Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Marathon 2012 - Mentored Novices Thread

• 26-04-2012 11:02am
    Registered Users Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭

It’s that time of Year Again!! People are starting to mention DCM and the Will I, won’t I? Question…. So Welcome to the Dublin Marathon 2012 Mentored Novices Thread!

Back in 2009 the first Mentored thread for Novices was set up by --amadeus-- and one of his Novices, Rainbow Kirby, mentored the 2010 Thread. One of her Novices RayCun, mentored the 2011 thread and as one of his Novices last year I will be mentoring the 2012 thread….so that’s the way it goes. There are lots of people who know lots more that me and will be sharing their wisdom with you all. It will really be a group effort and you will get to know the different names as people drop in and out to share. Some of the more experienced guys will help out with the technical & scientific end of things. But remember Once upon a time everyone was a Novice. :D

As a Novice last year I got wonderful support, information, tips & advice and words of encouragement on my journey and that’s what I’m hoping you will get from this thread. I hope you get to feel the camaraderie and sense of community that builds up among the posters and there are always silent followers too.

No question is too dumb to ask and I can guarantee there are many others wondering the same things as you, so just ask and someone will have encountered the same things at some stage and give you an answer.

The first piece of advice if you are thinking of doing DCM 2012 is to get going now and don’t wait for the start of the program as you really need to have a base of running fitness before you start training. By the time the plan starts on 25 June you really need to be able to cover 3 miles, using walking break is fine. The first weeks plan is for 3 x 3mile runs and a longer weekend run of 6m so use this as a guide to build towards slowly. The aim is to cover the distance, time is not important at all. Your chances of getting injured are reduced the more of a base you have and if you don’t try to do too much too soon. It’s all about progression and slowly building up your runs. Every year there are casualties from the novices group who have to drop out because of injury. And even if you don’t get injured, you will be completely exhausted by the end of training. Marathon training is hard and it will take time, patience and a good positive attitude to get to Dublin on October 29th 2012. Believe you can do it and you will!! And boy is it worth the effort!!:D

The way the thread will work is that at the start of every week, the plan for the week will be posted. I will be using the Hal Higdon Novice 1 program but feel free to check out his other programs if this one is not suitable for you. It is a tried and tested plan that will get you to the start line and over the finish line! The aim of a first marathon is to FINISH and anything else is a bonus.

By using the Higdon plan, you will be
    • Building up steady mileage throughout the weeks
    • You will be getting used to running on tired legs as its 3 runs back to back and then a longer run on the weekends
    • Every few weeks, there is a stepback week which allows you the chance to give the body a bit of a break.
    • Nearer the end of the plan there is a 20m run and this is important both physically and psychologically
    • There is a taper section where you wind down the miles in order to get the body rested for the big day!!!
    It is a beginner’s programme and if you complete the training plan, you will complete the marathon. The plan is easy to follow, with no complicated sessions to learn about.

Other points about the Higdon novice plan.
    • You don’t have to run on the days he says - you might have other commitments, the weekends might be bad for you, whatever. But you should try to follow that pattern - three consecutive days of running, one or two rest days, a longer run, and then one or two rest days before you start the next week. And whatever plan you follow, you will need to do one long slow run (LSR) a week. Very soon that will become two hr and then three hours for a single run, every week. If you can’t make that kind of training commitment then this is probably not a good year for you to run a marathon.[/FONT]
    • The plan is an 18 week plan, and the first week will be posted on 25 June 2012 Some people like to start a week or two early, to build in a cushion for holidays, injuries, other races, and so on. That’s completely fine. You’ll want to be back on the regular schedule for the month of October, to follow the plan for tapering, but up until then its okay if you’re a week or two ahead.
    So without further ado, here are a few questions for you, feel free to give a bit of information about yourself if you want, regarding why you started running, how long you are running etc…
    • Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!)
    • Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training? No problem if you do!
    • How much training do you currently do? Distances, how many days a week, cross training - whatever you think is relevant
    • What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time?
    • How many days a week can you train?
    • Why are you running this marathon?
    As time goes by there will be information about all things to do with marathon running and training. . . but in the meantime read everything you can get your hands on about marathon running and you’ll have a better idea of what to expect. The Web is a great source of information.

