Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

FF/FG/Green Government - part 2

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Truthvader

These corporations know the goose is cooked on cooking the books. They need the marketplace and they can't keep ****ting in it from a height.
    That they'll move is a scaremongering tactic to allow them keep the avoidance game going.

Jesus. What are you going to do? Send the army into Apple as "peacekeepers". As posted above the multinationals contribute heaps the the Irish economy. And yes they make out like bandits . And yes they get all sorts of dodgy tax deals. It may appeal to some kind of dizzy National Socialist idealism to Tax them but they could be gone to India in the morning.

What then? We cant all be community activists

Truth is even without a "Tax the rich" government India is slready upskilled and cheaper. Not the time for stupidity with no backup plan

• Registered Users Posts: 66,774 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Is he?

Have you a link to evidence he's trying to score political points?

Or is this another theory of yours?

Fantasy actually.

Yes JJ that is an opinion and shared by quite a few.

We are allowed an opinion here are we not?

Serious hisssy fits tonight because Leo, who has been putting himself front and centre is attracting comment. What was he expecting - silent supplication and praise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭Nobotty

If it is ok with you, I will side with the EU and not you Nobotty. I think they should pay their fair share if they wish to operate and trade here. I think, actually they know this themselves.

You may do whatever you wish :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Nobotty wrote: »
    You may do whatever you wish :)

He still didn't answer if he was in favour of EU tax harmonisation.

I am a member of the EU, I have to be in favour of harmonization therefore. The good with the bad, that's the deal.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

I am a member of the EU, I have to be in favour of harmonization therefore. The good with the bad, that's the deal.

I think you're just fluffing out waffle.
    We are a member state, but an independent economic unit with a right to govern ourselves economically and we need that to differ us from the mainland Europe
    Do you for one minute think we could survive logistically because we are an island without something different to offer?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Wouldn't be SF policy at all, but I realise you were a first time voter for them in the last GE so probably don't agree with all their policies.

It's possible to be a citizen of the EU and disagree with some of their policies. It would be very difficult not to do so.

Wouldn't be SF policy at all, but I realise you were a first time voter for them in the last GE so probably don't agree with all their policies.

It's possible to be a citizen of the EU and disagree with some of their policies. It would be very difficult not to do so.

Absolutely agree, and I do. But if tax harmonisation happens we'll have to accept it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,222 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Yes JJ that is an opinion and shared by quite a few.

We are allowed an opinion here are we not?

Serious hisssy fits tonight because Leo, who has been putting himself front and centre is attracting comment. What was he expecting - silent supplication and praise?

So it's your unbiased opinion?

Which has no credible evidence to back it up.

Just as I thought.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

Just as I thought.

His 10% drop in approval might show he's not doing something right anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 7,222 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Still waiting for your evidence of leo lying.

Yawn.

All night we can do this and you won't produce it.

Might mean the reverse. Popularity is not connected to what is right or wise. Charlie Haughy was a hugely popular Taoiseah who always stood his round. Turns out he was a thieving flake though

• Registered Users Posts: 19,043 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

And that, dear friends, explains it in a nutshell.

Do you want thousands of people working, earning good salaries, paying millions into the government coffers, living the good life, mortgages, etc., or do you want the same thousands of people dependent on state handouts in the form of Dole?

Simples.

Answer of course from that coterie is yes,Maryanne.

What they want is jobsworths and lifers in State or local authority employment, highly unionized , manufacturing nothing, exporting nothing, producing nothing except demands for more money .

And goaded on by shadowy figures in the background ensuring that unrest is constant and anyone with any semblance of hard work and advancement gets the fuuuherk out of the country.

Nah mate......sorry.

Just as I thought.

Have you missed Leo putting himself front and centre on Claire Byrne and this weekend's paper's?

It would be unhinged to pretend he hasnt put himself front and centre never mind unbiased.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,782 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

What they want is jobsworths and lifers in State or local authority employment, highly unionized , manufacturing nothing, exporting nothing, producing nothing except demands for more money .

The economy needs more money right now, as the velocity of money is dying a death, hence the economy is dying a death!

Answer of course from that coterie is yes,Maryanne.

And goaded on by shadowy figures in the background ensuring that unrest is constant and anyone with any semblance of hard work and advancement gets the fuuuherk out of the country.

Nah mate......sorry.

What about 'everyone paying and getting their fair share Brendi?'

You guys will never go for that and we know why.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,193 ✭✭✭christy c

Typical SF nonsense, when the stupidity and naivety of their plans are pointed out, start spoofing about fairness. First three pages or so of this thread sums up the craziness of it all.

What about 'everyone paying and getting their fair share Brendi?'

You guys will never go for that and we know why.

Like Violet Ann?

Truthvader wrote: »
    Like Violet Ann?

We can play that game all day if you wish to waste time Truth. What about over paid bankers or TD's?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭Bishop of hope

Like Violet Ann?

And good republicans like Thomas Murphy etc, the smugglers and diesel washers.

We can play that game all day if you wish to waste time Truth. What about over paid bankers or TD's?

Like Dessie Ellis and Angus?

Have yet to see a proposal from Sinn Fein that involves paying for anything

The cohort out today with their fantasy republic game.

