Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Moving Out Of Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭brisan

inthenip wrote: »
    Good thing about rural towns and villages is that if there is 100 people in the pub, you will know all of them by name.

You don't get that in Dublin.

Funnily enough that's a major reason a lot of young people move to Dublin
    Anonymity has its upsides when you are young ,on the tear and on the pull
    You don't want Mammy to know you were pissed drunk and trying to cop a feel off Mary from down the road

What is the huge range of everything?

Cinemas, theatres, concerts, sporting events, comedy clubs, jazz musicians, top restaurants, public transport (quiet down the back!), international airport, infrastructure to reach the rest of the country, public parks and festivals, a ski slope, theme parks, swimming pools, large shopping centres, late night shops & cafes & bars & nightclubs, international tourists, museums, supermarkets, IKEA, fishing, kayaking, rowing, diving, the Zoo, the Phoenix park, food festivals, horse racing, greyhounds, cathedrals, mountains, hiking, casinos, sailing, golf courses etc.

That's before you get into the one-off / emergency places you might need visit like the NCT centres, hospitals, embassies or government departments, passport office etc.

Dublin is vastly underrated by a majority of people, most of whom are familiar with a small part and never experience most of the above. Others see junkies on the boardwalk when they get off at Busáras or Heuston and dismiss the rest of the city.

Anyone claiming Dublin is an 'unmerciful kip' needs to visit somewhere other than the areas between the train stations and Croker.

I love the way people say Dublin is a kip. I grew up in a small Irish town, and have visited many other small towns, is a boarded up small town full with 5-10 charity shops on the main street appealing to other people?
    Somebody raised the point about 100 people in a pub knowing your own name - I HATE that when I go home. Going in to the pub and everybody looking when the door opens, etc. Give me the anonymity any day.
    Or people judging you based on your house/job/car/children/involvement in GAA/going to mass/whatever. I honestly love walking out the door and nobody knowing nor caring about my business.
    Different strokes, different folks.

We had a Mobile home in Clogherhead at on e stage .
    Lot of Drogheda people there
    They went to mass on a Sunday so their neighbours could see them at mass

• Registered Users Posts: 9,499 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

had a friend move from Dublin to a rural back water , Mayo rather than Donegal .
    Loved every minute of it up until his kids got to a certain age and quality of schools , and extra curricular activities like , Swimming , dancing acting , Band ,sports other than GAA , knowing their cousins etc got in the way and he moved back.

Never regretted the move in either direction but happy to be back.

Yeah, I've family and friends in a similar situation. The initial move was amazing and we considered it ourselves. Larger house, smaller mortgage, what's there not to like!! But, the kids came along and then the biggest drawback was the driving to everything and the distances involved. Swimming lessons for two age groups could literally take up half the day.

Even the older kids have to be taken everywhere in cars and the younger ones at the age of seven couldn't cycle a bike!!!

There's advantages for both styles of living of course and the budget has a lot to say about it!!

• Registered Users Posts: 170 ✭✭LurkerNo1

Good thing about rural towns and villages is that if there is 100 people in the pub, you will know all of them by name.

You don't get that in Dublin.

Jaysus that's my idea of hell, cant even go for a quiet pint without running into someone. You will know them all by name and they'll know most of your business too. Il take anonymity any day.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Cinemas, theatres, concerts, sporting events, comedy clubs, jazz musicians, top restaurants, public transport (quiet down the back!), international airport, infrastructure to reach the rest of the country, public parks and festivals, a ski slope, theme parks, swimming pools, large shopping centres, late night shops & cafes & bars & nightclubs, international tourists, museums, supermarkets, IKEA, fishing, kayaking, rowing, diving, the Zoo, the Phoenix park, food festivals, horse racing, greyhounds, cathedrals, mountains, hiking, casinos, sailing, golf courses etc.

That's before you get into the one-off / emergency places you might need visit like the NCT centres, hospitals, embassies or government departments, passport office etc.

Dublin is vastly underrated by a majority of people, most of whom are familiar with a small part and never experience most of the above. Others see junkies on the boardwalk when they get off at Busáras or Heuston and dismiss the rest of the city.

Anyone claiming Dublin is an 'unmerciful kip' needs to visit somewhere other than the areas between the train stations and Croker.

