Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
09-12-2020, 11:08   #676
BigAl81
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 975
Quote:
Originally Posted by imPhilip
Can anyone recommend an electrician that could install, based in North County Dublin.
I'm getting mine installed today, I'll let you know
BigAl81 is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
10-12-2020, 16:07   #677
BigAl81
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 975
Got it installed today

So far happy with it, but it's been less than 24 hours.

The electricians upgraded the transformer in my fuse box to a 24 volt one, and they were able to install the doorbell in a better location than the old one by drilling through the gap in the bricks and running a cable so very happy with that.

I've used the wedge that came with it as well to give me a better angle on my drive, so something to think about if you're getting one.

I was told I would not be able to turn off the doorbell chime / ringer inside the house as you need an electronic chime and apparently I don't have one. However, I opened the app, toggled the switch, and no more "ding dong" inside the house. This used to drive the dog mad so delighted to get that working.

The Google Home app seems to have different, and in some cases, better functionality than the Nest App, in particular for identifying and grouping known faces.

The camera went off line twice after being installed, but it's to do firmware updates, the second time it came back with new features like the themed (Christmas/Halloween etc.) doorbell tunes. So when someone presses the bell, they hear jingle bells, so that's a bit of fun!

I've it set up to give a notification on our Google Home speakers around the house and that seems to work well. Santa is bringing a Nest Hub Max so can test with that soon, will be cool if it works, it has a screen that will show the door when someone calls.

Can report back after a bit more testing, any questions just shout.

Al.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg Doorbell.jpg (329.2 KB, 293 views)
BigAl81 is offline  
(4) thanks from:
10-12-2020, 16:32   #678
imPhilip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigAl81 View Post
Got it installed today

So far happy with it, but it's been less than 24 hours.

The electricians upgraded the transformer in my fuse box to a 24 volt one, and they were able to install the doorbell in a better location than the old one by drilling through the gap in the bricks and running a cable so very happy with that.

I've used the wedge that came with it as well to give me a better angle on my drive, so something to think about if you're getting one.

I was told I would not be able to turn off the doorbell chime / ringer inside the house as you need an electronic chime and apparently I don't have one. However, I opened the app, toggled the switch, and no more "ding dong" inside the house. This used to drive the dog mad so delighted to get that working.

The Google Home app seems to have different, and in some cases, better functionality than the Nest App, in particular for identifying and grouping known faces.

The camera went off line twice after being installed, but it's to do firmware updates, the second time it came back with new features like the themed (Christmas/Halloween etc.) doorbell tunes. So when someone presses the bell, they hear jingle bells, so that's a bit of fun!

I've it set up to give a notification on our Google Home speakers around the house and that seems to work well. Santa is bringing a Nest Hub Max so can test with that soon, will be cool if it works, it has a screen that will show the door when someone calls.

Can report back after a bit more testing, any questions just shout.

Al.
Looks like great job, would you be able to PM me the contact details for the electrician you used.
imPhilip is offline  
(2) thanks from:
11-12-2020, 22:12   #679
Stoner
Moderator
 
Stoner's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by oranbhoy67 View Post
to follow up on mine I was wondering if anyone on here could help me I purchased the Screwfix Bell Transformer 8/12/24v that has been recommended on here in previous posts however the person I got to install it for me said I had 12v already which was enough,
he didn't have great English so was it hard to communicate with him, he left before I fully tested it and the chime is not working, not too big a deal, as I have the nest mini which alerts me and also my phone but still, I would like to have it working nonetheless

however my stream has been cutting out at night, for up to an hour at a time, only late/early AM but still Id like it to be working 24/7, strangely when this happens I don't get the usual warning that I have been disconnected on my phone


also, I've only just realised the transformer is also connected to a chime in the flat downstairs even though that neighbour living there doesn't have a doorbell!!

Ill post some photos if I can & if anyone could give me advice that would be great

https://imgur.com/a/WixsUKY
https://imgur.com/a/0lhtEOD
https://imgur.com/a/oVShc43
https://imgur.com/a/vOD8d8Z
I've installed a couple of these a read a good few posts on same. I've had the ring doorbell too.

I've read others have the same issue as you.

And I had the same issue before I upgraded the transformer

You'll see other posts on same it needs 10VA and 16-24 V

Some actions don't need all the available power to function, if you are underpowered it seems to pop up when you want to stream video from the units as you said.. The alerts all work at some of the lower voltages.

All I can say is I put in the 24Volt traffic and it fixed the issue with the Ring camera, the nest camera always had 24 V and has been great

12V is not high enough enough in many cases others have posted on same here. Just because it appears to work, and work in part, it's not much use at 3am when you get an alert but the doorbell can't stream you the footage as it's IR light is on and you want to see what's going on.

So I'd put the 16-24 Volt traffo on it

I'd be very surprised if you didn't notice a significant improvement and the rate of loss of streaming dropping considerably.

Note there is a power requirement for the unit too.

