Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Control-Alt-Delete.........RESTART!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,583 ✭✭✭✭tunney

pgibbo wrote: »
    I don't know about that. If you read up on Noakes and his colleagues they profess to have reversed it by diet alone and lots of their clients are meds free. I'm no expert but I know it's a contentious area and draws a lot of heated debate, including court cases for Noakes et al

Noakes is discredited as a physician and researcher these days. Might as well listen to a taxi driver.

Sorry to hear the news elD

• Registered Users Posts: 4,117 ✭✭✭El Director

Based on experience I wouldn't be a fan of the half distance bike leg in Lough Cutra. The road surface is shocking. My under carriage was cut to bits after it last year.

P.

I did a race there a few years ago too and the transition area was a joke as there was a steep hill into/out of it which turned into a mud bath/slip n' slide - was actually dangerous. I also hated the bike in and out of the estate with all the speed bumps and narrow sections with bikes going in both directions. I said "never again" but I am tempted and there isn't much else now around that time that interests me. I wonder if it is the same course as the one you experienced P.

https://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/1049140485

Most likely is I guess.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭peter kern

Just to flesh out the above if I do decide to do the aquabike middle distance championships I may go to biking 4 times a week from March - Monday, Wednesday, Friday and the weekend. Building up the time (a) in the saddle and (b) in the aero position. I would keep the swim at 4 times a week. Run wise I'd do one LSR, one run off the bike and two easy ones. We'll see, I'll mull it over for a while. I do plan on shifting the focus to running a bit more from June.

Diabetes Watch

I forgot to mention that after two weeks of monitoring my blood glucose levels I went back to the doctors, got bloods tested again and came back in the next day to discuss the results and where we go from here. My bloods had dropped into the normal range which I expected. How much was diet, how much was the medication? Who knows, mostly the meds I suspect. The doctor is still perplexed and has referred me on to an endocrinologist which will take 6 to 8 weeks to get an appointment. She has also referred me on to get a place on the DESMOND programme - an educational programme by the HSE for newly diagnosed diabetics. The question of hemochromatosis seems less likely now as my transferrin saturation level was 48%, normal is 20-50%. My HbA1c - tells you your average level of blood sugar over the past 2 to 3 months, also called glycated hemoglobin test and glycohemoglobin. This was not expected to change too much in two weeks but it was down to 115 which was a drop of 10 points. Normal is 20 - 42 so it's still extremely high. I will be back again in 8 weeks or so repeat the tests and just make sure that the HbA1c is coming down and that the medication is working.

since you are so open about it it might be a good idea to actually open a thread on the main forum about diabetis as surely you are not the only triathlete in that situation ad it would be good to spread more awareness.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,377 Mod ✭✭✭✭pgibbo

I did a race there a few years ago too and the transition area was a joke as there was a steep hill into/out of it which turned into a mud bath/slip n' slide - was actually dangerous. I also hated the bike in and out of the estate with all the speed bumps and narrow sections with bikes going in both directions. I said "never again" but I am tempted and there isn't much else now around that time that interests me. I wonder if it is the same course as the one you experienced P.

https://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/1049140485

Most likely is I guess.

I doubt it has changed since last year.

There's a Hardman half on the same weekend

• Registered Users Posts: 4,377 Mod ✭✭✭✭pgibbo

tunney wrote: »
    Noakes is discredited as a physician and researcher these days. Might as well listen to a taxi driver.

I thought he won a significant court case last year that indicated otherwise?

peter kern wrote: »
    since you are so open about it it might be a good idea to actually open a thread on the main forum about diabetis as surely you are not the only triathlete in that situation ad it would be good to spread more awareness.

True Peter, I was thinking about that alright. There is not much traffic though on the main forum these days but I will open a thread on the topic, you'd never know. I've started following a thread on the topic on Slowtwitch - and this too.

I doubt it has changed since last year.

There's a Hardman half on the same weekend

I don't really fancy a middle distance tri that early in the year, I don't think I'd be run ready. The aquabike is tempting as my swimming and cycling is going relatively well. Running is going well too but I just haven't enough done. Food for thought I guess, maybe a sprint of Olympic distance tri is the way to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,583 ✭✭✭✭tunney

I thought he won a significant court case last year that indicated otherwise?

