Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ruining a wedding

• Registered Users Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Ludikrus wrote: »
    A wedding I was at went off without a hitch and so did the reception. It was a really lovely upmarket hotel/lodge setup. Then, at about 5AM two guys smoking a spliff set off a fire alarm and the place had to be evacuated. Bride & groom, parents, everyone outside, half dressed and wrecked.

I was at that!!! Lisloughrey Lodge?!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,151 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

HBC08 wrote: »
    I was at a cousins wedding with the other half,she hadnt met any of my extented family at the time.

We were three drinks in before we realised we were at the wrong wedding.

We also missed the actual wedding earlier that day because we couldnt find the church.

I did that myself. It was a far better wedding than the right one !

• Registered Users Posts: 6,037 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

HBC08 wrote: »
    I was at a cousins wedding with the other half,she hadnt met any of my extented family at the time.

We were three drinks in before we realised we were at the wrong wedding.

We also missed the actual wedding earlier that day because we couldnt find the church.
    A bit like the episode of Only Fools And Horses where Del and Rodney went to the wrong funeral.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭zetecescort

arrived late to the church one time, made a dash in the side door only to end up sitting with the choir. had to stand and sit whenever they did, mouthing the words to the songs

• Registered Users Posts: 11,807 ✭✭✭✭anewme

A bit like the episode of Only Fools And Horses where Del and Rodney went to the wrong funeral.

Myself and my boss some years ago went to the wrong funeral. I realised at the end that we didnt recognise anyone.

Our funeral was late and we were at the one before it.

He decided to shake hands with the family and sign the book out of respect as we had taken part . He loved funerals and was delighted then that we had another full funeral to attend plus soup n sambos after.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,391 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

We've had people turn up at the wrong wedding.
    We've had people turn up at the wrong funeral.
    Most tragically, we've had weddings turn into funerals.

But I hope we haven't had anyone turn up at a funeral thinking it was a wedding!

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,941 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

lawred2 wrote: »
    The queue to shake hands thing is horrible alright but I doubt it's uniquely Irish..

Absolutely not. How honourable is it for people to stand in a queue in solidarity to take a few minutes to pay respect to the deceased and offer some little comfort to the family?
    I think it's an Irish custom that should never die.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

odyssey06 wrote: »
    We've had people turn up at the wrong wedding.
    We've had people turn up at the wrong funeral.
    Most tragically, we've had weddings turn into funerals.

But I hope we haven't had anyone turn up at a funeral thinking it was a wedding!

Post 346.
    Well, sorta!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Absolutely not. How honourable is it for people to stand in a queue in solidarity to take a few minutes to pay respect to the deceased and offer some little comfort to the family?

You're making a big assumption that it is comfort though. In any of my experiences, it has been anything but. Ive just wanted to go and comfort my family, and not sit in the cold for the benefit of strangers.

I think I started this funeral talk so hopefully to close it, with an example of my reasoning. A cousin of mine passed away in a tragic accident, a young man in his early 20s. His parents and siblings were distraught beyond anything Ive seen, but held themselves together as best they could to get through the funeral. The one thing they asked was that people not pay their respects in person, they couldnt face it. It was announced by the priest at the mass, on the local radio announcement and even a sign on their front door that they ask people to hold off on passing on their sympathies. Did anyone listen? Did they fcuk. They were queuing as the priest asked them not to. There were endless knocks on the very door that had the sign. I even saw them cornered putting diesel in the car.

My mother in law (about as old Ireland as it gets) talked about paying her respects. I told her as bluntly as I could not to, his mother was on the verge of a breakdown and just wanted to be left alone. She did it anyway, she said she couldn't let an event like that pass, despite knowing it would upset the recipient (which it did).

Fond rememberance of an old person dying is all well and good, but there's a certain arrogance to think that acquaintances offering platitudes brings any comfort to a devastated family.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,214 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I'm not sure what honour has to do with it to be honest...

Either way I'm speaking from the perspective of the grieving family shaking hands with a procession of people not the 'honourable' folk who stood in a queue.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

odyssey06 wrote: »

In 2008 the man I used to work for died. He's was in his 70' had lived a full life and was a bit of a legend and his AA friends and others.

