Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shed painters/ scrap collectors

• Registered Users Posts: 24,344 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

had a lad up north last weekend , 10 big gates for £1000, think uncle took a few of him, lord knows where they were acquired.

Few gaps wide open now around the country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

cjpm wrote: »
    All he did!!
    was-that-sarcasm.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,841 ✭✭✭mf240

had a lad up north last weekend , 10 big gates for £1000, think uncle took a few of him, lord knows where they were acquired.

If people didnt buy of them they wouldnt be rewarded for tgere activities

Most of the time when there in selling there looking around to see how vunerable people are. Have they dogs , lights, do they live alone ect. Dont take your eyes off them untill they leave your premises and dont buy anything from them. If you have anything valuable that they have spotted move it.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,631 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

mf240 wrote: »
    If people didnt buy of them they wouldnt be rewarded for tgere activities

This.

For you it might be a gate or power tool or whatever cheaper than you might get otherwise at the expense of someone else. Wheel is always turning, you might be next in line for a covert visit when you're out of the yard.

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

True lads, i dont agree with it at all, and i wouldnt have been talking with themnever mind dealing with them,

is it true if you cut them in two, they stay alive, or is that earth worms?...

• Registered Users Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

What lads do you have calling. all I see them selling is new stuff. New gates (lightly made but suits some jobs) or new tools (cheap Chinese stuff you can buy on ebay). I have yet to see stolen stuff.
    In fact I sold them lads 2 trailers that needed doing up and once deal was done they kept to there word no whinging. I've sold stuff to many a farmer who has no concept of a deal being a deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

st1979 wrote: »
    What lads do you have calling. all I see them selling is new stuff. New gates (lightly made but suits some jobs) or new tools (cheap Chinese stuff you can buy on ebay). I have yet to see stolen stuff.
    In fact I sold them lads 2 trailers that needed doing up and once deal was done they kept to there word no whinging. I've sold stuff to many a farmer who has no concept of a deal being a deal.

Ah you'll learn...

• Registered Users Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

Well to the guy who was offered the gates at 100 euro. we're they new or second hand. If new they are highly unlikely to be stolen. They were just cheap cause they are made of lighter stuff and I reckon no vat was paid as I think most of them come from the north and I believe they give false vat numbers (sometimes they give glanbia vat number. which I heard from one of the top glanbia agri business guys)
    I have no doubt they rob. I was robbed myself by lads in pickup type van who took scrap and took off with out paying. but that was lads from my local town who are just scumbags with no traveller connections.
    I can't believe I am sticking up for travellers But I have had little problems with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

there is one regular guy that comes to us, dad buys small hand tools off him, nothing too expensive.
    I bought a petrol power washer off him for 100 quid before - working away!
    he sells safety gear too, anything you want. all we would buy is boots and gloves, nothing else.

none others call around. need a few gates though. stock in our place aren't heavy so light gates are not an issue.

st1979 wrote: »
    Well to the guy who was offered the gates at 100 euro. we're they new or second hand. If new they are highly unlikely to be stolen. They were just cheap cause they are made of lighter stuff and I reckon no vat was paid as I think most of them come from the north and I believe they give false vat numbers (sometimes they give glanbia vat number. which I heard from one of the top glanbia agri business guys)
    I have no doubt they rob. I was robbed myself by lads in pickup type van who took scrap and took off with out paying. but that was lads from my local town who are just scumbags with no traveller connections.
    I can't believe I am sticking up for travellers But I have had little problems with them.

Yeah like tax evasion is a victimless crime.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

Unfortunately I have had trouble with them more than once
    I know they are not all bad but the few that are at the scamming and robbing are making it hard for the lads that are genuine
    I have been burnt too many times now that I will only deal with a legitimate company with a fixed landline and address vat number printed on invoice and would have come recommend from someone I know.
    Will not deal with canvassers anymore whether they are buying or selling I had a pushy guy in the yard one day trying to get me to sell old machinery that didn't understand the word no l asked him if he saw it advertised for sale somewhere and told him he didn't because it not for sale
    Gave him direction to nearest agri machinery sales garage and gave him the road didn't see him since

Yeah like tax evasion is a victimless crime.

water protesters go to Jail, Bankers don't.