That was that he provided medical advice over social media and should be banned for providing advice without consultation. Not the LCHF debacle

https://www.timeslive.co.za/news/south-africa/2018-06-08-its-finally-over-says-relieved-banting-guru-noakes/

(unless you have another link?)

tunney wrote: »

I think its fair to say that he has had some good ideas that brought science forward not all was good but still

the issue is he wanted to be both a scientist and a guro.

and you cant combine the 2.

Confidence building week

Week in Numbers

Swim: 2 hours 01 minutes, 7,350m
    Bike: 3 hours 03 minutes, 76.2km
    Run: 2 hours 27 minutes, 28km
    Yoga: 0 minutes
    S&C: 0 minutes
    Total Time: 7 hours 33 minutes

Compliance Watch: 71%
    Key Sessions: 2/3, 67%

Intensity watch (Z1+Z2/Z3 up)
    Run 83%/17%
    Bike: 55%/45%

Key Sessions

Swim

Swimming is my most consistent discipline at the moment and my times are now beginning to reflect this. I did a 400TT and 200TT on the Monday and I reported those times above and then on Thursday we had a 1000m for time. I did 16:46, pace 1:41/100m Delighted with that, only other recorded 1000TT I have was from Feb 2017 and that was a 17:59. My pacing was a s follows:

1) 1:31
    2) 1:42
    3) 1:41
    4) 1:41
    5) 1:43
    6) 1:44
    7) 1:43
    8) 1:43
    9) 1:43
    10)1:39

I glanced at the pace clock after the first 100 and thought"oh sh!t...too spicy!" So I knocked the pace back as I knew I couldn't hold that. After that I was happy with the pacing for the next 900m. After I thought though 1:30 pace for a 1000m...why not? And so a long term (18-24 month) goal was born. First I got to do it for a 200m and then a 300m etc... But what not have in as a goal? 15 minutes for 1000m would be unbelievable achievement for an adult swimmer imo. We also had a 400 P&PB TT, a 400 flipper TT and a 400 fs TT. Same with all of them, first 100 was too hot. I have to say though I thoroughly enjoyed the sadistic nature of this session :cool: Not just saying this because Peter often reads this but he has a great coaching manner. He makes you critically think, gives great feedback and peppers it with positives and encouragement all while keeping things fun.

Bike

Not much to report here, I missed one session but at least I got outdoors finally and that was the key session.

Run

The last couple of months one line summarised my running but this week I had a 5k for time. My local parkrun is Poterstown so I rocked up there, it is only 2.5km from my house so perfect for a WU (with some strides) and a CD and it's easy to tag onto the WU or CD if I feel the want.

The start is a nice gentle down hill so it's key to not go too mad. I had a plan - keep it steady pacing wise and accelerate out of every corner and up each incline of which there are two notable ones on each lap (this is a 3 lap affair). Once things settled down I was in 3rd and catching 2nd, picked him off when I accelerated up the first incline. 1st place by now was about 100m ahead, I didn't care, my only goal was to run on the red line/threshold and see where I am at after 2 months of zone 1 running. By the start of the second lap I could see the guy ahead coming back to me, he had got the pacing wrong big time and had to stop. I pushed on and in fairness to him (at least I think it was him) he got back on my shoulder for about 800m. At one point I was just saying to myself "...come on, pass me and get it over with!" But another part of me didn't want to give an inch and then...he was gone. No more footsteps or heavy breathing and I was out on my own. On the third lap there were a number of people to get around but it was no problem. I was delighted to finish.

Splits:
    1k: 3:56
    2k: 4:09
    3k: 4:00
    4k: 3:58
    5k: 4:04

Overall:
    Time: 19:52; Pace 3:58/km; AHR 176; MAX HR 186; CAD 87; Pos 1/175;

Course is short so time was more like 20:08 tbh. It's a park run and so obviously it's not a big deal to cross the line first. But...it meant a lot to me I have to say. I've had my fair share of dark days but this was nice, beautiful morning and great buzz after chatting to people. This time last year I was the one being lapped running 27 minutes or so. It's important to enjoy these days and make sure you put the feelings and memories somewhere where you can recall them because days like this do not come around very often. The big positive is that after only 10 weeks of zone 1 running ONLY I am pretty much at sub 20 pace, I thought that that wouldn't happen until June or July! I plan on extending this zone 1 experiment now until June and I will hit another parkrun in a 5 or 6 weeks.

Midterm break this week and will be heading away tomorrow for two days, no training as it will be quality time with the missus :cool: So it will be a bit easier of a week.

