Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Coronavirus Pandemic Information- Local and Worldwide

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭Shadow Dancer

Human beings are social animals.
    Teenagers and children not allowed mix with their peers. Them seeing everyone wearing masks ( debatable whether these are effective or not).
    People not seeing elderly parents.
    Take a drive around any town in the evening. Lifeless!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Suckler

Now you are just verging on hysteria. Ridiculous comment. I travel quite a bit for work; towns are quieter, granted, but "lifeless" certainly not.

I take exception to that to be fair.
    But you're entitled to your opinion as much as I am.
    The only hysteria I see is from the media and people crippled with fear.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,414 ✭✭✭Jb1989

I take exception to that to be fair.
    But you're entitled to your opinion as much as I am.
    The only hysteria I see is from the media and people crippled with fear.

I agree with your sentiment, there are plenty of areas lifeless around here too, different Strokes for different folks.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,468 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I see people who are afraid and worried but no hysteria.

Kids are resilient. This won’t last forever but we must do what’s needed to protect those that need protection.

Same with “the economy”, it will be grand in time. Honestly the notion that we can have continuous uninterrupted economic growth without ever having to face adversity is childish. I hear rubbish like “if this pub closes it may never open again”, yea well, if there’s a need and demand it will open again, if there isn’t then that’s fine too.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,201 ✭✭✭tanko

_Brian wrote: »
    I see people who are afraid and worried but no hysteria.

Kids are resilient. This won’t last forever but we must do what’s needed to protect those that need protection.

Same with “the economy”, it will be grand in time. Honestly the notion that we can have continuous uninterrupted economic growth without ever having to face adversity is childish. I hear rubbish like “if this pub closes it may never open again”, yea well, if there’s a need and demand it will open again, if there isn’t then that’s fine too.

How much of a reduction in your income have you suffered in the last six months?

• Registered Users Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

Water John wrote: »
    Passed through a village in County Cork today. Mobile chipper was parked next to the pub since last night. This village is in the area that has highest Covid cases in the county. Must have been some fun in the village last night, WTF?

Might not have been a party at all. The mobile chippers are one of the industries hit hard by the current situation. Some of them have set up semi permanently operating as takeaways at the weekends. Some are in villages that have no existing takeaway, more on main roads, at beaches turning the summer. There are also a few mobile coffee shops doing the same. One of those is in an old horsebox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Teenagers and children not allowed mix with their peers. Them seeing everyone wearing masks ( debatable whether these are effective or not).

The what now?

Debatable = an adjective. Open to debate or discussion

• Registered Users Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

Aren't teenagers and kids mixing with their peers every day in school?
    I know this might change, but at least for now, they are mixing...

I dont think kids seeing people wearing masks is anyway upsetting for them, in fact I would say kids can be a lot more accepting of change than adults...

Masks being effective - I thought it was accepted now that it is far safer to wear a masks than not. Are you saying masks of any type are not effective, or what?

People not seeing elderly parents is an issue. This is something we need to be very conscious of. But we should be conscious of all vulnerable people...

Some towns have been affected a lot. I guess in the more party towns its more visible. The towns that were outside the party scene, they were fairly quiet to begin with. Pubs that were open have closed, but in a way, this decline has been happening in some areas with a good while...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,675 ✭✭✭endainoz

Uh oh we've got a live one here

Thanks 4 your valuable contribution!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Oh, I'm familiar with the meaning and usage of the word.

Using the adjective 'debatable' in the context of the effectiveness of masks for prevention of infection and reducing transmission of the virus is right up there with discussion about the facts of a flat earth and of the control that the lizard people have over the world.

Perhaps more suited to the Conspiracies Theories forum than here, tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,024 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

On a practical idea it might be an idea to get your hair cut.

They're saying restrictions mightnt be in force till Wednesday evening but .

