Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

**The wtf plumbing thread**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭scudo2

corkgsxr wrote: »
    Hi leave me give you a elaborate and confusing explanation how to use your system that leaves you utterly mind****ed while I run away giggling

Btw its all about cats vs area vs sleepy time x time used = robbed
    U Eating any doggy mushrooms lately ?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

scudo2 wrote: »
    U Eating any doggy mushrooms lately ?

No no. Wine nd pizza and wine and rum.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭jimf

corkgsxr wrote: »
    No no. Wine nd pizza and wine and rum.

bit late for the mixed grill :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Nate--IRL--

Most entertaining thread in ages :)

Nate

I was in B&Q today.
    What a beautiful and comprehensive range of GAS valves, hoses, regulators, multi bottle connectors Nat gas and LPG fittings + a handy DIY book.
    Automatic self service till on the way out so no annoying questions !!!

WTF + OMG in one.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭DGOBS

Was the DIY book on gas?

DGOBS wrote: »
    Was the DIY book on gas?

I didn't actually check it but I will in the next day or two when I'm passing. It was my first time in the plumbing section as I was stuck for a fittings in the area.

Only afterwoods I realised the gas range they had available to the public !

EDIT: SEE LATER POST

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 6,201 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wearb

I was in B&Q today.
    What a beautiful and comprehensive range of GAS valves, hoses, regulators, multi bottle connectors Nat gas and LPG fittings + a handy DIY book.
    Automatic self service till on the way out so no annoying questions !!!

WTF + OMG in one.

B&Q’s over 60’s, 10% Discount every Wednesday, every week, every B&Q store. :D:D:D:D

Please follow site and charter rules. "Resistance is futile"

DGOBS wrote: »
    Was the DIY book on gas?

I went back to check.

DIY Books were on plumbing (sorry)

BUT:
    BUT:
    ALL regulators came with fitting instructions ! and said check with a soapy solution for leaks.
    No other recommended safety advice !
    No mention of RGI or law or standards.

It even shows a picture of a gas hob with a small cylinder next to it. But fair play to the lable by " easy gas" from easiplumb.ie it does say if cylinder is going to be outdoors, it should be sheltered.
    That's about the extent of any safety guideline.

" If you can do it........B&Q.........it "

This worked for 8 years !!:confused:
    04122008106.jpg

no frost stat I presume ;)

jimf wrote: »
    no frost stat I presume ;)

Only a lucky horse shoe.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 6,201 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wearb

Who needs a proper boiler house or enclosure when you have a lucky horse shoe.
    I hope the bait box prevented it being full of mice sh1t. OH I hate those ones.

I see the electrical connector outside too. Makes you wonder if its wired through the rcd.

Please follow site and charter rules. "Resistance is futile"

Wearb wrote: »
    Who needs a proper boiler house or enclosure when you have a lucky horse shoe.
    I hope the bait box prevented it being full of mice sh1t. OH I hate those ones.

I see the electrical connector outside too. Makes you wonder if its wired through the rcd.

never worry about mouse siht I had a big fat juicy rat scamper out of a heatpack before xmas when I removed the cover

• Registered Users Posts: 12,714 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

never worry about mouse siht I had a big fat juicy rat scamper out of a heatpack before xmas when I removed the cover

My biggest fear!

Rats are nocturnal and so sleep during the day = been aggressive when woken.

Boiler in my previous post was still
    working even with electric connector outside. Boiler was a lump of rust. 4 nuts solid.
    Burner was perfect.
    Somebody must have sprayed flexy pipe with 3in1 as it was rust free.

Customer thought it was an outdoor boiler, thought the plumber did a good professional careing job putting on extra insulation. Serious.

ps. it was a fine big expensive house.

04122008106.jpg

It's ok scudo. I know it says IP44 on the box but it's actually IP65 so it's grand for outside

Rats are nocturnal and so sleep during the day = been aggressive when woken.

Boiler in my previous post was still
    working even with electric connector outside. Boiler was a lump of rust. 4 nuts solid.
    Burner was perfect.
    Somebody must have sprayed flexy pipe with 3in1 as it was rust free.

Customer thought it was an outdoor boiler, thought the plumber did a good professional careing job putting on extra insulation. Serious.

ps. it was a fine big expensive house.

nocturnal in my hole said the rat :cool:

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    My biggest fear!

after ive been at a boiler where I see signs of rats its straight home hit the shower and all the clothes are in the washing machine

you just cant be too careful

• Registered Users Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Billy Bunting

Wearb wrote: »
    B&Q’s over 60’s, 10% Discount every Wednesday, every week, every B&Q store. :D:D:D:D

Woodies do the over 60's day also Scudo so you'll be fine, better quality and your money stays in Ireland longer.

hope were all invited to the retirement party believe its been held in the inchydoney house hotel ;)

WTF

Where the feck did all ye think I'm over 60 ? Give me yer address so I can send on 20cents so ye can call me in 13 years with your special offers !

OMG. 12.3 years, that's scary !
    Thanks IDT

WTF

Where the feck did all ye think I'm over 60 ? Give me yer address so I can send on 20cents so ye can call me in 13 years with your special offers !

OMG. 12.3 years, that's scary !
    Thanks IDT

we didn't scudo but at least we found out your age :P

sorry to say but you wont catch up to me :eek:

What age are you jim? I always figured you were mid 30's

Off topic.
    Back to WTF photos and stories pz

Before we are retired by somebody with a name in BIG letters.!

What age are you jim? I always figured you were mid 30's

21 + 33 years experience next week so i may be the elder lemon around here

• Registered Users Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭anthonyos

Just a quick question for scudo how do you manage to keep up with the new boiler technology when your getting on in your years it must be hard on the oldr lads

21 + 33 years experience next week so i may be the elder lemon around here

Jaaaayyyyuuussss

anthonyos wrote: »
    Just a quick question for scudo how do you manage to keep up with the new boiler technology when your getting on in your years it must be hard on the oldr lads

Last year I suggested that boards should also have an "Un thank" button !

Jaaaayyyyuuussss

jaysus would have done u just made me feel 90 :D:D only jokin