Absolutely nothing to report this week apart from a really bad bout of flu that had me restricted to the bed for basically 4 days. Linda picked it up from her niece and of course I got it then, cannot remember being that ill for years! Felt really sorry for myself altogether :( You begin to think crazy thoughts like, "oh that's another season fvcked now for me" etc... except this time I know that's silly thinking and I remind myself of all the positives that I have had over the last number of weeks in all 3 disciplines. It will take a couple of weeks to get back up and running 100% again and that's okay because of the long term view I take these days anyway.

I've finalised my racing now up until the beginning of June:

Mar 9th: Westport Duathlon, relay team, I'll do the bike
    Mar 24th: Naas duathlon
    April 14th: Connemara Half marathon
    May 19th: Tri Carlow - on waiting list
    May 26th: National AquaBike Champs Lough Cutra

That's it for now anyway. My biggest concern is still the lack of endurance sessions I have done on the bike and run especially with the half marathon and the aqua bike, I just have to keep making them key sessions and not miss them.

So it's been over two weeks since my last post - here is a quick update. Numbers/totals first I suppose

Swim: 6 hours 52 minutes, 24,700m, (Ave 10,300m/week)
    Bike: 7 hours 45 minutes, 218km, (Ave 91km/week)
    Run: 2 hours 0 minutes, 21.8km, (Ave 9km/week)
    S&C: 45 minutes
    Total Time: 17 hours 22 minutes, (Ave 7 hours 14 min/week)

Compliance Watch: 77%
    Key Sessions: 6/7, 86%

Run 78%/22%
    Bike: 60%/40%

Now a look at each discipline with a satisfaction rating

Swimming

Satisfaction Ration: 8/10

I am very happy with where my swimming is at the moment. In truth my times have never been so good. I hit an all time PB for 100 lately and I should have for 400 too but I messed up the pacing.

100TT -
    1st 25 - 0:19; 1:16/100
    2nd 25 - 0:21; 1:25/100
    3rd 25 - 0:22; 1:27/100
    4th 25 - 0:22; 1:27/100
    Overall - 1:24

Aim for the next time is 1:21

400TT
    1st 100 - 1:27
    2nd 100 - 1:35
    3rd 100 - 1:38
    4th 100 - 1:45 (blew up and stopped to let 2 by me)
    0verall - 6:26 (6:22 taking stoppage into account); 1:37/100m

Aim for the next time is 6:10 (my all time PB). I'll use my tempo trainer next time!

Why is swimming going so well? Easy.
    (1) I am consistently getting in 3 sessions a week and even 4 some weeks lately.
    (2) The club sessions are quality. Having others there to push you and keep you honest as well as feedback from Peter both positive and constructive/developmental in the right amounts. It's great too for the head training with others, so I guess...
    (3) I'm enjoying swimming a lot right now :cool:

Bike

Satisfaction Rating: 6/10

My mid week sessions on the turbo are going well, I've a number of sweet spot and tempo sessions under my belt but what is holding me back is the lack of endurance spins. I really, really need to start making these every single week. I have made them a key session now. Missing my endurance sessions means I am undermining everything I do. Before the national aquabike championships I'd like to get in 2 or 3 rides of 90km + as the bike course is 90km.

A couple of weeks ago I did a 15.5km TT as part of a duathlon relay. It was a rolling out and back course with a very strong headwind on the way out. I tried my best but struggled and was only good enough for the 20th best split on the day. Here is my TP link if anyone is interested. I did record my best 20 minute power for 2019 at 236 watts.

Run

Satisfaction Rating: 3/10

Every time I have to dump a session or just don't feel like it it's the run that gets dumped. Since November I have averaged 13km per week. It really needs to be near 30km and building to 45km by August. Like the bike my long runs are nearly non existent so they are now also key weekly sessions. Based off such low volume I am stunned I managed to get my 5k time under 20 minutes, at least there is a positive there.

I need to keep in mind my overall goals in mind for this season though. Keeping active and healthy. I am ticking both boxes which is great and I just need to keep this up. I am up to averaging 7 hours per week now as opposed to 4.5 hours from Nov to Feb. So although I am not too happy with biking and running I need to be gentle with myself and concentrate on what I can do now as worrying is like paying a debt that you do not owe :cool: (Mark Twain)

looks like you need a run buddy.

i understand you really need to focus more on bike and run

but if look at the swim goals I wonder if i should call you sandbagger from now on ;-) ( would help me as i always get confused with writing your name) you are just not firing on all cylinders after the cold.

looks like you need a run buddy.

i understand you really need to focus more on bike and run

but if look at the swim goals I wonder if i should call you sandbagger from now on ;-) ( would help me as i always get confused with writing your name) you are just not firing on all cylinders after the cold.