Doubling the voltage would double the power available to the unit
Stoner is offline  
Thanks from:
11-12-2020, 23:40   #680
DaveyDave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigAl81 View Post
The electricians upgraded the transformer in my fuse box to a 24 volt one, and they were able to install the doorbell in a better location than the old one by drilling through the gap in the bricks and running a cable so very happy with that.
I've been thinking about mounting mine like yours as the bricks get in the way when mounted to the door frame and causes the night vision to bounce off the brick and obscure the image. I covered some IR lights with electrical tape but this then blocks the mic...
DaveyDave is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
23-02-2021, 14:50   #681
fifth
Registered User
 
fifth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,040
Hey folks. Bought one of these and going to have an electrician install it most likely. But I wanted to make sure I had what I needed first.
I've attached a photo of the bell/chime box with the cover removed and also my fuse box which has a fuse for the bell.

Both say 8V AC so I assume something needs to be upgraded to run the Nest hello? Do I need to replace the fuse and something in the bell / chime box too? Or do I need a separate transformer to sit outside of these?

Been researching the past few nights but struggling to make sense of this stuff and there's a lot to sift through in this thread.

edit: sorry for some reason these pics are rotated when I upload
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1106.JPG (3.71 MB, 51 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1094.JPG (2.06 MB, 42 views)
fifth is offline  
23-02-2021, 18:31   #682
RunDMC
Registered User
 
RunDMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 275
It looks like your transformer, that thing you called the fuse, is capable of 12-24V, which is what he Hello was designed for. Your electrician will have to re-wire it though. I opted for 24V with no problems. The chime looks good with plenty of space for the chime connecter. The electrian will be able to figure out the rest from the wiring diagram in the instructions.

R
RunDMC is offline  
Thanks from:
23-02-2021, 19:15   #683
DaveyDave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by fifth View Post
Hey folks. Bought one of these and going to have an electrician install it most likely. But I wanted to make sure I had what I needed first.
I've attached a photo of the bell/chime box with the cover removed and also my fuse box which has a fuse for the bell.

Both say 8V AC so I assume something needs to be upgraded to run the Nest hello? Do I need to replace the fuse and something in the bell / chime box too? Or do I need a separate transformer to sit outside of these?

Been researching the past few nights but struggling to make sense of this stuff and there's a lot to sift through in this thread.

edit: sorry for some reason these pics are rotated when I upload
Does the fuse board have a page saying what it's currently at? I have the same as yours but the information page says it's 12v, mine worked fine.

Honestly couldn't tell you what wire is what, had to search for Nest instructions because the wires didn't add up to to their help. Found the wiring on a UK based from.





DaveyDave is offline  
23-02-2021, 20:44   #684
fifth
Registered User
 
fifth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,040
Thanks for the clarification, there is a sheet thats on the inside door of the fuse board but it was left blank next to the bell transformer. Am going to get an electrician to come and look at it and do it correctly in case I mess something up.
fifth is offline  
Advertisement
23-02-2021, 21:46   #685
Clareman
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 21,112
I think the only way is to either put a meter onto the outputs or check what the back of the transformer looks like. Having a lower than needed supply won't damage the Nest so if it was me I'd wire everything up inside the chime box, unscrew the existing doorbell, connect the 2 wires and see if it works. If it works happy days put in the Nest, if it doesn't wait for the electrician to come around to install it properly.
Clareman is offline  
Thanks from:
23-02-2021, 21:48   #686
Clareman
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 21,112
Oh yeah, the Nest app has great instructions on the wiring of the chime box. Personally I'd have no problem installing a Nest for someone once the transformer was in, anything in fuse box needs someone skilled in my opinion.
Clareman is offline  
Thanks from:
25-02-2021, 16:38   #687
Henrys Grimey Paws
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveyDave View Post
Does the fuse board have a page saying what it's currently at? I have the same as yours but the information page says it's 12v, mine worked fine.

Honestly couldn't tell you what wire is what, had to search for Nest instructions because the wires didn't add up to to their help. Found the wiring on a UK based from.





You appear to have the exact same chime and transformer as me, only difference is that I've no indication of what my voltage my transformer is outputting. I'd always assumed that it was 8v just from looking at the chime.

Might be time to spring for a Nest Hello!
Henrys Grimey Paws is offline  
26-02-2021, 21:38   #688
fifth
Registered User
 
fifth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,040
Got my nest hello hooked in where my old doorbell was. Powers on, connects to the app, video and sound all good.

Ran into problems with getting the nest chime and inside bell box to work together. Wired it in based off of a diagram I found for a matching chime box online.

No chime sound inside when the doorbell is pressed.. a buzzing sound from the chime box. Have flipped the doorbell circuit breaker for the night and will look again tomorrow. Not sure what's missing, tried a couple of combinations of wires but reverted back to what it was originally then.

Basically the chime either rings too much (continually) or doesn't ring at all depending on how I connect the wires.
Transformer should be ok it's this one
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1161.JPG (1.95 MB, 35 views)
fifth is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet