Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Beggars knocking on front doors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Why do you think CCTV adds security?
    It doesn't.

A CCTV and padlock only keep out honest people, a shot gun keeps out everyone else.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,415 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    Yeah it immediately reminded me of Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy, for some reason.

Reminds me more of this

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Edgware wrote: »
    Reference to "the Tan War" is the giveaway. Usual bar stool Provo bull ****

Sorry darling, War of Independence, is that nice and sanitised for you?

El Tarangu wrote: »
    "This week, on things that never happened..."

Sure did, the neighbour heard the shots and came out to see what the fuss was about.

That's how my Grandmother found out.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

Sorry darling, War of Independence, is that nice and sanitised for you?
    Good. Now back to your bar stool.

• Registered Users Posts: 32 MaryLouMacari

A bucket of ice cold water out a first floor window on top of them would learn them.

Or, better still, the contents of the chamber pot (if not already emptied) from under the bed :D.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

There was a knock at the back door.
    I opened it.
    It was a tramp, very dishevelled.
    Can I have a piece of cake?
    Why?
    It's my birthday. I'm an old soldier.
    Were you at the front?
    I was, but no one answered.

(any excuse to retell it :o)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

It happened a lot when I was growing up in Dublin (donaghmede) in the 1980s ...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Theres people sleeping on the streets, they seem to be mostly under the age of 30.
    Even homeless people dress in a similar way to anyone else .
    All around the city centre there are beggar,s .they sit on the ground with a cup for people to put money in .

Edgware wrote: »
    Good. Now back to your bar stool.

Right you are Blueshirt.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,356 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

I am amazed it is still happening, when we were children travlers use to come begging but my mother would have known them, what she would have called respectable travelers and they were always given something.

• Registered Users Posts: 984 ✭✭✭kg703

Weirdly enough this happened me in 2018 & 2019 and we moved into our house in 2017. Door went, man, pretty thin and rough looking asks is my dad home (HA). Tell him laughing my dad doesnt live here so he asked for the man of the house. At this point I'm annoyed so I say you are looking at him (I'm female, have a husband but still). He then tells me how the man who lives here regularly gives him money - the older man he says. I tell him he's gone more than a year and the guy at the door says oh I've been in hospital for a while I didnt know..... can you give me money? I tell him sorry, no I'm not in a position to do that. He starts getting a bit funny and saying weird things like nice house you managed to get yourself here, hope you dont have to look after it all by yourself etc. Rang the guards when he left, they said they knew who I was talking about and not to worry about him.

He came back a year later, exact same thing looking for the older man in the house for money. This time he got my husband at the door who told him not to come back.

Should be around this time of year Im expecting a knock :D Was a bit frightening the first time, I felt he might be making thin threats at me or was casing the house but we havent been robbed yet so fingers crossed!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,557 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Used to get travellers calling to the family home looking for money or food growing up in Castleknock in the 80s, my mum would usually give them something but if they were unlucky to get my dad he would tell them to p*ss off.

Hardly anyone calls to my door these days. Beggars seem to be outside most large suburban grocery supermarkets these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

DON'T ANSWER THE DOOR....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

Sure did, the neighbour heard the shots and came out to see what the fuss was about.

That's how my Grandmother found out.

I'm not a history expert or anything, but it would be pretty unusual for quartermaster to let a volunteer hang on to valuable piece of inventory as a souvenir, and for said volunteer to start firing volleys off at passersby for the craic.

I'm sure you are recounting the story in earnest, but I wouldn't go believing everything that's handed down to you.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

I'm not a history expert or anything, but it would be pretty unusual for quartermaster to let a volunteer hang on to valuable piece of inventory as a souvenir, and for said volunteer to start firing volleys off at passersby for the craic.

I'm sure you are recounting the story in earnest, but I wouldn't go believing everything that's handed down to you.

There isn't a revolver in every loft however there are bits and bobs up and down the country.

First they came for the socialists...

Seriously you oy have to go into Amien st just after Connolly station and look at the inner city helping homeless, 3 vans 2017, 2020 and another year can't recall.... Plenty of money given by the Irish tax payer..... There is in no way at all people going hungry in this country with the generous welfare system and all the other numerous charities on top giving hand outs and hampers etc....

Always laugh when I see people giving to the fat Roma gypsies, they ain't poor or going hungry and it's quite obvious at that.....

No you are not. IRA was obviously not regular army, hence standard protocol did not apply. It was a guerrilla war after all.

I saw said rifle, my aunt has it now. My grandfather was just let have it, fairly common for some brigades outside Dublin.

My grandfather wasn't a bull****ter, if it happened it happened and like I said the chap in question was being smart and acting suspicious, so he had every right to give him a warning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

No you are not. IRA was obviously not regular army, hence standard protocol did not apply. It was a guerrilla war after all.

