Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

The Ethics of Doping in Sport

• 05-08-2016 12:17am
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,306 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Ok, with the Olympics nearly upon us, I guess now is as good a time as any to examine the murky area of ethics when it comes to doping in sport. The argument comes from Schneider et al. (2000) who wrote an interesting paper on it. It is just as relevant now, maybe even more so, than it was back then. The central premise being that doping is indeed wrong, but authorities have neglected to outline robust ethical and philosophical reasons as to why exactly this is the case. It is this ambiguity, that has lead to the current situation with doping in sport today. It is only by adapting a stronger philosophical and ethical frameworks for sport, can we hope to be successful in future anti-doping measures.

The widespread problem of doping in sport can be viewed not as a result of an inate deterministic drive within humans to win at all costs, but rather it is down to a weak ethical framework set out by the IOC (International Olympic Committee) surrounding the lists of banned substances in sport (Schneider et al. 2000). It is this flawed model of banning substances on a whim, without communicating the reasons for doing so to athletes.

It would appear, that the IOC, and indeed relevant sporting bodies worldwide ban doping on the grounds of harm reduction, and fair play in sport. For example, take these two passages:
    the use of doping agents in sport is both unhealthy and contrary to the ethics of sport ... it is necessary to protect the physical and spiritual health of athletes, the values of fair play and competition, the integrity and unity of sport and the rights of those who take part in it at whatever level.
    from the International Olympic Charter against Doping in Sport
    The Committee takes the view that performance enhancing drugs should be banned because they can potentially damage the health of those taking them, whether they are elite athletes who stand the risk of being detected using them, or the recreational sportsperson who is unlikely ever to be tested. They should be banned also because anyone using them is trying to gain an unfair advantage over those athletes who wish to maintain normal health. They are cheating because their use is against the rules of the sporting federations.
    from Drugs in Sport, a 1989 report by the Australian Senate

If we consider that the IOC views its anti doping strategy as being an extension of the worldwide 'war on recreational drugs' and thus giving it a reason to increase doping controls and sanctions, this does not constitute a justifiable ethical reason for banning doping (Schneider et al. 2000).

When Ben Jonson was caught for doping in 1988, the Dubin Inquiry report (into doping in sport) stated that those who are against cheating in sport state that it must be played within the 'rules'. Hneceforth doping was cheating and should be banned.

However, a problem arises in that cheating can only be labelled as such, once their is a ban placed on the substance. A Schneider et al. (2000) point out, this means a clear outright reason for banning doping in the first place does not exist.

So, is it cheating? We all most certainly think it is. However cheating is defined as breaking the rules of the sport. So, if there is no rule in place, then do we look outside of the sport of an independent definition of what constitutes cheating? If it is an 'unfair advantage' that was inherent in that definition outside of sport then that could work. If we view unfair advantage outside of sport as simply rule breaking, then this leaves us back at square A. How about 'but doping is unfair'. Yes it is, but how do we define unfair inside (and out) of sport if we consider that fairness generally means we abide by the rules. If no rules are being broken, where is the ethical issue? (Schneider et al. 2000).

Some might also argue that steroids harm the user, and in that sense, it is ethically wrong to ingest anything harmful. If we take this argument:
    Premise 1 - Substance or practice x harms its user
    Premise 2 - Its user needs to be protected
    Premise 3 - The user can be protected by banning the substance
    Conclusion - Therefore substance should be banned (Schneider et al. 2000)

Lets take premise 1 - do steroids cause that much harm to the user? Significant studies have not been carried out, and in instances where they have, extreme doses have been used. Some evidence suggests that may not be as harmful as first thought. Before we can conclusively answer premise 1, we still need more medical data to back up the assertion that it is harmful.

Premise 2 - This falls into paternalism and asks the question if adults need protection and would this not be a denial of autonomy? If the aim is to protect them from steroids to keep them from getting hurt, then why not protect them from horse racing, boxing etc?

Premise 3 - Essentially, this is where we are now. Banning doping has not made it go away, in fact, it is utterly rampant. Therefore it is safe to say that premise 3 fails also.

Therefore, we cannot yet accept the conclusion.

Thoughts?

