Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

beef price tracker

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭Cassidy2

mf240 wrote: »
    Fcuking rugby ..... yawn.

Factorys got them back well considering how scarce cattle are meant to be.

By the looks of an post the cheque mighten get to you for a few months!!

Cattle are not scarce.COD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

And the price is far from bad too. Fell from a fuppin dizzy height in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

bullocks 3.85 on grid
    o&p cows 3.45
    slaney

Anyone selling bullocks?

• Registered Users Posts: 493 ✭✭huey1975

I am. And you can have them at €4/kg

Grand. Feed em well and il collect in 6 weeks time....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

huey1975 wrote: »
    I am. And you can have them at €4/kg

And you'll get a big bouncy cheque from that lad!! ;-). May as well stick with the 3.85 from Larry. Bird in the hand and all that sorta thing.

Got the text from the IFA. Steer base €3.90/€3.95. This time next year Rodney, we are going to be millionaires!!

• Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭tatoo

Cassidy2 wrote: »
    Cattle are not scarce.COD

What's that ?

......Cash On Delivery ??

• Registered Users Posts: 11,132 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Well what do you know, the Dept have decided to apply a new grading formula to the VIA (Video Image Analysis) grading machines.

I wonder for how long have we been ripped off by the factories :mad:

http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/a-new-beef-grading-formula-to-be-rolled-out-at-meat-plants/

I have killed cattle in two factories this year. I found the grading to be markedly different. In one factory I had 7 of 11 grading U- or better. In the other, the best grade I had was 1 U- from 13. From the first load I thought I might have 5 Us and from the second load I was expecting 6 Us. From the second factory I had 5 bullocks grading 4+ which meant that I lost the 12c QA payment while in the othe factory, the fattest bullock graded 4-!!

• Registered Users Posts: 493 ✭✭dryan

Anyone plan to kill cattle this week? Best quote I could get for a few overage steers was 3:90 base. Midlands.

• Registered Users Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nettleman

dryan wrote: »
    Anyone plan to kill cattle this week? Best quote I could get for a few overage steers was 3:90 base. Midlands.

3.85 according to this as of this day last week.:(

http://icsaireland.ie/

• Registered Users Posts: 351 ✭✭Duke92

3.90 for steers and 4 for heifers in Waterford today

• Registered Users Posts: 943 ✭✭✭tellmeabit

What price you you get for 4yr old bull, he about 800kg, would you get same price as cull cow?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭mayota

tellmeabit wrote: »
    What price you you get for 4yr old bull, he about 800kg, would you get same price as cull cow?

Maybe €1200 in factory.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭epfff

tellmeabit wrote: »

800kgs finished 480*3=1440-stopages
    800kgs not finished 400*3=1200-stopages

Worth alot more through ring imo

• Registered Users Posts: 4,557 ✭✭✭White Clover

epfff wrote: »
    800kgs finished 480*3=1440-stopages
    800kgs not finished 400*3=1200-stopages

Worth alot more through ring imo

Them heavy bulls only making 1.40 or 1.50 per kilo through the ring.

• Registered Users Posts: 943 ✭✭✭tellmeabit

Thanks guys. Might hold on to him another while and put some condition on him.

3.85 for blks. Am I being low balled?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Willfarman wrote: »

only heard one quote for blks last week and same as that in slaney

Willfarman wrote: »

Raped €4 to be got for numbers €3.95 the run for good regulars unless there over 36 or non quality assured

• Registered Users Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭epfff

Duke92 wrote: »
    Raped €4 to be got for numbers €3.95 the run for good regulars unless there over 36 or non quality assured

Where
    385 all I can get too

• Registered Users Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

3.90 for steers and 4 for heifers in Waterford today

Where In waterford ??

• Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭tatoo

Is the 3.90 a rise, or is that what it was last week as well?

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭locha

Was quoted 3.85 this week, got 3.90 on the grid. If I knew 4 was to be had....

3.85 is as much as could be got last week without travelling. 3.90 then but that's no use with paying Lorry and reduced kill out. The ifa are good buyers though. Quoting very well!!

Sell hard lads!

Slaney and abp paid 3.90 to some certain ppl last week

• Registered Users Posts: 6,876 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

How do ye think cows price will go over the upcoming months? Good cows but not fat, mart/factory??

Slaney and abp paid 3.90 to some certain ppl last week

Ah them lads have suits of armour. They are hardened sellers!