Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

All year residential mobile home parks?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,283 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

brisan wrote: »
    I agree but a well insulated modern mobile home does not come cheap.
    One problem I see is landlords buying cheap ones and renting them out even though they may not be up to standard
    However a well run well maintained park with adequate laundry facilities and a high standard of mobile home / chalet is a good way of addressing a section of the housing crisis. Allow people to get on the lower end of the property market

luckily there is a standard to prove one is properly suited for residential living : BS 3632 :2015 , we have too many laws expecting landlords to be absolute scum , its really simple , make it the law that any home in a residential park has to comply to that standard , and educate potential tenants on asking for the certificate from the manufacturer that says as much, job done.

they may not be cheap-cheap but even a 60k home on a site rented out for 6/700 a month would pay for itself quick.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭brisan

luckily there is a standard to prove one is properly suited for residential living : BS 3632 :2015 , we have too many laws expecting landlords to be absolute scum , its really simple , make it the law that any home in a residential park has to comply to that standard , and educate potential tenants on asking for the certificate from the manufacturer that says as much, job done.

they may not be cheap-cheap but even a 60k home on a site rented out for 6/700 a month would pay for itself quick.

We have too many laws expecting landlords to be absolute scum because many were and many would be if the law allowed
    I can remember some of the bedsits with shared bedrooms being rented out in Rathmines , Rathgar , Drumcondra in the late 70s early 80s
    Landlords never visited , rents left in cash in envelopes in a post box and if you complained you were out on your ear
    Never had to do it myself but know plenty that did
    Even posh areas like Clontarf had slum landlords

We have too many laws expecting landlords to be absolute scum because many were and many would be if the law allowed
    I can remember some of the bedsits with shared bedrooms being rented out in Rathmines , Rathgar , Drumcondra in the late 70s early 80s
    Landlords never visited , rents left in cash in envelopes in a post box and if you complained you were out on your ear
    Never had to do it myself but know plenty that did
    Even posh areas like Clontarf had slum landlords

absolutely, but providing a lot more choice means landlords have to compete for tenants, setting the standards up to astronomical levels only ends up leaving the really ruthless ones in the system.

If you re-allowed bedsits and decent static home parks, you'd have a ready made influx of property to the rental market, which with pressure seriously eased would result in the dregs not having many tenants to appeal to.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,932 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Ish66 wrote: »
    A bit of thought, some extra insulation and a pot belly stove and you could make it very cozy even in the coldest Irish winter.

Considering that the one we have was about 40k when bought new (several years ago), has central heating and is quite modern, I'd hate to see what one that's suitable to live in year round would cost.

Never mind that the extra wear of living it in year round will destroy the floorboards in them.

titan18 wrote: »
    Considering that the one we have was about 40k when bought new (several years ago), has central heating and is quite modern, I'd hate to see what one that's suitable to live in year round would cost.

Never mind that the extra wear of living it in year round will destroy the floorboards in them.

https://www.willerby.com/park-homes/our-range/delamere this is a pretty high end one and seems to run around 70k sterling.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

Wonder what would happen if you arrived at a halting site with a caravan and casually parked up in a free spot. I guess in theory you would be allowed or would you have to give some sort of evidence you were a genuine traveller?

cultural appropriation :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

Ive a friend who lives in one out the back of his parents. Its a nioce big one with 3 bedrooms in it and a large sitting room area.
    We often go down to visit him for a session or a game of cards because we can make as much noise as we want and noone else gets bothered. A few nights after a heavy session some of the lads who live far away even stay the night.

Anyway we've often been there in the winter. He has a 2KW oil filled radiator which keeps the whole van nice and toasty even in the depths of winter. Id say going full blast 24 hours a day that heater wouldnt cost you even €5 per day. And how many months of the year would you need the heating on full blast?

Heating is not a problem in them. So id say yes you can live in them all year round.

• Registered Users Posts: 664 ✭✭✭starbaby2003

600 a month is an ideal amount of rent for a single person or young couple in their own space. It should really be allowed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Are we too fussy in Ireland about the type of house we live in? Surely this sort of build would suit a lot of people. Childless couples/retired couples/single people etc.

80 grand would probably get you finished to a good standard.

Cost of sites is bonkers and would be a hindrance but we could have these type of houses in estates.

8d8ae4_0a73066c4a2d4d84bdbedfd3aad14732~mv2.webp

https://www.timberliving.ie/product-page/leinster-timber-frame

• Registered Users Posts: 9,500 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

correct but in America really cold winters are -10/20 degrees, Many parts of North Carolina have trailer parks and their winters (similar to here) rarely get below -1/-2 at night.

There are perfectly good winter / residential spec static homes available and I think the only reason we don't allow proper liveable mobile home parks is because travellers may try legitimise an illegal halting site.

it would be a great option for low cost accommodation for younger people or those on lower incomes.

winter spec is like 80-100k, just buy a house for that price.

It deosnt really matter if the average is not that bad, its the spikes that will make living in a summer mobile complete torture

2019 -5.9
    2018 -7
    2017 -6.6
    2016 -7.3
    2015 -7.9
    2014 -7.5
    2013 -7.6
    2012 -6.7
    2011 -8.3
    2010 -17.5
    2009 -10.0
    2008 -7.7

• Registered Users Posts: 15,865 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

If only log cabins could meet the building regs etc. They could but there doesn't seem to be much interest in making it so.

I know I've got rose tinted glasses on but they are visually great and if well insulated and comply with the regs could be assembled in two weeks and provide some very nice housing for those who don't need a four bed semi on a housing estate.

