Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Goals for 2019?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭Fenster

Going pretty well with my goals. Ran some successful, tough half marathons after two bad tears. In June I launched into serious training for a full next month, with loads of support from friends my running club.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

10k update this time. I set myself a goal of sub 49 in June when I signed up with a coach. 8 races and 8 PBs so far this year.

Distance|2018 PB|2019 PB|Date achieved
    5 km| 24:32|23:37|21/5/19
    Parkrun | 25:25|24:09|2/2/19
    5 mile|40:50|39:56|17/2/19
    10 km|53:47|48:22|25/8/19
    10 mile|1:31:12|1:25:15|7/4/2019
    HM|1:58:44|1:53:04|2/6/2019
    Marathon|4:20:05|

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

I'll jump on board here... Ex rugby player started running this year. Started off couch to 5k and started running 60 seconds on, 60 seconds off and it was tough after a few years of inactivity.
    Progressed to do a few parkruns and have a 5k pb of 31 mins now.
    Did Frank duffy 10 mile at the weekend and found it very tough and finished in 2 hours.

So, goals for rest of year

Half marathon 2 hrs 30 mins
    Full marathon just finish it
    27 min 5k pb

After I attempt marathon I think I'm going to just focus on the 5k distance for a while I don't really enjoy the longer stuff, and it wasn't long ago I would have considered 5k an extremely long distance anyway!

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭The Buster

The Buster wrote: »
    Started running end of March and did about 700km this year. No races but approx PB’s are 24.55 for 5km parkrun and about 54.00 for 10km

Goals for 2019:
    - run in a race
    - 23 min for 5km
    - 50 min 10km
    -avg 30km a week so total 1560km for year
    - under 4.00 for a 1km split
    - lose 10kg (lost 15 since March)

22:54 parkrun today so my main goal achieved! Quick update on all:

- I have run 10km and (stupidly) a half marathon so goal completed
    - 22:54 for 5km
    - 12 seconds over the 10km time. I hope to achieve this by end of year
    - averaging 22km a week. To ambitious here. I am doing about 50km cycling a week which I hadn’t planned.
    - 4:12 for 1km. Don’t think I will make the 4;00. Not too worried about this!
    - 7kg down since jan. 3 to go. On track

• Registered Users Posts: 13,851 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Zebra3 wrote: »
    So first 30km or so in the rain.

Wind nearly made my hands fell off.

Superb support on the course.

At 39km saw sub 3:10 was on.

Nipped in with 3:09:51.

Delighted!!

Hoping to sub 3:00:00 now in October in Chicago.

Bring it on!!

Off out in Chicago in the morn. (#3322)

Have done 2,800km so far this year which is about 1,000 more than I did at this stage last year before Dublin but have been totally fatigued in training the last few months.

Hopefully the taper will have me fresh but have absolutely no idea how it's gonna go. Got a half done in training at 4:40/km pace. The rest of my training has just been very sluggish, no idea what to even goal for. PB looks out of the question, but 3:15 will (most likely) qualify me for Boston 2021.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,851 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Very bad day at the office. 3:29:39. Totally lost out there.

Bad end to the year. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

A few carrying over from last year and maybe even longer.

1) Dublin Marathon sub 2.45. This is a stepping stone for my 2020 goal of doing the Berlin Marathon. 2.45 is guaranteed entry qualification time. Current pb is 2.47.

2) sub 60 minutes for 10 miles.

3) Sub 80 minutes for a half. (Charleville)

4) Run a cross country. (January)

5) Increase mileage. More medium long runs midweek. Moving house early new year so plan to run to and from work more often.

Thats it. Happy Running one and all. Look forward to reading all your progress of the year.

As Dublin Marathon is over now. It bring to the end my year. So will revisit my goals now.

1. Dublin Marathon. New pb 2.46.08. Was on 2.45 up to 30km and even closer to the end but turning past RTE I felt it was gone. Last three km of 4.12, 4.11 and 4.09 certainly ended it. I can say I left it all on the road though. So goal of making it to Berlin 2020 now becomes Berlin 2021. So while I say its the end of my year only until December when I start on the road to Seville.

2. Ended up doing it 3 times. First time in Dungarvan in February, second time in Mallow and then again in Kilcock. So pb is now 59.03. Was close to going sub 59 except for an unfortunate incident with the cordon tape close to the finish line.