The family asked would I sit with him and a few of his friends through the night while he was waked in house. I had never done it before and wasn't looking forward to it.

Other than praying on the hour for about 5 minutes (which I used to get more drink) it was a brilliant night. Lots of lads telling stories about him which they would never get the chance to again.

His nephew, from Mayo, said he loved a good wake. A coffin be pushed to the side to make room for set dancing not being that unusual.

We waked our own father 10 years ago and it was a brilliant decision. Sad but a really beautiful occasion and really nice way to wake a loved one. Funeral homes are the pits imo.

A local man, who was a fiery athetist rural Ireland in the 70 and 80's and when it came at a real cost, was buried last January. They waked him in the local community center where there was food, drink, dancing and some really good singing and dancing. I was at very few better weddings.

He was buried in a graveyard on same site as the now derelict school he went to. His son read a poem the Deceased had written about his school days while we all looked down on the building. It was a magical way to send him off.

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭Jim Root

Drink really brings out the worst in people

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 128 ✭✭Ckendrick

lawred2 wrote: »
    I'm not sure what honour has to do with it to be honest...

Either way I'm speaking from the perspective of the grieving family shaking hands with a procession of people not the 'honourable' folk who stood in a queue.

Neighbours friends work colleagues and far flung relatives want to offer their sympathy to the mourners.
    What is “horrible” about that?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

You're making a big assumption that it is comfort though. In any of my experiences, it has been anything but. Ive just wanted to go and comfort my family, and not sit in the cold for the benefit of strangers.

I think I started this funeral talk so hopefully to close it, with an example of my reasoning. A cousin of mine passed away in a tragic accident, a young man in his early 20s. His parents and siblings were distraught beyond anything Ive seen, but held themselves together as best they could to get through the funeral. The one thing they asked was that people not pay their respects in person, they couldnt face it. It was announced by the priest at the mass, on the local radio announcement and even a sign on their front door that they ask people to hold off on passing on their sympathies. Did anyone listen? Did they fcuk. They were queuing as the priest asked them not to. There were endless knocks on the very door that had the sign. I even saw them cornered putting diesel in the car.

My mother in law (about as old Ireland as it gets) talked about paying her respects. I told her as bluntly as I could not to, his mother was on the verge of a breakdown and just wanted to be left alone. She did it anyway, she said she couldn't let an event like that pass, despite knowing it would upset the recipient (which it did).

Fond rememberance of an old person dying is all well and good, but there's a certain arrogance to think that acquaintances offering platitudes brings any comfort to a devastated family.
    Obviously there's different strokes for different folks, but IMO, having had more than my fair share of loss, having loads of people sympathising and a big funeral or wake or both is helpful.

Having said that, there's no excuse for these gob****es ignoring the sign on the door etc in this case.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,784 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Jim Root wrote: »
    Drink really brings out the worst in people

If it wasn't for drink, we wouldnt have heard all these hilarious stories on this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

I don't know if it ever actually got to the church but I worked in an office a while back with a fella who talked a lot about his upcoming wedding. I assumed it was to another girl in the office, since they flirted outrageously and there were thinly veiled jokes about them shagging after work nights out. Turns out she was the other woman, but it was so well known that people in the office had gone beyond gossip and openly talked about the situation in front of them.

Your man and his fiance had a party in their house a few weeks before the wedding, and the following Monday he was openly joking about riding the colleague in his utility room while his fiance was in the living room. I left that week so never found out the ending, but kinda hope it all blew up in his face.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Andrea B.

Obviously there's different strokes for different folks, but IMO, having had more than my fair share of loss, having loads of people sympathising and a big funeral or wake or both is helpful.

Having said that, there's no excuse for these gob****es ignoring the sign on the door etc in this case.

