Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Ruining a wedding

• 08-04-2021 12:09pm
    Registered Users Posts: 9,961 ✭✭✭

Has anyone here ruined a wedding or been to a wedding that was ruined? Let us say, someone has stood up during the mass service and said that this person should not marry him or she.

Not really, but I was at a wedding where a guy got too drunk and started repeatedly heckling the speeches.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

I heard from two lads that were at a wedding that the best man went on and on about the stuff that happened at the stag to the point that the brides mother put a stop to it.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,177 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

Kind of. Twas me that did the ruining. Won't go into any more detail than that. Great satisfaction from it though

• Registered Users Posts: 16,737 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

The groom got drunk and decked the best man!
    The marriage didn't last either.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,310 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I was at one where the bride and groom had obviously had a huge row sometime before the ceremony. They barely looked at one another in the church or at the reception. Both their parents looked mortified at the top table, the speeches were excruciating as no one knew whether to laugh at the obvious jokes.

Later in the night they would turn and walk in the opposite direction if they found themselves approaching each other.

They split up less than 2 years later.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

cena wrote: »
    Has anyone here ruined a wedding or been to a wedding that was ruined? Let us say, someone has stood up during the mass service and said that this person should not marry him or she.

Any traveller wedding.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,279 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Was at a wedding where the father of the groom was extremely drunk during his speech

I never met the guy before but what I was told is he was a very occasional drinker who went way over his limit on the day.

Don’t know if it was due to nerves or simply people buying rounds etc.

Felt a bit sorry for him, it was embarrassing for everyone

• Registered Users Posts: 11,262 ✭✭✭✭jester77

There was a lad that was in a group of friends I hung out with. I was at his first wedding, girl was a stunner. They ended up splitting up shortly after and then later getting divorced. I had left Ireland at that stage and wasn't in contact with him, but he moved on and met someone and was getting married again. Some of my mates were at this wedding and it was time for the speeches. The lad stood up and wanted to toast his new wife and he called her by the ex-wifes name. Didn't go down well.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

I was at a wedding where the brides family turned on all the grooms side with snarky comments all day, then the grooms family turned on each other. Fisticuffs between sisters, ambulance called, all sorts. Bride ended up insulting a few guests at the end, then slipped and went head over heels in a pool of spilt beer as she tried to storm off. It was quite the fitting ending.

At another, the best man was giving his speech and mentioned there would be no more craic with the groom now he was married - delivered with a look at the bride as he said "there's always one c*nt that has to spoil the party"

• Registered Users Posts: 16,310 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I was at a wedding where the brides family turned on all the grooms side with snarky comments all day, then the grooms family turned on each other. Fisticuffs between sisters, ambulance called, all sorts. Bride ended up insulting a few guests at the end, then slipped and went head over heels in a pool of spilt beer as she tried to storm off. It was quite the fitting ending.

At another, the best man was giving his speech and mentioned there would be no more craic with the groom now he was married - delivered with a look at the bride as he said "there's always one c*nt that has to spoil the party"

I'd like to your +1 at the next wedding you're invited to!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Kind of. Twas me that did the ruining. Won't go into any more detail than that. Great satisfaction from it though

Why bother even saying anything then? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 667 ✭✭✭blackvalley

cena wrote: »

MY GOD !!! :eek:. Looking for ideas ?
    What sort of atrocity are you planning ??. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

My cousin at his brothers wedding collapsed on purpose, he went down to the left like someone took the leg from under him, he didn't even put his hand or arm out to break the fall.....

Was funny watching it on video as we weren't at it....

Running off with the bride would probably ruin it

• Registered Users Posts: 6,037 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

At my cousins wedding we were about to start the main course and some guy projectile vomited over the table. It was like a scene from a movie.

I was nearly that guy, hadn't even touched the pint yet, lovely cold one sitting in front of me, others were worried about me as I went white....

Took some nurofen which a girl had on her, went up and actually conked out in the hotel bed, we had brought shots, drink, disco lights and speakers as we always do so we are getting ready or when it all ends we tend to keep going, all the wife's friends wanted to come up and check on me but one funnily was thinking I had someone up there,I had got up about 10 minutes before they arrive up.

I had the disco lights going, music and was drinking a can.....

It was a great night from then on.

