If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on [email protected] for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact [email protected]

Second Captains

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

• Registered Users Posts: 7,935 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

mike65 wrote: »

noooo... they don't present that show anymore..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭noiniho

Can't wait for them to come back on air know, I hope they get a decent gig that their abilities deserve!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

"come back on air know"- Are you feckin kidding me????????????????????????????????? This country is a joke, jesus christ almighty.

First captain, second captain, who cares?

GET ON WITH IT!!!!!1111!!!!!

podcasting for the irish times. looks like the guardian may have a rival for sports podcasts now. very underwhelming but good luck to them with it.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/discover/ojsnmhgbmhcw/

• Registered Users Posts: 43,013 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Would four lads get a wage from a podcast?

it'd be hard to make a weekly sports podcast relevant since people aren't going to listen to it at the same time. sports is one of those things that can't transfer to on-demand as the live element is too big.

doing a podcast on a tuesday about a football match that was on the previous wednesday and saturday is going to be tough going.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,889 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Would four lads get a wage from a podcast?

Hardly a living wage I would have thought, esp. given the financial circumstances at the Times.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,210 ✭✭✭✭nullzero

This month, the only place to hear the Second Captains is with irishtimes.com

Perhaps it's not their full time gig after all?

Glazers Out!

nullzero wrote: »
    Perhaps it's not their full time gig after all?

that makes it sound like a trial run by the irish times. what if it doesn't go well??

• Registered Users Posts: 16,210 ✭✭✭✭nullzero

that makes it sound like a trial run by the irish times. what if it doesn't go well??
    More likely to be a stop gap before they make their move, probably for the beginning of next season.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,547 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Any idea how long the podcast will be? Did i read an hour somewhere?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

Moved from the Radio forum as this is about a Podcast

Splinter

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 14,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Any idea how long the podcast will be? Did i read an hour somewhere?

I'll be very interested to see how long it is...

Like, it'd be hard to see how they'd do an OTB-esque show in under an hour, but realistically an hour, an hour and a half is the length of most of these types of podcasts.

Although with the retirement of Ferguson it could make for a great listen if they get guys like Giles and Dunpy et al to contribute...

so the first podcast may be out next tuesday, 7 days after the biggest football retirement in years. this is what they're missing out on.

I hope they swear a lot and throw Newstalk under the bus.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭Syferus

They threw themselves under the bus - their decision is looking incredibly idiotic. Classic case of over-valuing your own worth.

So will this available midnight tonight or what?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 14,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Very much doubt it. Probably tomorrow afternoon if I were to guess, depending on whether they're going to record on Tuesdays or Mondays.

Syferus wrote: »
    They threw themselves under the bus - their decision is looking incredibly idiotic. Classic case of over-valuing your own worth.

Yeah, keep your head down and say nothing; thats the Irish way.

'So Dessie, any craic at the weekend?'

*pukes on radio*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭armchair fusilier

From 2pm tomorrow.
    Second Captains ‏@SecondCaptains 2h @romperstompr @shanehegarty @hicksimon first show will be available from 2pm tomorrow. Will tweet all methods of catching it in afternoon.

From 2pm tomorrow.

Cheers. Wonder if it's going to be footie focused? Hardly the optimum moment to be launching if so...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭armchair fusilier

It probably will this week anyway. Ken was at Trapp's press conference today, so the two friendlies are bound to feature. As will Fergie/Rooney and Mancini's sacking(that's if it hasn't been recorded already). I'd be surprised if Pat McQuaid doesn't get a mention.

https://twitter.com/SecondCaptains
    Get tweeting us now ahead of todays show. How long will it take us to play our first wolf howl sound effect? Correct guesses win bad prizes

Trying to generate some 'buzz' apparently...

• Registered Users Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

From their new Facebook page ...
    To everyone asking, the first 'Second Captains @ The Irish Times' show will be available on irishtimes.com and iTunes from 2pm today. We'll hear from Giovanni Trapattoni, Joe Schmidt, Shane Horgan, Gerry Thornley, Richie Sadlier and Sid Lowe. Gardening tips also if we have time...

https://www.facebook.com/secondcaptains?fref=ts

Nice to have them back in some form anyway. Hopefully it won't be long until they sort out a proper Radio gig.

Anyone know where exactly this will be found on the Times website?

11763d1338902839-last-one-post-wins-soul-keychain-funny-dog-pictures-we-there-yet.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 312 ✭✭JuanJose

Guess we should see a link from the lads via Facebook & Twitter. Take-off time now 2.30pm according to the lads themselves on Twitter.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Coming soon!

https://www.facebook.com/secondcaptains
    Ok - 'Second Captains @ The Irish Times' show number 1 is done and dusted. Only slight issue is we may have had too much fun. Might be 10-15 mins late, but we'll get it to you as soon as we can. And we'll post a link up here for you too.
    Gonna be 2.30 before the first show is available everyone - we have gone over the hour by a quite comical degree! But more is good, right?

405609_518208624893557_1143994072_n.jpg

Here's the itunes link, not sure about the Times

https://itunes.apple.com/ie/podcast/second-captains-irish-times/id646075470?mt=2

• Registered Users Posts: 10,063 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

• Registered Users Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Anyone got an RSS/XML link? Hate the way anyone who doesn't use an apple device is effectively ignored :mad: