Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Martial Arts photographic & video thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 525 ✭✭✭da-bres

judo for peace video is fantastic!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

dude basically pulls guard and arm bars some bloke at 2:36 :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

just for giggles, give it a few minutes :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 roastpotato

i have another youtube link here to a video the same crowd from the dcu media society made in portmarnock just before the judo for peace event.... was a great night i have to say... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LsnnOfe0kGo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 bujinkanjiyu

25500_1304790671716_1589001386_709573_7692576_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭ Charley Screeching Sweeper

Moi!..

Tattoo.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Lamacchi

My shodan exam last June (karate shotokan)
    1st photo Yokogheri
    2nd photo Anko Azato exerci
    3rd photo the final prize and the black belt!

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

You got a blonde AND a cake??? coool..... :) (I kid, congrats and well done)!

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Lamacchi

DeVore wrote: »
    You got a blonde AND a cake??? coool..... :) (I kid, congrats and well done)!

DeV.

I'm "the blonde"...

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Charlie3dan

At Gichin Funakoshi's Monument in Kamakura.

I was trying to copy the famous Pic of Kanazawa Sensei.......

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭Johnick

Chris Bowe from Waterford, winning the British BJJ open for a 2nd year in a row against Matt Steven's, former England Rugby international.

Some finish :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

Fair play to Chris Bowe, nice sub and no disrespect but I thought Matt Stevens was very slow:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 322 ✭✭j walsh

Fair play to you Chris, well done, up the Deise !!!!!!!

2010 IJF Dusseldorf Judo Highlights

After the recent IJF rule change regarding leg grabs you can see how Hashbaatar (Mongolia) gets around the double leg grab rule by using an above the waist hug instead.

http://www.blip.tv/file/3411803/

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭gregmarah

well done to all involved for last night event , some cracking fights , Heres some of the great pics taken from last night.... Alot more to view on our Sitjaipetch facebook page
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Sitjai...k/277986699833

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭gregmarah

more pics

To this photo (from earlier in the thread)...

tt.jpg

The lad on the ground is Tommy O'Hara, Tommy is 70yrs old and recently told me that in over 40yrs working for C.I.E. and Dublin Bus (obviously Tommy is retired now) he's been off sick for only 3 days!!!.. And its been 37yrs since he last seen a doctor due to illness or injury!.

Oh, and he boasts that he's never had a needle or a stitch!.

And for insider info from me, I can't remember him missing a night training!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

The lad on the ground is Tommy O'Hara, Tommy is 70yrs old and recently told me that in over 40yrs working for C.I.E. and Dublin Bus (obviously Tommy is retired now) he's been off sick for only 3 days!!!.. And its been 37yrs since he last seen a doctor due to illness or injury!.

Apologies if chatting not allowed.
    Does he still train and spar as hard as younger guys would?

MaybeLogic wrote: »
    Apologies if chatting not allowed.
    Does he still train and spar as hard as younger guys would?

OK good question.

He trains as hard, and spar's as hard - but not for as long as he'll admit himself that his recovery rate isn't what it once was.

But on the ground he's superb, and hard as nails.

In the photo he's just getting up from a Seoi nage (shoulder throw).

Honestly, do you like the photo?.

At first glance, he looks a bit vulnerable, with the guy looking down at him so relaxed looking. Then you notice he still has that warriors look of determination etched all over his face. Puts most younger people to shame that he still has that spirit and continues to train as hard.
    Good snapshot.

MaybeLogic wrote: »
    At first glance, he looks a bit vulnerable, with the guy looking down at him so relaxed looking. Then you notice he still has that warriors look of determination etched all over his face. Puts most younger people to shame that he still has that spirit and continues to train as hard.
    Good snapshot.

Well if your ever in Dublin and got an hour to spend your more than welcome to drop in and say "Hi" to us all, and if you get Tommy or John yapping about Martial Arts, well their stories are worth more money than every book on the subject you'll ever buy.

Appreciated. I'll do that sometime.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭rom

gregmarah wrote: »
    well done to all involved for last night event , some cracking fights , Heres some of the great pics taken from last night.... Alot more to view on our Sitjaipetch facebook page
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Sitjai...k/277986699833

The last one sure is

The size of the dog in the fight!.

29055_402978064268_791679268_4040231_7306911_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭deegs

Here are a few from our clubs recent promo shoot at UCC.
    They are not mine so they are not on my flickr.
    Credits to Linda Curtain, Director and Shane Scollard, photographer.
    And of course, the senior members of Cork Budokai kendo club :)

31438_1438794447188_1152836871_1293807_4042551_n.jpg

31438_1438794847198_1152836871_1293817_753836_n.jpg

31438_1438795847223_1152836871_1293840_321263_n.jpg

31438_1438796967251_1152836871_1293867_1486095_n.jpg

31438_1438797727270_1152836871_1293884_6492616_n.jpg

31438_1438797807272_1152836871_1293886_6468383_n.jpg

31438_1438798047278_1152836871_1293891_4068213_n.jpg

Great photos Deegs.

I love Kendo.

Spectacular style.

• Registered Users Posts: 436 ✭✭eeyore2502

Deegs, fab shots.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

Those kendo lads look as serious as morticians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭flynny51

This is just something we threw together for the website a while back but lost the original. Finally managed to rip it from Facebook and get it on youtube.

Some photos from last weekends annual Celtic Championships held out in Portmarnock Judo Club.

attachment.php?attachmentid=116859&stc=1&d=1276455269

attachment.php?attachmentid=116860&stc=1&d=1276455314

attachment.php?attachmentid=116861&stc=1&d=1276455619

I'll have the rest just as soon as I get permission from the photographer who took the photos.

**Just got permission**.

Here's the link to his flickr account, some absolutely top class photography here.