Just back from a run, the nice weather certainly helps me :) I try to run with Mick King on Fridays and if I’m in the west at the weekend I’ve a buddy to run with there too. And you are right, it does help! I am confident that I’ll up the minutes on my feet in the next few months.

I don’t really get the sandbagger nickname- I always give my best! Definitely I’m still feeling the effects of the flu and 7 day course of antibiotics and probably the other 7 day course of antibiotics for the ear infection in Feb but it’s not too bad, it’s getting better and I take off some days. My biggest challenge in swimming at the moment I think is pacing the TT efforts. I’m so eager to swim fast I go out too fast and blow up. In saying that it doesn’t always happen. Got a new 200 all time PB this morning btw :) 2:58.

I appreciate you do try to spell my name, most don’t care :D it’s Micheál.

1.21 and 6.10 is not ambitious enough i reckon you would have been able to do that before the cold. you had some decent numbers in the slower pool .

Ah right, I understand now. Well those times are just short term goals, stepping stones to something better. My big aim for swimming in 2019 is a sub 6 minute 400TT and by the end of 2020 a sub 15 minute 1,000TT. :cool:

I think the ear infection and flu have taken their toll but also doing 10/11km swimming a week is a big change in training load for me, never ever swam those distances before so I'd say the body is adapting to the load. I've a recovery week coming up soon so that will help and when June comes I might reduce the swimming a little which will leave me fresher.

Besides all that I am really happy the way swimming is going and just the fact that I am still training and haven't fallen off the wagon yet! Keeping training, healthy and happy are the goals for this year and every year. As always Peter thanks for the feedback/comments, they are appreciated.

Since my last post...

Swim: 4 hours 39 minutes, 16,500m, (Ave 8900m/week)
    Bike: 4 hours 34 minutes, 114km, (Ave 62km/week)
    Run: 5 hours 45 minutes, 63.4km, (Ave 34km/week)
    S&C: minutes
    Total Time: 14 hours 58 minutes, (Ave 8 hours 6 min/week)

Compliance Watch: 88%
    Key Sessions: 4/5, 80%

Run: 97%/3%
    Bike: 51%/49%

Diabetes Watch

I finally got to see the endocrinologist this week in Connolly hospital in the Diabetic Day Center. It was a good experience actually. I was introduced to the specialist nurse, the podiatrist (foot specialist), the nutritionist and the endocrinologist himself. He explained that this is the team and that they are here to support me and I can ring them at any time or even just walk in. It was quite reassuring. They were all very surprised as I was "not their typical patient". The nutritionist was very much pushing low fat everything which goes against my own belief that whole fat and therefore less processed foods are better. It's so frustrating and there cannot be a condenses on all of this stuff. All I know is that since my diagnosis I have reduced the carbs a good bit and upped my fat intake (including saturated which the nutrition warned me against) I have not felt as good in a long time especially when it comes to sleep and energy levels.

The endo said that if he had to guess then he believes I have type 2 but he ordered a load of tests including a gene one for hemochromatosis. I will be called back in 6 months time.

Swimming

Still going well. I took an easy swim week last week just to freshen up and it definitely helped me. Mentally as much as physically. During this period I set an all time 100 and 300 PB of 1:23 and 4:30 respectfully, both done towards the end of a session. So...all time 400 PB (6:10) is surely already in my grasp and sub 6 by the end of May...just before the National Aquabike would be nice :cool::D

Bike

I haven't been overly consistent on the bike or doing much volume but I have a new FTP of 250 (Neo) 254 (Quarq). That's a 25 watt improvement so I got to be happy with that. I'm back with Swords CC this year after a 6 year absence! I just want options for group rides and to do some Wednesday evening club races/TT's. The prorogue is on Wednesday, 8km up hill it looks like on Strava. I am hoping by the Aquabike at the end of May I have 2 or 3 100k rides in the legs.

