Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beat Saber

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Finally got the Monstercat pack last night and played through all of them. I love Overkill! :D There's only 2 songs in it that I quit halfway through, purely because they are just annoying to listen to. Think Stronger was one of them and Tokyo something the other?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,765 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Overkill is so hard. But I'll get there! The only one I really don't like is Rattlesnake, just noise, the rest are either ok or really good.

Rattlesnake would actually be a grand tune if it left out that wub wub wall of noise part, the melodic intro section is really nice.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

They just posted this on Facebook. More songs are is always good! Will be available on PlayStation soon apparently
    THIS IS NOT AN APRIL FOOLS' JOKE!

Get your clawsabers ready our dear friends… It's time for some Crab Rave! ��

Thanks to Monstercat, Crab Rave by Noisestorm launches in Beat Saber as a free track today! Celebrate with us one year anniversary of this crabs-travaganza.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,588 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

They just posted this on Facebook. More songs are is always good! Will be available on PlayStation soon apparently

cool.. free song for the base game rather than the Monstercat dlc?

mrcheez wrote: »
    cool.. free song for the base game rather than the Monstercat dlc?

Yeah they are planning 7 free songs to release between the music packs.

So the new song, Crab, it's cack. I failed the first time on Expert, it's actually a hard enough Expert song. I wasn't paying proper attention though, and instead of retrying, I tried E+, and failed. But the music was so bland I couldn't be arsed going back to it.

Also, I believe some of the songs have gotten harder in E+. I didn't play it for a week as I had loaned my Move controllers, and when I played 'Stronger', it seems harder than before. Likewise, one of the original songs had a part at the start where it was just the walls, and you had to do this dodging maneuver before the first brick came along. Now it's not in it. Shame, I enjoyed that particular part.

So the new song, Crab, it's cack. I failed the first time on Expert, it's actually a hard enough Expert song. I wasn't paying proper attention though, and instead of retrying, I tried E+, and failed. But the music was so bland I couldn't be arsed going back to it.

Also, I believe some of the songs have gotten harder in E+. I didn't play it for a week as I had loaned my Move controllers, and when I played 'Stronger', it seems harder than before. Likewise, one of the original songs had a part at the start where it was just the walls, and you had to do this dodging maneuver before the first brick came along. Now it's not in it. Shame, I enjoyed that particular part.

Yeah the Crab track is a load of bollix, no groove to it. I’ve noticed some changes too since the patch, I’m missing cuts using the exact movements I did before it? Finally got through Overkill today on Hard with no fail off so not all bad :D

• Registered Users Posts: 686 ✭✭✭DVD-Lots

Finally managed to get mods working on the PC version, oh my sweet farking jaysus christ mother mary joseph holy hell...... Through the Fire and the Flames...........that'll learn ya!!

Love AC/DC Back in Black. MGMT Kids. The Final Countdown. Seven nation Army. And surprisingly, 500 Miles was a lot of fun.........

Love mods. :)

TTFATF looks easier than Overkill...

Fired this up again last night, I have now completed all but 2 on E+ with the original songs, and only Overkill to complete on the new songs. And I'm getting the hang of it now. The patterns have clicked, and I reckon I'm on the road to completing it without NoFail.

I was so close to beating Overkill last night. The last set of patterns keep getting me, the double up down up down ones. If I can get my head around them, I reckon I'll finally be able to beat it on E+ without NoFail. Went from 'Not happening' to 'nearly there' in less than a week. God, I love this game!

• Registered Users Posts: 663 ✭✭✭SomeSayKos

I was so close to beating Overkill last night. The last set of patterns keep getting me, the double up down up down ones. If I can get my head around them, I reckon I'll finally be able to beat it on E+ without NoFail. Went from 'Not happening' to 'nearly there' in less than a week. God, I love this game!
    I can do pretty well at it on 80% but as soon as I turn the speed up its an absolute nightmare

It did take me ages to get my wrist movement (giggitty) up to speed, and I'm still not quite there. The mad fast part before the first drop is what usually fails me, if I can get past that, I'm good until the last set of double up and downs and I fail that every time. I can do it in the training mode, but completely forget the pattern by the time I get to it in the whole song! But I know i'm on the edge of it. A few more hours and I reckon I'll have it. I also figured out that my current high score was from playing it on Slow Song without NoFail on.

