Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Bond 23 - "Skyfall" *spoilers from post 595*

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,141 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Only seen the first Bourne but I definitely felt that there's was a lot of copying and pasting from the Nolan Batman films. Bond's suddenly old and past it? Body being held together with painkillers. Nolan brought Bruce down because it was his last film and he wanted a conclusive ending to his trilogy but there'll be tons more Bond films. Don't get me wrong, I absolutely loved it and it was still better than Quantum of Solace. Let's just hope they'll be able to make another great Bond film without a Fleming novel or a Nolan film to use as a stencil.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,668 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

The Bourne/Nolan influences don't bother me. The Bond films have always been inspired by other popular action films of the time. It's usually when they decide to try and make an old-fashioned Bond film that we end up with dreck like Die Another Day.

It's drift toward silliness that annoys me more than anything. The Connery films got away with the occasional wink to the audience, but I don't think it's possible to do that that kind of thing anymore. Bond has been the subject of so many parodies that any kind of in-joke risks pulling the audience out of the film.

It's a shame that Quantum's problems got blamed on the seriousness because if not for the editing and the script it would have been a perfectly worthy follow-up to Casino Royale.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

I didn't like this film. Admittedly I haven't watched any of the new bond films since 1997, but I found it to be grimy and depressing. M16's hq looked gloomy and depressing with the awful flourescent lighting, if they had to go for that clinical lighting style they could have at least emulated TDK which had a nicer ambient lighting effect for Batman's underground facility. The character's were forgettable and not exactly likeable except for Bond and the villian was entertaining, but the rest just seemed like a bunch of humourless assholes. I also thought that if I'm going to see a Bond film I want it to be set completely in exotic locations, and although there were such scenes in the film, I found it an insult to Bond, that he was even in the London underground. Furthermore the boglands of Scotland were unsuitable for the denouement. Also the Bond babe dies midway through, what's up with that? It was also boring and the plot was meh. Some good bits however included Bond being a vulnerable, somewhat sh1tty agent in this one, I think the could have played this up even more, the ending for example could have been a lot more contestable, he could have just scraped a victory instead of quite easily dispatching the main antagonist and managing to fight underwater in ice cold water. Additionally I liked what I assume to be the Aston Martin reference, kudos for that. 5/10.

• Registered Users Posts: 497 ✭✭jpm4

Some good bits however included Bond being a vulnerable, somewhat sh1tty agent in this one, I think the could have played this up even more, the ending for example could have been a lot more contestable, he could have just scraped a victory instead of quite easily dispatching the main antagonist and managing to fight underwater in ice cold water. Additionally I liked what I assume to be the Aston Martin reference, kudos for that. 5/10.

Agree there.....the idea of Bond being out of shape, barely hanging in there was a good idea that I liked, but it just seemed to be abandoned by the end when Bond was kicking ass all round him. Also the stolen hard drive seemed to not be a concern by then.

Am really, really tired of this whole villain-wanting-to-be-captured thing at this stage. If there is an hour of run time to go and the villain is smirking at you from inside a cell, you can bet that is just where he wants to be. And it made even less sense in this film than the Dark Knight - why this hopelessly convoluted plot to get at M when hopping a plane, going to her apartment and shooting her would have been rather a lot easier? The relationship between Bond and M was a wasted opportunity - for all their screen time together they don't get beyond the usual barbed, witty jibes at each other.

And the Home Alone style ending was just bizarre...appreciate that they tried something different for a Bond film but it just didn't work.

Still like Craig as Bond but he has not been well serviced with good films and it seems to be going all Pierce Brosnan now....a great film followed by disappointing ones.

Thought this was the worst bond since I can remember. A plot about M? Give me a break, I dont tune into James Bond to watch a story about an oul one and a flaky ex agent wanting to kill her. The last 45 minutes set in an old house in scotland? I cant think of a worse plot for Bond out of all the movies.
    This movie was anti-bond. I can understand Craig being a tougher Bond, but he has no charm now at all, fixing his cuffs was the only suave thing he did in the whole movie. He looked old and haggard in many scenes, which may have been intentional but Roger Moore at 60 looked better then craig did in that film.
    No gadgets, no grandeur, no hot chicks with any sort of proper role.
    I was waiting and waiting to be finally engaged by this movie and it never happened. I really cant understand how a plot like this could produced into a bond movie, the most endearing series of all movies.

