Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Right Wing Grifters

• Registered Users Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

20Cent wrote: »
    Not really.
    Has she claimed anything remotely close to his conspiracy theories or even much to do with politics at all?

Your thread, your title, and you don't even know what he word 'grifter' means.

:o

• Registered Users Posts: 8,934 ✭✭✭20Cent

Tommy Robinson making a lot of money peddling hatred.
    He's convicted conman yet still gets a lot of support.

Paul Joseph Watson similar.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

Tommy Robinson making a lot of money peddling hatred.
    He's convicted conman yet still gets a lot of support.

Paul Joseph Watson similar.

Nobody's perfect.

Tommy Robinson said a lot of things about Muslim Grooming Gangs that the tiresome leftie commentariat instinctively freaked out about.

Turns out he was right, though. As some high-profile left politicians indirectly confirmed, being no longer able to deny.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Really trying to sell this Gweneth Paltrow is the left wing equivalent of Alex Jones thing. Admire the persistence but not really working out.

http://www.infowarsshop.com/-Health-Wellness_c_63.html

https://shop.goop.com/shop/collection/wellness?country=USA

The prosecution rests your honor...

sabat wrote: »

They both sell stuff.
    Amazon and Alex Jones are the exact same as well then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

I asked who the left wing Alex Jones is.

The rubber bandits and some actor/poet???

I cant bear people like PJW or Gemma or such - they have a mean, cold weirdness and paranoia. Wouldnt listen to them. Alex Jones is unbearable, looks to be on the verge of an aneurysm. Stephan Molyneaux is an arrogant prick who imagines misogyny is intelligence..
    Etc
    The left wing version of the conspiracy right are the neurotic uber progressives. I cannot think of one person but Im sure examples exist. However Youtube is packed with videos from people in their teens, Im talking 15 to 17, posting manic celebrations of their top surgery, even videologues of their vaginoplasty at 17. Unboxing testosterone or estrogen as early teenagers. Wailing videos as they go through hormonal ups and downs. Instagram and facebook has proud trans moms pimping out their preteens in provocative poses. Major mainstream news and hoards of social media accounts laud and go weak for the awesome drag kids. If you do not think there is equivalent insanity in the HARD SJW camp, people whose minds have perverted reason, you are just being willfully blind.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,805 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

20Cent wrote:
    They both sell stuff. Amazon and Alex Jones are the exact same as well then.

Amazon and Alex Jones, there's a bit of a difference there! Who the fcuk could even listen to jones, it's just drivel

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Das Reich

There is an United Statian program where a very effeminate man with virtually absent testosterone brings to his country an older Brazilian woman that was married before and have kids already. Basically those men can't find woman from his own country despite having good jobs. Now look at his cousin, much more masculine, with an woman from his country. Easy to tell who between them two who probably have right wings views and who is left wings.

https://youtu.be/ZVAttBtJSNQ

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭KyussB

Look at the home page of the Guardian any given day, and see if you can avoid your face imploding, through cringing at the 'feminist with a clickbaity opinion' type articles.

Feminism/egalitarianism is important and all, but it's been partially hijacked with enormous amounts of bullshit, and the Guardian is one of the worst for cashing in on putting out shite like that.

Gynoid wrote: »
    I cant bear people like PJW or Gemma or such - they have a mean, cold weirdness and paranoia. Wouldnt listen to them. Alex Jones is unbearable, looks to be on the verge of an aneurysm. Stephan Molyneaux is an arrogant prick who imagines misogyny is intelligence..
    Etc
    The left wing version of the conspiracy right are the neurotic uber progressives. I cannot think of one person but Im sure examples exist. However Youtube is packed with videos from people in their teens, Im talking 15 to 17, posting manic celebrations of their top surgery, even videologues of their vaginoplasty at 17. Unboxing testosterone or estrogen as early teenagers. Wailing videos as they go through hormonal ups and downs. Instagram and facebook has proud trans moms pimping out their preteens in provocative poses. Major mainstream news and hoards of social media accounts laud and go weak for the awesome drag kids. If you do not think there is equivalent insanity in the HARD SJW camp, people whose minds have perverted reason, you are just being willfully blind.