Just copped last night that I'm 93rd on the leaderboard Expert+ for This Time, and i'm 123rd for We Won't Be Alone on Expert+. I'm kinda chuffed to make it into the top 100 on 1 song, and close on a second tbh! but i'm also skeptical as the leaderboards seem glitchy, and I'm sure scores haven't updated when I've gotten higher on some songs.

Nice! I'm doing well on a few of the expert ones but I can barely finish one or two on E+ with slow song switched on :o

I have an edit to make to the above, I'm 91st on We Won't Be Alone, and 123rd on This Time. Keep forgetting which song is which. Yeah, it's nice to see it after all the effort, but I think it's because people don't like that song as much as I do!

Bring on DLC Pack 2!

I like both of those songs, we won't be alone is one of my highest scores. I think I was 14th when I got that score, I'm down in the 30s now. My proudest one in Angel voices though, 40 something last time I checked and it was my first SS on expert.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭JimBurnley

Rumours of more genres of music for next DLC, taken from a FB page I follow....

Details on the next Beat Saber DLC music pack are coming “soon” and will feature something other than electronic music.

I think it's a very good idea to have the variety instead of just dance music. Really enjoying some rock mods on PC. There are a couple of good Muse ones, Hysteria and Starlight. AC/DC Back in Black is cool as well, as is Seven Nation army. Not taxing or too hard but a lot of fun to bounce around to. Run Boy Run is another one especially the main drum parts, grinning like an idiot when you pull them off.

This is where I could start having issues with this game. There's only 2, maybe 3 songs so far that I don't like. The electronic genre is best suited to this kind of game. While I would have no issues with rock or metal, because there's still a decent beat (usually), I sincerely hope there's none of what I call suicide music, ie: Damien Dempsey, David Grey and all those other types.

I've great faith in Beat Games though, so I will await the next set before making judgement.

What I'd really love is a 90's dance set, with classics like Digital Punk, Played Alive, Kernkraft 400, Blah Blah Blah (anything Gigi really).

LOL,

Beat Saber: For your next challenge, David Grey, This years love...
    Me: How do I stab myself with this sabre thingy?

• Registered Users Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Bought this recently after reading here and having a mate tell me he's been playing too. Can only agree about the comments that the music does work despite not being what I'd listen to usually.

And yeah, some drum heavy rock could work really well.

Was inches from finishing Be there for you on E+ a few weeks ago but just couldn't get past one part of it. Took a break for a couple of weeks and tried it this morning, beat it first go! Went to emoji then and beat that first go too! That was the first time I've ever tried that stage on E+ too so I thought I was unstoppable...done about 5 other stages and failed them all miserably :D

Playing for less than half an hour and this is the sweatiest I've ever been while playing this game! The headphones kept falling out of my ears with the combination of sweat and fast movements.

Monkey, I'm after your scores on those 2 stages now :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭JimBurnley

Next music pack to be released June 10th. No further details confirmed yet...

My Rift broke like two months ago and the shop says it's gonna be another two weeks till I get the replacement. Itching to play Beat Saber so bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 663 ✭✭✭SomeSayKos

Can nearly beat Angel Voices on E+.
    Took a break playing for a couple of weeks and when I came back to it the other night I was better at the game than I was previously. Weird

I was the same, Angel Voices is still getting me at the end, but I haven't bothered practicing it. The ones I've yet to finish on E+ are Angel Voices, LVL Insane and Overkill. The rest I've gotten at least an A in E+ (I think).

Dropped out of the top 100 for that one song, haven't been able to get it as good since, but I remember the day I got it I was on point and haven't been since!

Edit: Threw it on last night and managed to finish LVL Insane on E+, very happy with that. Played it through with Slow Song first, then normal speed with No Fail on, and beat it on the 3rd go then. Then I discovered that I hadn't managed to get a A on Balearic Pumping. So still have 3 songs yet to get a minimum of A in E+. Slowly getting there, but can't see myself doing them before DLC pack 2.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,588 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

Beat Saber on Oculus Quest supports custom tracks now via a mod

https://bsaber.com/oculus-quest-custom-songs/

Official modding support is apparently coming too ... I may just have to rebuy this game :)

I wish Sony would sort something out for custom songs on the PS4. Like, surely with their library of owned songs, we could get at least some custom work! Checking out the artists they 'own' on Wikipedia shows a hape of artists!