The infamous ‘brown wedding’ posts should provide all the inspiration you need.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭ArtyM

Check out this thread following a post by a user detailing a ruined Wedding in a Thread called 'The most self entitled thing you've ever seen'

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=90747832&postcount=17

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 23,923 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Was at a wedding where the best man said as part of his speech "This marriage will be like a league season, half played at home and half played away" at which stage the bride starting bawling crying and had to be escorted away. The best man was alluding to the fact that the groom was always "playing the field" but it turned out the bride was having an affair for years and 1 of their children wasn't his, the whole wedding just finished then, no band, dance or anything, everyone just went to the bar, up town or home.

I was a plus one at a wedding where the bride's father collapsed and died just after the wedding party reached the hotel for the reception. Massive heart attack.

After the bride and some of her immediate family left to follow the ambulance to the hospital, there were some ugly scenes amongst those left behind because the groom's family wanted to continue on with the party because "it was paid for anyway" and the bride's family were (understandably) upset.

It was actually one of the saddest things I've ever seen.

I was nearly that guy, hadn't even touched the pint yet, lovely cold one sitting in front of me, others were worried about me as I went white....

Took some nurofen which a girl had on her, went up and actually conked out in the hotel bed, we had brought shots, drink, disco lights and speakers as we always do so we are getting ready or when it all ends we tend to keep going, all the wife's friends wanted to come up and check on me but one funnily was thinking I had someone up there,I had got up about 10 minutes before they arrive up.

I had the disco lights going, music and was drinking a can.....

It was a great night from then on.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

I've had a few "experiences". One where the bride was so nervous she got pissed in the early champagne and was in bed by 7pm. Never reappeared. Another where one of the groomsmen got horredndified and put to bed early by his missus under great protest by himself. He arrived down half an hour later, into the banquet stark naked and did a few laps of the dance floor and the guests seating area before heading back to bed happy as Larry with himself

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Thankfully all weddings I've been to have been merry but scandal-less.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,434 ✭✭✭✭banie01

I know of one wedding where the groom got himself so coked up that the celebrant offered an annulment to the bride at the reception.
    Made a complete twat of himself. Marriage didn't last long either.

My own wedding, considering my family straits at the time went off surprisingly well.
    Apart from a drunken work colleague deciding that she was being threatened by the meekest girl in the place ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭JustAThought

banie01 wrote: »
    I know of one wedding where the groom got himself so coked up that the celebrant offered an annulment to the bride at the reception.
    Made a complete twat of himself. Marriage didn't last long either.

My own wedding, considering my family straits at the time went off surprisingly well.
    Apart from a drunken work colleague deciding that she was being threatened by the meekest girl in the place ;)

OMG I hope she took him up on that - save a fortune in solicitors fees :0

I was at a very fancy one - black tie, no expense spared - when up rocked a cousin with two children and one screaming from a pram, wedding was strictly a no children affair, cousin plonked herself at ‘our’ (full) table and atarted ordering high chairs and plate settings for herself and the kids - staff didn’t know what to do but obliged her with one high chair and an adult plate setting - the bride stormed down from the top table to call her out on it and insisted neither her nor her children be served and be removed from the reception. Manager was useless, no security on the door - naturally - so cousin just sat and refused to move. Eventually she started feeding her baby a bottle and begged things from other peoples plates and used random spoons and the sideplates for herself and the kids. Everyone was eyes on her and the groom nearly had to wrestle the bride to the floor she was so livid. One child screamed all the way through the speaches which were repeatedly pointedly stopped while they were states at. She travelled - without her husband - from the other end of Ireland to make this holy show of herself. neither groom nor bride were close to her & as a courtesy she and her husband had been invited - without children - like all others but had not rsvp’d. I can still see the rage on the brides face. It will never be forgotten, nor forgiven.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,527 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

I was a plus one at a wedding where the bride's father collapsed and died just after the wedding party reached the hotel for the reception. Massive heart attack. .

Similar here (without the RIP). Attended a wedding where the father of the bride had a heart attack after dinner and had to be attended to by the bride (a nurse).

• Registered Users Posts: 12,415 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

I wasn't at it but.....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,869 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

ArtyM wrote: »
    Check out this thread following a post by a user detailing a ruined Wedding in a Thread called 'The most self entitled thing you've ever seen'

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=90747832&postcount=17

Jesus Christ!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭JustAThought

The Nal wrote: »
    I wasn't at it but.....

OMg was she ok????
    That was some kick to the head.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,415 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

OMg was she ok????
    That was some kick to the head.

She was knocked out. Never found out the story behind it. If the wedding continued etc.