• Registered Users Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

give a man a gun, and he can rob a bank,

give a man a bank, and he can rob the world...

tramps

• Registered Users Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

God lads buy yer stuff of local merchant if ya can, look at all he employs/spends/sponsors in locality. Look after you own. I do feel sorry for the genuine travelling salesman but I'mt experience the bad guys out-number the good. They are always trying to get one over on you.
    We bought gates a few years back, looked grand and heavy, galvanised and all. They weren't through the first winter and the galvanise was coming off. If they were bought in local merchants I would have some comeback bit where was my buck-gone abroad selling on the road. Imagine even going back looking for something to be do about it, I know I wouldn't get anywhere. Plus you can put legitimate bought gates in as expenses. You think you might be saving a few bob but at the end of the day how much really? Plus, if you don't entertain them they soon get the message not to call. Even for peace of mind that has to be worth alot

Only last week had some guy come around with a van under the guise of buying and selling furniture, was asking older people if they 'lived on their own' and pretending to know them from working in a furniture shop in town, that he clearly had nothing to do with.

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Pacoa

water protesters go to Jail, Bankers don't.

Water protesters don't go to jail, people who break the law do.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,841 ✭✭✭mf240

Pacoa wrote: »

They would have a well dug with a spade since they started their little campaign.

The thing that would annoy me about the whole thing is the way finna fail are using it to gain points. Yet when they were in power and there was money everywhere they could of fixed all the water infrastrute and brought it up to a first class standard but they never invested anything in it.

Whatever ye do don't go buying water off the travelling salesmen-no matter what kinda deal they given you

• Registered Users Posts: 9,160 ✭✭✭tanko

Pacoa wrote: »

Rubbish, lots of people who break the law in this banana republic are never punished because they know the right people.

tanko wrote: »
    Rubbish, lots of people who break the law in this banana republic are never punished because they know the right people.

True but that is the same in every country. It's human nature, look after those who look after you. It will never change.

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭coconnellz

uncle of mine stupidly I know got caught with these con men selling gates. Payed 500 euro for 4 gates came back following week telling him that "the EU said gates coats are dangerous and theirs a manufacturer recall" he assured him that he get new gates in few days but never arrived.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

coconnellz wrote: »
    uncle of mine stupidly I know got caught with these con men selling gates. Payed 500 euro for 4 gates came back following week telling him that "the EU said gates coats are dangerous and theirs a manufacturer recall" he assured him that he get new gates in few days but never arrived.

Jeez no offence but he must have been harmless to fall for that.,

• Registered Users Posts: 4,996 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Only last week had some guy come around with a van under the guise of buying and selling furniture, was asking older people if they 'lived on their own' and pretending to know them from working in a furniture shop in town, that he clearly had nothing to do with.

lads in a plain white van called to an elderly neighbour a few weeks ago claiming to be from the ESB and looking for money upfront to trim branches near overhead lines. no doubt they were working their way up the road calling to every house

• Registered Users Posts: 24,344 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

lads in a plain white van called to an elderly neighbour a few weeks ago claiming to be from the ESB and looking for money upfront to trim branches near overhead lines. no doubt they were working their way up the road calling to every house
    That's a free service but I'm sure you know that

• Registered Users Posts: 4,996 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Reggie. wrote: »
    That's a free service but I'm sure you know that

yep, similar with the phone lines too

• Registered Users Posts: 307 ✭✭Askim

Tell them " no I don't like a lone, the brother is out the back giving the doberman his weekly feed,, hop in that van fair quick, he got out last week and the postman is still in hospital"

A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

The right thing to do with these guys is take a photo of them on you phone. Once they know you have their photo, they sure as hell wont do anything dodgy in the area for some time.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

The right thing to do with these guys is take a photo of them on you phone. Once they know you have their photo, they sure as hell wont do anything dodgy in the area for some time.

One thing if you notice that the men never appear on the various TV programmes etc. Their faces are either blanked out or backs are turned. You are right - the one thing that gets a reaction is taking the phone out and taking a photo. They move fairly sharpish then.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭tripperman

had a lad call today to sell gates and tools again,its same lad four times since october and swore blind he was never here before, he got ran for a fifth time then he called me all the c***s and b******s under the sun

tripperman wrote: »
    had a lad call today to sell gates and tools again,its same lad four times since october and swore blind he was never here before, he got ran for a fifth time then he called me all the c***s and b******s under the sun

I heard a statue of the virgim mary frightens them
    One garden centre in newport was getting fleeced by these lads taking garden ornaments

She put a statue at the front and next time they called they dropped to their knees and prayed

No more hassle after that.