After loving the previous two movies with Craig, this was nothing like Bond on any level. Cinematography? Its totally meaningless in this case. You don;t watch bond for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

Thought this was the worst bond since I can remember. A plot about M? Give me a break, I dont tune into James Bond to watch a story about an oul one and a flaky ex agent wanting to kill her. The last 45 minutes set in an old house in scotland? I cant think of a worse plot for Bond out of all the movies.
    This movie was anti-bond. I can understand Craig being a tougher Bond, but he has no charm now at all, fixing his cuffs was the only suave thing he did in the whole movie. He looked old and haggard in many scenes, which may have been intentional but Roger Moore at 60 looked better then craig did in that film.
    No gadgets, no grandeur, no hot chicks with any sort of proper role.
    I was waiting and waiting to be finally engaged by this movie and it never happened. I really cant understand how a plot like this could produced into a bond movie, the most endearing series of all movies.

After loving the previous two movies with Craig, this was nothing like Bond on any level. Cinematography? Its totally meaningless in this case. You don;t watch bond for that.

Bond, regardless of the 'darkness' of the books compared to the cinematic legacy set by the original Bond films of Sean Connery, was about a British colonial cad, being suave, charming and a bit of an asshole but nonetheless likeable, throwing his weight around abroad, that's the whole point of Bond, not sitting around being misreable in the gloomy/depressing surroundings of of the London underground and Glasgow, ffs. I have a major issue with the whole back to basics grit and depression fundamentalism that is being exerted by Hollywood with regards to franchises, it must be an expression of the recession or the self indulgence of boom time economics. I don't care. Whatever, I want escapism and fun. If I want depressing thought provoking I'll go see some French or Polish film.
    But I don't give a rat's ass about critical acclaim or the value of seriousness, to me an entertaing piece of fluff film is as good as a thought provoking masterpiece of art. I'm post intellectual. I'm not saying bring back the uber cheese of Rodger Moore Bond, but seriously, a bit of fun and some actually nice locations, some of which were present in the film but underutilised, wouldn't go amiss. This film wasn't sexy. That is why it failed.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,141 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I think people are sick of that kind of thing though. Personally, I'd be much more interested in seeing how being James Bond would affect someone in real life instead of throwing in random one liners. I think the film looked gorgeous while telling a much more interesting story than most of the pre-Craig films ever did.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 35,941 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

To those complaining of the locations, its worth pointing out that to the majority of the audience, London *is* a faraway, exotic location. Critiquing with local eyes methinks. And frankly, the scenes in the Highlands are some of the more spectacular I've seen in the Bond franchise.
    I didn't think much of the film myself, but Skfall proved that you didn't need to be an anachronistic travelogue to show-off great scenery; Britain has plenty of looks herself

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,094 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Thought the decision to stage the film's second half in the UK was a very wise one - it's almost exotic to see Bond facing a threat on his own doorstep after decades of excursions to picturesque foreign locales. It helped of course that for me it was only during those sequences that the film really took off - the London chase was as messy, tense and dangerous as we should expect from a pursuit through a bustling metropolis.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I didn't like this film. Admittedly I haven't watched any of the new bond films since 1997, but I found it to be grimy and depressing. M16's hq looked gloomy and depressing with the awful flourescent lighting, if they had to go for that clinical lighting style they could have at least emulated TDK which had a nicer ambient lighting effect for Batman's underground facility. The character's were forgettable and not exactly likeable except for Bond and the villian was entertaining, but the rest just seemed like a bunch of humourless assholes. I also thought that if I'm going to see a Bond film I want it to be set completely in exotic locations, and although there were such scenes in the film, I found it an insult to Bond, that he was even in the London underground. Furthermore the boglands of Scotland were unsuitable for the denouement. Also the Bond babe dies midway through, what's up with that? It was also boring and the plot was meh. Some good bits however included Bond being a vulnerable, somewhat sh1tty agent in this one, I think the could have played this up even more, the ending for example could have been a lot more contestable, he could have just scraped a victory instead of quite easily dispatching the main antagonist and managing to fight underwater in ice cold water. Additionally I liked what I assume to be the Aston Martin reference, kudos for that. 5/10.

I loved that we finally get to see Bond do something on his home turf, there were plenty of locations in it though.