Just you can't think of any at the moment.

Das Reich wrote: »
    There is an United Statian program where a very effeminate man with virtually absent testosterone brings to his country an older Brazilian woman that was married before and have kids already. Basically those men can't find woman from his own country despite having good jobs. Now look at his cousin, much more masculine, with an woman from his country. Easy to tell who between them two who probably have right wings views and who is left wings.

https://youtu.be/ZVAttBtJSNQ

Em ok.

KyussB wrote: »
    Look at the home page of the Guardian any given day, and see if you can avoid your face imploding, through cringing at the 'feminist with a clickbaity opinion' type articles.

Feminism/egalitarianism is important and all, but it's been partially hijacked with enormous amounts of bullshit, and the Guardian is one of the worst for cashing in on putting out shite like that.

The Guardian is not the equivalent to f Alex Jones though is it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

Just you can't think of any at the moment.

I gave a load of examples. Cant you read?

By the way propaganda comes in different forms - iconoclasts, ravers with a camera and editing package, sandwich board bearers, glossy adverts, movies, large newspapers, and so on. It is naive and dangerous to think otherwise.
    Read Ordinary Men, a book about regular ordinary good guys who got turned into cold murdering psychopaths by the Nazi machine. They used film, newspaper, mainstream channels to propagandise, so that ordinary people did not even realise what was happening to them.
    You are completely wrong to imagine there is only lunacy on one side right now

Calling people you don't agree with grifters comes across as the name-calling of someone who has lost the argument,.

This sort of terminology/obvious name-calling will do you no good..

Why are you still so caught up in the (so last century) left right paradigm?..
    Can you not recognize that there might be elements of truth on both sides? .

Gynoid wrote: »
    I gave a load of examples. Cant you read?

By the way propaganda comes in different forms - iconoclasts, ravers with a camera and editing package, sandwich board bearers, glossy adverts, movies, large newspapers, and so on. It is naive and dangerous to think otherwise.
    Read Ordinary Men, a book about regular ordinary good guys who got turned into cold murdering psychopaths by the Nazi machine. They used film, newspaper, mainstream channels to propagandise, so that ordinary people did not even realise what was happening to them.
    You are completely wrong to imagine there is only lunacy on one side right now

I can read you don't name a single one in your post.

The Guardian is not the equivalent to f Alex Jones though is it.
    It isn't, no - but what's the criteria? Is it bad when it's some smaller-scale/independent blogger or such - and then ok when it's a mainstream/'politically-acceptable' newspaper?

I don't see why mainstream outlets are so quickly overlooked like that - if anything, they should be held to much harsher scrutiny than smaller outlets.

Calling people you don't agree with grifters comes across as the name-calling of someone who has lost the argument,.

This sort of terminology/obvious name-calling will do you no good..

Why are you still so caught up in the (so last century) left right paradigm?..
    Can you not recognize that there might be elements of truth on both sides? .

I believe them to be insincere and peddling hate and division for money. They don't care about truth or reality just framing everything in a way their audience wants to hear in order to make money. What do you call someone like Alex Jones?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,545 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

David Pakman's youtube channel.

KyussB wrote: »
    It isn't, no - but what's the criteria? Is it bad when it's some smaller-scale/independent blogger or such - and then ok when it's a mainstream/'politically-acceptable' newspaper?

I don't see why mainstream outlets are so quickly overlooked like that - if anything, they should be held to much harsher scrutiny than smaller outlets.

A newspaper will have a bias or whatever but they don't generally report that school shootings are government conspiracies and the victims are all actors. Totally different to advocating for gay rights or trans bathrooms or things like that.

osarusan wrote: »
    David Pakman's youtube channel.

