Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Information on soldiers in WW1

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Maverick88

British War medal!!!! That's one of them.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,911 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Maverick88 wrote: »
    British War medal!!!! That's one of them.

Well be nice to your uncle and ask him if you can see it and check if his number is engraved on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭Meathgirl

enfeild wrote: »
    I collect war dead databases. email me
    museumtom@hotmail.com

Just wondering if you know anything about a Michael O'NEill from Athboy, Co. Meath. I know nothing more about him only that he may have been a cook in the army
    Born in 1899 and died at home in Meath on 11/4/1952.

I have no idea how to search military records.... nor do i know what regiment he was in.... I only have sketchy info from relatives.
    He had shot fired over his coffin in 1952.

Maybe you might know where i could go looking for info.
    He was my grand uncle....

Thanks karen

if you know anything, post here or mail me at karengmasterson@gmail.com

arnhem44 wrote: »
    I hope some of these maybe of some help.

www.1914-1918.net ( The Long Long Trail,back ground research to start off)

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/documentsonline/medals.asp#medalsindex (Medal Cards,Pension Records,Discharge Papers,Medal Rolls,Medical Records,etc.)

www.cwgc.org (Casaulty Search,Free of Charge)

www.icrc.org/eng/contact-archives (International Redcross,P.O.W Records,Family only I think)

http://www.redcross.org.uk/standard.asp?id=3423 (Voluntary Aid Detachement, V.A.D,The Redcross keep there own records of there own Personnel)

www.irishwarmemorials.ie (Listing all memorials around Ireland with a full researchable list of names that are on them)

www.ukniwm.org.uk (British Memorials)

www.southafricawargraves.org ( South African War Graves commission)

www.naa.gov.au/collection/explore/defence/conflicts.aspx (Australian National Archives)

http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/databases/cef/index-e.html (Canadian National Archives)

http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/a.../020152_e.html (Canadian Diary Entries)

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/documentsonline/help/abbreviations-rank.asp (Abbreviations of Rank)

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/documentsonline/help/Abbreviations-unit.asp (Abbreviations of Unit)

http://www.military-genealogy.com/productHome?product=ww1 (Soldiers Died In the Great War,Subscription Based)

http://www.greatwar.ie/ire_batir2.html (Royal Dublin Fusiliers)

http://1914-1918.invisionzone.com/forums/ (Great War Forum)

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/pathways/firstworldwar/service_records/sr_soldiers.htm (Back ground Information)

http://homepage.eircom.net/~tipperaryfame/twardead.htm (Tipperary Casualty List)

http://www.esatclear.ie/~curragh/casualty.htm (Kildare Casualty List)

http://baseportal.com/cgi-bin/baseportal.pl?htx=/research/WW1&localparams=1 (Dublin Casualty List)

http://www.irishidentity.com/extras/hidden/stories/armistice.htm (Longford Casualty List)

http://www.thegenealogist.co.uk/wardead.php (research Site)

http://www.irishsoldiers.com/index.htm (Military Heritage Trust Of Ireland)

http://www.connaughtrangersassoc.com/ (Connaught Rangers)

http://www.ww1battlefields.co.uk/index.html (Battlefield Back Ground)

http://www.westernfrontassociation.com/ (Western Front Association)

http://www.eneclann.ie/acatalog/ENEC016_-_World_War_1_Irish_Soldiers.html (Irish Casaulty and Wills CD-Rom's)

http://www.connaughtrangers.co.uk/ (Connaught Rangers/UK)

http://www.vaugh.co.uk/sih/ (South Irish Horse)

http://freespace.virgin.net/sh.k/xvidiv.html (16th Irish Division)

http://www.dungarvanmuseum.org/exhibit/web/Display/article/136 (Waterford Museum)

http://www.ww1cemeteries.com/In%20memory/In%20Memory%20Ext/roll%20of%20honour%20dedications/roll_of_honour_dedications.htm (WW1 Cemeteries Roll Of Honour)

http://www.shotatdawncampaignirl.org/ (Shot At Dawn Campaign)

http://royalmunsterfusiliers.net/ (Munster Fusiliers)

