Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

How do people smoke that sh1t?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,805 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Some people's attitude to drugs in this country is far too laid back. It's not that these drugs are harmless, it's actually more a case of people not really giving a sh!t about consequences unless those consequences are some kind of immediate threat to their life or health... which is again a very clear sign of the mindset of an addict. "Sure it'll be grand like... everyone does it" (said no wise person ever!)

Is this what really does go through the mind of an addict?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Someone using the leaves as toilet paper before it's hemp?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

Its illegal anyway people shouldn't be smoking it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,226 ✭✭✭secman

Greentopia wrote: »
    If it does I seriously doubt weed will be the cause of it. More likely it will help him cope with the stress of being a doctor :D

He's been smoking it since he was a teen and is now 32 and still a fully functioning adult. Why on earth do you think weed would cause anyones life to fall apart?

I don't smoke it now but the times I have in the past it's only made me feel more relaxed and happy. You'll have to come up with some strong convincing factual evidence to prove to me weed could have the effect you claim.

Im sure the Medical Council would have a very different view, ask your intelligent friend some time, preferably when hes not high..

I can never understand how anyone in the medical profession smokes, baffles me, having seen both my parents die horrific death's from lung cancer.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

The Doctor's brain will turn to mush. Anyone I have seen smoke that stuff, and I have seen a lot of them, all have anxiety issues, cant function properly, cant sleep, cant hold down a job or a relationship. Plus, a few of them were stinking.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I think a lot of people have this slightly romanticised view of jazz cabbage - the counterculture, peace signs, dreadlocks. The reality of modern weed is very different though - most people are now smoking a substance that is up to 15 times stronger than the reefer used in the 60’s. They are smoking skunk, and it is causing devastating mental health issues.

Prof Jim Lucey, the country’s most eminent psychiatrist spoke about this on the radio recently. They are dealing with a glut of cases of young men arriving for treatement for the effects of weed, and it’s all very tragic and depressing. It’s destroying lives out there.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,805 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Its illegal anyway people shouldn't be smoking it.

why not?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,660 ✭✭✭✭maccored

I think a lot of people have this slightly romanticised view of jazz cabbage - the counterculture, peace signs, dreadlocks. The reality of modern weed is very different though - most people are now smoking a substance that is up to 15 times stronger than the reefer used in the 60’s. They are smoking skunk, and it is causing devastating mental health issues.

Prof Jim Lucey, the country’s most eminent psychiatrist spoke about this on the radio recently. They are dealing with a glut of cases of young men arriving for treatement for the effects of weed, and it’s all very tragic and depressing. It’s destroying lives out there.

sounds like something out of Reefer Madness

• Registered Users Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭McCrack

If it does I seriously doubt weed will be the cause of it. More likely it will help him cope with the stress of being a doctor :D

He's been smoking it since he was a teen and is now 32 and still a fully functioning adult. Why on earth do you think weed would cause anyones life to fall apart?

I don't smoke it now but the times I have in the past it's only made me feel more relaxed and happy. You'll have to come up with some strong convincing factual evidence to prove to me weed could have the effect you claim.

Ask your doctor friend what is a common feature amoungst patients history in psychiatric wards

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

maccored wrote: »
    sounds like something out of Reefer Madness

Nah, if lads want to smoke their brains out then they can do so. Just stating fact though in saying that the growhouse weed lads are toking on these days is causing a massive spike in the cases of life-changing psychosis and paranoia presenting to mental health services. It’s not a harmless drug.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭xckjoo

Because most peoples opinions are coming from watching movies, TV shows, tabloid radio and some waster friends that would be huffing solvents if they couldn't find anything else :D

The completely harmless narrative is equally as ill-informed though. I think balance is what throws most people. They end up only wanting to smoke and hobbies, study, socialising, etc. go out the window. It definitely has a "hangover" type effect too. I remember from my college days feeling like my brain was in treacle the morning after a heavy smoking session. Not much worse than the effects of a bad nights sleep, but not ideal either. I also know one or two people that went completely overboard on it and end up needing medical intervention, but they were smoking 24-7. Don't be those guys folks! They're no craic :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Autecher wrote: »
    I think if someone is buying hash or any drug off a complete stranger on the street then they are stupid enough to deserve to be smoking shít.

Yes always use a reputable shop like the Corte Inglés.

• Registered Users Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Somedaythefire

xckjoo wrote: »
    Because most peoples opinions are coming from watching movies, TV shows, tabloid radio and some waster friends that would be huffing solvents if they couldn't find anything else :D

The completely harmless narrative is equally as ill-informed though. I think balance is what throws most people. They end up only wanting to smoke and hobbies, study, socialising, etc. go out the window. It definitely has a "hangover" type effect too. I remember from my college days feeling like my brain was in treacle the morning after a heavy smoking session. Not much worse than the effects of a bad nights sleep, but not ideal either. I also know one or two people that went completely overboard on it and end up needing medical intervention, but they were smoking 24-7. Don't be those guys folks! They're no craic :pac:
    Much like everything, balance is important. Hell, you can get dependent on caffeine and get "hangover" effects from cutting down on it. It is a drug after all.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭blackbox

Yes for hard drugs, but for cannabis? nah. A good friend of mine just passed his medical exams and the brightest person I know, and he smokes weed almost daily.
    People from all walks of life smoke it, nothing to do with intelligence.

Do they not check doctors for substance abuse? I'd prefer my surgeon to be 100% sober and focused and not overly "chilled".