So lets get this show on the road:D

Here is the link to the training tracker spreadsheet

• Registered Users Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Nules10

No better woman for the job. Good luck to everyone you are in safe hands ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

and so the madness begins again :)
    Best of luck to everyone, Younganne (and her glamorous assistant:D) will look after yis well...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BobMac104

whey! Here's to another great novices thread. Well done Anne, no better woman indeed!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,327 ✭✭✭Trampas

I am planning for Dublin to be my 1st marathon and break 4 hours but would like to do it faster.

I have been running now for 6 months and manage 10 mile run in 93 mins.

Which I am happy with.

I am not sure how best to start my training plan. If I jump on the Hal plan I feel I will be taking a step back instead of forward.

Any advice in best plan to go with for training.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Hi Trampas

What is you current weekly training, how many days are you running, what mileage in each run, are you doing any slow runs or are they all at an all effort pace, how are you feeling at the end of your runs?
    have you done any races?

have a look at the questions in the first post and come back with your answers and then we'll see whats best option for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭doledude86

I ran in 2009 (3:56) but i did precious little after that...Was devastated watching the people run it last year and knew this year I had to be involved so im signed up for the Phoenix park series so am in the rigth place? :):pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,686 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

Good luck everyone starting on such a great adventure as your first marathon :)

See many of you at the weekend LSR's in the Park :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Good luck to everyone thinking of doing Dublin this year as their first Marathon. Don't underestimate the amount of training you will need to do and definitly don't underestimate the task facing you.

I wouldn't even think about times you may want to run at the moment as you really will not have a clue until probably after the 1/2 marathon how well prepared you are.

Most of all enjoy the training and make sure you are training at the right pace/effort for that day. If you want any advice on how not to run the 2nd half of marathon I'm your man :rolleyes:

doledude86 wrote: »
    I ran in 2009 (3:56) but i did precious little after that...Was devastated watching the people run it last year and knew this year I had to be involved so im signed up for the Phoenix park series so am in the rigth place? :):pac:

Hey doledude, you're more than welcome to hang around here even if you're not tecnically a novice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Never ran Dublin before, have one previous marathon under my belt in '09 in Newry done on no training which i paid for bigtime.

P.B'S:
    5km - 20.50 - Bob Heffernan 5km May 2010
    10km - 45.39 - Dunshaughlin 10km June 2011
    10 mile - 73.07 - Cara Bundoran 10 March 2012
    Half Marathon 1hr 41min 10sec - Bohermeen Half Marathon 4 March 2012.

Male 33 years old, 6 ft 1 tall and 86kg heavy, married with the BESTEST little son in the world (bias i know, sorry), ex smoker off them 2 years since March this year.

Am currently running 25 - 35 miles a week, mostly 3 times a week, some weeks 4 depending on my little man. Runs are 2 short of 5 - 7 miles and one long at weekend of between 10 -14 miles. Suffered last year big time with shin splints which was down to wrong runners after being fitted for same by an "alleged" specialist running shop. No injuries this year thank god after change in runner type. My dream time to run DCM '12 is 3.30. Dont know if i'm kidding myself with that goal, but thats the time i have drilled into my head. My reason for running DCM is cause i love running and want to stay in good health to run after our son. Looking forward to your advice YoungAnne.

doledude86 wrote: »
    tang1 wrote: »
    Never ran Dublin before, have one previous marathon under my belt in '09 in Newry done on no training which i paid for bigtime.

P.B'S:

Male 33 years old, 6 ft 1 tall and 86kg heavy, married with the BESTEST little son in the world (bias i know, sorry), ex smoker off them 2 years since March this year.

Am currently running 25 - 35 miles a week, mostly 3 times a week, some weeks 4 depending on my little man. Runs are 2 short of 5 - 7 miles and one long at weekend of between 10 -14 miles. Suffered last year big time with shin splints which was down to wrong runners after being fitted for same by an "alleged" specialist running shop. No injuries this year thank god after change in runner type. My dream time to run DCM '12 is 3.30. Dont know if i'm kidding myself with that goal, but thats the time i have drilled into my head. My reason for running DCM is cause i love running and want to stay in good health to run after our son. Looking forward to your advice YoungAnne.

