Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you personally know anybody working in a generally hated job?

• 21-09-2020 10:41pm
    Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭

Im talking about jobs such as traffic wardens (meter maid in US), customs checkpoint operative, speed van operative, basically a job that generally requires low enough IQ to perform menial tasks and issue pesky fines to the general public.

Some of these type people are petty in general and get a slight kick out of catching out a member of public, (they get to wear a hat that makes them kinda looks like a cop)

Anyway staying with the original question, I dont personally know anyone in them roles, and knowbody else I ask seems to either. Not a job you'd like to tell everybody about I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,782 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Im talking about jobs such as traffic wardens (meter maid in US), customs checkpoint operative, speed van operative, basically a job that generally requires low enough IQ to perform menial tasks and issue pesky fines to the general public.

Some of these type people are petty in general and get a slight kick out of catching out a member of public, (they get to wear a hat that makes them kinda looks like a cop)

Anyway staying with the original question, I dont personally know anyone in them roles, and knowbody else I ask seems to either. Not a job you'd like to tell everybody about I suppose.

Traffic wardens and those speed camera guys are needed in fairness, even with them around you still have morons who park anywhere they like and drive at crazy speeds, imagine what these morons would do it you didnt have anyone enforcing the law.

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Mules

I knew an airport security guard who acted like a bit of a fascist. He wasn't one of the proper ones with guns. He just walked around Shannon airport giving out to people:D
    Anyway he enjoyed the bit of power he had.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

My brother is an investment banker.

He likes to keep that quiet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭inthenip

OH FFS, Its people with low IQs is why these jobs are needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

I dont understand the hate towards speed camera's, if youre not speeding theyre nothing to worry about, if anything we need more speed cameras, Id actually appreciate if there where road cameras to catch all different kinds of dangerous driving. I was almost in a collision today after a car pulled out of a junction right onto the main road without even looking, realised his mistake and stopped in the middle of the f'cking road. If I had been driving any bit over the speed limit I wouldnt have had time to react, I would have went straight into the side of him.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,836 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

I’m one. I tell people I’m a Web Developer, which I was, but actually I’m now (shudders) middle management.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Man with broke phone

I know someone who works in Irish water and he takes a few days off sick every 2 weeks. Depression.

I know a couple of teachers that planned maternity leave so as not to mess with summer holiday entitlements.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

How else do you enforce the laws of speeding and making life difficult for others? How else do you try to control smuggling?

Yeah I know this bloke. He's a police officer. The pesky bastard prevents me from shoplifting and defecating in the street after I've assaulted someone during a pub crawl. What a dick, he is.

Don't get me wrong, I hate little mini-Hitlers like those chimps in American airports who work for the DHS or FSA and get a chubby over fucking iwth decent people just trying to get on a plane and get the hell out of that pathetic 4th world country. They take their break at McDonald's and yap about whose wife they made cry and missed her flight back to Bangalore but by and large traffic wardens are not abusing you, nor are speed camera people.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Did a stint as a Social Welfare Inspector for a bit. After knowing them for 30 years, I'd have lads down the local speaking in hushed tones when I was around.

Work away lads, I'm out for a pint, I don't give a **** what ye're up to.

People who are expert at delegating responsibility, and claiming all the credit at a much higher pay packet than their hard-working underlings.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭nthclare

People who are expert at delegating responsibility, and claiming all the credit at a much higher pay packet than their hard-working underlings.

Absolutely, I've seen it and silos are very common in the workplace too.

But I think covid 19 is starting to thin them out, there's a lot of people in fluff jobs getting caught out playing with their mouse at home over the last few months.

In all fairness I'm a tree surgeon and can touch type without looking at the keyboard, there's some right numpties who take up day's in the office getting well paid and I can bang out a report in 4 minutes that takes some people an hour to get a few paragraphs.

Mavis beacon an ecdl course and a degree in psychology served me well while I was off work for a few year's from 99 to 2005 due to a horrific car crash.

As for people's social skills and behaviour in the work environment these days mixed with their lack of awareness, I can see how there's a lot of stress in the cooperative world.

It stinks, give me a chainsaw, rake's and a few forks and a lonely wood any day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭nthclare

Mules wrote: »
    I knew an airport security guard who acted like a bit of a fascist. He wasn't one of the proper ones with guns. He just walked around Shannon airport giving out to people:D
    Anyway he enjoyed the bit of power he had.

I think I know who you're on about, the loon used to stop us fishing off the boathouse at the pier in Shannon Airport, he'd drive down from the airport in his airport police car, walk over like a guard and fck us off.

I fished beside him at a fishing competition in the late 90's and he knew my dad, he was mortified but the next time he caught us fishing the boathouse he just said be careful lad's :)

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Mules

nthclare wrote: »
    I think I know who you're on about, the loon used to stop us fishing off the boathouse at the pier in Shannon Airport, he'd drive down from the airport in his airport police car, walk over like a guard and fck us off.

