Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When did Gemma O Doherty go batshyt crazy?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭klaaaz

Odhinn wrote: »
    Yet a few months ago she seemed grand. Next thing it's John waters, gender stuff and "globalists".

That's what right wingers do, they lie to their audience when seeking power. Luckily in this case, she failed to get nominated so in her eyes she can now show her true colours.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

She once worked for Independent News and Media, and after she was fired she became a darling of the left for a while. Sticking it up to the O’Reillys etc. But she was always a conspiratorial fruitcake by all accounts.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,942 ✭✭✭Odhinn

No, she was fired for serious unprofessional conduct.

"door stepping" callinan was perfectly fair enough - much as his ego might differ - and it was the first sign of hope for his victims over the years.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

I like her a lot. Seems to me like one of the few sane people left along with the likes of Dave Cullen, John Waters and people like that.

The intellectual giants of Ireland.

Who the f uck is Dave Cullen and John Waters in fairness to him wrote every day like Sunday. He obviously also went mad.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

Who the f uck is Dave Cullen and John Waters in fairness to him wrote every day like Sunday. He obviously also went mad.

He's a mighty fine youtuber, possibly the biggest serious youtuber in Ireland. Here's a mostly random example of his videos:

His commentary is often unsurpassed. Great in both presentation and the points he raises, funny as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,086 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

He's a mighty fine youtuber, possibly the biggest serious youtuber in Ireland. Here's a mostly random example of his videos:

His commentary is often unsurpassed. Great in both presentation and the points he raises, funny as well.
    Emmm you sure its not a parody?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

Agreed he really speaks a lot of sense along with Gemma, John Waters and I advice you check another excellent account called the Grand Torino. Much better than any mainstream media dogma.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    She is a hate figure for the PC Left, don't know that much about her but anyone who kitty Holland is at war with, can't be all that bad
    Nah I'm not gonna cut her slack because she annoys people I disagree with. Conspiracy theorists like her who firstly come up with ludicrousness that they will not and cannot support yet who insist it's fact and anyone who questions or refutes them is sheeple - into the Stupid pile. And think of the kind of dullards she attracts.

Similar to John Connor.

I don't mind Dave Cullen - much too obsessed with America though.

Gemma has a lot more credibility than this forum, a popular former moderator from here is in prison for extreme child pornography ffs
    You gonna say who that is? Surely it won't be a problem if it's true? And if it is (which I doubt), how would Boards have known? How would the crime have anything to do with Boards whatsoever?

Therefore how has she got more credibility than Boards?

I hugely agree that an alternative to the bollox peddled by the mainstream media is needed, but lads ye are backing the wrong horse here. She's just as full of bollox - be more critical in your assessment of what she says instead of just rejoicing in the fact that she's socking it to the left or the government. You can do all those things but only if there is substance to what you're saying do you deserve credibility.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,191 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

If you were feeling charitable, you could say that the fairly sudden death of her husband, coming soon after she was fired from The Irish Independent, (he resigned from the paper also ,in support of her) probably has taken a toll on her psychologically.

Her YouTube channel always has a poster of long missing child Mary Boyle displayed on the wall behind her.
    When a relative of the child repeatedly requested it be taken down, she ignored his request.
    He complained to YouTube, who shut her channel down for a day or so.
    Now she has reloaded the videos with the child's face blurred in some ( but not all)
    In her currant videos she has a sheet of A4 over the photo of the child's face, with the word "censored " written on it in marker, but the rest of the poster still displayed.
    It wouldn't kill her to just have taken it down when asked, now it makes her look paranoid and petty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Stephen15 wrote: »

Agreed he really speaks a lot of sense along with Gemma, John Waters and I advice you check another excellent account called the Grand Torino. Much better than any mainstream media dogma.
    Not sure if parody.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,734 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

donaghs wrote: »
    Can't say I agree with all her positions but to say the she (or most people) are "anti-immigration" is a misnomer.
    She appears to be against "open borders".

Rather than allowing immigration, but having a agreed system of who is allowed in, and having checks in place. We have that to some extent. A fairly reasonable position?

The open borders things has gotten a lot more traction due to all the "refugee crisis" stories in recent years.

Wtaf
    She is always ranting against immigration. She's a pure racist.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

How is she making money?