http://kildare.ie/hospitality/historyandheritage/athyheritage/ww1.htm (Athy Heritage Including Kildare Casualty List)

http://www.2ndbattalionroyalulsterriflesreenactmentgroup.webeden.co.uk/#/36th-ulster-division/4528915153 (36th Ulster Division)

http://www.movinghere.org.uk/galleries/roots/irish/irishrecordsuk/soldiers.htm# (Back ground Info)

http://republic-of-ireland.britishlegion.org.uk/ (Royal British Legion in Ireland)

http://www.rmfa92.org/Links.htm (Royal Munster Fusiliers Association)

http://www.ww1photos.com/index.html (WW1 Soldiers Photo Archive)

http://www.btinternet.com/~prosearch/tomspage19.html (P.O.W Info)

thanks for posting all the above!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭JohnThomas09

Meathgirl wrote: »

Just wondering if you know anything about a Michael O'NEill from Athboy, Co. Meath. I know nothing more about him only that he may have been a cook in the army
    Born in 1899 and died at home in Meath on 11/4/1952.

I have no idea how to search military records.... nor do i know what regiment he was in.... I only have sketchy info from relatives.
    He had shot fired over his coffin in 1952.

Maybe you might know where i could go looking for info.
    He was my grand uncle....

Thanks karen

if you know anything, post here or mail me at karengmasterson@gmail.com
    You could try www.cwgc.org but iof you dont know his regiment number,it could be like searching for a needle in a haystack.Was he buried here or in the UK?

sounds strange that a WW1 vet would have shots fired over his grave here.

You could try www.cwgc.org but iof you dont know his regiment number,it could be like searching for a needle in a haystack.Was he buried here or in the UK?

sounds strange that a WW1 vet would have shots fired over his grave here.

Sorry, He's not a WWI vet, He was an irish soldier!!!! Sorry didnt read your post right! Yes he is buried here home in Athboy

Meathgirl wrote: »
    Sorry, He's not a WWI vet, He was an irish soldier!!!! Sorry didnt read your post right! Yes he is buried here home in Athboy
    Sorry I presumed.I dont think there is any records for Irish soliders,pity really.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭arnhem44

Hey lads.im back again looking for another bit of help.I have gathered information on 30 men from my area that served in WW1.

I know want to trace their descendants so that I can get more information on these men.My local genealogy centre may be able to help but they charge 5.00euro a record,so if I was to reserach all 30 it would end up being very expensive.

Can anyone think of anywhere esle records like Marriage,Baptismal and Death records can be viewed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 johnny_doyle2

1911 census would be the best starting point

http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/

It's possible to look at the people in a town/village/road so you may get quite a few pieces from there.

If you PM me some of the names/numbers etc I can look up Ancestry to see if there are any service records etc or some family trees. GenesReunited is a good source for hunting down family trees in UK & Ireland too but be aware that some of the terms and conditions of such sites hide living relatives for privacy reasons.

1911 census would be the best starting point

http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/

It's possible to look at the people in a town/village/road so you may get quite a few pieces from there.

If you PM me some of the names/numbers etc I can look up Ancestry to see if there are any service records etc or some family trees. GenesReunited is a good source for hunting down family trees in UK & Ireland too but be aware that some of the terms and conditions of such sites hide living relatives for privacy reasons.
    i have the census records at home.Thats where i got the name of these guys parents and siblings.
    I also have access to Ancestry but their is no family tree for any of them.

I was wondering if I can access Parish records locally.Im going see the priest tonight to see if thats possible.

sounds like you've got this project well in hand.

its well on the way but Id like to speak to reltions of these men.They may have medals or stories that would be great help.

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭celtboy1888

Name:
    McNAMEE, PATRICK
    Initials:
    P
    Nationality:
    United Kingdom
    Private
    Regiment/Service:
    Irish Guards
    Unit Text:
    2nd Bn.
    Date of Death:
    30/09/1915
    Service No:
    Additional information:
    Son of the late John and May McNamee.
    Casualty Type:
    Commonwealth War Dead
    Grave/Memorial Reference:
    Panel 9 and 10.
    Memorial:
    LOOS MEMORIAL

can anyone come up with anymore info??

