Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Greta and the aristocrat sail the high seas to save the planet.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Yup - she's almost a household name around Europe now.

Yet another person giving out to 'YOU' about something 'YOU' should be doing.

It just all becomes noise in the end.

And in the meantime she's travelling around the world, on a boat no less.

No matter what you cut it - a lot of people will look at that and think "that's a nice life you have there"...

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

bubblypop wrote: »
    I think it's strange that grown adults put such stock into what a child is saying.
    You'll find that nobody is putting stock in what she is saying, rather they're supporting her as a spokesperson for an entire movement.

She's not saying anything new or revealing any new ideas. She is pushing the climate change issue, she is acting as a conduit for the facts that we already know and the changes that we know we have to make.

Why her specifically? Well it has to be someone. She has proven herself adept at self-promotion and causing a stir. So why not her?

And the cynics are somewhat correct; she has a certain amount of imperviousness to her. Adults have pasts. College years and old jobs and old friends and old statements, that can be used to discredit them and thereby weakening their message.

Thunberg doesn't. She is a literal blank slate when it comes to mudslinging, and her age means that adults making snide comments just look like pathetic begrudgers.

On top of that she stands as a representative for the generation who will be the most affected by climate change. She is fighting for her future instead of relying on us to do it for her. Because fnck knows, she'd be waiting.

That's why she's being put front and centre, and why grown adults are supporting her.

The Asperger's thing is somewhat secondary. It was a thing initially, people were amazed that someone with Asperger's could be so in touch, coherent and media savvy. And in that regard she's a great ambassador for people of ASD. But it's definitely faded away, nobody's really talking about it anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,264 ✭✭✭AllForIt

How is Saint Greta getting back, anyone know?

• Registered Users Posts: 687 ✭✭✭reg114

Climate saint Greta Trunburg is settling sail for UN climate talks in New York to demand that governments socially engineer and tax the little people into oblivion to save the planet. Accompanied by her film maker father who lives vicariously through her, a filthy rich aristocrat from Monaco and some German bloke the trip will no doubt vastly increase the wattage of her halo before she lectures us all about impending climate Armageddon in New York. Hopefully snaps from the trip will make it into Hello! Magazine.

The bile and uninformed vitriol directed at a child by many adults who should know better is nauseatingly predictable. Greta has shown more backbone and moral conviction than many of the world's leaders who are pi$$ing away their responsibilities as elected representatives. Tis the wont of a thug and bully to attack the vulnerable. I think she's an inspiration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Thargor wrote: »
    I get a very disturbing vibe from people like the OP and loons that show up ranting about her in any climate change threads, not suggesting paedophilia, but it's just bizarre that a young girl with an interest in environmentalism or politics triggers such intense negative feelings in so many adult males, this isn't just 'oh Leonardo DiCaprio or Al Gore are at it again', they're literally foaming at the mouth over it and flinging slurs at her and her family. Why? Something definitely not right about it.

She is a child with very little education and zero qualifications and world leaders are hanging off her every word. You don't think thats a little messed up??

Should the World Bank be taking advice from little Timmy who runs a lemonade stand??

reg114 wrote: »
    The bile and uninformed vitriol directed at a child by many adults who should know better is nauseatingly predictable. Greta has shown more backbone and moral conviction than many of the world's leaders who are pi$$ing away their responsibilities as elected representatives. Tis the wont of a thug and bully to attack the vulnerable. I think she's an inspiration.

I have to say....

Your 'meet fire with fire' approach is impressive.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,262 ✭✭✭cgcsb

With chunks of ice breaking from the Arctic ice sheet is it too much to hope for Titanic 2??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

mikep wrote: »
    I think she is to be admired for this as this is not the type of boat for an afternoons easy sailing around dublin bay..It's a full blown ocean racing yacht..also it does have a toilet..

It's like a 16 year old non driver hitching a lift on an F1 car going full tilt around Monaco..

Check it out here :https://team-malizia.com/en/boat/

If she raises more global awareness, good on her...

Easy for people to knock it..

Yeah fair play to her. An Atlantic crossing is not for the faint hearted. Is she going solo?

At the same time it's hard to imagine a more elitist way of making a statement than sailing in from Monoco on the family dynasty's ocean racing yacht. It reminds me of all the rich people "blimping" everywhere in Kimmy Schmidt.

The UN is the intergovernmental body of nations, many with democratically elected governments. Its deliberations and decisions are more worthy of media coverage than any rich kids publicity stunt, however well intentioned and brave it may be.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Aegir wrote: »
    There’s no toilet on the boat.

How is crapping in the sea good for the environment?

She craps in a bucket then dumps it in the sea.

