaí campaign.

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭Ciano1997

The 2019 Garda Trainee Recruitment campaign continues. 125 Garda Trainees entered the college on 10 February 2020. I n response to the current crisis, further intakes for 2020 were adjusted i.e. 75 candidates have been offered a place to commence their training on 25 May 2020. It is envisaged that a second class of 75 will commence on 22 June 2020, bringing the total commencing to 275 in 2020. If the targets for 2020 and 2021 remain in place, a new recruitment campaign will be advertised later in the year. Preliminary work has commenced with PAS to ensure that if it is required, both organisations will be in a position to progress without delay.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 sprogs085

Sorry to jump on the band wagon. With Covid restrictions I did psychometric testing first and passed. I was in Cork last week for fitness and interview which I did well in. They sent an email with link to Garda vetting which I completed as did the other lads. They got date for medical I haven’t heard anything. Just wondering would they mail me either way Thanks
    Army post

sprogs085 wrote: »
    Sorry to jump on the band wagon. With Covid restrictions I did psychometric testing first and passed. I was in Cork last week for fitness and interview which I did well in. They sent an email with link to Garda vetting which I completed as did the other lads. They got date for medical I haven’t heard anything. Just wondering would they mail me either way Thanks
    Army post

Not being smart but This is for Garda recruits not army recruits we have no idea what the structure of the army recruitment is , no fitness and medicals are taking place of yet for the guards ,

Did you pass your interview and fitness ? As you just said you done well in them , which indicates you havnt got a result yet , maybe they havnt reached your number in the order of merit yet ,
    If it’s the same as the guards ? If you pass interview , you are guaranteed a fitness test and then if you pass that then a medical

• Registered Users Posts: 18 ConorAFH

Hey guys it’s Jsut been announced in the budget that 600 trainee Garda are to be recruited in 2021

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭Ciano1997

This was taking from “ GRA” recent report.. There has been a long-standing commitment to increase the size of the Garda organisation to 21,000 by the centenary of An Garda Síochána, in 2022. We welcome the Minster’s commitment to implementing the plan as evidenced by the continued recruitment programme,” Mr Mulligan said... obviously they’ll be more recruitment drives to increase the force up to 21,000 by 2022 .. hope this is promising