Running

With Connemara Half marathon on the horizon it has focused me somewhat and I've gotten in two 30km weeks back to back and a 13k and 16k long runs in. Feeling a little more confident now. I'll get in another 16k run this weekend too. The reason for entering Connemara was to keep me honest with the running and finally I am beginning to do a bit more. The aim? Just enjoy it as I have always wanted to do it, looks like a tough course!

I started zone 1 running back at the beginning of December and I am totally sold on it. Zone 2 used to be my easy but never again. On Jan 25th and March 25th I re-ran a 8km flat route that I did on Dec 3rd at my old easy zone and the improvement in pace amazes me, especially given the low volume:

Dec 3rd 2018: 5:45/km; 150bpm;
    Jan 25th 2019: 5:28/km; 150bpm;
    Mar 25th 2019: 4:45/km; 149m;

This week I also had a go at a Strava Segment near my house that I would like to have the CR for, I knew I wouldn't get it this time but I did get 3rd OA :cool: It's a flat 1.2km stretch and the CR is 3:53, I did 4:09 (3:28/km pace). It will be mine! Reason for doing this? Keeping things fun and interesting :P I was fecked after!

Between now and June I have no intention of doing any more than 35km/week. The national aquabike champs is where my head is at so I'll continue with the swimming and add more long bikes.

AOB

Wednesday evening are going to be for fun. There are so many options from this Wednesday on. The IMRA Trail League (April) and Summer Mountain Running League (May to Aug). Swords CC league, every Wednesday April to Aug. Then there are a good few aquathons to choose from. I'll need to be careful not to do one every week though and also not to go into the red for all of them, some of them I'll just do at an easy pace. Maybe every second Wednesday. I'm doing this more for the social side of things than anything else.

I am re-learning stuff that I had forgotten about. For example, if the only window of opportunity to get a long run or ride in is early doors then staying up watching crap until 2:30 am means that YOU HAVEN'T A HOPE OF GETTING UP EARLY and therefore the session does not get done.

I have the Connemara Half coming up next weekend and the national aquabike champs at the end of May. Other races I am thinking about is the Howth Aquathon in early May (time to get into that open water) and a race on the June BH weekend, just need to decide.

Since my last post...

Swim: 4 hours 56 minutes, 13,400m, (Ave 10,420m/week)
    Bike: 3 hours 18 minutes, 94km, (Ave 73km/week)
    Run: 3 hours 01 minutes, 35.4km, (Ave 27.5km/week)
    S&C: 30 minutes
    Total Time: 13 hours 45 minutes, (Ave 10 hours 55 min/week)

Compliance Watch: 82%
    Key Sessions: 4/5, 80%

Run: 97%/3%
    Bike: 61%/39%

Swimming

Two club sessions, an endurance session and two easy/recovery sessions in the last 9 days. The club sessions as always were interesting and enjoyable. One had lots of 400's and 300's (with PB&P) and I was very happy with this session. I had one other club mate in my lane and we worked well together hitting 1:42/43 per 100 consistently, taking turns leading out. The following week (Thursday just gone) we had a main set of 100's off 2 minutes trying to hold our best average and not having any more than 2 seconds between our fastest and slowest 100. My first time doing such a session. I thought I'd be able to hold 1:40ish and was cursing myself after the first one...1:32. There were 3 of us working well together though and we held that pace, 1:31-1:33 for 1 to 18 and 1:29 for 19 and 20. Now I really think it has to be said that when you were not leading it out you did get a slight break because you were drafting hence being able to hold the pace and push the last two. Great session and I think finally getting better at pacing.

Biking

Two sessions of note, a long bike followed by a run off it and a 8.5km TT. The endurance brick session was a bit of a confidence booster, really felt strong and the legs were good for the run albeit only 10 minutes. The TT was the Swords CC League opening night, an uphill prologue. I was really happy with how I paced this and finished 13th out of the 37 riders. I definitely could have gave more but I wasn't prepared to bury myself on the night with the Connemara Half this weekend. It was a bitterly cold evening (feeling the cold now more with near 10% body fat!) but it was very enjoyable and nice to catch up with Joey who had a great/better ride on his roadie!

Running

I got in a 17km long run last weekend and just easy short runs this week, just trying to flush out the fatigue and introduce some freshness. After 3 decent running weeks I was beginning to think sub 95 minutes might be possible however...30km headwind with 50-60km gusts promised along with low temps and heavy rain means that I will be just looking to survive! My thoughts are with the marathon and ultra runners!!