Thanks! You're doing a great job ðŸ‘ðŸ˜

• Registered Users Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

https://podcasts.google.com/?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly93d3cub21ueWNvbnRlbnQuY29tL2QvcGxheWxpc3QvYWFlYTRlNjktYWY1MS00OTVlLWFmYzktYTk3NjAxNDY5MjJiLzYwODFlZWU3LWM0NTktNGUxMi1hMWFiLWFhZGMwMDBmYzRhNy80MTNhNjkwNC00ZDcyLTRiZTgtOTQyMS1hYWRjMDAwZmM0YmEvcG9kY2FzdC5yc3M&ep=14&episode=ZTMyMmMzZGMtYTE5NC00NjYxLWFlNWQtYWM0YjAwZjZmM2Fk

Well worth a listen. Not directly coronavirus related but highlights the exact problems we have now due to following experts who are much more suited to complicated dynamics as opposed to complex dynamics.
    Instead of combatting that with multiple perspectives from a wide variety of subjects, we have multiple perspectives from a fairly narrow viewpoint informing policy decisions

• Registered Users Posts: 306 ✭✭frank8211

I think we should go to level 5, try to get it back under control...

I also think we should track down what caused clusters in places over the past few weeks, and put something in place if they happen again - fines or arrests if needed...
    So once(if) we get the numbers done again, if we see them creeping again in some place, and if the reasons are people not adhering to the protocols they get stuck with a decent fine...

try schools and football matches for a start. A place called Crosserlough had a whale of a party a few weeks ago after a football match. That and other games are being blamed for the huge number of cases there. Now, today theres outbreak in the school there

• Registered Users Posts: 21,104 ✭✭✭✭Water John

frank8211 wrote: »
    try schools and football matches for a start. A place called Crosserlough had a whale of a party a few weeks ago after a football match. That and other games are being blamed for the huge number of cases there. Now, today theres outbreak in the school there

Parties and after match events are the two key problems. Think we can keep the schools open. It's a trade off.
    Dr Oosterhouse saying the next 6-12 weeks are the most critical internationally.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,024 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Parties and after match events are the two key problems. Think we can keep the schools open. It's a trade off.
    Dr Oosterhouse saying the next 6-12 weeks are the most critical internationally.

Teachers are already grumbling on radio (Newstalk) that they're being forced to work in a Level 5.
    Some might not turn up for work.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,675 ✭✭✭endainoz

Teachers are already grumbling on radio (Newstalk) that they're being forced to work in a Level 5.
    Some might not turn up for work.

The teachers have the two most powerful unions in the country, I don't think the schools will be open too long if we hit level 5...

Many teachers have performed heroically but their unions esp ASTI don't do them any favours.

Did you know, unless parents tell a school, the school is not informed about a positive test. Track & trace how are ya.

Yes aware, track and trace is quite poor. From what I hear, some of the tracing staff, that have been secunded from elsewhere just not doing their job. They get a list to contact and only make a call when a supervisor is around. If they fail to make a contact they are supposed to put the name back on the full list but don't bother.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,802 ✭✭✭enricoh

Heard construction is staying open - we're peeing against the wind if so.
        There was six nordie lads in a transit with back seats beside me in the petrol station today. Them working alongside locals on site is a recipe for spreading it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

enricoh wrote: »
        Heard construction is staying open - we're peeing against the wind if so.
        There was six nordie lads in a transit with back seats beside me in the petrol station today. Them working alongside locals on site is a recipe for spreading it.

I read there on RTE they are thinking that the GAA will continue - I think that's a terrible if it does turn out to be true... :mad:

Think that might be inter county only, no fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

According to RTE, level 5 restrictions from Wednesday night.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Think that might be inter county only, no fans.

GAA need to cop on if they want to continue. really should call it off tbh

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-40067451.html

• Registered Users Posts: 29,055 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Do nct, doe and driving tests still go ahead in level 5

whelan2 wrote: »
        Do nct, doe and driving tests still go ahead in level 5

Not sure, mine was due in June but everyone got a few months extension and passed early October.