3. Did not run in Charleville in the end. (More on that later.) So no half since 2017. You might guess what next years goal will be.

4. Ran a cross country. Very enjoyable and ended up doing three or so in the end.

5. Increased mileage. That one will have to wait until years end for a final tally.

So in review,

PBs this year at 5km (Road), 5KM (Track) easy one since it was my first time to run on a track. 10km (Rotterdam). 10 mile and marathon.

Although Merrion square on Sunday was great. It wasn't my best day in Merrion Square this year. That came in September when Baby Djemba Djemba was born.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Kellygirl

Finally updating my marathon pb after 2years. 10 races and 9 PBs so far this year. Next goal is to hit 1500 miles before year end. Undecided if doing any more races. It’s been a good year and my running has come on a lot.

Marathon|4:20:05|4:03:04|27/10/2019

Augeo wrote: »
    I was close to 17 stone this time last year.........I'm down to 13 stone now and recently ran a 4 mile race in 28 mins 36 secs so I've decided a 18 minute 5km is my target for the remainder of 2019.

I'm very low mileage, I do my training in the gym (weights, pull ups, dips etc etc)...... I've only ran 52kms in 2019 & 136kms in the 4 years up to then, I'm 38 :)

I posted that in June.
    I managed a 20 min 5km on the treadmill and two under 22mins race 5kms but unfortunately 18 mins won't be happening, this year anyway :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

you might just have been the first person to ever run an 18min 5k off 1km per week training

• Registered Users Posts: 415 ✭✭ISOP

ISOP wrote: »
    5k sub 20 (currently 21:44)
    5 mile sub 35 (currently 37 something)
    10k under 42 (Currently 45:46)
    10 miles under 76 (Currently 1:19 something)
    half under 1:42 (Currently 1:45:02)
    marathon sub 4 (Currently 4:08:32)

want loose about 7-8 kilos and generally live a bit better cutting out booze etc, would be happy with that.
    had forgotten about this thread, 3 sub 4 marathons in the last month 3:58 and 3:54 X 2..Trained for Berlin and Chicago and Dublin was bonus territory. Have the 5k down to 20:43, have a club 10k tomorrow night but not sure if I will bother with it, have not had a proper attempt at the 10k, 10 mile or half yet this year. I really can't complain with this year, it took nearly 3 years to get the sub 4, so happy out now for this year. 3:45 for the marathon next target

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 26,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

100th parkrun on 2 Feb in the snow! On 112 now.

Sub 5 in Manchester (4:51:01) but not in London (5:19:39). Waiting to see if the hip problem I had in London is a niggle or an injury.

Wearing more 14s than 16s, but still need big tops thanks to mother nature and her most generous gifts.

After a shocking summer (changed meds and was pancaked for a while, 3 year old had surgery, other life stuff) I added marathon finish #7 on Sunday with a 5:28:03 plod around Dublin. Longest training run was 13.1 miles 2 weeks before it at Manchester half. Never underestimate the sheer bloodymindedness of a mum of toddlers! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,755 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

Kellygirl wrote: »
    Finally updating my marathon pb after 2years. 10 races and 9 PBs so far this year. Next goal is to hit 1500 miles before year end. Undecided if doing any more races. It’s been a good year and my running has come on a lot.

Marathon|4:20:05|4:03:04|27/10/2019

Wow. That is really impressive reading!

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭passinginterest

If I write these down it might help. First goal is to keep running consistently 3-4 times a week minimum.

I was running regularly in 2013-14 and ended with DCM, picked up what I thought was a bruised foot just over 3 weeks before DCM. Made a lot of mistakes in training, running too hard too often, missing sessions as a result and struggling on all runs over 15 miles. Suffered in last 5 miles of marathon as a result, but was delighted to finish. Never got back running consistently afterwards and always had forefoot pain. Best part of 4 years later and finally have a diagnosis of psoriatic arthritis, some aggressive treatment and regular medication has it under control now and all goals are pretty dependent on keeping it that way. Running regularly for about 8 weeks now, 10k time from Run in the Dark, with only 3 weeks training. 5k from parkrun 2 weeks ago, 4 weeks into an 8 weeks plan.

PBs are all from 2014 and not sure I’ll get to that level this year so I’ll set slightly softer goals. I’ll be 36 in February and haven’t got the base I used to have from football training.