The will is not there to do it. Developers and bricks and mortar FTW. I don't understand it myself. I see some amazing log cabins in freezing Scandi countries, and I realise this is because they meet insulation regs. Can be done here too.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,261 ✭✭✭✭ted1

titan18 wrote: »

Floorboards? They have a plyboard base. Hard wearing but easily replaceable

600 a month is an ideal amount of rent for a single person or young couple in their own space. It should really be allowed.

you’d get a house in many counties for that price

• Registered Users Posts: 15,865 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Are we too fussy in Ireland about the type of house we live in? Surely this sort of build would suit a lot of people. Childless couples/retired couples/single people etc.

80 grand would probably get you finished to a good standard.

Cost of sites is bonkers and would be a hindrance but we could have these type of houses in estates.

8d8ae4_0a73066c4a2d4d84bdbedfd3aad14732~mv2.webp

https://www.timberliving.ie/product-page/leinster-timber-frame

Do they meet all the onerous but necessary building regs? Is planning granted easily for them?

They look great, but I think there is resistance to these either from purchaser/council or both I dunno.

And then there is the local needs thing that stops a lot of people from getting planning on a site purchased outside of their own area.

Wonder why councils do not build these (the prices!) on land they own. There must be a catch!

ted1 wrote: »
    you’d get a house in many counties for that price

a second hand house. You wouldn't build a 2 bedroom 1000sq ft (as those static homes are) house for under 100k here using traditional methods. you could easily purchase 5 acres of agri land and put in 15-20 proper winterised, residential spec static homes for under 100k a pop and rent them out at an affordable amount, still leaving people with a lot of green area, space for 2 cars and gardens front and back. Which would be much more ideal for low income workers and young professionals than whats currently on offer.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,824 ✭✭✭enricoh

Was gutting our house n putting on an extension around 4 years ago. We bought a mobile for 2500 delivered and lived in it for the guts of a year. Was in it over a really cold winter and it was no bother but we put in a little stove n it made all the difference. Sold it on after n it cost around under 2k for a years living.

Was too warm at night in the summer more than anything else!

a second hand house. You wouldn't build a 2 bedroom 1000sq ft (as those static homes are) house for under 100k here using traditional methods. you could easily purchase 5 acres of agri land and put in 15-20 proper winterised, residential spec static homes for under 100k a pop and rent them out at an affordable amount, still leaving people with a lot of green area, space for 2 cars and gardens front and back. Which would be much more ideal for low income workers and young professionals than whats currently on offer.

No, but you’d rent one. They aren’t 1000 ss ft

They are approx 36*12=432 sq ft

You would struggle to get permission to put them on agri land and rent them out

I know plenty who lived in mobile homes for a year or two while building a house including myself as new born my first home was a mobile for the first 2.5 years of my life as my parents were building their house. No issues living in them over winter they have central heating.

• Registered Users Posts: 391 ✭✭Orlak2410

You should see the damage done to them after winter storms in areas that aren’t sheltered. They literally get torn apart. It’s just not a safe environment to live in year round.

My parents had one in wexford when I was growing up and it used to be fine when we would go down after the winter. That's where I'm getting the idea from.

You will not find them in areas with really cold winters

Trailer park boys is set in nova scotia and that would get worse winters than us. I know it's a TV show but obviously there are trailer parks there for them to base the show on.

Maybe I have got the ball rolling on a new idea and good solution to the housing crisis

• Registered Users Posts: 5,963 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

I know 5 people who have lived in mobile homes over winter while either saving for a mortgage or while house is being built. One of my mates lived in a mobile home for 4 years in his parents back garden, was in it plenty of times. No issue with cold he had an oil heater in it

• Registered Users Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭Caranica

Orlak2410 wrote: »
    Maybe I have got the ball rolling on a new idea and good solution to the housing crisis

New??? Solution???

Sorry OP but it's neither

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭amadangomor

Do they meet all the onerous but necessary building regs? Is planning granted easily for them?

They look great, but I think there is resistance to these either from purchaser/council or both I dunno.

And then there is the local needs thing that stops a lot of people from getting planning on a site purchased outside of their own area.

Wonder why councils do not build these (the prices!) on land they own. There must be a catch!

They are A rated for energy so presume well built and would meet building regs. The council don't build any houses as far as I'm aware.

Builders would probably be up in arms as they would not make as much profit building these. If lots of them were put up would proably affect the housing market so vested interest wouldn't want that either.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Man with broke phone

60 to 80 grand on a caravan as a solution to the housing crisis is silly.

Either its a caravan salesman or one of them silly people who know nothing but think they can arrive into a room full of specialists with a solution they made up off the top of their heads.

How long will a caravan last. Whats the price on a lot.

How much would a rural 2 bed cottage set you back. How often would that need to be replaced.

60 to 80 grand on a caravan as a solution to the housing crisis is silly.

Either its a caravan salesman or one of them silly people who know nothing but think they can arrive into a room full of specialists with a solution they made up off the top of their heads.

How long will a caravan last. Whats the price on a lot.

How much would a rural 2 bed cottage set you back. How often would that need to be replaced.

Sewage/ septic tank , water, electricity all need to be provided too which add Costs

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Orlak2410 wrote: »

534 posts about mobile homes in A & P stretching back 14 years.

Sorry OP.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,500 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

I know 5 people who have lived in mobile homes over winter while either saving for a mortgage or while house is being built. One of my mates lived in a mobile home for 4 years in his parents back garden, was in it plenty of times. No issue with cold he had an oil heater in it

Mate of mine had one and it was grand when the heating was on. Once it's off at night it was fecking Baltic.

• Administrators Posts: 53,365 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Mate of mine had one and it was grand when the heating was on. Once it's off at night it was fecking Baltic.

Yes, they heat up really quickly, and cool down just as quickly when you turn the heat off.