Hey guys this thread is open to one and all...it doesn't have to be your first marathon to be a Novice. You both have great times there and will have no problems with the training...you might want to look at the Novice 2 or the intermediate plans.

Last year was my second marathon but my first using Boards for support and i used the Novice 2 with the LSR from Novice 1 as i started out too late to go with the LSR from Novice 2

pistol_75 wrote: »
    Good luck to everyone thinking of doing Dublin this year as their first Marathon. Don't underestimate the amount of training you will need to do and definitly don't underestimate the task facing you.

I wouldn't even think about times you may want to run at the moment as you really will not have a clue until probably after the 1/2 marathon how well prepared you are.

Most of all enjoy the training and make sure you are training at the right pace/effort for that day. If you want any advice on how not to run the 2nd half of marathon I'm your man :rolleyes:

Pistol_75, don't forget you have a massive PB in Dublin :D over 40 mins I think!!

Good luck everyone starting on such a great adventure as your first marathon :)

See many of you at the weekend LSR's in the Park :)

And Vagga all i'll say is Paris....:D

Maybe you could share your story to show how hard work and dedication can be paid off!!

tang1 wrote: »

P.B'S:

Hey Tang with those times i reckon 3:30 is definately on for you in dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

BobMac104 wrote: »
    Hey Tang with those times i reckon 3:30 is definately on for you in dublin.

Cheers BobMac104, happy enough with most of those times. Feel my 10km is a bit soft, running the 10km in Kildare in few weeks and hope to impove on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 522 ✭✭✭sunflowerRo

Fair play Anne. I would have been lost without this log last year and all the support particularly from Ray.
    Good luck everyone!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭Mr Slow

Sorry late to the party, the very best of luck to all this year's novices, you're in excellent hands and remember that getting to the start line is the battle, the marathon, especially your first is the reward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 872 ✭✭✭martyoo

Thanks a million for doing this!
    Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!)
    Jan 29th - Raheny 5 Mile - 34
    April 1st - Connemarathon half - 1:49
    Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training? No problem if you do!
    No
    How much training do you currently do? Distances, how many days a week, cross training - whatever you think is relevant
    4 x 5 Mile Cycles
    2 x 5 Mile Runs
    1 x Long run 8 Mile +
    What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time?
    3:30 / Sub 4
    How many days a week can you train?
    Why are you running this marathon?

For the challenge.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,327 ✭✭✭Trampas

Have you raced before?
    If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!)
    Yes but only 2 so far but intending on more over the next while not including dublin marathon race series.

8km (43.41)
    10km (51)

Non race 10 miles 93 mins

Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training? No
    How much training do you currently do? 3/4 days a week. Usually Tues/Thurs and then Sat or Sun or both.

Shorter runs turning week about 8kms each day and 10km to 16km at weekend.

What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time? Break 4 hours is main objective but feel I gave my best. I believe I can break 4 hours

How many days a week can you train? Can do more

Why are you running this marathon? I want to do it and do it well.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭PDCAT

Just saw this thread.

Best of luck to all novice's for DCM 12.
    Your in good hands with Younganne.Their are also lots of folk here with a bundle of knowledge to impart on marathon training.

I was a novice for DCM last year and can't speak highly enough of the guys on boards whom gave their time to help me and others achieve our dream......

All the best and above all enjoy the journey. Best thing i ever done.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

Has it been a year already. Best of luck to all novice's for DCM 12. Without this log last year I would not have gotten past the finish line,

Ye are very lucky to have Anne's wealth of knowledge.
    Hope to see ye all at the start line. Best of luck and have fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭rasher_m

Hi there, thank you for starting this log.
    I have run two half marathons in 2010. Time 2.06. I usually run a few 10km races each year just to stay fit. i ran great ireland run this year in 53 mins. i was injured for the guts of 8 months after a fall so only running again since feb.
    I normally run about 3 days a week. two short 3 milers and about 7 miles at the weekend i will be looking at increasing this to four days
    ideally id love to break four hours but even completing the marathon would be a dream to me.
    I want to run the marathon as its always been something i wanted to achieve and id love to prove to myself that i can achieve this in one piece :-D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Nules10

Hey everyone. hope anne doesn't mind me jumping in here with a bit of advice. Having learned the hard way through injury I would like to stress the importance of building up a strong core to aid your running. If you can join a pilates class and incorporate core and strength exercises into your training. There are loads of you tube clips too if a class in out of the question. Oh and don't forget to stretch too. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Hey Anne, great to see you doing this. Was thinking about this last week and reckoned you would be the ideal person for it.

