Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Being banned by bookies

• 14-01-2019 10:43am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭mayoman1973

Obviously a winning account is going to get you banned at some stage because bookies couldn't cut a profit if everyone was winning so thats grand. But out of interest I'm tryinig to understand which is most likely to get your the boot quicker when you stake a given amount.

1. Higher stakes, ie £50 bets or
    2. 5x as many bets but for £10 a time

So in both cases you will have staked the same but do bookies eyes get drawn to a winning account which has higher stakes than usual or more bets than would be regarded as usual?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,238 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Number 2.

Regular, 'smart'/'percentage' bets will get you limited/banned.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭mayoman1973

Hmmm, thats what I'm starting to think myself. I wonder if the final decision is a manual one or is the analysis and account limitation fully automated?

It's automated to an extent.

Accounts with a consistent ROI on their bets get flagged.

These are manually observed then (betting patterns etc) and decisions are made.

• Registered Users Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Gautama

AFAIK you don’t even have to have a winning account, there are certain betting trends that will get you limited/restricted/closed.
    One of them is getting on early. I bet regularly on horse racing. With UK racing I put my bets on around midday the day before, and with Irish racing about 6pm the day before.
    This is something the bookies do not like, probably because it greatly increases the chance of benefitting from BOG offers.

To answer your question, IMO someone betting €50 on one race is more likely to be restricted than €10 each on five races. Bookies make a lot more money out of “mug punters”, small stake regular punters. A shrewd punter tends to know his stuff and focus on fewer races.
    I spoke to a senior PP guy once that said they make their money on the €5 punters.

I’ve been closed by PP and BoyleSports (no reason given, in fact, they never stated it, just made logging in difficult) and we’ll restricted by about half a dozen so far.

• Registered Users Posts: 271 ✭✭the_galway_fry

Gautama wrote: »
    AFAIK you don’t even have to have a winning account, there are certain betting trends that will get you limited/restricted/closed.
    One of them is getting on early. I bet regularly on horse racing. With UK racing I put my bets on around midday the day before, and with Irish racing about 6pm the day before.
    This is something the bookies do not like, probably because it greatly increases the chance of benefitting from BOG offers.

To answer your question, IMO someone betting €50 on one race is more likely to be restricted than €10 each on five races. Bookies make a lot more money out of “mug punters”, small stake regular punters. A shrewd punter tends to know his stuff and focus on fewer races.
    I spoke to a senior PP guy once that said they make their money on the €5 punters.

I’ve been closed by PP and BoyleSports (no reason given, in fact, they never stated it, just made logging in difficult) and we’ll restricted by about half a dozen so far.

Ridiculous that they are allowed to close your account for having the cheek to actually win.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,489 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Ridiculous that they are allowed to close your account for having the cheek to actually win.

What is the actual legality on this?

Is it hidden within the terms and conditions? I'd be interested in the wording.

• Registered Users Posts: 801 ✭✭✭lucast2007us

"The Grays Sports Almanac" WILL get you banned

• Registered Users Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Gautama

There is no wording. It’s a bit like “constructive dismissal”, and obfuscation.

With Boylesports I could only login via the web browser on my laptop. I tried the Boylesports app on both iPad and iPhone, didn’t log me in. I tried the browsers on my iPad and my iPhone, likewise I could not log in. I contacted customer service, there was a bit of email tennis, then they said all was resolved and closed the ticket. But nothing had been resolved and the only way I could login was via laptop. I decided to withdraw my balance but my credit card details were old, ie the card had long since expired. Couldn’t update that cards details or add a new card. More rigmarole until they just posted me a cheque.

As for Paddy Power I’d my best Cheltenham ever. Then I was unable to login, and was told to contact customer service. Contacted them and they said there had been concerns about account security and told me just to open a new account and they’d transfer the balance. Tried to open a new account but kept getting a message about email address being already associated with an account (fair enough). Contacted customer service again, basically told that “computer says NO”, and hey offered to transfer my balance to my PayPal account.

In both cases I’d previously been emailed to say my account was being restricted. But I was never told my account was being closed. They just made it impossible.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,610 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

You could use their shops for further bets if you can't log in.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,680 ✭✭✭zimmermania

Its all legal,bookmakers can refuse to accept any bet and can close any account.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Augustine Substantial Leg

In the short run, while placing 'good bets' you can make a profit or a loss depending on how a relatively small number of results fall.