5k - 22.00 (pb 20.18, this year 24.14)
    10k - 46.30 (pb 44.47, this year 56.24)
    Half - 1.45 (pb 1.37.56)
    DCM - sub 4 (pb 4.00.48)

Main goal is DCM, signed up for Wicklow half at end of March, will aim for a 10k race in Feb, race series in build up to marathon and maybe another half along the way.

Considering joining Tallaght AC too, I live close and I think it’d help with the longer training runs.

Got the 5k with 21.58 back in May.
    Miles away from the 10k and the half. 1.49.02 for the half. Unlikely to race another 10k although I'm doing Run in the Dark.

3.59.08 for the Dublin marathon. That was the main goal and delighted with it.

Might throw my hat in for Jingle Bells and see if there's a bit more to take off the 5k.

Next year will be mostly about 10k, 5k and maybe a half or too as things stand.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭Darren 83

Hit 1000km this week it was a little goal of mine. Couldn’t resist a 5k race yesterday 23:11 I was fully convinced there was pb on the cards. Was a bit disappointed did Dromiskin 5k in 22:32 in September.

Started the year in bad shape 30mins for 5k so should be happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 946 ✭✭✭KSU

Hmm have had to really sit down and think for this one. Definitely going aggressive this year so probably setting myself up for failure but rather work hard towards failure than coast to mediocrity with soft goals making excuses for myself

Mileage: 4000 miles

This would represent a huge increase (3100 my highest ever and hovering around 2000 for this year) I had stopped using this as a goal but given the year that I have had I think it would indicate a very good training year which I will need to give marathon a good rattle

Times:

10k PB - (34.10)

This is a monkey on my shoulder. Here is my season best from the last few years.

2018 - 34.14
    2017 - 34.14
    2016 - 34.45 (Great Ireland course so closer to others than would suggest)
    2015 - 34.11

Marathon PB - (2.43.03)

Unfinished business here with the wheels coming off the last few miles last time

Weight:
    Squat - 120kg 1 Rep Max (current best was 90kg)
    Deadlift - 100 kg 1 Rep Max (current best 60 kg before grip strength gives out

Race Weight: 58 kg for DCM (currently 61 kg)

Coaching:

Have a few idea's with the group I have so rather than ambiguous PB gonna put more tangible targets. Again these are general targets I have in my head this is not something I am putting pressure on athletes for

- 2 new sub 3 hr marathoners
    - 1 sub 2.45 runner
    - 2 sub sub 78 HM runners
    - 1 National Championship medalist
    - 2 Provincial/county medalists

Time for this update, won't make for pretty reading but good to look back and evaluate

Personally it was a disaster year for me

Mileage, lucky to break 2000 let alone 4000
    PB's: 0 - 3 races all unfit or coming back to fitness (28.34 5 mile XC, 35.21 10k and 3.09 marathon

Coaching

Targets were made with the group I had with me at that start of the year, this dramatically changed over the course of the year so in terms of these targets ended up with a group of about 1/4 the size for various reasons.

That being said happy enough
    - 2 new sub 3 hr marathoners
    - 1 sub 2.45 runner
    - 2 sub sub 78 HM runners
    - 1 National Championship medalist
    - 2 Provincial/county medalists

Sub 3s - 0 new sub 3s ( 3 athletes competed in marathon, all PB's by +8-30 min min but none in the 3hr range )
    sub 2.45 runner - Achieved 2.47 to 2.39
    sub 78 - 1 achieved 78 to 75
    National Medal - 1. - Gold (politely reminded 🙈)
    Provincial/County - 2 County achieved Roads + Cross Country

Bar definitely been raised for next year with targets as a coach for next year which should be definitely interesting.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,015 ✭✭✭Itziger

Itziger wrote: »
    Hmmmmmm, I've dillied and dallied on this one.

PBs are getting harder to come by now, but I guess the title says Goals, not PBs.

Anyway:

Half M. current is 1.21.06 and I'd like to have a go at it. Same place, Diekirch in March
    Marathon: would like to knock a couple of minutes off the 2.59, maybe target 2.54 in Duisburg in June. Weather has to play ball but April and May suit for training........

Some days I think I'll go Ultra before I really get too old. Did 75k Trail 18 months ago and might try a Longie in Autumn of this year.