AOB

I think I may have stumbled on a system that works for me this winter. Simple really, focus on bike and swimming during the winter and just do all my running in zone 1/very easy. My running has definitely benefited from the swimming and biking and my swimming and biking (in particular) from the easy running leaving me fresher for the tough bike and swim sessions. Now with the weather improving I know I will be more inclined to get out there and run because I actually enjoy running in nice weather more than anything else I think.

With the Easter holidays upon us that means two weeks off for me but it does't mean more training...(a) because I'm not sure I could do or want to do more and (b) I'll be painting and doing loads of other things to make our first house a home as we bought recently the house we've been renting for 9 years :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭BTH

to make our first house a home as we bought recently the house we've been renting for 9 years :cool:

Mucho congratulations Míc

BTH wrote: »
    Mucho congratulations Míc

Thanks bud

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Congrats on the house M and well done in Connemara today! I'd imagine it was some windy heading up that hill

Thanks MCOS. It was bloody windy, wet and cold alright! Tough course. I remember you doing 3 hours for the marathon there once and I thought, "F me, that's savage" I've even more respect for that now!

I've wanted to do this for years and finally I did on Sunday. There were two weather warnings in place, a rain one and a wind one. Great. A good friend of mine was also doing it and I could read between the lines of his texts on Saturday that he was considering not even toeing the line. TBH it crept into my mind too. Then I coped myself on and thought of all those people that would love to be able to do it, be healthy enough and fit enough to do it. Those that would give anything to even stand! Also I thought about myself and the place I was in for a few years there - bad times, now they are better and there's no way a little rain and wind was going to stop me. I sent a text to that effect to my buddy and that set him straight!

The morning was indeed horrendous but as the start time approached it did get a little better and y all accounts compared to 2016 this was nothing. We got the bus from Galway at 9:30 and made our way to the start line in Leenaun, not a bus journey I'd like to make again, felt sicl after it! We hid in a small cafe shop for nearly an hour along with about 50 others and left it until 20 mins before off time to warm up. About 15 minutes of easy jogging with 4/5 uphill strides. We then toed the line, my mate got in behind the 1:30 pacers and I placed myself in front of the 1:45 pacers.

Off we went with a loud roar! Downhill for about 200m and then sharp left and uphill for about 2.5km. This really put manners on you as you couldn't go off too fast! I just kept it steady and built into it, HR was around the 170 so that was fine. The nature of this course is such that the wind was in our faces for the entire race. Struggle. After that initial climb it was a series of ups and downs, really undulating and never flat! The km's were ticking by though and I was happy with my pace and HR. After 8 or so km I had a look at the average pace and it seemed 1:35 might be possible. I popped my only gel at about 10km and just around that time we had a steep enough down slope where I felt my quads begin to tighten up and cramp! "Oh no...way too early for this to happen, well that's what you get for your low running milage!" So from then on it was a matter of managing the quads, which I did actually and they were not much of a problem from then on.

Mentally I was well prepared and I was happy with my mental game during the race. I kept telling myself that e race really begins at 14km when we face a 3.5km uphill. This is exactly how I felt it worked out. Up to now I was picking off people all along the way, some took longer to catch than others but I did catch all the targets I set myself. One thing I will take from this is not to start too far back again because I never found a group going at the same pace as me so I ran the whole thing on my own. Compare that with my friend who had a brilliant group working together all the way up to mile 11. When that hill hit at 14km it caused carnage. Loads had to walk and the wind and rain really seemed to pick up. It was a long drag but I just kept shuffling along and picked of a good few here. It seemed to go on forever though. The supporters along this exposed and highest part of the course were just bloody awesome :cool: I could not get over it. I gave a wave or thumbs up to each and every one of them.

Once we crested the top it was about 3km downhill and into Maam Cross. I knew 1:35 was gone but my plan B was definitely still there, sub 1:40. My calfs were really beat up though and I was running like I had wooden pegs for legs! Still though I was feeling strong and the support really helped all along this section too. I crossed the line and was a bit emotional for some reason, but I held it together because I am a man :)

Dist 21.2km; Time 1:36:43; Pace 4:33/km; Ave HR 165; Cadence 88; Placing 44/950;

Positives:
    - I'm delighted with my time despite the conditions and course and low running volume that I have been doing (average 17km/week since Jan)
    - My mental game was strong, there were tough times but I held my nerve and didn't give into the negative thoughts
    - A nice reminder that I know I can hurt a lot more than my brain thinks I can!
    - Last May it took me almost 3 hours to complete the Ballyhoura half marathon, tougher course but I was 89kg and so unfit. In a much better place now thankfully.