You know that Some of these things exist outside of Dublin as well? Like cinemas, theaters, concerts, sports, comedy clubs, top restaurants, public transport, international airports, infrastructure to reach the rest of the country, public parks and festivals, swimming pools, large shopping centres, late night shops & cafes & bars & nightclubs, international tourists, museums, supermarkets, fishing, kayaking, rowing, diving, zoos, food festivals, horse racing, greyhounds, cathedrals, mountains, hiking, casinos, sailing, golf courses, NCT centers, hospitals, passport offices.

Not all within a reasonable distance , though, that's the whole fecking point (I suspect that you're deliberately missing that point, though).

How many of them do you have access to in Letterkenny, seeing as that's what was brought up earlier?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

Nobody seems concerned with the language barrier. I realise the OPs wife is a native but you would have to be there for years before you can understand a word.

A lot depends on if you have kids, and how old they are. I grew up in a city but raised my family in the countryside. There are good and bad points for both.

Donegal has some of the most beautiful scenery in the country but south of the country definitely has the best weather.

House prices vary from county to county and area to area
    I can show you an advert for 10 yes 10 fairly modern 3 bed homes with a good BER rating for 800k
    However they are in the arsehole of nowhere
    House in Donegal are cheaper than similar houses in Wexford for a reason
    Houses in Wexford are cheaper than similar houses in Dublin for a reason
    It is whatever works for you
    It would be a boring if not overcrowded world if we all wanted to live in the same place

• Registered Users Posts: 2,671 ✭✭✭PhoenixParker

I think people see lists like "theatres, museums, art galleries" and think sure I never go to any of those. Or "sure there's a swimming pool here too"

For me, living in Dublin is way more about the small things and options I have available.

When I was in my mid 20s and loved to dance, I could do Salsa or Swing with a whole host of different teachers, in a few different venues, pretty much any night of the week. My friend in Sligo also loved to dance and there was one Salsa class with one teacher in one venue each week. She could still dance, but if Tuesday didn't suit, or she didn't really like the teachers teaching style, that was it, find another activity.

When I did toastmasters, I could try out a few clubs to find one that suited me. Each club tends to be a bit different in terms of style - friendly/competitive. There are different week nights, frequencies of meetings, club sizes etc. There were a few that were readily doable close to home or work. In the country, even in fairly big towns, there'd be one and it might be a few towns over.

When I was pregnant last year I did pre-natal pilates a few times a week. Depending on when I wanted to do it and how much effort I was willing to put in to get there (up to something reasonable like half an hour) I had dozens of options for pregnancy exercise classes in lots of exercise "genres" . My cousin who lives in Leitrim was also pregnant and had done pilates regularly locally to her but there were no pre-natal classes for pilates. It was prenatal yoga or nothing.

Living more rurally, you still have options. You can still play sport, take exercise classes, get involved in this, that and the other but if a particular option doesn't suit, that's it there's no other option. If you reach a certain level with a hobby, there can be nowhere to go for improvement. It's not going to make most people completely miserable, but there's a bit more "making do with what's available" and that can be frustrating.

Also if you've any yen to fly somewhere more than once a year, the difference between getting off a plane and having to travel a few hours home vs grabbing a taxi for a quick journey is huge. It adds 1-2 days to your holiday every time.

Not all within a reasonable distance , though, that's the whole fecking point (I suspect that you're deliberately missing that point, though).

How many of them do you have access to in Letterkenny, seeing as that's what was brought up earlier?

The point your making is that things like you listed are not outside Dublin. When they are and no matter where you live a journey is involved in getting to any of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭inthenip

had a friend move from Dublin to a rural back water , Mayo rather than Donegal .
    Loved every minute of it up until his kids got to a certain age and quality of schools , and extra curricular activities like , Swimming , dancing acting , Band ,sports other than GAA , knowing their cousins etc got in the way and he moved back.

Never regretted the move in either direction but happy to be back.

You know that there available in every county right?

