Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Wild Mountain Thyme - Jamie Dornan & Emily Blunt

• Registered Users Posts: 24,302 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

wakka12 wrote: »
    Goodness me, can this be a real movie? And such a major cast OMG what were their agents all thinking some kind of collective lapse of common sense in hollywood?

Whatever about the other's accents wtf is jamie dornan doing this man is from ireland. You'd think he never visited the island before going by his attempt an irish accent

I think he got the accent right and I would know more lads sound like that then people with Dornans normal voice.

This movie will probably make a bucket load as softcore porn for international fans Normal People and Fleabag. Having lived abroad for years I'm for any movie that gets women wantin to hop up on an ugly yoke like me just cause he sounds like some TV priest or one of the Weasleys

• Registered Users Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭SusanC10

For some reason, that Trailer made me laugh so much - haven't laughed so much at something since pre-Pandemic !
    Looking forward to watching this with a few glasses of Wine.

SusanC10 wrote: »
    For some reason, that Trailer made me laugh so much - haven't laughed so much at something since pre-Pandemic !
    Looking forward to watching this with a few glasses of Wine.

Make a drinking game out of it like Darby O Gill

• Registered Users Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Addle

CastorTroy wrote: »
    Sure my parents still have that type of phone, as I'm sure loads of others do.

I never knew I wanted to hear Christopher Walken attempt an Irish accent until now.

Parodies not taking long
    https://twitter.com/FoilArmsAndHog/status/1326453562516385792

Ah criost an siol. Hilarious song choice.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,720 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Straight to Hallmark Channel or whatever tv hell they send this crap to these days.

Addle wrote: »
    Ah criost an siol. Hilarious song choice.

Oh man even better when you Google it. You get a version by "The Priests" that looks like something out of Father Ted

Also have a look for the original play and Debra Messings accent

• Registered Users Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

breezy1985 wrote: »
    Oh man even better when you Google it. You get a version by "The Priests" that looks like something out of Father Ted

Also have a look for the original play and Debra Messings accent

I googled and when I saw the image I immediately thought it was from Father Ted. Only you mentioned it was The Priests that I looked again.

CastorTroy wrote: »
    I googled and when I saw the image I immediately thought it was from Father Ted. Only you mentioned it was The Priests that I looked again.

I keep thinking the background is gonna burst open like the Rugged Island Eurovision song.

If someone had told me there was a band named The Priests I would never have thought they were actually priests

• Registered Users Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

Ders more to Oirland den dis

Ah, the Priests have been around a while. Though looking now, I thought they were before 2008. Usually see/hear them being mentioned around this time of year, for some reason. :)

El Rifle wrote: »
    Sometimes I think we don't realise how the accents in the irish countryside really sound. Take for example these boys in the Dail , whom if anyone from outside the island was watching might think some these guys slept in the fields.

Im pretty sure I've heard Irish people living in Ireland with far worse accents then those in that trailer!

i think there's a big difference between strong and varied irish accents (nobody has ever denied this) and made up/poorly researched accent efforts that dont actually exist

this trailer is full of the latter

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 35,941 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Jeez, what do they have on Emily Blunt that she's in this? She seemed cannier and in higher demand than this - unless this is like Underwater and was shot years ago, simply moulding on the shelf.

Jamie Dornan keeps appearing in total crap, guy seems a good actor but must have a terrible agent.

i think there's a big difference between strong and varied irish accents (nobody has ever denied this) and made up/poorly researched accent efforts that dont actually exist

this trailer is full of the latter

I've never in my life had a good thing to say about Martin or FF but ide vote for him after seeing him tell that other fool to cop on

• Registered Users Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

does Walken dance at some point, that's the important question.

loyatemu wrote: »

He'll dance with the tinkers daughter

• Registered Users Posts: 11,262 ✭✭✭✭jester77

It was a struggle to make it to the end of that trailer.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭santana75

The only saving grace is that they didnt force Don Draper to eh, Don an Irish Accent. Normally love Emily blunt, but this looks horrendous.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,146 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

What's Doran thinking for A. that accent of his, B. not telling the cast how stupid their accents are and WTFing the director, and C, basically questioning the whole bloody thing.
    Is he getting enough money to quietly laugh to himself and dialling it in. But that doesn't even make sense given how he'll be received as a result anyway.
    Maybe with him being from the north he's on an Orange Order mission to undermine and laugh at the Republic.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Why is an Irish man putting on an Irish accent?

id say that since fifty shades dornan is phoning in whatever work pays, hes got a good professional attitude that way

his work in the fall and the siege of jadotville alone shows he can both act and do a tricky accent if called for

Emily Blunt is a decent actor no?

This must have had a solid budget for actors' pay

• Registered Users Posts: 10,146 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

id say that since fifty shades dornan is phoning in whatever work pays, hes got a good professional attitude that way

his work in the fall and the siege of jadotville alone shows he can both act and do a tricky accent if called for

Yeah, he can turn in good performances, but his work ethic and standards must be decent enough to not turn in such a bizarre performance, unless directed to be more Leprechaun-y.

Also what's with her face?

Did they slap on some fake tan so as to make her look like she doesn't wash her face?

You know, like all normal country womenfolk!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,520 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Was his accent in Siege of Jadotville not a bit ropey as well?
    Its a few years since I've seen it but have a feeling it was.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭Acosta

yabadabado wrote: »
    Was his accent in Siege of Jadotville not a bit ropey as well?
    Its a few years since I've seen it but have a feeling it was.

Yes it was. He can't do a authentic sounding southern accent just as many down south can't do a good northern accent.

I thought it was a sketch for the first minute or so.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭touts

It's not cool for them to take use false stereotypes to the piss out of people of Asian or African descent any more. But Hollywood don't know any better. Hence this steaming pile of dung and the equally bad "Emily in Paris". Expect they will work their way through the whole EU over the next few years.

santana75 wrote: »
    The only saving grace is that they didnt force Don Draper to eh, Don an Irish Accent.

They were already Walken a fine line without adding that to the mix

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,924 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

pixelburp wrote: »
    Jeez, what do they have on Emily Blunt that she's in this? She seemed cannier and in higher demand than this - unless this is like Underwater and was shot years ago, simply moulding on the shelf.

Jamie Dornan keeps appearing in total crap, guy seems a good actor but must have a terrible agent.

I assumed at first this was something that was shot about 10 years ago and was only getting a release now because there's nothing new to release. Then I saw it was only filmed late last year!
    I'm shocked at Blunt, to be honest. Dornan, not so much. I don't think he's a very good actor to be honest. People loved him in The Fall but I think that role just suited his extreme lack of facial expressions and monotone delivery.

Anyway, this smells big time of Leap Year. Another Oirish film where Ireland was made to look like it was permanently stuck in the 1950s.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭Acosta

Emily Blunt is versatile in fairness

loyatemu wrote: »

Will it be a jig. Maybe we'll get a céilí