For anyone still thinking of whether to do the marathon or not, go for it. Did it last year and it was amazing - was on a high for about 3 weeks after it. Loads of advice and support on here (I was one of the silent followers). Don't worry about time -just enjoy the whole experience. Best of luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 277 ✭✭pansophelia

Have to say, very excited this thread is starting! Browsed last year's thread in September/October just as I was starting to run, and found it really motivating.
    So I've been running for 6 or 7 months, really enjoying it and can't believe how natural it becomes to run (not easy now, just natural). I am naturally slow, but hope to get a little bit quicker, just by running more.

[*]Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!)
    MSB 5k 18/3 - 26:09
    Connemara Half 1/4 - 2.09

[*]Do you still need to take walk breaks in your training? No problem if you do!
    No

[*]How much training do you currently do? Distances, how many days a week, cross training - whatever you think is relevant
    Between three and five days a week - changes weekly. Usually three shorter midweek runs (3-5 miles) and a longer wknd run (8-12).

[*]What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time?
    Sub 4.15 would be great, think I can do under 4.30

[*]How many days a week can you train?
    Depends, 3-6

[*]Why are you running this marathon?
    Because I never thought I could!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

Fair play Anne for starting this off !
    These threads always make me wanna....:( but best of luck to those of you who do :)

• Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭newbie runner

I would like to do 1 , but have only started joging around 8 months ago after 10 years of nothing.Still unsure is this the right year to start, but will decide over this weekend.

2 5k's best 24 min
    3 10k's, all hilly-best 55 min.

No, unless I bomb out with a half mile to go after deciding to push for home 2 out

[*]How much training do you currently do? Distances, how many days a week, cross training - whatever you think is relevant
    jogging only.approx 3 times a week.all 6 miles for some stupid reason.

[*]What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time?
    dream time 4.realistic time mighht be 4.20.

3-6

why not I say.running is good for my brain.and my brain needs running to be good.
    Best of luck all, look forward to this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

Newbie just go for it.
    I did last years Marathon from a very similar position to yourself. This log well walk you right the way to finish line. You will be well able for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Well I'm still here and survived last years so ok...dotted line signed. ;)

Have you raced before? If so what are your PBs? (Date and distance please!)
    Dublin Marathon 6.10, Dublin half 3:40, bray 10k 1:22.

No

How much training do you currently do? Distances, how many days a week, cross training - whatever you think is relevant
    Try to go out for a run everyday, I do about 4 - 5km at a comfortable rate, a small bit of circut training which I will be doing more of.

What do you want to achieve? Dream finishing time and realistic finishing time?
    Dream finishing time would be 4hr realistic finishing time will be closer to 5.

How many days a week can you train?

Why are you running this marathon?
    Running this year as its my brothers 5th year passing and want to raise some money for aware.

I would like to do 1 , but have only started joging around 8 months ago after 10 years of nothing.Still unsure is this the right year to start, but will decide over this weekend.

2 5k's best 24 min
    3 10k's, all hilly-best 55 min.

No, unless I bomb out with a half mile to go after deciding to push for home 2 out

jogging only.approx 3 times a week.all 6 miles for some stupid reason.

dream time 4.realistic time mighht be 4.20.

3-6

why not I say.running is good for my brain.and my brain needs running to be good.
    Best of luck all, look forward to this thread.

Hi Newbie Runner,
    There is no need to decide yes or no at the moment. You have a good decent base going there with consistent running and you have great times for your races.
    Keep tabs on the thread, start the training and see how it all works out for you but one of the most important things IMO is a postivie mind & attitude and a belief in yourself that you can do it if you want to....nothing else really matters as the training, if followed pretty closely will give you the ability to complete the marathon.

All I can say is its a fantastic journey and a fantastic achievement at the end....don't make any decision yet...but its easier to drop out of the training than to drop in!!!:D