Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

College Fees

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 11,932 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Well there already are fees. About a grand or so afaik. Call it "registration fees" but come on a grand per student is a bit excessive for adminisitration.

I'd like to see this increased to around 5K. However it should only be repayable on completion of the course and the person in employment earning at least 25K per annum. If you want to take a break from work to travel or whatever the repayments would also go on hold. Like in the UK

Sure the country benefits from an educated workforce, but the person benefits enough to afford it.

As I pointed out, I'd only like to see a reintroduction when a proper finance system is in place.

Registration fee around 5k.The actual fee would be that price.Although the Government actually pays around 10k per student, if fees were brought back we'd only ahve to play like 5 to 6k.The rest is other stuff that I dont particularly know what it is.

Also does anyone know what the registration fee pays ofr as the students union in the college that I attend have never got an answer off the Government or off anyone in the college.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

titan18 wrote: »
    Registration fee around 5k.The actual fee would be that price.Although the Government actually pays around 10k per student, if fees were brought back we'd only ahve to play like 5 to 6k.The rest is other stuff that I dont particularly know what it is.

Also does anyone know what the registration fee pays ofr as the students union in the college that I attend have never got an answer off the Government or off anyone in the college.

I meant just we should be paying fees of 5K, not increasing a registration fee. Should have made that more clear.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,029 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I'd be opposed to fees being introduced.

One of the backbones of the Celtic Tiger was Ireland's educated workforce, which saw it's greatest growth following the years fees were abolished by Niamh Breathnach.

I definetely don't trust the government to implement a fair system of means testing. One of my friends has to work like a bollix as his parents are rich but estranged. This means he gets no grant and would be fecked if he suddenly had to start paying fees as well, he's worried enough about the increase in registration fees.

• Registered Users Posts: 462 ✭✭lizzyvera

College should be free for everyone if it's free for anyone. Let income taxt take care of inequality. If everyone has to pay about 2000 that's ok too.
    Anyway, in my course most of the people in first year when I started have failed or dropped out by now, so there is screening every year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

Why not pay directly out of the taxes of those who can afford it>
    Girlfriend says the same thing happens in England.
    It happens in college.

There is continual assessment in place (at least in NUIG), there is continual assessment as well as exams in both christmas and summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

America is a prime example of a fee paying country.
    Are we really going to go down that route?
    I really don't think it is. I'm in college now and there are a few nutjobs who do no work (and they have almost all gotten kicked out), a few diehards who spend their whole time in the library and the majority find a happy medium.

Depends on the course. Some courses I'm doing (such as human rights law) are completely continuously assessed. No exams so if you fail you're screwed.
    Others (such as politics) have assignments making up a percentage of your grade, plus an exam at the end. It's hard to pass the course if you handed in no assignment (worth around 30%).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Shinji Ikari

Kevster wrote: »
    Hey,

Please tell me that there are others out there that agree to an abolishment of the free fees scheme... ...? I am a mature student (aged 24) and am dismayed by the scheme. It allows people to get into college that shouldn't be there. These people don't go to college to learn; they go to college to socialise. However, they invariably pass the course they applied for - and get a well-paid job - but are incompetent.

If we had to pay for college, we would appreciate it more.

Kevin.

The solution to this is simple. Keep the free fees for mature students but introduce some variation of an I.Q. test. I think they do something similiar in the U.K.I have been on both sides of the fence. Free fees for my undergrad' but fee paying for my post grad'. I agree that there are alot of wasters who are there just to get pissed on grant money however I'm sure if fees were abolished then there would be alot of spoilt rich idiots who would get pissed on Daddys credit card and would only pass by buying a crap load of grinds. Yeah some sort of aptitude test is a great idea.