Well, well. Best laid plans of mice and men and all that.

The Half PB survived. Got another 1.21 but this time with about 55 seconds to add. Not bad though.

The full did go but not by as much as I was hoping. Shiny new PB is 2.57.36 from Valencia (of course)

Never did get around to Ultra training or racing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Wottle

Wottle wrote: »
    Distance|Current PB/Year|A Goal|B Goal
    Marathon|3:37 (2008) |<3:30:00|<3:15:00
    Half Marathon|1:36:24 (2018) |<1:30:00|<1:35:00
    10 Mile|1:09:27 (2002) |As far under Sub 70 as I can get|
    5 Mile|33:07 (2009)|31:??|32:??
    5K|19:25 (2009)|18:29|19:20
    1 Mile|05:42 (2017)|05:12|05:28

Nice to have a new PB, that's 2 in 2 years, so would definitely like to improve that strike rate.

Big Goal race is Berlin Half in April and I'll be doing everything possible to hammer a new PB.

Didn't get to the track this year or make an appearance in the Dublin Novice, so still on my goals list.

To keep enjoying it, that's about 20 months of consistency and having fun, remembering why I like to run.

Missed out on a half marathon pb by 13 seconds on a very warm spring day in Berlin.

No pbs this year but did manage to get back under 20 for 5k, back in Feb.

The future was looking bright and then bang out of nowhere, things got hard. Took me till start of September to get to the bottom of it and I'm now permanently on Thyroid and cholesterol meds.
    I think I'm finally getting used to the meds and over the last 5 weeks I've gone 23, 22 and last week 21 at Marlay parkrun.

Can't wait to leave 2019 behind me, I'll still get close to 1700 miles for the year and am back enjoying runs.

Roll on 2020, bringing a group to Portugal in March, can't wait.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,679 ✭✭✭squinn2912

squinn2912 wrote: »
    Some great goals here. Was planning on cutting back on running but I feel as though I have the grit between my teeth so I'll think on. 2018 was good for racing with 4 PBs in 6 races. Breaking the 2:55 was brilliant but underwhelming considering how strong I felt late on.
    I want to race a bit more often. Thinking of running Belfast marathon and trying to get into Dublin on a refund.

10k - break 37
    1/2 - 1.22
    Marathon - PB, will allow training to dictate.

So my so exciting post from last year. I did well enough.

10k - 36:12
    1/2 - 1:21:50
    Full - 2:53:30 (adjusted. After course measured long) pb of 91 seconds.
    Two little bonuses;
    5k - 17:30 - my first race at this distance.
    Gunning for 2,000 miles for the year it’ll be touch and go.

Unfortunately I couldn’t build on spring success because I was plagued with niggling injuries. Just getting back this last fortnight.

2019 has yielded 4 PBs can’t but be happy with that. Well done everyone and all the best for next year

• Registered Users Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

God I don't even want to requote my post from January. Been a sh*tshow of a year.

Came in to the year lacking momentum after an injury plagued latter part of 2018. Did pretty well to get into decent shape for Dunshaughlin but that's it really. Since then more injuries, more niggles and on a happy note more kids :). No pbs. No momentum going into 2020. This running craic is tough.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

OOnegative wrote: »
    Once again that time of year, out with the old & in with the new!! What do you aspire to in 2019?

1. Consistency - I need to be more consistent with my training, I can do 3-4 good weeks of training then sit back get lazy and admire them, no more.

2. PB’s - I normally list arbitrary time goals in this but not this year, if I train properly and consistently PB’s will come be it 5 secs or 10 mins.

3. Weight Loss - I need to lose some weight to run those PB’s, at 13 stone i’m just a tad heavy!!

4. Injury free - hitting myself with a big plank of wood typing this one, i’ve been very lucky past few years, keep it that way.

5. Podium - aim high and all that, pipe dream this one, but what the hell!!!

Happy Christmas to one and all on the A/R Forum, may the running year of 2019 be good to you all.

1. Somewhat more consistent this year, but prone to be lazy to at times, more work needed on this in 2020!!

2. PB's at Half, 10k and 5k during the year. Most satisfying of which came on a wonderful October afternoon at the Amsterdam Half Marathon.