Throw up a video of him saying something wildly untrue for money then.

A newspaper will have a bias or whatever but they don't generally report that school shootings are government conspiracies and the victims are all actors. Totally different to advocating for gay rights or trans bathrooms or things like that.
    They've done worse - uncritically regurgitate propaganda aboit WMD's, Russia/Putin, even made up ridiculous conspiracies about Assange in the case of the Guardian (that Paul Manafort secretly met him, when he was still in the then most surveilled building in the UK...).

People like Alex Jones will only convince idiots. Mainstream outlets can pass the grossly non-credible, as credible among the wider public - making them far more dangerous - with actual real-world/geopolitical consequences, that we have witnessed.

I believe them to be insincere and peddling hate and division for money. They don't care about truth or reality just framing everything in a way their audience wants to hear in order to make money. What do you call someone like Alex Jones?

They are probably not insincere. It's very convenient that you pick Alex Jones. He's more out there than most..he did some proper journalism back in the day though..Jon Ronson would never have published that book if it weren't for Alex Jones. The equivalent on the left have been given more of a platform, and been pushed as pseudo intellectual socio pol chick lit for a while..

Like, is Blind boy a grifter?..Is Louise o Neill a grifter?.. genuine question..in your opinion do they fall under your definition of it?

It's different perspectives dude..

Although I don't expect you to be able to understand that because of the reptilian controlling your mind..

• Registered Users Posts: 33,613 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Excellent fishing expedition OP

It literally catches all the usual suspects who claim not to be alt right into giving out about this faux left bogeyman. Only took a few posts to pull one

Amazing the same folks claim not to be alt right but spend their time traipsing through or creating daily immigration threads , anything to do with social welfare, and don't even mention things like the climate.

This thread made me laugh.

They are probably not insincere. It's very convenient that you pick Alex Jones. He's more out there than most..he did some proper journalism back in the day though..Jon Ronson would never have published that book if it weren't for Alex Jones. The equivalent on the left have been given more of a platform, and been pushed as pseudo intellectual socio pol chick lit for a while..

Like, is Blind boy a grifter?..Is Louise o Neill a grifter?.. genuine question..in your opinion do they fall under your definition of it?

It's different perspectives dude..

Although I don't expect you to be able to understand that because of the reptilian controlling your mind..

Who does blind boy and Louise O,'Neill pour hate onto for monetary gain?

They're pushing ideology for monetary gain..

What ideology are they pushing and who are they hating on?

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭GreenandRed

Oh I see, you think the Democrats and their supporters in the US are 'left wing'?

God love ye.

Left wing for Americans. It's easy to be left wing when you have money in the bank.

Can anyone throw up some videos or links to left wing version of this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

There's a 'documentary' series called Explained on Netflix. There's an episode about cults. They're talking about the Jonestown massacre and the Heavens Gate cult. Then out of nowhere they go into this weird rant about Donald Trump because apparently Trump supporters are in a cult too. They somehow make a tenuous link between cults, Trump and recent mass shootings by white people. There's another episode where they're talking about how computer coding works. This airhead explains that if you do a Google search for the word 'party' you'll find loads of pictures of Asians and white people partying because that's the race of most programmers, therefore more people from ethnic minorities and women need to start coding.

I'd consider this kind of nonsense the left wing equivalent of Paul Joseph Watson. This series is made by a company called Vox who have their own YouTube channel. Here's a video where they explain how colour film couldn't reproduce black peoples skin, not because of any technical limitations, but because of racism.

There's loads more shite like this on Netflix too. Pretty much any documentary they produce themselves has some biased angle.

I can't be arsed trying to have a discussion with you.. It's like banging your head off a wall..

Jung said "people don't have ideas, ideas have people".. It's a question of cognitive biases..

You really are doing the cause no good calling those you disagree with names though..