If he can't cope with the stress without drugs, he is in the wrong job.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

McCrack wrote: »
    Ask your doctor friend what is a common feature amoungst patients history in psychiatric wards

Everyone in there drank tea or coffee at some point?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭granturismo

It's because it's usually smuggled in someone's body.

I dont think so.

Much like everything, balance is important. Hell, you can get dependent on caffeine and get "hangover" effects from cutting down on it. It is a drug after all.
    A struggle I know too well. As other vices drop out, coffee has taken over. If I don't consciously limit myself I'd sip on it all day :D
    blackbox wrote: »
    Do they not check doctors for substance abuse? I'd prefer my surgeon to be 100% sober and focused and not overly "chilled".

If he can't cope with the stress without drugs, he is in the wrong job.
    I wouldn't be too worried about my surgeon having a few smokes in the evening but I would doubt them if they were smoking during or before work. It's at a minimum unprofessional and if they can't show self control there, I would doubt their control with all those other more exciting drugs lying around. But a chilled surgeon is good. Less likely to make mistakes. Would you have an issue if they were taking beta blockers before your surgery?

I dont think so.
    It's weird how if there's a drug busts on the news it show bales worth of weed on pallets, but people still think it's all being smuggled in peoples arses. Must be some very loose butt holes out there :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 40,126 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

It's weird how if there's a drug busts on the news it show bales worth of weed on pallets, but people still think it's all being smuggled in peoples arses. Must be some very loose butt holes out there :pac:

You would have to be Kim Kardashian to smuggle any quantity of hash in your arse.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭ellejay

greencap wrote: »
    ive often times wanted to try different drugs, but then realise that they're probably cut with weird **** or have been up a serbians arse.

i had one offer that i strongly suspect had malicious intention behind it, from a co-worker who was a friend of someone i didn't get on with.
    i can imagine what id have been smoking and what they'd have done with it.

good to see paranoia isn't a side affect

• Closed Accounts Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Sorry about that

Dr Matthew Sadler, consultant psychiatrist speaking at the IMO conference last April:

Dr Sadlier said his reading of cannabis had always been that it had never been shown to be an effective medicinal product and has never been able to get past regulatory authorities.

“It is a compound that I would love to be banished from the planet. It does more damage to humans than any drug that is out there,” he said.

He said that, in his work as a general adult psychiatrist in north Dublin over the last five years, he could comfortably say that a third of all his patients had been referred because of cannabis.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Stab*City

I know a very very close friend who smokes weed all day every day and has done for at least 20 years. He is normal I guess except for the fact that he doesn't drink.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,262 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Feck the hash, just stick to the buds and you will be ok

Dr Matthew Sadler, consultant psychiatrist speaking at the IMO conference last April:

Dr Sadlier said his reading of cannabis had always been that it had never been shown to be an effective medicinal product and has never been able to get past regulatory authorities.

“It is a compound that I would love to be banished from the planet. It does more damage to humans than any drug that is out there,” he said.

He said that, in his work as a general adult psychiatrist in north Dublin over the last five years, he could comfortably say that a third of all his patients had been referred because of cannabis.

I do have a worry about potential psychology issues from abuse of marijuana (again, I know a few personally that needed intervention) but that sounds like hyperbole and observational bias. Most dangerous drug my hole. The good doctor should know that personal anecdotal experiences are not proof of anything.
    Agree on the lack of medical benefits. They're currently tenuous at best.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Stab*City

• Registered Users Posts: 5,748 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Stab*City wrote: »
    I know a very very close friend who smokes weed all day every day and has done for at least 20 years. He is normal I guess except for the fact that he doesn't drink.

After reading this thread one might be shocked that this could happen. Its almost as if not everyone becomes psychotic because they've smoked a plant.

I do have a worry about potential psychology issues from abuse of marijuana (again, I know a few personally that needed intervention) but that sounds like hyperbole and observational bias. Most dangerous drug my hole. The good doctor should know that personal anecdotal experiences are not proof of anything.
    Agree on the lack of medical benefits. They're currently tenuous at best.

Yes, a bit extreme, but I believe that he is presenting the evidence as well as his expertise to affect a change in attitude to the drug. A bit of arm waving is acceptable when trying to improve public health. A third of admissions due to cannabis is shocking.

Ya agreed. But I'm not sure the approach is the best. Reminds me of the old "Reefer Madness" approach that tried to scare people into thinking one puff would turn you into a raving lunatic. I think it backfires then when people actually encounter it and see that you can smoke and not go insane. They then lose faith in what they're being told and won't heed more accurate warnings. Nancy Regans "Just Say No" campaign is thought to have suffered from similar issues.

I think the bigger question is why are so many people smoking themselves into psychosis? It's not like they're having one joint and losing the plot, it just doesn't work that way.

Ya agreed. But I'm not sure the approach is the best. Reminds me of the old "Reefer Madness" approach that tried to scare people into thinking one puff would turn you into a raving lunatic. I think it backfires then when people actually encounter it and see that you can smoke and not go insane. They then lose faith in what they're being told and won't heed more accurate warnings. Nancy Regans "Just Say No" campaign is thought to have suffered from similar issues.

I think the bigger question is why are so many people smoking themselves into psychosis? It's not like they're having one joint and losing the plot, it just doesn't work that way.

It honestly happened to me. I would’ve smoked a few times with friends, and had a whitey (think that’s what they called it then!), every time. Then the last time was when I had a small joint myself, as my friends had gone to sleep. I went mad. Not out of control or anything, but absolutely lost, and paranoid about BEING paranoid, for about 4 days. Almost presented to hospital for psychiatric care, but eventually it passed. So obviously some people are fine, but there are people who can get very unwell very easily on it.