To work on:
    - My glutes and calfs are weak AF. When am I going to actually take this seriously? I need to address this as soon as I can. Squats and calf raises once/twice a week would go a long way to helping this. These two areas are the first to fatigue on me.
    - Obvious one -More running and more long runs too. The 3 weeks prior to this I did up the running to 30km weeks with a 13km and two 16km long runs. Had I done that 3 weeks previous then I believe I could have knocked a couple of minutes off this time.

So did I achieve my objective here? Yes. In fact I achieved it before I started. My objective was to shame me into more running and long runs as I know I struggle with this during the winter. So if I include last week I have 4 weeks of 30km to 39km of running and a 13km, two 16km and now a 21km long run under my belt and the goal now is to continue with 30-35km running weeks with 90 minute long runs each week to the end of May, I'm in the groove now so I just need to keep it going.

Savage event, well run and supported. Thank you so much to the volunteers out in those conditions! Brilliant people. And well done to the full marathon runners and ultra's...tough, tough day for those guys!

I was nuts to think I could continue training as normal this week with the in-laws here to help with the interior decoratorating!

So you start decorating at 6 am lol

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭ray o

So you start decorating at 6 am lol

He might have you there El D! Myself and Mick K got a couple of games of pool in before yesterday mornings swim :)

Lol...ah here, had I known that there would be pool before swimming I'd have made it! We didn't start at 6am but Linda's dad is old school so that means a 7am start and I'm on breakfast duty too! Also my back and neck are in bits, it's been years since this lad did manual labour!

Nothing to report really since Connemara except a very enjoyable trail run organised by IMRA this night week. 6 hours done last week and zero this week. I naively thought that I'd be able to keep up training this week and then the guilt of not training was eating me up a bit which then in turn led to that bloody emotional eating I used to do before! Anyway...I've spotted the potential spiral early and now I have actually cleared the plan on training peaks for the whole week as I was being way too critical of myself for a man that only wants to just rediscover the joy of being fit and healthy this year. I guess training and results have been going well, way better than I ever thought that they would and I'm getting a bit caught up in it all.

So, i need to pause, I don't want to go down that road again until I'm good and ready and things at home have settled down. So I will make no plan from today until Sunday and just do what I feel. Right now that is some MTB'ing and I'd like to get two pool sessions in as I'm enjoying swimming so much right now so I'll get the club sessions and do them myself. And maybe that's all I'll do and then start up again next week.

Actually this might be a good time to check in on my training objectives that I set out in Jan to see how I'm going.

Swim
    ○ a pb for 400m, I’m currently at 6:40 and my current PB is 6:10 this is only a matter doing a 400 TT, definitely sub 6:10 shape
    ○ Secret bonus objective: I’ve always wanted to do a sub 6 400TT this is also at my finger tips...perhaps next week but if not in the next two weeks I'm sure

Bike
    ○ 265 watts for 20 min TT, indoors or out. This would represent a 4 year best. I’ve bikes many times over that but one thing at a time. I haven't gone all out for 20 mins since early march and that was poorly paced but my recent FTP test was 254 watts and a bit of maths indicates a 20 min peak of 270ish so...that's within reach now too
    ○ Secret bonus objective: My all-time 20min TT is 302 watts, so... this could happen by the end of Aug if I become more consistent, although there will be no biking for 3 weeks in June

Run

I'll be using the MAF system this year which for me basically means that anything described as "easy" will be in Z1 or more specifically 130 - 140 bpm

○ a sub 20 5k. Again, I’ve done it many times in the past but not for years! Done
    ○ Secret bonus objective: my 5k PB is 18:13, so… Like the biking, some consistency and this is possible...I'm thinking Jingle Bells in Dec! :cool:
    ○ Do a 10k. I don’t have a 10k PB really which is mad. Training Peaks has my 2013 Kilkee/HoTW time down (39:3x) for that but I’d like a standalone PB. I'll do a 10km in early July off the back of running focus while I'm on holidays in June.

Okay so that's all reassuring and I can RELAX now. Things are coming along nicely and a few days of unstructured training and time to reflect and I should be good to go next week.

Oh yeah, I am concerned about my left wrist is really killing me these days, I can't do paddle work and it's affecting my free style now too - slicing the water more and more on that side, kind of a subconscious way of protecting it. So I'll have to get it seen to.