The reactions to this movie are really puzzling, it seems most people think its not enough like the old Bonds, but others are complaining theres too much old school stuff in it.

I thought it was a great entry into the series, sure there's daft plot moments in it but its one of the few Bond movies where Bond himself seems like a human being not a caricature, I liked the setting, the move away from some countdown clock on a bomb or worldwide threat, its about simple revenge not some dastardly plot to harness the suns power or start a war or something daft.

Bond being past it was something I did have an issue with it, its the third movie, Casino Royale he was a rookie 00 agent, Quantum is set literally right after that film so he's not much better and now he's too old? him being injured ok, that works, but him being broken down in what we see as his third onscreen mission is skipping a few beats, especially since Craig is tied into 2 more, whats he gonna be doing then?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,843 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

krudler wrote: »
    I loved that we finally get to see Bond do something on his home turf, there were plenty of locations in it though.

The reactions to this movie are really puzzling, it seems most people think its not enough like the old Bonds, but others are complaining theres too much old school stuff in it.

I thought it was a great entry into the series, sure there's daft plot moments in it but its one of the few Bond movies where Bond himself seems like a human being not a caricature, I liked the setting, the move away from some countdown clock on a bomb or worldwide threat, its about simple revenge not some dastardly plot to harness the suns power or start a war or something daft.

Bond being past it was something I did have an issue with it, its the third movie, Casino Royale he was a rookie 00 agent, Quantum is set literally right after that film so he's not much better and now he's too old? him being injured ok, that works, but him being broken down in what we see as his third onscreen mission is skipping a few beats, especially since Craig is tied into 2 more, whats he gonna be doing then?

007, danny glover style.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Thought the decision to stage the film's second half in the UK was a very wise one - it's almost exotic to see Bond facing a threat on his own doorstep after decades of excursions to picturesque foreign locales.

The UK scenes looked a bit dreary,it might have helped if they hadnt shot it in the midst of Winter .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭omerin

This was a very average film and I agree 100% with El Rifle. It was like a generic, copy and paste Nick Cage film. As for the ending being set in Scotland, don't get me started :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 28,664 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Watched this over the weekend and thought it was certainly the best of the Craig films to date.

I really don't get all the "it's not Casino Royale"/"it's too much like Batman" - guys, this is a Bond movie, not a Bourne flick, not a Chris Nolan dark fairytale.

Personally I'm a bit sick of the "everything has to be dark and 'realistic'" direction of a lot of films at the moment - all with the inevitable reference to the Batman reboot. Don't get me wrong, I really enjoyed the Bourne and Batman films (even if I haven't seen the last ones yet :o), but I don't want to see them every time I put on a new release either.

Ditto this urge to nitpick and dissect a movie to the point of frustration. It's fiction.. it's about a super spy (one man - though these days usually joined by a female sidekick) who can take out an entire criminal organisation with nothing more than a few gadgets, some cheese and bed-hopping :p It's not meant to be Da Vinci's unknown masterpiece or the sequel to War and Peace, and I thoroughly enjoyed it as such!

Maybe there's something wrong with me then but I can usually totally immerse myself in the world the film maker is trying to create for the time that I'm there and unless it's really f&cking stupid (Battleship/Transformers I'm looking at you), I can usually just enjoy it for what it is.

If I put on a vintage 80's Arnie flick I expect cheesy one liners, over the top action, bad guys getting killed if a gun is so much as vaguely pointed in their direction, and the hero getting the girl in the end after dispatching the main bad guy for nothing more than a flesh wound in return :D

Ditto I have a certain expectation for Bond.. exotic locations, bond girls, gadgets, action and super villains. While QOS was a bit all over the place I thought, the latest entry in the franchise is a welcome return to form - unlike the rest of ye I actually really enjoyed the epilogue. You could almost see Connery coming in the door in the next scene! :)

All in all I'll definitely watch this again when it comes out on BR :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Decent movie. Bit of a mixed bag. While CR was clearly an attempt to reign in the craziness of the Bond series, this one went to a whole new level. No gadgets of note, Bond girl (aka the rape victim) was messed up in so many ways, the finale and Bond's vulnerability was something we've never seen before. Considering this brutal reality tone, I found the cheeky Bond references really distracting. In that regard, I don't think it got the balance right.

