Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Would you like to live in a mansion?

• 19-10-2020 3:42pm
    Registered Users Posts: 13,728 ✭✭✭✭

Every week I see the kinds of properties below listed on the Journal, and commenters below praising how wonderful they are, and I just can't get my head around why anyone would want to live in such an enormous abomination, unless you're a character in Dallas?

https://www.thejournal.ie/the-paddocks-east-cork-5234066-Oct2020/

What are the advantages of living in a massive house like this? It must be a nightmare to keep clean! And why would you want a lawn that big? It's a bit pointless really, surely a few trees wouldn't go amiss.
    You also have to drive to get anywhere. These are all over Ireland, including not too far from me in North County Dublin there are loads. I understand you might like the peace of being in the middle of nowhere, but why would a house ever need to be that big?

I just don't get the appeal, is it just me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Skeetur

Exactly. And sure why would you need a roof when you can just carry an umbrella around with ya?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

If i have someone to do the cleaning and lawn mowing then maybe

• Registered Users Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

My 6 year old is always promising me he'll buy me a mansion when he grows up. I guess it would be alright, so long as he'd buy me a full-time cleaner too!

I live in a two-bed apartment and it's just the right size for me to maintain and keep clean. It's great to be able to clean the whole place top-to-bottom in half a day, if needs be. I rent, but if I ever buy, I'd be happy with something this size. (I don't plan on having any more kids... If I did, obviously I'd have to reconsider!)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,731 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

More house; more cleaning, more heating, more maintenance, more expense. So no.

They're bland concrete imitations of ancestral piles without any architectural value.

Besides there's usually only two adults and two kids rattling around in something the size of a small hotel, pointless and stupid.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,728 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

My 6 year old is always promising me he'll buy me a mansion when he grows up. I guess it would be alright, so long as he'd buy me a full-time cleaner too!

I live in a two-bed apartment and it's just the right size for me to maintain and keep clean. It's great to be able to clean the whole place top-to-bottom in half a day, if needs be. I rent, but if I ever buy, I'd be happy with something this size. (I don't plan on having any more kids... If I did, obviously I'd have to reconsider!)

Yeah being Foweva Awone in a giant mansion would probably feel even more Awone!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

That's one ugly house, with an even worse garden.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭rapul

Yeah being Foweva Awone in a giant mansion would probably feel even more Awone!

Lol

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Odelay

Vulgar, the only word to describe that house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

The only downside to owning that house would be having to live in Cork.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

They can be quite difficult to staff these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,388 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Odelay wrote: »

Vulgar?

I'd call it more bland and lacking any originality or design.

Boring shape and how much cream can one house have?
    Also why have such a big garden with nothing done to it.

I wouldn't describe it as a mansion either.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,728 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Well yeah but so many people seem to aspire to that, I just don't get it. Ireland is peppered with these in every county.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭completedit

Imagine being fairly well-off and thinking that this is the best way to represent your wealth. I'd buy it and bulldoze it tbh.

TBH, I think it be cool to live in a proper labyrinth of a house with nooks and crannies, huge walkways, cellars, attics, secret rooms etc. but a house like this is just a big version of a normal house. I live in a 3 bedroom semi-d and I hardly use any of the rooms.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I don't know why anyone would want to live in anything other than a mansion?:confused:

I don't live in a mansion, but it's solely because i can't afford one, not because i'd prefer to live in a shed! If i win the euromillions, i will indeed live in a mansion, a spotlessly clean mansion, maintained immaculately by naked, busty brazillian cleaners.

It's my money, i'll spend it how i see fit:D

• Registered Users Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Frankie Machine

See so much of that visually ignorant stuff all over the country.

Frequently with a huge cowshed for a backdrop, and dwarfing the modest bungalow bliss pimples that surround it.

And the decking, and the no back garden, and the yawning lawn, and the kerbing and...

A house like that, when it can be seen from the public road rather than being at the end of a long driveway, is in the wrong place.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I usually have a gander on Daft.ie on Tuesday and Fridays after I buy my Euromillions ticket. The larger houses seem to need a lot of work. Cleaning, gardening and in general how dusty is must all get.

Yes, I know you can afford a cleaner and a Gardner but it sounds like stress. What if I just want to lounge around in the nip, drinking pints at 9am and the gardener just walks by the window? Sound like I would have to do stuff and I have far too much money for me to be doing stuff.