Always pissed me off with work colleagues (not work friends) marching in among your family to offer condolences. It is a somewhat private and vulnerable time.
    Had a colleague once who headed off on a 200 mile roundtrip for our bosses father in law funeral. Wtf.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,901 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

I don't know if it ever actually got to the church but I worked in an office a while back with a fella who talked a lot about his upcoming wedding. I assumed it was to another girl in the office, since they flirted outrageously and there were thinly veiled jokes about them shagging after work nights out. Turns out she was the other woman, but it was so well known that people in the office had gone beyond gossip and openly talked about the situation in front of them.

Your man and his fiance had a party in their house a few weeks before the wedding, and the following Monday he was openly joking about riding the colleague in his utility room while his fiance was in the living room. I left that week so never found out the ending, but kinda hope it all blew up in his face.
    Not quite a wedding, but a colleague of mine invited a gang of us from work to her engagement party. Towards the end of the night there was a commotion because one of the would-be groomsmen was caught getting a handy-j in the toilets from one of the bride-to-be’s friends. Problem was he was married to the grooms sister, who also happened to be there. Murder ensued.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,387 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

RubyGlee wrote: »
    I was at a small wedding a few years ago. Day was going great until the speech’s. The bride has a daughter from a previous relations and the bride and groom had a 1yr old son. A comment was made about the 3 of them being a beautiful little family now and the little girl was heard crying then asking was she not part of the family anymore. It was actually really sad and the bride and her two bridesmaid sisters stormed off to the comfort the child. The atmosphere dropped after that
    Was the comment intentional or a slip of the tongue? Nasty stuff if it was intentional.

Andrea B. wrote: »
    Had a colleague once who headed off on a 200 mile roundtrip for our bosses father in law funeral. Wtf.

Often those types are after a promotion or will claim back the time and put in for travel expenses.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭lab man

cena wrote: »
    Hi, Folks. OP here. I was not expecting this many replies.

So brother got married 8 years ago. Uncle and his come over from England the day before the wedding. The hotel was 30 minutes away from where we all lived. They wouldn't even come out to the brother and his wife the night before.
    Day of the wedding we get to the hotel and they stayed in the room while the photos are been taken. It left a bad atmosphere for the day the way they treated my brother, they were also heard to be saying they didn't want to come to the wedding.

We also had an aunt come over from England. She stayed with us the night before and kept going on about staying in the hotel. We didn't stay at the hotel and we only lived 30 mins away and I was driving (non-drinker), Anyways the whole day of the wedding she kept going about us staying there for the night. We kept telling her no due to living so close. The night rolls on and the aunt is very fond for the drink and gets plastered. She makes a show of the family jumping on the chairs and making a fool of a much older cousin.

Anyway, we going home and my mother lets loose in the aunt and uncle her (sister and brother) how bad they acted over the weekend and the uncle couldn't even come to the house the night before. The aunt got her wish and stayed at the hotel after been told she was no longer welcomed back to the house.
    I arrived back to the hotel the next morning with her suite and she gets in the uncle's car to get onto the same boat home as the uncle and wife. He only came for the day
    8 years later and haven't spoken to any of them. We have another aunt in England who wouldn't come over for her first nephew of 3 to get married. That took the biscut altogether with hte brother and mother

