Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

What people from modern times will be talked about in 1000 years?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭KungPao

People then (if homosapiens still inhabit this rock) won’t give many fiddlers about anything from this time.

They might say fair play for creating primitive computers and stuff, some well dones on the WWW.

They’ll probably laugh at how bad Ireland used to be at football, since we’ve dominated the world for 800 years at that stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Tim Berners-Lee
    XI Jinping has a shout for reviving the Chinese empire if he lives a long life.
    Chernobyl will still be radioactive, although undoubtedly there will be other incidents

• Registered Users Posts: 8,154 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

True, but some are still easily recognised - Tutankhamun, Cleopatra, Julius Caesar.

As mentioned before Hitler will likely be remembered, albeit for the wrong reason.

Tutankhamun though... I'd say if you asked any ancient Egyptian they would name 50 pharaohs, and probably 50 more, before getting to him, he's only remembered now because his tomb was found intact 100 years ago.

There were 170 pharaohs, all of them living gods
    Makes you think...

• Registered Users Posts: 462 ✭✭Ish66

Eddie Hobbs, The Messiah of forward Fiscal thinking.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Maybe some fictional characters will be remembered similar to the greek gods. Such as the marvel super heroes or harry potter. That could lead to stan lee and jk rowling.

The new book of game of thrones would be released then too so that would be fresh on their minds.

The only banker for me is hitler, mainly due to the nazi symbol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

George Lee
    Donald Trump
    Chas and Dave
    Jimmy Nail

• Registered Users Posts: 8,154 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Shakespeare

Shakespeares Sister

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,065 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I meant they've all had a lasting legacy, but very few achieve it. The queen and Hitler are the only 2 I think have a chance.
    As Quantum Erasure notes Tutankhamun's legacy is 100 years old. The main reason his tomb survived is because he was forgotten about so quickly that even the tomb robbers eventually forgot about him(after they tried robbing it very soon after he was buried), a flash flood covered the entrance with rubble and he sat there waiting for Howard Carter to stumble upon him. He was so minor a figure that a good proportion of the stuff in his tomb wasn't even his(including the famous mask). The tomb itself wasn't even his originally.
    Saralace wrote: »
    With global warming
    Man will not be around in 1000 years

Then you will get sea rise as ice melts then you have pollution and nuclear waste japan wants to pour nuclear water into the sea

Over 1.2 million tons of radioactive cooling water from the Fukushima Nuclear Plant will be released.
    We may do ourselves in, but global warming won't do it. We've survived big shifts in climate before including ice ages. We may reduce in population alright, but we'll still be here.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Tuco88

I think all of the wildlife we had, even in 500yrs they way its going its bleak for alot of animal's. What type of cures they potentially had.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,367 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I think a bit part of this is going to be heavily reliant on how well out current data survives.

Up until this century we were completely reliant on physical items, stone, paper, steels to preserve our legacies. As time passed these obviously break down and a lot is lost. Sure look at how we're still more or less at a loss as to what megalithic structures and art were all about.

If our data isn't all wiped out en mass by some kind of solar flare or other traumatic event over the next thousand years, there's going to be an amazing treasure trove of information about the current civilisation for people of the future to study.

Imagine for example, while digging through Saqqara, a trove of SD cards and harddrives was discovered, documenting the average persons day to day life with photos, emails etc. Would be absolutely fascinating.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭KilOit

No one really. You would have to go searching for them. People we talk about now are only dead 50-100 years. If you are dead 1000 years you are pretty much irrelevant to modern humans. Even ww2 will be blip on their radar in 1000 years

• Registered Users Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

There's a fella hanging around like a bad smell called covid that might make reeling in the years in the next millenium.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,055 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

We talk about the richest men in history. All the way back to Mansa Musa. But I don't foresee anyone talking about Warren Buffet. Does anyone really know what he's done. It's not like Rockefeller or those guys.

Apparently, he still lives in the same $150,000 house he grew up in. Doesn't seem like the sort of chap who desires an ostentatious lifestyle.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭Tig98

I think it wont look much different to the dark ages to them. Plenty of excessive wealth in contrast to >800 million people living in daily food insecurity and undernourishment worldwide. Plenty food waste in our supermarkets and bins. Giving human food to cats and dogs, etc. We're all too wrapped up in materialism to care.

Hindsight is 20/20 and all that, I think it'll be pretty scathing...