[/CENTER]

SDGW has him as a resident of West Hartlepool, County Durham; enlisted Middlesborough.

1914-15 Star, VM and BWM awarded but no address info on his medal card. Entered France with the 2nd Batt 17/8/1915. No service record on Ancestry. No entry in Ireland's WW1 casualties.

Does not appear to be on the West Hartlepool War Memorial
    http://www.wigginton-york.co.uk/Hartlepool/panel08.jpg

He is on the memorial for Middlesborough (the entry just repeats the info you already have)
    http://www.ww1-yorkshires.org.uk/pdf-files/bob%20coulson/mbro-war-memorial-m.pdf

Irish Guards records were not stored with the main batch of service records so were not amongst those damaged during the Blitz. You should be able to get a copy of his service record from the Irish Guards and this will be your best bet for more information.

Aged 27 at time of death puts his birth approx 1888. There is a Patrick McNamee b1889 in Tyrone on the 1901 census in the north of England with parents John and Mary (rather than May but possible shortening).

No May McNamee in the Irish 1911 census that matches. No May McNamee in the 1901 England/Wales census that matches. No death found in Engand/Wales for May McNamee from 1915 to 2005. Too many John McNamee's in the death records for England pre 1922 (I think it was about/from this date the CWGC records were accumulated so the father may have been alive after Patrick's death).

thanks for that..i also have a medal of his..will root it out and post the reg nr..and i have a medal belonging to a pvt john kileen ...now there are no such family in my town or area..but i would love to hand this medal back to the family..if you can help..mail me and ill send on all the info i have..

brnmcnamee@yahoo.ie

thanks

are you related to Patrick McNamee?

Just checked Ancestry for John Kileen but nothing listed on the medal rolls. Are you able to post a photo of the medal and ribbon (and the edging if the name/number/unit are visible).

ye he was my great grand father...this medal and info is all we have on him...no other family memory's..as for pvt killeen..here is jis medal nr>

royal scots..26254

mcnamee> RIR fusiliers 21020

great war 1914-1919

no ribbon on either of them.

searched on the number and found him as Killeen rather Kileen. 13th Royal Scots. 1915 Star, VM and BWM. Marked "Pres Dead"

2 lots of service record info. Enlisted Greenock 30/7/1915. Missing 27/2/1917. PResumed Dead 12/4/1917. Mother Elizabeth; brother William (aged 24 in 1920). both living in Greenock.

http://www.cwgc.org/search/casualty_details.aspx?casualty=781820

Medal card for 21020 Patrick McNamee shows RIF, awarded VM and BWM. No service record that I can see.

Patrick NcNamee Irish Guards does appear in Ireland, Casualties of World War I, 1914-1918 as does 21020 Patrick McNamee - 7/8th Battn RIF; KIA 1/1/1917; born Galway. (CWGC gives date of death as 31/12/1916)

2 lots of service record info. Enlisted Greenock 30/7/1915. Missing 27/2/1917. PResumed Dead 12/4/1917. Mother Elizabeth; brother William (aged 24 in 1920). both living in Greenock.

He shows up in the 1901 Scottish census with the following family :

William Killeen 45
    Lizzie Killeen 35
    John Killeen 8
    William Killeen 5
    Thomas Killeen 1 month

He was living at 164 Dempster Street when he signed up.

There's still a Killeen living in Greenock - maybe worth sending a letter ?

P Killeen
    26 Canmore Crescent, Greenock, PA16 7LX

wow guys...thanks a million!! keep up the good work!;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1 davidkilleen

Hi there, William Killeen jnr from the 1901 Census is my Grandfather, haven't been able to find too many details on his brother John other than he was born on 31/05/1892 and died in action on 12/04/1917 can't find any info on any children.
    Thomas Killeen died at 6 months.
    William jnr had 6 children of which my father, also Thomas, was the youngest.
    The P.Killeen, mention by PONSTER, is my brother Patrick.

