Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Open racism is ok if it's for the progressive cause.

• 06-06-2019 11:29pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭

So as the title goes I was just flicking around on my phone and went into the Irish Independent and saw an article about some unemployed people protesting Trump in Dublin today.(Yes they were that lazy the didn't even go down to Clare)

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/thousands-attend-antitrump-demonstration-in-dublin-as-us-president-enjoys-casual-dinner-party-at-doonbeg-38189745.html

Now if you read the story you can see some of the placards of the usual dross from the professionally offended jobless.

I found it very ironic and with a roll of the eyes bloody typical that what would be considered racism is fine when this cohort of hysterical loons get a bee in their collective bonnet.

Naturally the Irish Independent proudly tells us that the illegal immigrant, Lesley Mkoko who hates white people was leading the charge. Hilarious! I wonder if I had a placard with "Be a good African and go home" how long it would have lasted, what kind of racist I'd be called?

Now you might like, hate or be totally ambivalent about President Trump but it does not change the issue.

Racism, bigotry and hate are all fine if directed at the enemy of the outraged mob on the left where they even celebrate a criminal like Lesley Mkoko because they are on your side.

Personally I'm sick of the double standard in the media and online when it comes to these kind of issues. You can scream and jump up and down about the catholic church but woe betide you bring up islam.

Why is that? It's an issue very prevalent here in boards. Where you can be banned for wrong think.

Now personally I believe in total free speech I don't recognise the idea of hate speech, so yes I'd agree with the great unwashed they can have whatever placards they want but only if i can do the same.

Truth is treason in an empire of lies.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 499 ✭✭SirGerryAdams

"We have to fight racism in all its forms and show our support for asylum seekers, the undocumented Irish in the US and also the LGBT+ community.

They forgot to call them illegals.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

There was a protest at the GPO over the weekend, where a Palestinian woman said white Irish need to understand/check their privilege.

It doesn't matter to parts of the left that you say as long as you are on the rung of hierarchy of victimhood.

I personally would have thought standing particularly in front of the GPO it was a very bold statement but telling people who are supporting you to the possible detriment to their own economy to check their privilege is fairly ****ed up and smacks a bit of racism.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,408 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

The oddest thing among many odd things is that the Trump blimp got permission from the Irish Aviation Authority.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

U ok hun? xxx

• Registered Users Posts: 16,875 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Asylum seeker is now called an illegal immigrant? That is news to me. I read the link and failed to see all of the unemployed described in the op.

What is it about trump that his fans feel threatened about a few protesters? There were protesters for Obama and Clinton when they visited but I think don't recall people being outraged by the protesters. It seems unique to trump supporters for some reason

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭Sonny noggs

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    Asylum seeker is now called an illegal immigrant? That is news to me. I read the link and failed to see all of the unemployed described in the op.

What is it about trump that his fans feel threatened about a few protesters? There were protesters for Obama and Clinton when they visited but I think don't recall people being outraged by the protesters. It seems unique to trump supporters for some reason

Did those protests get wall to wall front page and radio / TV news bulletin coverage including quotes and photos?

• Registered Users Posts: 33,015 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

So as the title goes I was just flicking around on my phone and went into the Irish Independent and saw an article about some unemployed people protesting Trump in Dublin today.(Yes they were that lazy the didn't even go down to Clare)

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/thousands-attend-antitrump-demonstration-in-dublin-as-us-president-enjoys-casual-dinner-party-at-doonbeg-38189745.html

Now if you read the story you can see some of the placards of the usual dross from the professionally offended jobless.

I found it very ironic and with a roll of the eyes bloody typical that what would be considered racism is fine when this cohort of hysterical loons get a bee in their collective bonnet.

Naturally the Irish Independent proudly tells us that the illegal immigrant, Lesley Mkoko who hates white people was leading the charge. Hilarious! I wonder if I had a placard with "Be a good African and go home" how long it would have lasted, what kind of racist I'd be called?

Now you might like, hate or be totally ambivalent about President Trump but it does not change the issue.

Racism, bigotry and hate are all fine if directed at the enemy of the outraged mob on the left where they even celebrate a criminal like Lesley Mkoko because they are on your side.

Personally I'm sick of the double standard in the media and online when it comes to these kind of issues. You can scream and jump up and down about the catholic church but woe betide you bring up islam.

Why is that? It's an issue very prevalent here in boards. Where you can be banned for wrong think.

Now personally I believe in total free speech I don't recognise the idea of hate speech, so yes I'd agree with the great unwashed they can have whatever placards they want but only if i can do the same.

Truth is treason in an empire of lies.

No mention or racism either - in addition to the "Jobless" and "illegal immigrants" bull****. But you're not coming going to reply to these, are you?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

No mention or racism either - in addition to the "Jobless" and "illegal immigrants" bull****. But you're not coming going to reply to these, are you?

Wut? English please!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

Not seeing the racism. Is it the use of yank?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

kneemos wrote: »
    The oddest thing among many odd things is that the Trump blimp got permission from the Irish Aviation Authority.

It's not a blip it a large balloon ffs floating all of six foot of the ground.

Did those protests get wall to wall front page and radio / TV news bulletin coverage including quotes and photos?

Yes. Maybe you only want to see the trumps protesters but protesters against other us presidents got plenty of coverage on each visit.