The villain was quite good, quite a different Bond villain which is a good thing BUT the Bond girl was terrified of him and he really wasn't that terrifying. "You've never known fear like this" kinda vibe but then he just starts feeling up Bond and makes weird bopping/clicking sounds. Creepy yes. Competent villain yes. But terrifying... no. I guess she did end up dead so her fear for her life was genuine but I just felt the character was really built up as being one thing and then didn't deliver. Still a very good villain though, even if his master plan was a bit all over the place. Loved his arrival on the helicopter at the end :)

Also, what a twist in the Bond series to find out James Bond is really Kevin McCallister!! :eek: All that was missing was Joe Pesci and that Marv guy :)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Going to watch this on Saturday. Got released today in NZ.
    Prebooked some a few prime IMAX seats last week. See how it goes.
    Look forward to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Seen this a couple of weeks ago, it does have some shortcomings and the pace slowzzzzzzz in parts, but generally very enjoyable it for what it was.

Some great nods and winks to the predecessors :D

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭THall04

I enjoyed it.

A mix of old and new-er bond films.
    It'll annoy some that it's not as serious as Casino Royale and annoy others that there's not enough gadgets.....but it'll probably make a billion dollars , so the producers won't give a f**k about all the nit picking amateur reviews.

Yup , the plot was a bit familiar/full of holes but it was a good nights entertainment at the cinema.

My heart sank a bit at the prospect of an old age pensioner, A-Team style showdown in the arse hole of Scotland...but it worked out all right...all looked very good........although my opinion may change when I get to watch it on the telly.

Did anyone else feel relieved when
    Kincaid didn't get killed
    at the end?

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭Boo Radley

I made the effort to watch QoS last night and I must admit I preferred it to Skyfall. It's not perfect but there are plenty of set pieces and regular action and more bone crunching fights and chases than you'd ever need.

I also preferred the story, it was grounded in a realistic enough scenario and I liked the continuation of themes and tones from CR.

I do hope Skyfall was nothing more than an anniversary digression and we get back to the Quantum story line with Mr. White making a return and what not. I think QoS may actually be getting a bit of a bad rap as it's not as bad as I remember it being. Then again that may be with the benefit of hindsight afforded by watching Skyfall.

One additional note, there is a scene where Bond is drinking a beer from a bottle in QoS also! Dear God! 'Not a Martini?' I hear you cry. I'm only glad the press didn't react in some nonsense way to give this more significance than it warranted in some thinly veiled attempt at publicity. Thankfully that'd never happen now would it?

• Registered Users Posts: 504 ✭✭✭SVG

Just saw it today and I have mixed feelings.

On the positive side, two great performances. Javier Bardem made a fantastic Bond villain! The perfect balance of fun and threatening. Much better than that guy who cried when he played cards and whoever the villain was in QoS (I honestly can't remember).

And Judi Dench too, it was nice to see her get such a meaty role. She was kind of the true Bond girl of the piece. I was actually a bit worried there at the end, when he had her in his arms, that Daniel Craig was going to stray back into The Mother territory.

But, speaking of Bond girls, the actual Bond girl was a bit of a nothing role. And I would agree with the other commenters about the sex scene. It didn't make much sense for the characters- just as if it was added in in a James Bond has to sleep with a sexy foreign lady, that's what he does kind-of-way.

And I felt that way about about a few elements of the story. There were obviously a lot of elements they wanted to have in the film- a chase scene through a city, a villain with a lair, M standing up for the service, Bond's childhood home, hacking, Moneypenny, the classic Bond car and so on- but I don't feel like all the elements tied together that well. It felt more like a series of boxes being ticked than a cohesive story.

And the quips, I'm against them, not in general but Daniel Craig has never struck me as a quippy guy. With a different actor, maybe, but I preferred his serious Bond persona. But you'll hear no complaints from me about his suit, I thought he made a fine silhouette.