Schneider, A. J., Butcher, R. B., Tännsjö, T., & Tamburrini, C. (2000). A philosophical overview of the arguments on banning doping in sport. Values in sport: Elitism, nationalism, gender equality and the scientific manufacture of winners, 185-199.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Torakx

Could it be that the reason doping is unethical or a problem, is because most if not all sports have a prize or seriousness to the outcome of the event?

If people were playing for the love of the sport, surely they would not have any enjoyment in hurting themselves, just to have more fun...
    It wouldn't even be more fun, it would be less fun.
    So the underlying issue may be the organisation and culture behind the events themselves and not the athletes.

Therefore, I think that I would prefer to say that doping is not unethical.
    It's just that the sports themselves are.

Would this post be a deconstruction of the ethics of doping in sports?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,306 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Torakx wrote: »
    Could it be that the reason doping is unethical or a problem, is because most if not all sports have a prize or seriousness to the outcome of the event?

That does appeal to our sense of 'fair play' alright. However, the guidelines laid down (by relevant sporting bodies) do not state doping is not wrong because there is a prize involved. Doping goes back for centuries, right back to the olympics in ancient Greece. However I will try keep things current-ish. It was not so long ago (past 100 years) that marathon runners used to openly take performance enhacing drugs mid race. Take Thomas Hicks at the 1904 Olympics, he was struggling to finish his race, so his trainer came along and....well I'll let him do the speaking:
    I therefore decided to inject him with a milligram of sulphate of strychnine and to make him drink a large glass brimming with brandy. He set off again as best he could [but] he needed another injection four miles from the end to give him a semblance of speed and to get him to the finish (Parienté & Lagorce 1973).
    Hicks barely survived the race and was quite ill is hospital after the race, but was able to collect his medal. He was finished in sport after that though, his body was in smithereens.

In talking about that famous race, a historian of sports doping, Dr Jean-Pierre de Mondenard, says:
    It has to be appreciated that at the time the menace of doping for the health of athletes or of the purity of competition had yet to enter the morals because, after this marathon, the official race report said: The marathon has shown from a medical point of view how drugs can be very useful to athletes in long-distance races (de Mondenard 2000).

So, the banning of doping is still a (relatively) recent occurrence.

If people were playing for the love of the sport, surely they would not have any enjoyment in hurting themselves, just to have more fun...
    It wouldn't even be more fun, it would be less fun.
    So the underlying issue may be the organisation and culture behind the events themselves and not the athletes.

If we take a famous example, Lance Armstrong. No doubt the chap loved cycling, but most likely he loved winning (and maybe the fame and adulation that went with) even more. Also take Russia, state sponsored doping on a grand scale. There is most likely a blind eye turned at a lot of stuff that goes on, so the culture was always pretty rotten. So, while culture is a problem, it may not explain the reasons why there is doping.

So, lets say Ronaldo dives and wins a penalty. That is cheating but it is given the usual five minute hang wringing afterwards in the media, or among opposing fans, before it is forgotten about. Justin Gatlin when he competes in the running events is still booed by fans after failing a drugs test a few years back. Why is one given applause and adulation and not the other? Both have cheated, and received unfair advantage because of it. So both should be equally vilified, but only one is.
    Would this post be a deconstruction of the ethics of doping in sports?

Pretty much, yes. An attempt to find out where things begin and end with doping and unfair advantage. If we consider, almost everybody could claim someone else has a better advantage, whether that be a coach, equipment, funding etc. There is lots of unfairness there. As regards cheating, well, we seem to (as above) accept it wholesale in one form, and loose our minds with righteous indignation when it is done in different ways.

Is it the method of cheating that causes this apparent cognitive dissonance?

Jean-Pierre de Mondenard (2000). Dopage : L'imposture des performances. Wilmette, Ill: Chiron.

Parienté, R; Lagorce, G (1973). La Fabuleuse Histoire des Jeux Olympiques. France.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deontological_ethics
    Deontology is the study of that which is an "obligation or duty," and consequent moral judgment on the actor on whether he or she has complied.[2] In philosophy and religion, states Bocheński, there is an important distinction between deontic and epistemic authority.[7] A typical example of epistemic authority, explains Anna Brożek, is "the relation of a teacher to his students; a typical example of deontic authority is the relation between an employer and his employee."[8] A teacher has epistemic authority when making declarative sentences that the student presumes is reliable knowledge and appropriate but feels no obligation to accept or obey; in contrast, an employer has deontic authority in the act of issuing an order that the employee is obliged to accept and obey regardless of its reliability or appropriateness.