If Elon Musk did something bananas like carving his name into the moon so that it is visible from earth he would be remembered.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

Greta Thunberg. Future generations will look back on her message and conviction and condemn us for not doing enough at a time when we should have known better.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,693 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Greta Thunberg, for saving us all from imminent doom

• Registered Users Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

H from Steps

• Registered Users Posts: 22,225 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

o1s1n wrote: »
    I think a bit part of this is going to be heavily reliant on how well out current data survives.

Up until this century we were completely reliant on physical items, stone, paper, steels to preserve our legacies. As time passed these obviously break down and a lot is lost. Sure look at how we're still more or less at a loss as to what megalithic structures and art were all about.

If our data isn't all wiped out en mass by some kind of solar flare or other traumatic event over the next thousand years, there's going to be an amazing treasure trove of information about the current civilisation for people of the future to study.

Imagine for example, while digging through Saqqara, a trove of SD cards and harddrives was discovered, documenting the average persons day to day life with photos, emails etc. Would be absolutely fascinating.

I don’t think they’ll still have SD card readers in a thousand years time. An archeologist would have a hard time digging up a device to read a 5.25 inch floppy from 40 years ago

• Registered Users Posts: 4,206 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

I think people are underestimating a thousand years. Elvis, not a chance.

Its hit or miss as well, everyone in Ireland would have at least heard the name Brian Boru but only people with an interest in Irish history would know Diarmait Mac Murchada. Both played integral parts in Irish history a thousand years ago but only one man has a pub named after him.

Master of the Universe

Akrasia wrote: »
    I don’t think they’ll still have SD card readers in a thousand years time. An archeologist would have a hard time digging up a device to read a 5.25 inch floppy from 40 years ago

Necessity is the mother of invention, you'd be surprised the lengths people go to to extract data from old sources.

Digital archaeology is still in its infancy but you can be more than sure it'll be a huge field in the future with the amount we store digitally now.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,065 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

o1s1n wrote: »

True, the big problem facing us today is that data and how it is stored. You carve something into a rock(or even pottery) and so long as you have some way of reading it(or finding a Rosetta stone to translate) it's legible many thousands of years later and being rock could potentially last for many millions of years. We know Tutankhamun's name because it was literally written in stone(but since they didn't include vowels in their writing feck knows how it actually sounded. Could well be Titonkhimeen).

The above SD card trove would a) degrade far faster and b) if you didn't have a way of reading it you're screwed. A few years back the BBC(IIRC) had kept a load of old programmes on 80's laser disk, but had no players and had to trawl ebay and the like to find one to retrieve the data. Last year someone I know had found an old cache of photos and documents on a now dead relative's ZIP disks(remember them :)) but she couldn't access them. Luckily I had a working drive in the attic and got the stuff off them(though a couple were kaput). We've gone through formats like poo through a goose. This is not good. I know a fair number of people who've already lost digital memories.

The cloud? It's very vulnerable too. It requires a set of very complex things in place for it to work. A brief "dark age" could delete the lot and given our society itself also requires a set of very complex things in place for it to work we're more vulnerable to a dark age then ever before. Look at the bazillions of photos we take these days. How many print them out in hard copy even if you do the inks are nowhere near as permanent as actual photographs(especially B&W). Gone are the days of strips of negatives laying in an envelope in a drawer. If a mini dark age did descend we could actually have more access to 19th century photos than 21st.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,716 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Greta Thunberg, for saving us all from imminent doom

A blip on the radar, much like the Occupy Movement fuss.

Stateofyou wrote: »
    Greta Thunberg. Future generations will look back on her message and conviction and condemn us for not doing enough at a time when we should have known better.
    The environmental movement itself will almost certianly survive alright, but chances are extremely high she herself will be a blip in the collective memory. She's very current and is already fading in the collective memory today. A potential hoola hoop fad. I'm just old enough to remember when the concern was global cooling. A 20 year old today would be "wtf boomer?" There is a long list of harbingers of warning of the end of things very popular in their day(and sometimes turned out to be right) and forgotten now save for in the minds of a few academics.

The speed at which we transmit ideas today also tends to make those ideas and people fade faster after the novelty has passed. Without looking at google name the child that washed up on a Greek beach that caused such a fuss and was such a cause celebre a few years ago.

We have a tendency to think we value the important things, but when you look at things overall not so much. Take the internet with all it's important data we can dive through. Over 30% of all internet traffic is porn and you'll get far more attention if you post an amusing cat pic than if you post the collected works of Plato.

