Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
07-06-2018, 23:29   #1
FyFyTa
Registered User
 
FyFyTa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chateał
Posts: 176
Saving camcorder footage

Hi, sorry if this is in the wrong section.
I have a Samsung mini camcorder "VP-D361" from back in the day.

Can anyone tell me if it is possible to transfer the footage from the Mini DV tapes to a laptop?
What type of cable would I need?


Any replies very much appreciated.
Thank you in advance.


Thanks.
FyFyTa is offline  
Advertisement
07-06-2018, 23:31   #2
TomOnBoard
Registered User
 
TomOnBoard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,323
Yes you can. There are a number of kits out there. I'll root out the one I used and will post it here.

Does that machine have a DV socket on it? If so, does your laptop have a firewire socket?

Last edited by TomOnBoard; 07-06-2018 at 23:49.
TomOnBoard is offline  
07-06-2018, 23:57   #3
FyFyTa
Registered User
 
FyFyTa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chateał
Posts: 176
Thanks TomOnBoard, yes the camcorder has a "DV" port on it, but the laptop has no firewire socket.
FyFyTa is offline  
08-06-2018, 00:00   #4
TomOnBoard
Registered User
 
TomOnBoard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by FyFyTa View Post
Thanks TomOnBoard, yes the camcorder has a "DV" port on it, but the laptop has no firewire socket.
Ok. What is laptop make and model?

I also should yave asked does the camera have a USB s8cket also?
TomOnBoard is offline  
08-06-2018, 00:09   #5
FyFyTa
Registered User
 
FyFyTa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chateał
Posts: 176
Laptop is a HP Pavilion,

the camcorder has no usb socket,

its a Samsung Digital Camcorder VP-D361.


Hopefully you have a solution.... fingers crossed!!!


Thanks again.
Fyfyta.
FyFyTa is offline  
Advertisement
08-06-2018, 00:24   #6
TomOnBoard
Registered User
 
TomOnBoard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by FyFyTa View Post
Laptop is a HP Pavilion,

the camcorder has no usb socket,

its a Samsung Digital Camcorder VP-D361.


Hopefully you have a solution.... fingers crossed!!!


Thanks again.
Fyfyta.
I reckon that to maximise quality you need to transfer the content to the laptop via the DV output on the camera. I'd suggest that you check if the laptop has an expansion slot that will take a card, and then buy a firewire (IEEE1394) card for that. You will then have firewire on both devices, and a simple male/male firewire cable will get you up and running.
TomOnBoard is offline  
08-06-2018, 00:32   #7
FyFyTa
Registered User
 
FyFyTa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chateał
Posts: 176
Thanks a million, i'm on the hunt for an (IEEE1394) card right now.
Thanks again.
Fyfyta.
FyFyTa is offline  
08-06-2018, 00:35   #8
TomOnBoard
Registered User
 
TomOnBoard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by FyFyTa View Post
Thanks a million, i'm on the hunt for an (IEEE1394) card right now.
Thanks again.
Fyfyta.
Make sure the laptop has the necessary expansion port. Good luck.
TomOnBoard is offline  
08-06-2018, 00:38   #9
ED E
Registered User
 
ED E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: D14
Posts: 30,407
Unless your laptop is ancient it wont have PCCard slot so adding FireWire400 that way won't be an option.

Simplest thing to do is get a Desktop, not a laptop, and add a Firewire card to that. Then remember, MiniDV will transfer at real time speeds. 100hrs of footage? 100hrs of copying.
ED E is online now  
Advertisement
08-06-2018, 00:47   #10
TomOnBoard
Registered User
 
TomOnBoard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by ED E View Post
Unless your laptop is ancient it wont have PCCard slot so adding FireWire400 that way won't be an option.

Simplest thing to do is get a Desktop, not a laptop, and add a Firewire card to that. Then remember, MiniDV will transfer at real time speeds. 100hrs of footage? 100hrs of copying.
If the laptop has no expansion slot, then yes, the desktop avenue would be an option. OR, get an older laptop that has a firewire port built in off eBay.
TomOnBoard is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet