Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all,
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.
Thanks all.

Force Majeure

Options
  • 21-09-2020 2:17pm
    Registered Users Posts: 902 ✭✭✭

Quick query in relation to force majeure entitlement. (Hypothetical of course)

Recently (in last 2 weeks) had to taken unpaid leave (i'm a contractor on daily rate) due to a sudden and life threatening illness to my dad. To give precise details, he has had a stroke and tests have shown him to be terminally ill with cancer also unfortunately. The first day he took ill and I was at home with him myself (no other family) waiting for ambulance etc... My presence was indispensable as there was literally nobody else to help.

Now I returned to work after 2 weeks (for which I was unpaid, you don't work any hours, you don't get paid and I get that, totally understandable).

However, my temporary contract states that the company (agency through which I am contracting) provides for Force Majeure leave in line with statutory provisions.

Both of the below links show this statutory provision

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/employment/employment_rights_and_conditions/leave_and_holidays/types_of_leave_from_work.html#lcdc92

https://employmentrightsireland.com/tag/force-majeure/

Am I incorrect in assuming I should be entitled to 3 days pay as force majeure leave?