Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

World Cup of Darts 2019

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

One word - Proud

• Registered Users Posts: 475 ✭✭selwyn froggitt

Great stuff from Willie and Steve,well done lads

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,245 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

sc86 wrote: »
    20k each and entry to the grand slam
    Not to shabby

Just to clarify this, they haven't qualified for the Grand Slam yet, it depends on the winners and runners up in the remainder of this years tournaments. It's likely they'll qualify though.

You can see the PDC's overcomplicated qualifying route here:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019_Grand_Slam_of_Darts#Qualifying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

In the last 12 months we've had 2 euro tour finalists. A premier league contender. A pro tour winner and world cup finalists.

Finally Irish darts where it should be.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

also Willie and steve pocketed 35k sterling...all be it non ranked.

That should help ease financial worries and allow them to play with a little less pressure and hopefully the results keep coming

Their final spot means players like Dave chisnall and glen durrant who won 2 players championships were set back further as willie and steves performance takes precedent. Whilst not assured yet, it would take weird results in the matchplay to alter things at present.
    Plus should they eventually play at the Grand Slam that is more extra ranking money to heir cause.

Willie may be able to pack in the job and give it a proper go so. He still works full time which is amazing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

Willie may be able to pack in the job and give it a proper go so. He still works full time which is amazing
    Does Steve?

Does Steve?

Don't think so. He plays the tour full time and plays local tournaments most weeknights.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭sc86

great experience for them also , will all stand to them down the line

has any other player from republic ever made a pdc major final ? i cant think of any

great experience for them also , will all stand to them down the line

has any other player from republic ever made a pdc major final ? i cant think of any

Nope. Willie is the most successful Irish player of all time.

Willie must be up there with the most games played at a world cup too? His played in every one of them.

Willie has played in all nine world cup competitions

he is one of 9 players to do so.
    The others are

Mensur Suljovic (Austria)
    Simon Whitlock (Australia)
    Brendan Dolan (Northern Ireland)
    Toni Alcinas (Spain)
    Darin Young (USA)
    Per Laursen (Denmark)
    Haruki Muramatsu (Japan)
    Dyson Parody (Gibraltar)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

Rte just announced that Ire have beaten Holland and playing Sco in final,only 24hrs late,unbelievable in this day and age

rte are the thickest ingrate muck savages.
    All they care about are the "clique" sports/games like gaa, rugby etc...bloody posturers

Say what you want about darts being the working mans games but they are playing more professional that your bog trotting brainwashed culchie that runs around a field cos he has been indoctrinated in to thinking playing for free for your county matters a squat...and doing it for free wile the gaa sells the rights to guiness, sky, rte etc and makes a mint.

Before anyone jumps on this defending the gaa and the loyalty and and love of county rubbish, I have no problem with them playing for their love, but it does not mean those darts players are any less entitled to the same respect, the media does not give them in general coverage

• Registered Users Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭sc86

thing is , for the most part , the general public dont give a toss about darts in this country compared to soccer and gaa

but nobody gives a **** about tennis and rte love tennis updates so hard know how they filter it

thing is , for the most part , the general public dont give a toss about darts in this country compared to soccer and gaa

but nobody gives a **** about tennis and rte love tennis updates so hard know how they filter it

Presenter on Off The Ball called the darts "brexit down the pub" . Disgusting attitude this day an age.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,245 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Willie O'Connor was interviewed on the Darts Show podcast yesterday. He stated that he is seriously considering going full time professional as he now has the money to do so. He'll make a decision in the next couple of weeks. I got the impression that he is going to give it a try.

Kingp35 wrote: »
    Willie O'Connor was interviewed on the Darts Show podcast yesterday. He stated that he is seriously considering going full time professional as he now has the money to do so. He'll make a decision in the next couple of weeks. I got the impression that he is going to give it a try.

Where can I listen to this, never heard of that podcast.

It's available through all usual podcast apps such as iTunes, podcast addict etc.

You can also download it through the Sky Sports website here:
    https://www.skysports.com/darts/news/12288/11739860/the-darts-show-podcast-with-gary-anderson-william-oconnor-and-colin-Lloyd

willie was first up today in the danish open / euro tour and won well with a 95 average, hitting 6 maximums and now plays Peter Wright next round.

Lennon was last on tonight and was abysmal and lost 6-0 with an 81 average to dennis Nillson...no not the serial killer