Winner 1st place

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 38,423 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Not a ruined wedding but was a funny one...
    My sister returned from America to get married (blessed) two decades ago. Her now husband is Asian.
    Anyhow a few days before the wedding there was a rehearsal in the church. It went perfectly and the priest showed everyone what to do.
    On the day of the wedding, I and my OH arrived early at the church. My brother was groomsman whilst the groom's brother was best man.
    However, as the guests arrived we became concerned as the priest wasn't there. I eventually ran down to his house and his housekeeper said that he had left a few hours ago. A short while later I went to another priests house and he didn't know where he was.
    About (I think) half an hour after we should have had kicked off, he arrived up with the hair covering his face and looking a bit odd. Nothing said about being late or anything.
    I phoned my sister to come down and we got going.
    When it came time to do the readings, it was to be my mum, the responsoril psalm by the groom's mum and my brother was to do the second reading. When it came time for my brother to do the reading, he walked up to the pulpit and the priest just carried on with the mass. My brother sheepishly walked back down to his seat.
    During the vows the priest referred to the bride by my mother's name.
    After Communion, were fairly sure that when the priest sits down and reflects, he fell asleep.
    The smallish congregation were finding all of thia gas craic and people were having fits if giggles. When an aunt had a 5 minute coughing fit, it just made the atmosphere funnier.
    When it came time to sign the vows, he went over to the side of the church and dragged a wooden table back across the floor, maybe 50m and it made a screeching noise that most of us were in tears at this stage.
    Anyhow, I'm not sure what was wrong with him but he didn't smell of drink.
    At the wedding reception, the best man was unfamiliar with the role and asked my brother to do the main speech. He stood up at the top table (with the priest sitting there also) and said that before he read out the telegrams, he wanted to read something out to people. He reached into is jacket, took out a piece of paper and said "A Reading from St. Paul to the Corinthians". Everyone there, except one who didn't get the joke, cracked up laughing.
    The priest didnt drink at the reception and when he was leaving, myself and my father watched him bumble his way through the car park wondering if he'd make it home (he did).

• Registered Users Posts: 30,026 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Was the above priest from Cork by any chance?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 38,423 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Looking at his death notice, he was originally from Carrickmacross.
    No idea what was wrong with him on the day.

Looking at his death notice, he was originally from Carrickmacross.
    No idea what was wrong with him on the day.

That's not him.
    I knew a priest and he could go missing, fall asleep at any event or sleep in and the family/alter servers would have to go to his house to wake the priest up for a wedding, funeral, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,183 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

That's not him.
    I knew a priest and he could go missing, fall asleep at any event or sleep in and the family/alter servers would have to go to his house to wake the priest up for a wedding, funeral, etc.

Narcolepsy? Boredom?

I don’t know he was a nice man but he probably had some issues and could have being a bit lazy as well. You could meet hit at 12 at night at Tesco buying ice cream.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Didn't ruin a wedding but a nice anecdote.

My brother got married about 15 years ago. Civil ceremony in a hotel suite with 40 people. Back to the upstairs of a local pub / restaurant. I was best man and had absolutely no speech prepared. I didn't even want to make one. I hate public speaking.

Anyway after desert I was getting funny looks from people. So I said I'd better say something. I got up and said, "Good evening everybody. Thanks very much for coming. Hope ye have a great day. Here's to X and Y. "

Later that evening in the bar downstairs someone said my speech was very short. My uncle said "It was so short I couldn't even get a photograph of it".

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 Mod ✭✭✭✭SeaFields

My own wedding...two first cousins. One on my side, one on hers. They got plastered (as we all did - it was a glorious sunny summer day made for all day drinking) but both were lads that the drink didn't suit. They were annoying all day but tolerable however there was a serious tension between the two of them. It was like who could be the"funny drunken cousin". Anyways after the meal people taking to the dance floor in the usual fashion. Both lads started sizing each other up immediately once they were near each other while dancing. Punches starting flying. I went into it. My wife of a few hours grabbed me and said you can't do this you're the groom! Our friend who happens to be a detective was also dancing away with us, sees the commotion and puts the both in a wrist lock and on their holes within seconds before it was suggested to both by the aunties they go to bed. Looking back it was actually hilarious.

Honourable second mention to one of my best buddys weddings. His (married) work colleague starts propositioning one of the lads wives with lines such as "I'm the alpha male at the table. I can offer more than him. Come up to my room". This was during the meals. A few of us were acting as grooms men so couldn't make out exactly what was happening from the top table but knew something was going on. The fella was eventually put to bed. He arrived back when we were in the residents bar a few hours later. Grabs his bosses wife's arse and starts the same ****e "alpha male" with her. We have to pull the boss off him. He somehow makes his way behind the bar and grabs two bottles of whiskey and tries to drink them... security arrive and that's the end of the wedding.

Fck it I miss a good alcohol fueled Irish wedding.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Louis Friend

In my experience, alpha males don’t go around telling people that they’re alpha males...

Someone who feels the need to claim that they’re an alpha male is actually a flaccid cuck.