William Killeen 45
    Lizzie Killeen 35
    John Killeen 8
    William Killeen 5
    Thomas Killeen 1 month

Casualty Details

Name: KILLEEN, JOHN
    Initials: J
    Nationality: United Kingdom
    Regiment/Service: Royal Scots
    Unit Text: 12th Bn.
    Date of Death: 12/04/1917
    Service No: 26254
    Casualty Type: Commonwealth War Dead
    Grave/Memorial Reference: Bay 1 and 2.
    Memorial: ARRAS MEMORIAL

David Killeen killeen1@live.com

• Registered Users Posts: 32 Curiousgal

very new to this, so please bear with me!

I have a war record (from UK National Archives) for my great uncle from Dublin who served with the 33rd London Royal Battallion. He is listed as being in the Army Pay Corps as well as the British Red Cross and Order of St. John & Jerusalem. He was awarded a Victory medal for "BRC/101B3, p.300" (if anyone can decipher that location for me, or guide me to where I would find out).

He also applied for a Silver War Badge 6 months after being discharged in March 1919. Notes on his file state that his claim was ineligible and refused. He died in 1920 of cancer, aged 50.

Does anyone know why he might have been refused? Or if his cancer might have been related to his claim?

Bit of a long shot as I don't know my way round the records out there but would be really grateful if anyone can help.

Thanks!

Curiousgal wrote: »
    H
    Does anyone know why he might have been refused? Or if his cancer might have been related to his claim?

Seeing as the Silver War was awarded to those who were discharged as a result of injury or illness due to the war I doubt if your great uncle qualified as a cancer victim.

Ponster wrote: »
    Seeing as the Silver War was awarded to those who were discharged as a result of injury or illness due to the war I doubt if your great uncle qualified as a cancer victim.

Thanks, Ponster, for your reply. I looked at his file again and see that there are two dates of discharge. He was first discharged in January 1917 - presumably due to injury or illness - and then again in 1919, so I guess he must have returned to war. Perhaps the 1917 reason for discharge was what he felt qualified him for a SWB.

I wondered could it have been because he served with the British Red Cross & St. JJ and was possibly a field ambulance driver rather than directly involved in action. He can't have been a pacifist though because he had a military career prior to WWI.

I guess his file in Kew holds the answer?!

Thanks, again.

Can you give us his name and reg number if you have it please? That way I could take a look at his file myself :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭johnny_doyle

Casualty Details

Name: KILLEEN, JOHN
    Initials: J
    Nationality: United Kingdom
    Regiment/Service: Royal Scots
    Unit Text: 12th Bn.
    Date of Death: 12/04/1917
    Service No: 26254
    Casualty Type: Commonwealth War Dead
    Grave/Memorial Reference: Bay 1 and 2.
    Memorial: ARRAS MEMORIAL

David Killeen killeen1@live.com

From Soldiers Died in the Great War (SDGW) :
    Name:John Killeen
    Birth Place:Greenock, Renfrewshire
    Residence:Greenock
    Death Date:12 Apr 1917
    Rank Private
    Regiment:Royal Scots (Lothian Regiment)
    Battalion:12th Battalion.
    Number:26254
    Type of Casualty:Killed in action

His service record is on Ancestry but very hard to read (water damage?). Enlisted 27th July 1915 aged 23. A tailor?
    3 stints with the BEF in France. In hospital 9th Nov 1915 due to shrapnel wound to head (helmets weren't introduced to the British Army until 1916)
    Sprained ankle July/August 1916. Transferred to 12th Battn in Feb 1917 having been in 13th Battn.

Curiousgal wrote: »
    Thanks, Ponster, for your reply. I looked at his file again and see that there are two dates of discharge. He was first discharged in January 1917 - presumably due to injury or illness - and then again in 1919, so I guess he must have returned to war. Perhaps the 1917 reason for discharge was what he felt qualified him for a SWB.

I wondered could it have been because he served with the British Red Cross & St. JJ and was possibly a field ambulance driver rather than directly involved in action. He can't have been a pacifist though because he had a military career prior to WWI.

I guess his file in Kew holds the answer?!