I fished beside him at a fishing competition in the late 90's and he knew my dad, he was mortified but the next time he caught us fishing the boathouse he just said be careful lad's :)
    That sounds like him alright :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

I operate a fleet of mobile car crushers. I’m the person the traffic warden calls when they encounter a car illegally parked and blocking traffic. Or when a Garda stops an uninsured driver or an accompanied learner driver.

My invoice goes to the car owner. Love my job.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,261 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I know someone who works in Irish water and he takes a few days off sick every 2 weeks. Depression.

I know a couple of teachers that planned maternity leave so as not to mess with summer holiday entitlements.

Sure you do.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,283 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

One of my lifelong best mates (We've known each other since we started primary school at 4!) is a Garda Detective.

Great lad but jeez does that job take it's toll on you and the abuse he's gotten over the years from all walks of life is insane. I'm convinced he's going to end up like Riggs from Lethal weapon!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I can't speak for the other roles but you're having a laugh with customs. The amount of tact and people skills it takes to do that job, you're dealing with people who are potentially criminal and you have to manage your interaction with them in a very subtle way. You might also be finding stuff that is quite harrowing: people - sometimes deceased, animals, drugs, pornography.....

Not a low IQ job at all, far from it.

• Registered Users Posts: 845 ✭✭✭duffysfarm

became friends with an elderly woman who works in compliance in the Revenue Commissioners through a mutual friend. She is gas craic- is getting work done on her house and told the builder she wants a cash price and doesnt want to pay vat!

• Registered Users Posts: 21,078 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Know a lad who works as a debt collector for a utility company. He volunteers / works a bit for a charity as well, incredibly nice guy and he usually leads with the charity job when asked.

Turns out most of the outstanding debt are people who have passed away.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,678 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Im talking about jobs such as traffic wardens (meter maid in US), customs checkpoint operative, speed van operative, basically a job that generally requires low enough IQ

You looking for a job?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

I used to work in a part-time job when I was younger with a lady who 'a job in the civil service' - *ends discussion* as her main job. It was only when I got to know her better that she told me she was working for CAB, hence all the secrecy - not generally hated, but hated among a select group you would not be keen on meeting.

Another lady told on the same job me she worked for the Dept of Social Welfare in some suburban office, but had previously worked in one of the big labour exchanges in the centre of Dublin, and hated it - she told me stories of some criminal livid at being obliged to sign on - told her that he had a price on his head, unbuttoned his jacket to show her that he was wearing a bullet-proof vest.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,992 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

This is common.

However, it seems nothing to do with the title of this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,440 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Know a guy who worked for one of the big four accounting firms.

His job was to go in at night when employees were at home, assess the books and wind up the company, preferably paying out as little money as possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,379 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Why would he be depressed because of work?

IW does good work and is needed. The controversy is in how it's funded. Now done through general taxation for most.

So why people still hate them is beyond me.

Also, if the person you know is really out all the time due to depression then he should seek help and HR would get involved with that level of sick leave.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

Unclamping cars must be fun.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I work in Health and Safety. I'm pretty much hated by both management and employees. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 6,587 ✭✭✭Feisar

Unclamping cars must be fun.

I got clamped in a poorly marked coaches bay on Hanover St a couple of years ago. I was there early enough so there was ample parking about plus I had my ticket so it was an honest mistake. Although as I said it was poorly marked. The funny part was a bus driver blowing me out of it. Eh I'm clamped, what exactly are you expecting me to do. I did go over to him to engage in some cordial dialogue however he was disinclined to parley. My angry/sex face can be a bit intense looking.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Man with broke phone

murpho999 wrote: »
    Why would he be depressed because of work?

IW does good work and is needed. The controversy is in how it's funded. Now done through general taxation for most.

So why people still hate them is beyond me.

Also, if the person you know is really out all the time due to depression then he should seek help and HR would get involved with that level of sick leave.

I think he just pulls the depression card, he is always depressed on the days his wife is off and they go out for lunch together or what have you.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,836 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

El Tarangu wrote: »
    I used to work in a part-time job when I was younger with a lady who 'a job in the civil service' - *ends discussion* as her main job.

My wife does something similar (for different reasons). She works for a County Council, but will never say that when asked. She'll just mention the general area of IT she works in - which could just as easily be in the private sector.

If she mentions the Co. Co., she immediately has people complaining about planning, or the streetlight that doesn't work down the road, or just assuming that she's in line for a massive pension she doesn't have to contribute to (which is not the case).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭wally1990

I worked in eflows debt collection department for 4 years dealing with unpaid tolls ranging from 200e to >100k balances plus legal cases that were being taken ........

Feel free to absolutely hate me