I saw said rifle, my aunt has it now. My grandfather was just let have it, fairly common for some brigades outside Dublin.

My grandfather wasn't a bull****ter, if it happened it happened and like I said the chap in question was being smart and acting suspicious, so he had every right to give him a warning.

If his reaction to an unwanted caller was to fire shots over his head then he should never have been issued anything more dangerous than a water pistol.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

If you had been caught with a rifle in your house during the civil war it would be enough to get send to firing squad.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 11,461 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Used to get travellers calling to the family home looking for money or food growing up in Castleknock in the 80s, my mum would usually give them something but if they were unlucky to get my dad he would tell them to p*ss off.

Hardly anyone calls to my door these days. Beggars seem to be outside most large suburban grocery supermarkets these days.

Noticed this myself, what's up with that?

Beggars outside Aldi like and the local SuperValu.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

The duty beggar.It's his turn on the roster. First saw it on O'Connell Bridge in Dublin when a van pulled up and turfed out a squad of Roma beggars who fanned out and took up nominated positions on both sides of the bridge, complete with cardboard to sit on. When a Garda came along and told one to move off, the rest immediately got up and left. Clearly watching each other and watching out for Gardai.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭El Tarangu

IRA was obviously not regular army, hence standard protocol did not apply.

Indeed; given their shortage of weapons, all the more unlikely that a volunteer would be given his own rifle to bring home at the end of the day.

(this isn't even the more unlikely element of your story)

But at a risk of derailing a thread, I will leave it there.

CrankyHaus wrote: »
    If his reaction to an unwanted caller was to fire shots over his head then he should never have been issued anything more dangerous than a water pistol.

Yes, he should have just let him rob the place.

Indeed; given their shortage of weapons, all the more unlikely that a volunteer would be given his own rifle to bring home at the end of the day.

(this isn't even the more unlikely element of your story)

But at a risk of derailing a thread, I will leave it there.

It was the end of the Tan War, the general consensus was that he could keep it, again fairly common.

Irish History isn't just what you read in secondary History books folks and a lot of it really isn't pleasant, it's important to realise this.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Theres a beggar on the halfpenny bridge every day the last week.
    with a sign need money for food please help.
    Its 2020 theres free food given out every day to anyone who wants it.
    focus gives out free dinners 3 minutes walk from the bridge ,
    Theres no one in ireland who is starving from lack of food.
    it would be more honest to have a sign i need money to buy drugs or beer.
    theres no reason for beggars to exist in ireland.
    i think most of the beggars i see are young people who are homeless .
    I could get 3 free dinners every day if i wanted to just in dublin 1.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭stoneill

Seriously you oy have to go into Amien st just after Connolly station and look at the inner city helping homeless, 3 vans 2017, 2020 and another year can't recall.... Plenty of money given by the Irish tax payer..... There is in no way at all people going hungry in this country with the generous welfare system and all the other numerous charities on top giving hand outs and hampers etc....

Always laugh when I see people giving to the fat Roma gypsies, they ain't poor or going hungry and it's quite obvious at that.....

A lot of those vans are donations to the charities. You will see some old Tesco or SuperValu grocery delivery vans being repurposed for bringing food to the homeless. A lot of places will donate and not necessarily ask for advertisement.

stoneill wrote: »
    A lot of those vans are donations to the charities. You will see some old Tesco or SuperValu grocery delivery vans being repurposed for bringing food to the homeless. A lot of places will donate and not necessarily ask for advertisement.

They're not from any shops.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

Chuggers, beggars and cold callers always best avoided. If i see a lad with a clipboard trying to sell something at my front door i just ignore him/her and don't answer the door. Might have entertained one or two over 10 years ago but decided never again. Once bitten a hundred times shy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

Had beggars to the door once or twice a few years ago in Maynooth. At the time I was living on Koka noodles myself so told them as much! If someone really cannot afford nappies or food for their little ones, they should be calling SVP.
    I never answer the door unless I can see a DHL van outside - nothing good ever comes from it. My dad living in a wee Donegal town cannot fathom my thinking at all. I've worked from home for years so I've gotten well used to it but at the start of lockdown my OH answered the door to a man with a van who wanted to clean our gutters and wouldn't take no for an answer (for pay, mind you!) I'd have told him to feck off, but OH didn't know how to say no. I went spare - somebody we don't know from Adam up on a ladder around the front and back, seeing in windows, getting the scope. If I want someone to do work on my house I will find them from Google and then I know who it is if something happens.
    As for Roma beggars, I got wise to them after a summer in a French city - pure scammers. One afternoon in a city garden we saw too little boys begging everyone for money, saying they were starving etc. Came back shortly after with a 500ml bottle of Coke each - would have cost about €5-6 for the two fizzy drinks. If they were really hungry at all, they could've gotten a baguette, ham, cheese and milk for that. Messers. I was a student at the time, I'd say I was harder up for cash myself.