Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

In Danger, But Still Sexy

• 17-12-2018 5:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭

Look at this before they delete/withdraw it. The people responsible for this must time-share brain cells, (and I say that as someone who used to write letters for Amnesty Intl.)

Amnesty Intl. Netherlands launched a campaign some days ago to highlight issues including the dangers of sexual assault and violence for women and girls in refugee camps in Greece.
    Glamoria looks at first glance like a nice, cozy glossy. But anyone who browses it quickly discovers what this magazine really is all about: the inhumane situation in which nearly 16,000 refugees live on the Greek islands. Violence, rape, one toilet for an average of 72 people and four hours in the queue every morning for one and a half liters of drinking water. There are even children in the camps who try to commit suicide.

And they used this image as the front cover of their one-off campaign magazine. Because a lovely lithesome lady who was formerly a refugee sexualising life-jackets is....oh feck, I just don't know what it is. The mixed messages from the goodies are just too confusing these days. :(

Duc4vkzW4AEg5DQ.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Duc4vkzW4AEg5DQ.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 7,500 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Zorya wrote: »
    Look at this before they delete/withdraw it. The people responsible for this must time-share brain cells, (and I say that as someone who used to write letters for Amnesty Intl.)

Amnesty Intl. Netherlands launched a campaign some days ago to highlight issues including the dangers of sexual assault and violence for women and girls in refugee camps in Greece.

And they used this image as the front cover of their one-off campaign magazine. Because a lovely lithesome lady who was formerly a refugee sexualising life-jackets is....oh feck, I just don't know what it is. The mixed messages from the goodies are just too confusing these days. :(

Duc4vkzW4AEg5DQ.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Duc4vkzW4AEg5DQ.jpg

They do it to get attention.

People will completely ignored a magazine with a front cover of people in a disgusting situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

They do it to get attention.

People will completely ignored a magazine with a front cover of people in a disgusting situation.

Yeah, I understand it would get attention. But to have a scantily clad lady (or making life jackets into a bikini, kind of) symbolising refugees, writhing (effectively) on a bed of life jackets, especially given that the life jackets symbolises how many have drowned, seems so counter-intuitive as to be farcical.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Seems to me to be a perfectly good attention-grabber along the exact themes that you've outlined.

Sexualising a woman in lifejackets should make you feel really uncomfortable.

That's the point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭VeryTerry

I agree with Seamus. You're missing the point completely.

seamus wrote: »
    Seems to me to be a perfectly good attention-grabber along the exact themes that you've outlined.

Sexualising a woman in lifejackets should make you feel really uncomfortable.

That's the point.

You think it makes people feel uncomfortable?

It makes me feel uncomfortable, but not in the way you imagine.

No, sorry Seamus, I do not see it as a clever reverse-psychology media triumph. Should other rape awareness campaigns adopt this angle maybe? Sexy children? Sexy girls in taxis? Sexy office workers writhing on their desks? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

I don't know what a tracker mortgage is...

Keyzer wrote: »
    I don't know what a tracker mortgage is...

I bet you really do. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I’d say the people who when looking for life jackets whilst this shoot was on felt pretty uncomfortable.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

Thought this was going to be a spam thread with a link to a dodgy Chinese site

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

Meh, I'll completely ignore it anyway whether it is a weatherbeated starved aul wan on it or this scantily clad refu-babe.

I've no interest in the refugee crisis because it doesn't affect me. **** them refugees, I'm alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Sexy children?
    That would be exploitation in a way, since the woman on this cover can make the decision to pose herself.

Nevertheless, I do believe similar attention-grabbing portrayals have been used to shine a spotlight on child prostitution and child beauty pageants.
    Sexy girls in taxis? Sexy office workers writhing on their desks? :confused:
    You see, these would be neither unique nor uncomfortable. In fact, putting either on the cover, you would simply get a lot of pissed-off men who were expecting some soft-core porn.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,953 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Isn't...... isn't that the ENTIRE point of the campaign?

auwll.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Doesn't float my boat...

Isn't...... isn't that the ENTIRE point of the campaign?

It may have seemed clever inside someone's head but it effectively is objectification and a hat tip at disaster porn. Try do this with brides for sale or child marriage. It is very distasteful. And it's not just crazy ol' me who thinks so, if you look at Amnesty International Netherland's Facebook page they are getting the heads eaten off them, including some posts from Syrian refugees who are asking thm to remove it. Colm O'Gorman thanked someone on Twitter for 'flagging it.'. So, I guess for once I can cheerfully say #MeToo, dagnabbit. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

I doubt they're raped because they're dressed sexily. They're raped because they're there and they can be. Same with the children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭VeryTerry

Colm O'Gorman thanked someone on Twitter for 'flagging it.'

Colm O'Gorman is only interested in himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

To be fair a lot of these social justice types get their tits out to protest pretty much anything these days. Apparently it's seen as "brave" or something.

It may have seemed clever inside someone's head but it effectively is objectification and a hat tip at disaster porn. Try do this with brides for sale or child marriage. It is very distasteful. And it's not just crazy ol' me who thinks so, if you look at Amnesty International Netherland's Facebook page they are getting the heads eaten off them, including some posts from Syrian refugees who are asking thm to remove it. Colm O'Gorman thanked someone on Twitter for 'flagging it.'. So, I guess for once I can cheerfully say #MeToo, dagnabbit. :rolleyes:

But it's doing EXACTLY what it was intended to do: It is promoting conversation and debate. It is getting shared by people who think it's great and people who hate it. Do you really think they didn't know that people would be offended by it?

As a way of sparking debate it's been a big success.

• Registered Users Posts: 565 ✭✭✭frosty123

Amnesty Intl. Netherlands launched a campaign

Thats the dutch for ya

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,660 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

professore wrote: »
    To be fair a lot of these social justice types get their tits out to protest pretty much anything these days. Apparently it's seen as "brave" or something.
    There's a time and place to do a satirical work about Stalin.

Doing it in early 1940's Soviet Union in the midst of a genocidal Nazi invasion in an propaganda film commissioned by Stalin ?

Eisenstein didn't have a safe space when he was making Ivan The Terrible.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

lol @ those saying the OP missed the point of the cover.

Nah folks, you missed the OP's point.

Anyway, seems they've removed it now:

https://twitter.com/amnestynl/status/1074746557591945216

lol @ those saying the OP missed the point of the cover.

Nah folks, you missed the OP's point.

Anyway, seems they've removed it now:

]

Thanks.
    Yeah, I am beginning to think there is literally nothing you can bring to people's attention anymore that will not have a split reaction with one side saying, fairly reasonably in my opinion, 'eh, what's going on here then', and the other side responding by virulently defending just about any fecking thing. Nothing.

If you didn't want a debate on the matter then why post?