What the bookies are looking at is if the odds decrease from the time you place your bet to the time the event starts.

If you are consistently placing bets at bigger odds than the off then that is a major signal that you will likely make a profit in the long run and will be unprofitable for them.

In the short run you might be placing 5 fold accumulators on the Premier League and win. The bookies will be happy to keep taking your bets despite your account being in profit because you are betting in such a way as to likely become a losing bettor and a profitable customer for them.

Its as much if not more your betting style than the simple profit or loss that they will take into account.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Hardluckstory

In the short run, while placing 'good bets' you can make a profit or a loss depending on how a relatively small number of results fall.

What the bookies are looking at is if the odds decrease from the time you place your bet to the time the event starts.

If you are consistently placing bets at bigger odds than the off then that is a major signal that you will likely make a profit in the long run and will be unprofitable for them.

In the short run you might be placing 5 fold accumulators on the Premier League and win. The bookies will be happy to keep taking your bets despite your account being in profit because you are betting in such a way as to likely become a losing bettor and a profitable customer for them.

Its as much if not more your betting style than the simple profit or loss that they will take into account.

The only time you will be barred from the bookies is if you abuse the staff or if you place big bets on sure things. If You know the result before the match starts
    The bookies want the lads that place small money on long shots
    The bookies have lots of the matches fixed they are strange results in the Rugby and the Tennis
    Very Strange?

• Registered Users Posts: 1 sergejkuznecov

Nice

• Registered Users Posts: 4,680 ✭✭✭zimmermania

ANYONE WHO IS BANNED FROM A BOOKIE is lucky,it means they are winning money unlike most punters and there are plenty ways to get on if one is careful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

So bookies hire mathematicians to fix odds so that no matter who wins they profit since The dawn of bookies,

Problem gamblers get banned. The rumour that super gamblers get banned is a rumour that helps bookies.

BDI wrote: »
    So bookies hire mathematicians to fix odds so that no matter who wins they profit since The dawn of bookies,

Problem gamblers get banned. The rumour that super gamblers get banned is a rumour that helps bookies.

You are incorrect on both points there. Fair play to you.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭mayoman1973

BDI wrote: »

I would say odds are fixed more based on where the ££ is going so as to have a balanced book. Not some number cruncher.

The rumour that super gamblers get banned is anything but a rumour. That is why I started this post. How to make money and not get banned. Its just a pain ( but not a big prob ) having to get more friends to do my betting for me. If bookie would just let me do my betting, get my profit with the current squad of friends I have it would save me having to get more of them. Either way I have my edge, and I will get my money on. Just want to cut out this messing that I have to go through every few weeks. PS Problem gamblers (ones who lose lots of ££ ) should get banned, but dont. Very little checks done by bookies on people creating new accounts after they have requested their accounts be closed. Fortunately in my case this works to my advantage as can get friends in for second and third bite of the very juicy cherry.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Healio

I would say odds are fixed more based on where the ££ is going so as to have a balanced book. Not some number cruncher.

Very hard to get a balanced book, that's where taking an opinion and managing your risk comes into play.

It is the same strategy employed by a "pro/smart" punter.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,072 ✭✭✭Shelflife

I had a losing account closed years ago.

I followed RL closely and a certain company were very lazy with their prices. So the price would move with the Uk based betting companies 5/6 into say 4/6 due to team changes etc but the Irish company kept it at 5/6, it was a small market for them.

Anyway 4 weeks later and with only 1 win out of 4 bets my account was closed for "trading reasons"

The online betting companies have various rating systems for their customers.

Mugs - take all their bets
    Casino- take all their bets
    Someone with an inside line from a stable - restrict their bets on that stable but keep it open for the information.
    Arbers- close their account
    Shrewd punter - restrict ,then close their account.

• Registered Users Posts: 55 ✭✭John Horgan

I realise I'm a bit late to the party here.. but I had my Betway account limited pretty quickly.. I was up about €250 but this was over a 3 month period so I was very surprised by this

Edit: just noticed they blocked me from the free bet promotions and stuff too.. bad form