Without a doubt, though, the redeeming element of the film for me was how it looked. It was sooooo pretty. That dark tower in Shanghai and the dragon boat and that sequence at the end with the evening light going into the dark and then lit by fire- wow! Whatever else I didn't like about the film I think it's worth seeing on the big screen just for the visuals.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Ridley

And boy did Bérénice Marlohe get a seriously underwritten role, even by Bond girl standards. Actually felt uncomfortable at the way
    she was routinely dispatched with barely an acknowledgement from Bond

While I don't like most of the quippage and humour in Skyfall (and agree that Marlohe's role was too small), I read the waste of scotch line as Bond covering up that he did care about her death to some degree as well as being a defence mechanism against Silva.
    And the last hour does a great job at making Bond an interesting protagonist with an actual arc -
    particularly liked how the ice lake descent visually echoed the opening credit sequence to remind us of Bond's frame of mind and psychological depths
    - and his relationship with M was compelling throughout.

I love the title sequence altogether. Even more so when 2:22 - 2:27 was pointed out. Fool that I was to just be thinking of Shanghai with the dragons when they're more likely a nod to Macau while those seconds depict Hong Kong.
    The 'epilogue' stuff where it's all revealed to be a sort of prequel was handled a bit too 'wink, wink, nudge, nudge' for my liking. To me that kind of stuff sucks me straight out of the film - hardly a gamechanger during the last thirty seconds, but an inelegant conclusion nonetheless.

Yes. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Gauss

I thought it was a descent movie, I didn't particularly like the plot, thought there was too many holes and also didn't like the editing the way events seemed to be skipped. One moment bond is in the shower with the girl then the scene jumps to him being captured and I'm thinking what happened there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Gauss

krudler wrote: »

no but the "waste of a good scotch" line was pretty misogynistic, which I know Bond is supposed to be but it felt out of tone, especially since Severine isn't a villain, if it was some someone who double crossed him then hey fair enough but this woman dies as a direct result of Bond and he doesn't give a crap.

I fail to see how "waste of a good scotch" was mysogynistic. How does that show he hates women in general? It doesn't even show that he hates the girl, it merely shows he doesn't care about her, not even close too misogyny. A lack of empathy more like.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

I don't think he lacks empathy either, you can tell that he is concerned about what happens to her by his expression when he is forced to shoot at her (and knows his aim is off). He has to portray himself as a ruthless and dispassionate person in the eyes of his enemies because anything else would be perceived as weakness, which would lead to the job not getting done. Once the threat is dealt with he is able to let his emotional guard down, as we see in the few closing scenes of the film.

Also, that little quip may have helped him get the drop on the henchmen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

Could somebody tell my why Q left breadcrumbs so Silva would find Bond and M?
    And Mallory thought this was a good idea?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,966 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Saw this last night and really didn't like it. I was bored, especially the first hour and thought director more interested in style over substance. And normally i can switch off my brain when it comes to silly plots but this just had too many holes which really ditracted from my enjoyment.

Not a patch on Casino Royale IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Cliste wrote: »
    He is MI6 in fairness! :)

Harry Pearce, Spooks and MI5 would be rolling in their graves!

Have to say I liked it, a couple of plot holes (how did he spot Gainsborough?) but loved the nods to the past, even the Komodo dragons. Went to watch it with the young lad and he loved the old Aston Martin, the puns, but then he's watched too many Roger Moore Bonds! The puns mostly worked with one or two ill advised.

The whole thing is beautifully shot, Macau, Shanghai, London and Scotland, the Tube CGI part the only real let down, just too plotted.

The first half hour of the film shows the contrast between Bond and the villain, that's why it is there, Bond was/is just another number but still comes back. I thought the villain was initally memorable, loved the island scene and Bond will always put the job ahead of the Bond girl, as much as he regrets it, but the villain just seemed to go on about turn towards the end, just too Bane like in Batman, unnaturally.

Still, Albert Finney rocks, a legend, him and the sad ending made up for the weaknesses of the end scenes.

Overall, pretty satisfying, 7.5/10, I'll be back for more.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭BrookieD

Watched this at the weekend - loved it as did Mrs Brookied. One think i notcied is that Bond looked quite a bit older and more worn at the start of the film and well into the third act. By the 4th he seems to be looking more youthful as he was rediscovering his form and his love of the job and become more fit and stronger.

I have no idea if he was made up this way but its what we both noticed.

Loved the visuals amazing looking and although some one liners seemd out of placed it was well worth the entrance money.... even though i did not pay.

7.5/10 for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Looking at the numbers, Skyfall is just about going to join the billion dollar club I'd say

North America---$262,288,449-28.5%
    ROW
    $656,600,000-71.5%
    Worldwide:
    $918,888,449