And the cousins thing its not like your driving from New York to California,

• Registered Users Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

One thing which I would always be wary of, as somebody who lives in Dublin but grew up in rural part.
    It is grand to say you will probably fit in like a local anywhere you move to. That is true, if you get involved in some local community activities.
    But all it would take is for 1 argument/row with a "real local" and you could become a pariah, rural Irish people are very defensive of their own and can twist things so the "blow-in" will always look like the baddie.
    I don't have experience of this but I know it happens.
    Probably less of an issue if you live in a small town for example, but living in a rural part that is something you'd need your wits about you on.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

You are kidding nobody. I have a choice of 4 sushi places that deliver to my door. The main thing is choice and plenty of it. Can quit my job and get another within a week. Can fly internationally and be in my house with 30 minutes of getting off the plane in Dublin.

I lived in Athlone for 6 months and this is considered a big town. I remember going to the cinema there and the projection was larger than the screen. I don't go to the nearest cinema here because I don't like their seats. Choice is what I like

The point your making is that things like you listed are not outside Dublin. When they are and no matter where you live a journey is involved in getting to any of them.

For the second time, you're missing the whole point.

I never said they don't exist outside Dublin. I said they don't ALL exist in the SAME PLACE outside Dublin.....there is a huge difference. One poster said:
    "One is small town that has over supply of pubs and nice castle that does well in summer, other is a large city with huge range of everything.

and another asked what that range was.......which is what I listed.

What do you do if you want to see an Ireland soccer match and you live in the sticks outside Westport?
    Or want to go to a Michelin Star restaurant but you moved to a village in the midlands?
    Or the kids want to go to the zoo, but you live absolutely anywhere else in the country BUT Dublin?

Your second point is rubbish, also. Saying "no matter where you live, a journey is involved in getting to any of them" is complete nonsense when one journey is magnitudes of order greater than the other. Out of all of those items in my list, the furthest away is 45 mins (Edit: from my gaff). I live within walking distance of half of those things in my list and can get public transport to another 45%. That's not the same as someone in Clonmel or whatever having a 3hr round trip to visit a Michelin star restaurant where they can't have a glass of wine because they've to drive back.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,445 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

brisan wrote: »
    Jobs , Hospitals , entertainment, museums , galleries , transport etc are all much easier to access in Dublin

Good coffee, food, booze, sex, drugs....

• Registered Users Posts: 15,865 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Sligo would be my pick, and OH family are from a few miles away in a different county. Don't know if that's good or bad lol!

Anyway, it's a vibrant place, very picturesque along the Garavogue and close to lovely beaches and all that jazz. Train to the Shmoke aswell if you don't fancy driving back every now and then, and a main bus station to many places around (for the bus pass ha ha).

We are getting on bit now, and feel that having a teeny bolthole somewhere nice would be a good thing to do in time. But just musing anyway. Would keep the gaff in Dublin though. I don't think I could leave there for good as a child of both sets of parents and grandparents who were born in Ship Street and Bride Street respectively. Jackeen alright!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

One thing which I would always be wary of, as somebody who lives in Dublin but grew up in rural part.
    It is grand to say you will probably fit in like a local anywhere you move to. That is true, if you get involved in some local community activities.
    But all it would take is for 1 argument/row with a "real local" and you could become a pariah, rural Irish people are very defensive of their own and can twist things so the "blow-in" will always look like the baddie.
    I don't have experience of this but I know it happens.
    Probably less of an issue if you live in a small town for example, but living in a rural part that is something you'd need your wits about you on.
    Well that sounds a bit like hills have eyes type of scenario. id say you need extra pair of eyes on the back, round Dublin if one isnt familiar with areas more then youd have issues, anywhere else in the rural country.

They all exist outside Dublin, in face a lot more than just that list exists outside Dublin. But they don't all exist in the one place. That's what cities are, the cultural epicentres of a country. Rural areas are not cities, they don't have the amenities that cities do, if they did they'd be called cities.

There is a difference between rural, urban and suburban living. They are not the same and they don't offer the same lifestyles.

John_Rambo wrote: »
    They all exist outside Dublin, in face a lot more than just that list exists outside Dublin. But they don't all exist in the one place. That's what cities are, the cultural epicentres of a country. Rural areas are not cities, they don't have the amenities that cities do, if they did they'd be called cities.

There is a difference between rural, urban and suburban living. They are not the same and they don't offer the same lifestyles.

Have I not been saying that exact thing???? Lifestyle in the Country can be far better for SOME people.

Are some posters completely unable to accept criticism of Dublin or something?? Dublin has lots of positives, but it has plenty of negatives as well, and contrary to some posters here it’s not the center of the universe and as capital cities go overall it’s pretty average.