3. Weight has gone from 85kgs+ at the start of the year to 76/77kgs so happy with that.

4. Thankfully this one held up, few little niggles but nothing serious.

5. 4 podium's, with a race win thrown in for good measure, soft races maybe but results that can never be taken away from me.

1. Somewhat more consistent this year, but prone to be lazy to at times, more work needed on this in 2020!!

2. PB's at Half, 10k and 5k during the year. Most satisfying of which came on a wonderful October afternoon at the Amsterdam Half Marathon.

3. Weight has gone from 85kgs+ at the start of the year to 76/77kgs so happy with that.

4. Thankfully this one held up, few little niggles but nothing serious.

5. 4 podium's, with a race win thrown in for good measure, soft races maybe but results that can never be taken away from me.

What are the new pb times?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I've only one goal for 2020.

I was diagnosed with type II diabetes in Feb 2017, I was 130kg. In Nov 2017 I was 95kg and in April this year (2019) I was declared diabetes free and taken off diabetic medication.

So my goal is to stay diabetes free.

I'm not sure I wouldn't have fallen back into bad habits were it not for discovering parkrun, since my first parkrun I haven't missed a single event and have met the nicest people.

So that's my goal, staying diabetes free through running (and a low carb, sugar free diet).

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

squinn2912 wrote: »
    What are the new pb times?

1.22.38 for Half, 38.34 10k and 17.57 for 5k.

Shiftin!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,825 ✭✭✭IvoryTower

IvoryTower wrote: »
    800m pb 2.08, currently at 2.20

5k pb in winter 19.02

Run a lot more...build up to say 40mpw..

Indoor pb 800 2.08
    Outdoor pb 800 2.06

Got a mile pb 5.03

19.26 for 5k, doubt I'll get another shot at this, 2020 so

Have you ever seen times get so dramatically bad as the distance gets longer!

I'm running 35-40mpw consistently so I'll take that

• Registered Users Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭Peterx

Peterx wrote: »
    I love this game;

Win an IMRA race
    Half Marathon PB at the Tullamore Quinlan Cup 31st August 2019 (currently 76:??)
    Sub 17 5k, parkrun will do

And the hardest* of the lot - beat my age to to the top of Slieve Donard

*The others are all hard for me too :p

Didn't achieve any of these "goals" this year. Looking at them now I didn't really commit enough pashun to any of them.

Tullamore Half was 82:45, a couple of 2nd places in IMRA races (winner miles clear type of 2nd's) and didn't really get close to beating my age to the top of Slieve Donard.
    I've a new mini age group category next year for Slieve Donard so I better break my age to the top in 2020!

It's still a good game though :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭healy1835

That time of the year already :)

I've a couple of non specific targets;
    - clean up my diet outside of marathon training blocks! Im not that bad, but could definitely cut down/out sugary drinks.
    Eh, not great tbh. Will stick it in again next year :)

- introduce s&c into my training. Have started already so will hopefully reap a few rewards here.

This didn't happen....but, hold the presses, am starting a programme this week

- more sleep (alas, I fear this one may be wishful thinking.....)
    It's gotten worse really. So far it hasn't impacted too negatively but you'd worry that it will manifest itself at some point.

Race Specific Targets;

Marathon: Sub 2:50 (PB 2:58:01)
    Looking like Dublin, but Berlin still could be a runner. Weighing up a couple of alternative entry routes & will decide one way or the other pretty soon. Either way hoping to give 2:50 a good rattle.

Nope, ran 2:53:55 in DCM. A performance I was really happy with and will be a stepping stone to something a lot faster next year hopefully

Half Marathon: Sub 79 (PB 1:19:59)
    Aiming for Limerick in May for first go at this.

Nope. Pb'd in DCM Race series, 1:19:40 on a tough course in tricky conditions. Limerick training block went well but I got sick race week and DNF'd a race I should never have stepped on the starting line for.

10 Mile: Sub 60 (PB 60:33)

Nope! Jesus I was happy with my year until I went back to this post...DNF in the Frank Duffy when I threw in the towel and walked off the course when things got a little tough. In hindsight it was the best thing to happen to me this year.

10k: Sub 37 (PB 38:50ish)
    Ran a 37:15 split in Frank Duffy in September, so will hopefully get under 37mins first and then maybe set another target.

Finally a yes! Ran 35:11 in the K Club 9.9k. Would have been more like a 35:30 if it was measured correctly. But still a big performance on a day that I actually had a bit left in the tank at the end.