Youtube ads for high views

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    She is a hate figure for the PC Left, don't know that much about her but anyone who kitty Holland is at war with, can't be all that bad

She spotted a gap in the market and people like you are falling for it, hook, line and sinker. She was batshit when she claimed to be on the left, and she's still batshit now that she's cosying up to the far-right.

Who the f uck is Dave Cullen

An extreme far right racist who makes a living from youtube

Terry Pratchet

An extreme far right racist
    No he isn't anywhere near that. He's a conservative/centrist. Not everyone who doesn't agree with everything ludicrously to the left is an extreme far right racist Joey.

There is a vast space in between.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

He's a conservative/centrist.

A centrist? Seriously?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

What opinions make him centrist and what makes him far right?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

An extreme far right racist who makes a living from youtube

You think everybody is racist or displaying some form of bigotry.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

She highlights a lot of issues that nobody else will. I think that's important.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

She highlights a lot of issues that nobody else will. I think that's important.

Yes, the Mary Boyle case and Niall Molloy cases need more attention. But when you start mixing the very serious and tinfoil everything gets tainted with tinfoil.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,663 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

She is a little crazy but does raise important issues.

Mainstream media are completely ignoring the growing crime problem in W and N Dublin by imports, no reporting on 2040 (non paid of course!), Migration Pact, Refugees and shutting down all discussion/concerns by people. Guards no longer give descriptions of those non Irish who commit serious crimes in media appeals. Remember a certain high profile case in D4 before Christmas. The Journal first reported on taxi robberies in W Dublin but in future articles and edited previous ones which described the gang as black africans. The facts of the cases have not changed just blatant censorship portraying non nationals are 100% hard working people....

Then you have the likes of Leo trying to shut down comments on social media because they don't fit with his views.

Instead you are just branded far right.

Leo and co are getting worried with the surging shift on social media. The UK tried to shut down immigration discussion which fueled a massive part of Brexit. It will happen here, rural communities don't want hundreds of refugees, people don't want criminals coming here and Europe accepting migrants from Asia/Africa and even providing a taxi service for them to get here.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,810 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    If you were feeling charitable, you could say that the fairly sudden death of her husband, coming soon after she was fired from The Irish Independent, (he resigned from the paper also ,in support of her) probably has taken a toll on her psychologically.

If I'd married her, I'd have faked my own death.

Life ain't always empty.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,810 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    The UK tried to shut down immigration discussion

They did in their bollocks, they've been talking about little else for years.

Life ain't always empty.

A centrist? Seriously?
    He's going to attract the more extreme elements of the right, yes, and he does use that stupid term sjw a lot, but his points aren't unreasonable. Same with other folk like him - the biggest problem with them is certain fans of theirs.

• Registered Users Posts: 756 ✭✭✭Laneyh

I'd say she would make more money working for more mainstream media. That said she is, in fact, nuts.

She would, but they're not hiring her so she needs to make her own luck.
    She's a bit too out there even for the tabloids
    She also seems to be quick to threaten lawsuits so perhaps that could be a revenue stream

• Registered Users Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

I like her a lot. Seems to me like one of the few sane people left along with the likes of Dave Cullen, John Waters and people like that.

The intellectual giants of Ireland.

Is this where you would up after you watched the Joe Rogan Bigfoot episode?

Honestly, I can't tell if you are serious or not but Dave Cullen is not some intellectual heavyweight. He's just some guy on youtube who watched a bunch of Jordan Peterson and Ben Shapiro videos and repacked their grift into something he could sell to Irish incels.

And John Waters? I get how simpler people can be impressed with big words and pseudo-intellectual waffle but when you understand English words and sentences at a secondary school level, he's less impressive.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,896 ✭✭✭circadian

This thread highlights a great who's who to avoid.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,215 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Stephen15 wrote: »

Grand Torino pushes the QAnon conspiracy. We are truly living in the age of the stupid. Fcuking Idiocracy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Il Fascista

And John Waters? I get how simpler people can be impressed with big words and pseudo-intellectual waffle but when you understand English words and sentences at a secondary school level, he's less impressive.

Well aren't the simple minded lucky to have such enlightened souls as yourself around to tell us how wrong we all are? What would we do without your unbridled condescension? That fact that you make such a post without seeing how much of a pretentious ass it makes you look is telling.