• Registered Users Posts: 294 ✭✭Beagslife

Wibbs wrote: »
    The environmental movement itself will almost certianly survive alright, but chances are extremely high she herself will be a blip in the collective memory. She's very current and is already fading in the collective memory today. A potential hoola hoop fad. I'm just old enough to remember when the concern was global cooling. A 20 year old today would be "wtf boomer?" There is a long list of harbingers of warning of the end of things very popular in their day(and sometimes turned out to be right) and forgotten now save for in the minds of a few academics.

The speed at which we transmit ideas today also tends to make those ideas and people fade faster after the novelty has passed. Without looking at google name the child that washed up on a Greek beach that caused such a fuss and was such a cause celebre a few years ago.

We have a tendency to think we value the important things, but when you look at things overall not so much. Take the internet with all it's important data we can dive through. Over 30% of all internet traffic is porn and you'll get far more attention if you post an amusing cat pic than if you post the collected works of Plato.

Roy Keane

• Registered Users Posts: 8,895 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Akrasia wrote: »
    Maybe.. prof Brian Cox... dReams weren’t that good

Yeah, but things can only get better.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,832 ✭✭✭s8n

two girls one cup

• Registered Users Posts: 5,062 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Me me me please.

Master of the Universe

True, the big problem facing us today is that data and how it is stored. You carve something into a rock(or even pottery) and so long as you have some way of reading it(or finding a Rosetta stone to translate) it's legible many thousands of years later and being rock could potentially last for many millions of years. We know Tutankhamun's name because it was literally written in stone(but since they didn't include vowels in their writing feck knows how it actually sounded. Could well be Titonkhimeen).

The above SD card trove would a) degrade far faster and b) if you didn't have a way of reading it you're screwed. A few years back the BBC(IIRC) had kept a load of old programmes on 80's laser disk, but had no players and had to trawl ebay and the like to find one to retrieve the data. Last year someone I know had found an old cache of photos and documents on a now dead relative's ZIP disks(remember them :)) but she couldn't access them. Luckily I had a working drive in the attic and got the stuff off them(though a couple were kaput). We've gone through formats like poo through a goose. This is not good. I know a fair number of people who've already lost digital memories.

The cloud? It's very vulnerable too. It requires a set of very complex things in place for it to work. A brief "dark age" could delete the lot and given our society itself also requires a set of very complex things in place for it to work we're more vulnerable to a dark age then ever before. Look at the bazillions of photos we take these days. How many print them out in hard copy even if you do the inks are nowhere near as permanent as actual photographs(especially B&W). Gone are the days of strips of negatives laying in an envelope in a drawer. If a mini dark age did descend we could actually have more access to 19th century photos than 21st.

It's an interesting one isn't it? We've never had such an abundance of media yet most of it is not actually physically tangible.

A friend I used to work with lost a harddrive last year and it basically meant 10 years of his life record gone in an instant as he had no other backup. I think the worst that ever happened to me with photos was a water leak on one of my mam's caches in the family home, can still make them out though admid the water stains! :D

I suppose one great benefit of digital history is the possibility of a big find in one go within a relatively small lot. All it would take is one SD card and one SD card reader somewhere to survive with a means of accessing it for potentially TB of data to be revealed to future generations all in one go. Not something you'll get from your clay pot or even Dead Sea Scrolls!

Current technology is too volatile to survive thousands of years alright, but it's still in it's relative infancy on a historical scale. One would hope that sometime in the not too distant future we will come up with something with a bit more longevity. Perhaps some sort of combination between the physicality of stone/steel akin to the ancients and a programming language? Who knows...

Either way, we've gone though a bit of a dark age in this generation due to the analogue to digital changeover. Not sure if you've recently tried loading up a digital photo or video from the early 2000s on a modern monitor, but there ain't a lot of information there!

Everyone now has at very least a decade of photographs of their life that are extremely low quality and have absolutely no way of enhancing them like you could do with film from the very conception of analogue photography.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭Stateofyou

A concern is still global cooling. Climate change vs global warming is the proper term, as we all know. There will be different changes in different regions. I studied climate a bit in university. One of my professors was the lead researcher involved with ice core samples and studying them. It is believed that when ice caps, ice sheets, shelfs, icebergs, and Greenland are to all melt, the seawater density changes will disrupt the thermohaline circulation of the ocean; which are currents that carries warm water and air mainly at the equator around the globe. If/when this disrupts, cooler air and water will prevail which could hurl us back towards another ice age. It will cause massive changes in the earth's climate whatever the outcome, not to mention a large degree of sea level rise which brings with it a whole host of problems. Lovely!