Thanks, again.

there's a note re all the WW1 medal types including SWB at

http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/documentsonline/medals.asp

Echoing Ponster, can you post his details. It's interesting/unusual to see a chap with 2 discharge dates (though there were a number who were discharged as "unlikely to make an efficient soldier" early on in the war who would later have been eligible for conscription - this doesn't appear to be the case with your chap)

Echoing Ponster, can you post his details. It's interesting/unusual to see a chap with 2 discharge dates (though there were a number who were discharged as "unlikely to make an efficient soldier" early on in the war who would later have been eligible for conscription - this doesn't appear to be the case with your chap)[/QUOTE]

Thanks Ponster and Johnny for offering to look at his file - that would be great if you could. Thanks also for the link to the SWB explanation - makes me think he felt he was entitled to it, if he applied for it. Maybe his age and/or health deemed him 'inefficient as a soldier, though I understand from family stories that he may have served in India earlier in his military career.

Here are his details:
    Name: James Armstrong Giltrap
    Address: 33 Claud(e) Road, Dublin

He has two Regiment No.s:
    British Red Cross Society No. 9819 (33rd London RB) up to his discharge in 1917 and
    APC (Army Pay Corps?) No. 877041 up to his discharge in 1919.
    File No.: 12364/1/B

Would appreciate anything you can tell me - thanks so much!

er..... he has 4 discharges......

He enlisted in the Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers (number 14832) on the 20/9/1914 and discharged on the 17/10/1914 as "unlikely to make an efficient soldier" - possibly a result of age : he was 42 years 120days on enlistment. 5ft 5.5 inches, fresh complexion, blue eyes, brown hair. A Clerk; mother Phoebe listed as next of kin at 2 Sybil Terrace, Drumcondra. He states that he was in 4 Royal Garrison Regt previous to that; discharged on completion of service 27/12/1913.

He has 3 medal cards, one as James A Giltrap and 2 as J A Giltrap. The former has no service number, lists him as BRCS St JJ and the award of BWM and VM. The other 2 give :

877041 APC 33rd Lon (RB) discharged 9/3/1919
    9819 BRXS enlisted 14/7/1916 discharged 14/1/1917
    these mention his SWB application and 33 Claud Road so I figure you've got these 2.

Death notice in the Irish Times of 20th December 1920
    19th Dec 1920 James Armstrong Giltrap of 33 Calude Road, Drumcondra. Second son of Phoebe A and the late John Giltrap.

LDS has birth of James Armstrong Giltrap 6th June 1869. Son of John Giltrap ad Phoebe Anne Henzell

Irish Times 3rd June 1916 - mentions James Giltrap in General Maxwell's inspection of Irish Automobile Ambulances. This can be found on p107 of the 1916 Rebellion Handbook -James Giltrap is one of the Orderlies present (along with NS Norway - the novelist Neville Shute whose father was head of the GPO).

On page 240 of the 1916 Rebellion Handbook :

"Another member, Mr Giltrap, attached himself as stretcher bearer to the Automobile Club Ambulance and did excellent work on several days. He was slightly wounded in the neck, but considers himself lucky to have escaped so well, as his work was in the firing line."

There is a note the James Giltrap declared that the "Sinn Feiners respected the Red Cross" and that the wound was a result of a chance shot.

"In concluding his report, Dr Peacocke names the following as deserving of special recognition : ". James Giltrap is amongst the list.

Technically he was not a members of the Armed Forces nor discharged as a result of wounds and this is would be why his application for a SWB was turned down.

There is a death notice for John H H Giltrap of 12 Charleville Road, NCR in the Irish Times 22nd Oct 1915; burial in Mount Jerome. The 1911 census has him as John Henry Henzell Giltrap so appears to be James's brother(?)

http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/pages/1911/Dublin/Glasnevin/Charleville_Road__Circular_Road_North/8776/

http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/pages/1911/Dublin/Glasnevin/Claude_Road__Drumcondra/16747/

James is listed as Giltral in the 1911 census and living away from home as a solicitor's assistant

http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/pages/1911/Dublin/North_City/Abbey_St__Middle/15556/

Irish Times has a death notice for Elizabeth Mary Giltrap (widow of John Henry Henzell Giltrap, solicitor) of 12 Charleville Road, NCR, 12th December 1920.

My wife mentioned that she knew a Sharon Giltrap in Rathfarnham.