5 Mile: Sub 28:30 (PB 29:51)
    Raheny. January. Target.

Yep. 28:22 in Raheny.

5k: Run a decent 5k race at some stage in the next 12 months........really, that would do me. Don't really like the distance but I know there are a lot of benefits to racing over it.

Until the weekend it would have been a no. Ran 17:50 in the county novice 5k and then 17:34 in the MSB St Patricks 5k, both underwhelming enough for various different reasons. 17:06 in the Jingle bells ticked this box though.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    Not really sure what's ahead for me in 2019. Think it will be more or less the same as 2018!
    1. Really do want to work on reducing my times this year, in particular for 5kms. My average times have reduced over the years. But I feel I want to put a bit of work into it this year. Want to see a lot more runs in the 30 mins and races to be sub 30.
    2. Hoping to get closer to 60 mins for a 10km - but that will only follow on from no 1 above. I feel I haven't got a fair crack at a 10km in forever.
    3. I've scratched the itch that was half marathons. Glad to get 2 completed in 2018. Not going to be rushing into doing another one in 2019 but I'll not rule them out either, just haven't planned for any. If himself is doing Tullamore I might do it with him again. If the Athlone Flatline is resurrected I'll do that.
    4. Mileage? Dunno. As I dunno really what I'm doing this year I aim for 900km.
    5. Am going to try and do more strength and conditioning from home. I'm in a fitness group and it's good but I found that I was only really able to go once a fortnight which is not near enough.

Haha!! It's funny to read this and see what I have and haven't done!!

1. I actually did make some attempt at this. I joined a local running group during the year and I've found that the sessions have improved my speed a little. But I've not had many 5km races present themselves. The ones from earlier in the year I've been a little disappointed not to crack 30, one was 30:01!! I did one in Sept and got 29:47 but the course measured 4.8km (it was a local charity run, not a race race). Did a virtual 5km and that clocked me at 29:55 for 5km. I think I just need a few more 5km races. Still ticking away at the parkruns and in fairness a few of them were 30:xx.

2. Not a bad year for 10kms. Still a bit away from sub 60 mins but 2 pbs, scrapping seconds off. Did the Lough Boora relay half and hit 10km in 1:02:58. Few weeks later did the Northwest 10k and even though for part of the race I felt like I was behind pace I actually finished in 1:02:55 and a 10k pb!

3. Half marathons - "I've scratched the itch that was half marathons" - ha!! Ends up doing 2 more and smashes her pb!! Did Tullamore in 2:26 and was disappointed not to go sub 2:25 due to toilet issues. So I just had to do Rosemount to break 2:25 and smashed it with 2:21!

4. Ending up rounding down the mileage goal to 750km and I'm 48kms off that so I may try and get out a bit more before the end of the year.

5. I let this fall by the wayside. The group I did S&C with, the times didn't really suit and the demand for the Friday dropped so classes were often cancelled. I've tried to keep it going at home with the Body Coach and Kayla Itsines but it's hard to stick at it on your own.

• Registered Users Posts: 498 ✭✭Sheep1978

Sheep1978 wrote: »
    I'll set some hard time targets below but in general I want to improve my consistency in terms of mileage and training, improve my diet and race more.

5k - 17.59
    5M - 31.59
    10k - 39.29
    10m - 66.40
    HM - 1.25.59
    Marathon - 3.04.59

When I set the above I wasn;t really sure where I stood with a alot of distances having never properly raced a 5m or 10m and only doing 1 10k. The full year running, with no more football, definately played a massive part in reaching all the above times. I'll have a more realistic / challenging set of targets next year. This yeards pbs ended with :

5k - 17.56 Only set last week at Jingle bells
    5m - 30.08 Only 5m I did was Raheny so I'll try break the 30mins next month
    10k - 37.25. Set in Dunboyne 10k in March. Tried to better in a couple of times in June but didn;t really get close.
    10m - 63.53 Again I only fully raced a single 10 which was Trim. Signed up again for this year
    HM - 1.21.42 Most surprising result of the year for me I think. Set in Rathoath. Went out faster than planned but was still able to lift the pace the last 2 miles
    Marathon - 2.56.19. Didn;t think I'd have a sub 3 in me this year but things went better than planned