Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Ryan Tubridy radio show thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭BarryD

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Less of the ageist sneering if you don't mind there poster.

You'd have found RTE radio 1 draws listeners from all age groups if you bothered to check before you insultingly generalised.

Ageism? The funny thing about O'Connor teasing Tubridy there the other day about being older etc is that the latter used to cultivate a persona of being older than he was (35 going on 60). Maybe now that the years are catching up, he'll slide more into his proper age. Not my cup of tea though.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,973 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Less of the ageist sneering if you don't mind there poster.

You'd have found RTE radio 1 draws listeners from all age groups if you bothered to check before you insultingly generalised.

Touchy.

How many people under the age of 35 listen to Radio 1..the Angelus and all the other youth driven programming it provides.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Touchy.

How many people under the age of 35 listen to Radio 1..the Angelus and all the other youth driven programming it provides.

Sunday evenings documentaries are great...best on radio

• Registered Users Posts: 71,557 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Ryan always seemed to be the square peg in a round hole on 2fm, and a knee-jerk reaction by RTE to get him to replace Gerry Ryan just because he was his tea boy.

Enjoyed Tubs when he was on Radio 1 - personally, it's good to hear he's coming back.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

Never thought i would say it but Tubs is better than Darcy,god darcy would put you to sleep...

• BarryD wrote: »
    Caught a bit of this 'interview' between Brendan O'Connor and Tubridy this morning - the antipathy between them was amusing and Tubridy seemed slightly affronted at one stage that he was being poked at.

I must admit I had my reservations as a listener when I heard that Brendan O'Connor was taking over a short wile ago but I did listen in betimes and found his style quite appealing after a while - a bit wacky and irreverent. Maybe he knew he had nothing to lose.

I found Tubridy a 'turn off' literally before and I can't see that changing..... just hit the off button.

Are RTE incapable of thinking out this slot a little better - do they listen to their listeners at all? Quite a few people on this forum have suggested they do something quite different with this slot, anything else almost - just to get away from their hackneyed formula of a 'break from the news'...... :(

I wasn't expecting to like Brendan O'Connor, but found his style refreshing. He's a good interviewer and listener and a very entertaining presenter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭John Joe Jones

Dave Fanning isn't doing too bad a job either though I suppose his two main interests of music and movies would run out of steam soon enough. At least he has bit of a laugh and carries it along.

Either he or Brendan O'Connor would be preferable to Ryan Tubridy from this listeners point of view, that is if RTE insist on this type of light entertainment slot for this hour.

But sure, we'll see..

It was exactly 5 years ago today that Tubridy took over mid mornings on 2fm http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=e5LAP0WTGiM&fulldescription=1&hl=en-GB&client=mv-google&gl=IE

When does Ryan's show start?

Monday September 7

• Registered Users Posts: 14,215 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Sunday evenings documentaries are great...best on radio

Between podcasts and internet radio, I'd never use an FM tuner again tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 77 ✭✭fartingforfun

Why pay their clown top dollar?
    The Irish market is small, if RTE don't pay top dollar who would?
    If RTE let their "Stars" contracts run out who would pay them the same money?
    Ireland is too small a market to pay presenters over 100k, drop all Radio wages down to 30k and if they don't like it where can they go to work for more money?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,699 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

An ordinary enough start from Ryan, his jingle cut in over the news and he thought the Dublin footballers were playing Kilrenny.

All followed by a run of the mill interview with Majella O' Donnell.

The only way is up.....

• Registered Users Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭sudzs

I'm a bit late maybe but just tuned in to see how Tubbs was doing and there is a self proclaimed "suicide-magnet" on the phone. Is there no end to the misery porn being churned out by RTE?? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭Red Fred

And Tubs sounded very uncomfortable listening to Oliver Callan's "tribute" to him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Bring back Brendan O'Connor or Dave Fanning or even Marion, and sack this obnoxious cretin.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

So majella ...Daniel is on the dancin show
    Majella "yes he's very excited"
    tubs "yer one is gonna steal him from you"
    Majella "ah no i'm safe enough"
    Tubs "no she is defo gonna ride him"
    Majella "ah no it's just a bit of fun"
    tubs "she's f**ed her last two partners"
    Majella "yes"
    Tubs" "hows the cancer?"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭jimmyw

The whole flippin show was just filled up with nonsense and breaks.Very poor.

jimmyw wrote: »
    The whole flippin show was just filled up with nonsense and breaks.Very poor.