A nice detached gaff, reasonably rural would do me.

• Registered Users Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Frankie Machine

murpho999 wrote: »

I wouldn't describe it as a mansion either.

Neither would the estate agents.

It's a VILLA, no less !

• Registered Users Posts: 14,282 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

already do !

a very very very small mansion

but its my mansion (not the banks !)

:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

You can only sleep in one bedroom.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I've been criticised here before for implying that the average Irishman and Irishwoman tend to be extremely vulgar compared to their European neighbours. That house is a perfect example of that - it's the sort of grotesque monstrosity that is so common in Ireland. I'm surprised it doesn't have a helicopter pad or an outdoor hot tub.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,087 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Every week I see the kinds of properties below listed on the Journal, and commenters below praising how wonderful they are, and I just can't get my head around why anyone would want to live in such an enormous abomination, unless you're a character in Dallas?

https://www.thejournal.ie/the-paddocks-east-cork-5234066-Oct2020/

What are the advantages of living in a massive house like this? It must be a nightmare to keep clean! And why would you want a lawn that big? It's a bit pointless really, surely a few trees wouldn't go amiss.
    You also have to drive to get anywhere. These are all over Ireland, including not too far from me in North County Dublin there are loads. I understand you might like the peace of being in the middle of nowhere, but why would a house ever need to be that big?

I just don't get the appeal, is it just me?

It's only got 4 bedrooms so no, I wouldn't like to live there. I'd prefer to have one bedroom per child. A spare room or office would be great but even then I wouldn't go calling such a house a 'mansion'. There's not even a pool.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

No ,much prefer a small house in a top location

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

You wouldn't build that house for the asking price

It's cheap

• Registered Users Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Lots of spite filled begrudgers here- I wonder where you all live that you are so bitter and angry about this house? Personally I’d love a huge garden I could plan to fill with bulbs and shrubs and trees - and maybe a heated covered pool - with plenty of space for a few dogs and a donkey or two to potter around in. I think the bedroom(s) in this is fantastic - just the way a master should be - stylish and roomy with plenty of space to hide all the clutter of life out of sight - and why not a jacuzzi bath??? And a couch to sprawl on while deciding what to wear for the day - fabulous.
    I love the elegant curved staircase and the downstairs living room - sure its rainy outside but once you shut the door that’s the kind of elegancy and space I’d like to have around me. Room for an indoor gym or training room, a home office, a guest bedroom, a fabulous master and one left over for your hobby room/ crazy train collection/ personal sound recording studio - whats not to like. And a snip compared to Dublin proces and not too far from the sea and an airport - if Covid ever lets us roam free again.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭Immortal Starlight

My house is 2500 square ft and has 4 bathrooms. I love it but there are rooms that aren’t used much. It’s nice to have the space though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

It reminds me of The Shining, but with less snow.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

It looks very nouveau.

I can imagine the owners have a local scrubber who calls over twice or thrice a week to hoover, clean up and get the ironing. She is probably a little bit ugly as most nouveau wives hate too much competition. I would say it has a big dirty diesel guzzling 4x4 outside for safe transportation of the brats to and from school. The hubby has a sports jag, beamer or merc , or something else entirely tasteless. Keeps his porn collection in the garage, with his old nails and a Black n Deckar he used once after the lads bought a combined wedding pressie, miserable phucks.

You wouldn't get a 2 bed apt in Dun Laoghaire for that money, you might score a 3 bed in Sallynoggin.

I can see it being inhabited by gormless culchie types who come into a few quid after getting a promotion. Tacky enough.

God help the kids they haven't a chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,174 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

By no means. Rather elegant country pile, I'd say. Probably not to everyone's taste, but "vulgar" it is not.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,731 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I've been criticised here before for implying that the average Irishman and Irishwoman tend to be extremely vulgar compared to their European neighbours. That house is a perfect example of that - it's the sort of grotesque monstrosity that is so common in Ireland. I'm surprised it doesn't have a helicopter pad or an outdoor hot tub.

Quite right.
    Irish towns and countryside are ruined with ugly development. Things like this stick out like sore thumbs on otherwise pleasing rural landscape.

I'm guessing it has the oversized faux stone clad entrance with security gates and long drive worthy of Southfork.

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭Jaysus Christ.

Ya can’t beat an aga.