Another week another smokescreen

Have yet to see a proposal from Sinn Fein that involves paying for anything

Step 1 is to drive the multinationals out of the country with their childish approach to corporate tax outlined in the first pages of this thread. Not sure of the intricacies of how they will replace that lost tax income but it involves shouting "FAIRNESS" repeatedly.

Step 2 is to increase tax on those earning over €140,000. The fact that some of these are working in the companies mentioned above seems to have been missed, but something again about fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

christy c wrote: »
    Step 1 is to drive the multinationals out of the country with their childish approach to corporate tax outlined in the first pages of this thread. Not sure of the intricacies of how they will replace that lost tax income but it involves shouting "FAIRNESS" repeatedly.

Step 2 is to increase tax on those earning over €140,000. The fact that some of these are working in the companies mentioned above seems to have been missed, but something again about fairness.

FG pandemic response :

1. Remove tax resident restrictions:. "Catherine Murphy described Revenue’s decision to allow non-residents in Ireland to avoid paying tax if they’ve been prevented from leaving the country due to Covid-19 as “tone deaf”.

https://www.thejournal.ie/tax-exiles-revenue-relaxation-catherine-murphy-5067420-Apr2020/

2. Give hundreds of millions to hotel and private hospital owners. For maximum benefit to tax exiles see step 1.

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/edition/ireland/hse-stuck-with-contract-for-citywest-covid-unit-for-14-residents-qknqv38kw

3. Take a holiday.

4. Hire dozens of advisors.

5. Ignore warnings or high risk sectors. Resulting in hundreds of deaths.

"We view it as a failure by the minister that we have to keep endlessly pursuing him as this crisis escalates hour-by-hour, day-by-day,” said Nursing Home Ireland chief executive, Tadhg Daly.

“Given the large cohort of people in the nursing home sector, it beggars belief that he (Mr Harris) has not even picked up the phone to ring us.

“We have sent at least five letters and emails over the last four weeks requesting engagement directly with Mr Harris but what we got is the standard civil service reply - that the matter was receiving attention."

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-30990134.html%3ftype=amp

smurgen wrote: »
    FG pandemic response :

1. Remove tax resident restrictions:. "Catherine Murphy described Revenue’s decision to allow non-residents in Ireland to avoid paying tax if they’ve been prevented from leaving the country due to Covid-19 as “tone deaf”.

https://www.thejournal.ie/tax-exiles-revenue-relaxation-catherine-murphy-5067420-Apr2020/

2. Give hundreds of millions to hotel and private hospital owners. For maximum benefit to tax exiles see step 1.

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/edition/ireland/hse-stuck-with-contract-for-citywest-covid-unit-for-14-residents-qknqv38kw

3. Take a holiday.

4. Hire dozens of advisors.

5. Ignore warnings or high risk sectors. Resulting in hundreds of deaths.

"We view it as a failure by the minister that we have to keep endlessly pursuing him as this crisis escalates hour-by-hour, day-by-day,” said Nursing Home Ireland chief executive, Tadhg Daly.

“Given the large cohort of people in the nursing home sector, it beggars belief that he (Mr Harris) has not even picked up the phone to ring us.

“We have sent at least five letters and emails over the last four weeks requesting engagement directly with Mr Harris but what we got is the standard civil service reply - that the matter was receiving attention."

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-30990134.html%3ftype=amp

Yep, no defence of SF's stupidity as I thought.

1. Not sure of the details, from the outside I wouldn't have thought it necessary.

2. Hospitals were rented as it was feared scenes in Italy and Spain would be repeated here. The fact that some of your boogeymen were involved and winds you up is a bonus.

3. Childish rubbish. You meant the Dail didn't sit?

4. Of course advisors are needed, populist nonsense to suggest otherwise.

5. Mistakes were made unfortunately. At least they were not stupid enough to think Boris Johnson was making them look bad (you might remember that gem you came out with).

Yep, no defence of SF's stupidity as I thought.

1. Not sure of the details, from the outside I wouldn't have thought it necessary.

2. Hospitals were rented as it was feared scenes in Italy and Spain would be repeated here. The fact that some of your boogeymen were involved and winds you up is a bonus.

3. Childish rubbish. You meant the Dail didn't sit?

4. Of course advisors are needed, populist nonsense to suggest otherwise.

5. Mistakes were made unfortunately. At least they were not stupid enough to think Boris Johnson was making them look bad (you might remember that gem you came out with).

Mistakes are still being made, over 1 week since they ignored NHEPT

Leo saying 1 thing yesterday morning, MM saying another at lunchtime

[/B]

Mistakes are still being made, over 1 week since they ignored NHEPT

Leo saying 1 thing yesterday morning, MM saying another at lunchtime

Yep fairly chaotic, although very difficult circumstances. Depressing this is the best we could come up with.

Not to mention the fact Gardai were out on roads all week delaying people getting to work but somehow hundreds are allowed gather in Dublin to protest.

A shambles

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Not to mention the fact Gardai were out on roads all week delaying people getting to work but somehow hundreds are allowed gather in Dublin to protest.

A shambles

These lads are brainwashed. They're the equivalent of the die-hard MAGA crowd.

What's difficult about clear and concise messaging and communication?

What's difficult about telling a rogue Tanaiste to stfu and wait until there is a clear message to put out?