The last 9 days have been very poor from a training perspective. Actually I am seeing the early signs of me bailing on training and this whole self sabotage rearing it's very ugly head. I can see myself getting my sh1t together for the next four weeks and doing the Aquabike at the end of the month but it all falling apart then as I'll be away in Vietnam for 3 weeks and just get out of the routine and not get back into it when I return at the beginning of July. This could lead to wallowing and being in a bloody dark hole for the rest of the summer. This is an all too familiar story for me. Weight has gone up for the first time in 6 months too to 77kg - another sign (because this does mean I've been eating crap). Hopefully recognising the signs early on will allow me to put in place strategies to stop this spiral.

In the last nine days I've done:

Bike: 1 session, 1 hour. It was actually a good session including {3 x 2 minutes at 120% FTP} X 2. I actually felt strong holding 290-295 watts. I enjoy these sessions but I am very aware that I am not building on a solid endurance base.

Run: 0 sessions. This annoys me. I was buzzing after Connemara and loving running.

Swim: 3 sessions, 10,300m. Swimming is going fine but my wrist needs a rest now. I finally broke the sub 6 minute holy grail of adult swimming on Tuesday morning! I'm thrilled with that. I actually clocked 5:54. On Saturday I needed a confidence boost so I did a 200m TT to see where I was at and that was also a PB of 2:50. So I knew I was on for the sub 6, just hold my nerve and get the pacing right. The pacing was pretty much spot on IMO - 1:26, 1:30, 1:30, 1:28. So a big positive there.

The difference with the swimming this year:

1. Better consistency, 3 or 4 times a week for 4 months (1 or 2 coached)
    2. More volume
    3. A great coach (Peter) on deck
    4. And group sessions, i.e. good lane partners pushing/helping each other.

Plan From Now To June 9th

Swim: For 1 or 2 weeks just 1 or 2 swims and give my wrist a chance to heel. I went to the physio and he said that its most likely tendinitis and performed shockwave therapy which has helped. After that though it's back to 3 minimum, swimming seems to be key for me. If I start my day with a swim the rest of the day flows better, better at work, better in my relationships and more likely to do my bike or run session later.

I've smashed my swimming objectives for the year already (even covered 80% of my original volume target!). So I could just look to get faster at 400m but that doesn't make much sense. Instead I will look to keeping this sort of pace (1:30/100m) for longer and longer distances. A few weeks ago here on this blog I outlined a project - sub 15 minutes for 1000m and the time-frame was 18 to 24 months. Perhaps I could achieve this sooner.

I want to transfer all this progress in the pool to the OW...after all that is the most important thing. So 2 or 3 OW sessions this month before the aquabike would be ideal.

Bike: I really need to up things here. I will aim for 4 sessions per week. Endurance is the limiter so I'll try to do 2 X 2.5-3.5 spins, a tempo and the other one will be an hour or so of whatever I feel like.

Run: Get back to doing 30-40km a week like I did for 4 weeks before Connemara Half. One long, two easy and one brick.

For now though I am going back to basics, back to what got me going again back in October and that is taking one day at a time and just ensuring I do one session and see how I feel. I'll do this for a week or so and that should get me back on track...I've made nice improvements in all disciplines it would be an awful shame to lose it all...again.

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭ray o

I remember when Kurt first broke 6min I think he mentioned pushing on towards 5:40/5:30 for the 400m. Then Interested said why not work towards a sub12 800m instead. That made alot of sense to me at that time and it looks like your on the same wavelength with the 15min 1k

ray o wrote: »
    I remember when Kurt first broke 6min I think he mentioned pushing on towards 5:40/5:30 for the 400m. Then Interested said why not work towards a sub12 800m instead. That made alot of sense to me at that time and it looks like your on the same wavelength with the 15min 1k

Ya Ray I think in the context of triathlon it makes sense to me too. Sure swimming sub 12 800!or sub 15 1k means your 400 time will come down anyway. Holding the 1.5 minute pace for longer distances would be great!

I forgot to mention above that the PB&P work that we’ve been doing with the club has really brought me on imo and it’s a shame I cannot do it for the time being with the wrist. Once the wrist is better (for the first time in weeks this morning I was able to press the button on the deodorant can without whining) I will look to strengthen it and get back to paddles later in the year. The finis freestyler paddle at first as it’s less taxing.