It seems since there is an authority/regulator and less so a cultural/knowledgeable or epistemic ethic involved in sports these days, the obligation to comply to arbitrary rules is on the athletes, if they wish to take part in the hosts events.
    The host in this case being some olympic committee or maybe corporation.

If we are talking about moral ethics, then possibly it is not immoral within sports, where there is no harm to anyone physically?
    If that's the case, there might be both right answers, but from two almost apposing perspectives.

With regards to the Ronaldo situation you gave as an example; that might highlight that the sports fans work with a slightly different type of ethics.
    Maybe both deontic and epistemic/moral(or whatever type of ethics we associate with cultural norms and habits).
    The common mans associations through culture versus the bureaucratic view, that is, mostly with regards tv hype and booing players.

The "truth" or "right" of the matter seems to depend on whether we go through moral, deontic or epistemic(the safety aspect not fully known/grounded) ethics.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,306 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Torakx wrote: »
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deontological_ethics

It seems since there is an authority/regulator and less so a cultural/knowledgeable or epistemic ethic involved in sports these days, the obligation to comply to arbitrary rules is on the athletes, if they wish to take part in the hosts events.
    The host in this case being some olympic committee or maybe corporation.

If we are talking about moral ethics, then possibly it is not immoral within sports, where there is no harm to anyone physically?
    If that's the case, there might be both right answers, but from two almost apposing perspectives.

With regards to the Ronaldo situation you gave as an example; that might highlight that the sports fans work with a slightly different type of ethics.
    Maybe both deontic and epistemic/moral(or whatever type of ethics we associate with cultural norms and habits).
    The common mans associations through culture versus the bureaucratic view, that is, mostly with regards tv hype and booing players.

The "truth" or "right" of the matter seems to depend on whether we go through moral, deontic or epistemic(the safety aspect not fully known/grounded) ethics.

A good point. If deontic appeals to the participants sense of duty, in which they feel duty bound not to cheat (regardless of opportunity), then this would suggest this is lacking among athletes. Is this due to the less than clear nature of doping guidelines, I wonder. This lands back at square A somewhat in that ethically there does not seem to be much coming from the top of sports councils to put forth a watertight ethical argument.

In many ways epistemic would categorise quite well what happens. People know it is wrong, or frowned upon, yet do it anyway. Is it lack of education, or maybe it could be pure greed.

Going back to the Ronaldo example. I am fairly sure it is not his status that shields him from criticism, as they all do it. Is it maybe that one is out in full view, whilst the other is mostly hidden behind closed doors.

Hmm, I think that if the body that regulates decides that doping is illegal, then it is unethical for the players to do so, in the deontic sense.
    Maybe in a moral sense too, as those who do not have their own independent minds may only have those certain types of ethic available.
    Morally, that seems like an unfair advantage :D

Which ties back to the question of greed as you mentioned.
    The weak will always try to find an edge.
    The whole will to power of a living thing is pushing them to gain security through various psychological outlets, I think..
    Those who have a driving need to be the best at something at all costs, do so because they fear losing for various reasons.
    There are other athletes who don't need an edge and are happy to be middle ranked and prefer more evenly matched or better opponents.

It's easier for me to relate to this through online gaming experiences.
    There were always people who cheated, having all the best gear for characters and winning all the fights.
    I noticed most of these people were sick souls. very insecure, aggressive in action or nature. Usually a little cruel in all cases I can remember.
    And rarely happy on the whole.

The happy gamers, were those in the lower and middle ranks, just having fun enjoying the competition and small bouts of victory.
    Could it just be dopamine in the end?
    Where we assign gratification?
    Stepping on people as others have us?
    Or being friendly as others have us?

Some other randomly connected thought..
    The thread on knowledge or free will might come into play here too.
    I personally don't fully agree with the idea that we have free will(which I expanded on in one of those threads, where Sam Harris was mentioned).
    In such a case, what use are ethics, when a brain can't receive or integrate that program?
    Is it unethical to apply rules to someone who can't follow them?
    Morally unethical to apply deontic ethics in this case?
    I am having fun playing with spagghetti here :D