Looking at comments from grown ass adults wishing a young girl dead rather than examine their own behavior, well that's just special. I guess we have a problem in our society that is not just about climate change.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,784 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Are you going to pay attention to the UN discussion or are you just going to point at her?

In this thread, point at her.

In the real world, pay attention to the UN discussion.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

mikep wrote: »
    I think she is to be admired for this as this is not the type of boat for an afternoons easy sailing around dublin bay..It's a full blown ocean racing yacht..also it does have a toilet..

It's like a 16 year old non driver hitching a lift on an F1 car going full tilt around Monaco..

Check it out here :https://team-malizia.com/en/boat/

If she raises more global awareness, good on her...

Easy for people to knock it..

Currently, this requirement is fulfilled by a 377 kg heavy-duty diesel engine, which also served for charging batteries for the power supply of light and electronics, navigation system.

48-volt lithium-ion batteries

Boat doesn't seem as eco-friendly as they are promoting.

cgcsb wrote: »
    Looking at comments from grown ass adults wishing a young girl dead rather than examine their own behavior, well that's just special. I guess we have a problem in our society that is not just about climate change.

What are you referring to?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭MontgomeryClift

seamus wrote: »
    Adults have pasts. College years and old jobs and old friends and old statements, that can be used to discredit them and thereby weakening their message.

Thunberg doesn't. She is a literal blank slate when it comes to mudslinging, and her age means that adults making snide comments just look like pathetic begrudgers.

You're right. It's a stroke of genius from the oligarchs to pick a child as head of a religion. She's the classic "golden child" messiah.

It was a tongue in cheek joke. Jesus, if we could somehow convert faux outrage into an energy source Greta would have nothing to whinge about.

With chunks of ice breaking from the Arctic ice sheet is it too much to hope for Titanic 2??
    Tombo2001 wrote: »
    What are you referring to?

The above

• Registered Users Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

State of the usual sh!tehawks in this thread

How much of a complete f*cking d!ckhead do you have to be to wish death upon a schoolgirl who wants to do something to stop climate change

Billy Mays wrote: »
    State of the usual sh!tehawks in this thread

How much of a complete f*cking d!ckhead do you have to be to wish death upon a schoolgirl who wants to do something to stop climate change

No one has wished death on anyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,221 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Should do it via video link if they were serious about it

The carbon cost of firing a comms sattelite into orbit is something ferocious.

It was a tongue in cheek joke. Jesus, if we could somehow convert faux outrage into an energy source Greta would have nothing to whinge about.

Yeah there's lots of jokes from adult incel males about the young girl. Gold star for you though for outright calling for her death. A fatwa against those that challenge your want to burn diesel ad infinitum.

Where did I call for her death? :rolleyes:

Your faux outrage is blinding you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Currently, this requirement is fulfilled by a 377 kg heavy-duty diesel engine, which also served for charging batteries for the power supply of light and electronics, navigation system.

48-volt lithium-ion batteries

Boat doesn't seem as eco-friendly as they are promoting.

Realistically, for safe navigation a series of electronic aids are required - radar, AIS, running lights, Communications.
    All of these require electricity. Without a clean energy source on board you'll be required to run the engine to recharge the batteries.

EDIT : it has a source of clean energy onboard. Cheers for clarifying Mikep.

Taking into account the environmental costs of its production and maintenence (to take just one example marine antifouling paints can be a serious environmental hazard particularly in confined spaces like harbours and a boat that size should generate quite a bit) the overall environmental positives of this boat trip seem dubious.

Of course to raise such facts means I'm actually a paedophile with an unhealthy obsession with the girl according to some on here.

Where did I call for her death? :rolleyes:

Your faux outrage is blinding you.

'is it too much to hope for a Titanic 2'. That's wishing someone dead. Incel gold star for vicious comment for you. At least you've avoided pointing that high powered wit at yourself for the day.

The boat trip got yas thinking though didn't it, scumbags and all.

'is it too much to hope for a Titanic 2'. That's wishing someone dead. Incel gold star for vicious comment for you. At least you've avoided pointing that high powered wit at yourself for the day.

The boat sank. There were survivors. WFT is an incel?? Get out of the basement and into the real world. :rolleyes:

Oh right, you were wishing that her boat sank and she survived? piss off and cop yourself on.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,264 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Okay I'm a convert. I'm going to wipe the cobwebs of my yacht and take this climate change thing seriously from now on.

Oh right, you were wishing that her boat sank and she survived? piss off and cop yourself on.

You seem tense.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Never heard of a joke?

Lads - can we end this silly over and back over the ice.

Just let it go.....

To paraphrase an earlier post - its 'nauseatingly predictable' that an online conversation on the topic would turn this way.

Which in itself is a pretty big impediment to any discussion on climate change.