No, that's not what you were saying. You were getting all butthurt because you were (incorrectly) misinterpreting what people were saying. Nobody ever said Dublin was the centre of anything, just merely stating that there are a lot more amenities available there than in any one single place elsewhere in Ireland. Then you came steaming in saying........"Whaddya mean, you do know that those types of establishments exist elsewhere, not just in Dublin, yeah?".

You missed the point, were corrected, missed it AGAIN, then when you were pulled on it a second time you started to act as if that's what you were trying to say all along. Hard luck, try again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭inthenip

Dublin is full of scumbag and junkies.
    Its overpriced.
    Its a Arse ugly City.

Give me a 10 minute drive to work every morning than been crammed on a Luas, Dart or stuck in traffic.

The only thing Dublin really has that's better than anywhere else is the three arena, jobs and the Aviva. The three Arena and the Aviva are the only things I miss within walking distance.

Other than that its no different to anywhere else. The Aviva and Three Arena are within driving distance from anywhere in Ireland so its grand for or just get a hotel if i want to go on the sauce.

Give me a 10 minute drive to work every morning than been crammed on a Luas.

No, that's not what you were saying. You were getting all butthurt because you were (incorrectly) misinterpreting what people were saying. Nobody ever said Dublin was the centre of anything, just merely stating that there are a lot more amenities available there than in any one single place elsewhere in Ireland. Then you came steaming in saying........"Whaddya mean, you do know that those types of establishments exist elsewhere, not just in Dublin, yeah?".

You missed the point, were corrected, missed it AGAIN, then when you were pulled on it a second time you started to act as if that's what you were trying to say all along. Hard luck, try again.

Spectacular misinterpretation

Its overpriced.
    Its a Arse ugly City.

Give me a 10 minute drive to work every morning than been crammed on a Luas, Dart or stuck in traffic.

The only thing Dublin really has that's better than anywhere else is the three arena, jobs and the Aviva. The three Arena and the Aviva are the only things I miss within walking distance.

Other than that its no different to anywhere else. The Aviva and Three Arena are within driving distance from anywhere in Ireland so its grand for or just get a hotel if i want to go on the sauce.

But it has an IKEA. And Fresh coffee.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,461 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Its overpriced.
    Its a Arse ugly City.

I've a 10 minute drive to work in Dublin.

Ush1 wrote: »
    I've a 10 minute drive to work in Dublin.

Uber driver?

• Registered Users Posts: 251 ✭✭Panic Stations

Lads, I didn't mean for this to turn into a bashing thread on Dublin.

Just wondering if anyone has been in a similar situation.

Let's keep it civil in here.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭dar_cool

Moved from Dublin to Westmeath about 5 years ago. Initially moved because I was sole earner and it's all we could afford, but since moved out further. Took a bit of getting use to but would never move back, different pace of life out here. Understand it's not for everyone but pros far outweigh the cons for us. We are still only an hour from Dublin. I think more people will do it in the future and I think WFH in certain industries is here to stay

Have I not been saying that exact thing???? Lifestyle in the Country can be far better for SOME people.

Nope.

Yeah. Was in a similar position but a bit further down the path in life. We considered selling up and moving close to Sligo (Spanish Eyes style). Bigger house or self build, massive garden, smaller mortgage etc... But after talking to friends that did similar we decided to stay were we were. People we talked to had massive commutes, sometimes spending three hours a day in their cars (not an issue for you) and spent the rest of their time in the car bringing the kids to their various activities. Pre-covid our eldest kids are cycling to Scouts, GAA and the beach & strolling to each others houses for play.

I recently became self employed and to be honest I"m not sure if I'd have the same clientele if I was living rural. Three of my biggest clients were attained by simply calling in to their premises with a proposal.

I'm not saying suburban life is for everyone.
    I'm not saying Dublin is better than anywhere else.
    I'm not saying the bucolic life is not for anyone.
    I'm not bashing any area of Ireland, unlike others I don't have to do that to make where I live seem "better".

• Registered Users Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

I think it might be my fault, I made the mistake of mentioning Dublin in my reply and someone took issue with it, wrongly taking it as me saying Letterkenny is the same as living in Dublin. It clearly is not.

Best of luck whatever you end up doing, but again, I can highly recommend Donegal.