Has any other presidents sons get wall to wall coverage off pulling pints? It works both ways. The idiot & half idiot were well received and they got plenty of TV time here and in the states buying the village a round of drinks. They are getting much more positive coverage than negative. If you took a step back you might see that. Irish Americans will see this and its a major publicity achievement for trump. He's won Irish American votes from this trip

• Registered Users Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Go home Yank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Growing numbers seem to be succumbing to a mysterious illness, symptoms include foaming at the mouth, incoherent mumbling, dislike of physical activity and waving Palestinian flags.

Wut? English please!

Having read your op and claims I wonder if English is your first language? You don't seem to understand what racist/racism means. You obviously don't understand the meaning of the word unemployed or illegal immigrant for that matter.

Typical Trump supporter.

Calhoun wrote: »
    There was a protest at the GPO over the weekend, where a Palestinian woman said white Irish need to understand/check their privilege.

It doesn't matter to parts of the left that you say as long as you are on the rung of hierarchy of victimhood.

I personally would have thought standing particularly in front of the GPO it was a very bold statement but telling people who are supporting you to the possible detriment to their own economy to check their privilege is fairly ****ed up and smacks a bit of racism.

That was dumb, indeed. The reason why Irish people support Palestine is precisely because we have a history that’s not quite the same as many other Western European nations. As the Palestinian ambassador recently opined. Northern Irish people see the settlements there as similar to the Irish plantations.

I’m relatively pro Palestinian but if you are going to import American **** then I’m out of it. Palestinians can take their cause to the US and good luck with that one.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Arghus wrote:
    Go home Yank.

**** that, I am not going back there.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

The proper socialists (collectivised farming, nationalisation of industry, housing for all, distrust of small business owners) need to get rid of all this twitter nonsense about 200 identities and people suffering from micro aggressions. Need to realise that working class people don't like immigration either.

The 'far left' that people are getting angry about seems only to be about globalisation and capitalism under the guise of not trying to seem like a shíte because other people want a go at that too. Middle class white lads with about 7 ways of accessing the internet giving out about why other white middle class lads with 7 ways of accessing the internet are allowed have differing opinions than they do. Cucks the lot of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

Having read your op and claims I wonder if English is your first language? You don't seem to understand what racist/racism means. You obviously don't understand the meaning of the word unemployed or illegal immigrant for that matter.

Typical Trump supporter.

Oh the white knight to the rescue:)

You don't like the term illegal immigrant? Fine illegal alien is more accurate and I know people like you get more upset by it so I'll use it from now on.

Your post points to your obvious ignorance of the United Nations declaration on refugees and displaced persons. Lesley Mkoko has NO right to be in this country under international law. Deport now and enforce the laws of the land.

The proper socialists (collectivised farming, nationalisation of industry, housing for all, distrust of small business owners) need to get rid of all this twitter nonsense about 200 identities and people suffering from micro aggressions. Need to realise that working class people don't like immigration either.

The 'far left' that people are getting angry about seems only to be about globalisation and capitalism under the guise of not trying to seem like a shíte because other people want a go at that too. Middle class white lads with about 7 ways of accessing the internet giving out about why other white middle class lads with 7 ways of accessing the internet are allowed have differing opinions than they do. Cucks the lot of them.

Woke capitalism, some call it.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,065 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Asylum seeker is now called an illegal immigrant? That is news to me.

The vast majority of AS are bogus.

They are illegal immigrants.

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

It's not a blip it a large balloon ffs floating all of six foot of the ground.

It's one of the most sad, pathetic things you could ever ask to see and does far more to promote trump and his ideas than anything he could ever do himself.

I've always said his biggest asset is the people who claim to be so strongly opposed to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Open racism is okay if it's a thread in After Hours.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

It's one of the most sad, pathetic things you could ever ask to see and does far more to promote trump and his ideas than anything he could ever do himself.

I've always said his biggest asset is the people who claim to be so strongly opposed to him.

How does it promote his ideas? How are his opposition his greatest asset?

This is the most trite observation doing the rounds at the moment and it's never accompanied by any further explanation.

That 'check your privilege' nonsense is not going to wash in this country. Whatever privilege we as Irish people have was hard fought for by our parents, grandparents, great grandparents etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Another Racist thread, probably opened by a closet racist who thinks that by rationalising the racism that it is ok, as long as no one is racist.

I hope your happy now Op. Get on with your life and please stop being so racist. It's racist to be racist, it's pure racism.

Discussing and rationalising racism gives it an identity. Stop being a racist.

BOOOOOOOOOOOO

• Registered Users Posts: 20,479 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

There lies anarchy. You cannot have total free speech. And hate speech can lead to genocide.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 22 mdk_kdm

Why do they call Trump a fascist and a Nazi?

Why do they even call him a racist?

RWCNT wrote: »
    How does it promote his ideas? How are his opposition his greatest asset?

This is the most trite observation doing the rounds at the moment and it's never accompanied by any further explanation.

Well you can see an example of this in the Doonbeg thread, locals that are happy for investment in their town are being looked down upon and going through the Irish version of being unpersoned.

Trump like the Healy-Raes, Lowry, or Mcelvaney trade on division. Its not exactly promoting his ideas as it is leaving people with an idea that they have to support him because what else have they got.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Nobelium

Common place now.

Have a look at this speech warning Irish manginas to "know your place", openly applauded and cheered on.

Nobelium wrote: »
    Common place now.

Have a look at this Irish manginas know your place speech openly applauded and cheered on.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qEtpyB0GMVc - that white privilege though.