But enough about The Late Late Show, what about his radio show?

*sunglasses*

• Registered Users Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭Red Fred

Straight into the death slot this morning.

So majella ...Daniel is on the dancin show
    Majella "yes he's very excited"
    tubs "yer one is gonna steal him from you"
    Majella "ah no i'm safe enough"
    Tubs "no she is defo gonna ride him"
    Majella "ah no it's just a bit of fun"
    tubs "she's f**ed her last two partners"
    Majella "yes"
    Tubs" "hows the cancer?"
    Tubs "How's your "very good friend" Cliff Richard these days?

*temperature drops*

• Registered Users Posts: 15,953 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

I can see why this thread has very little activity. I was listening to the show this morning. Don't usually. But I have to say Ryan has some disdain for Michael Jackson. Referring to him as the Prince Of Pop, mentioning bizarre and just being disrespectful generally. They played the new remix of Say, Say, Say a bit prior to the interview with Michael's Irish doctor. The doctor confirmed he had vitiligo and also lupus. It showed Michael was a very good person, funny, intelligent, a perfectionist, a humanitarian and very compassionate. It was a great interview. And you can see where Ryan's dislike of Michael may stem from. Ryan's a huge Macca fan, talking about how he was at his concert last year and how great it was.

And I agree the ad breaks are ridiculous. They took a break only a minute and a half after returning from a previous one.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

I really find Tubridy's bandwagon jumping to be nauseating. Him who wouldnt watch football if it was the last thing on TV. Apparently Shane Long's goal was "delicious", and the biggest part of the whole story is that two of the music industry's puppets did their best to capitalize on the event. Get up the yard....

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭mbur

Poor Ryi had to suffer the indignation of a guest who used the fec wurd on his show today. She was a yank so I guess she wouldn't have guessed that Ryi is way to posh for this oirish vernackular stuff, what with his top drawer bord na mona roots and everything. The incident passed off peacefully enough. Yer wan was sensitive enough and noticed Ryi's uncomfortable reaction. She mentioned Fr Jack Hackett and sure wasn't it all hilarious. Check mate to the yank I think.

The thing is Ryi if you want to keep your posh RTE1 show you'll have to stop pulling all your RTE2 tricks. We know you can do better. Capiche?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,043 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Bring back Brendan O'Connor or Dave Fanning or even Marion, and sack this obnoxious cretin.

Bit harsh there, lad.

Don't tell us you want poor John back :eek:

Bit harsh there, lad.

Don't tell us you want poor John back :eek:

John is currently sucking the life out of Saturday afternoon sports.....

I'd love to know who signed off on that appointment.:mad:

John is currently sucking the life out of Saturday afternoon sports.....

I'd love to know who signed off on that appointment.:mad:

I think John Murray is doing grand in the sports dept - more focused subject matter etc. He has a good radio voice.

As for Tubs, I don't know - somehow or other I hit the off switch now when the 9 o'clock news comes on. Time for work etc.....

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭mbur

BarryD wrote: »
    I think John Murray is doing grand in the sports dept - more focused subject matter etc. He has a good radio voice.

As for Tubs, I don't know - somehow or other I hit the off switch now when the 9 o'clock news comes on. Time for work etc.....

There seems to be a cohort of RTE presenters who fancy themselves as the poster boys of the establishment. Mr Tubs would have to be a bit of a jewel in that crown. We hang out with all the big shots and aren't they all just too grand altogether. The late Gerry Ryan described such persons as ****. This is a bit sad because he was not always successful in avoiding that hazard himself. But at least he tried.

The two things you will learn from the likes of Ryan Tubridy are nothing and nothing else. Thats why you are switching off.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,043 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

mbur wrote: »
    There seems to be a cohort of RTE presenters who fancy themselves as the poster boys of the establishment. Mr Tubs would have to be a bit of a jewel in that crown. We hang out with all the big shots and aren't they all just too grand altogether. The late Gerry Ryan described such persons as ****. This is a bit sad because he was not always successful in avoiding that hazard himself. But at least he tried.

The two things you will learn from the likes of Ryan Tubridy are nothing and nothing else. Thats why you are switching off.

Not a terribly objective critique, but you are entitled to your opinion.