Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Beggars knocking on front doors

• 21-09-2020 12:17pm
    Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭

Twice in the past week we’ve had people knocking on our front door, asking for change. They’re not charity collectors, they’re asking for money for themselves. One did look like he might indulge regularly in a range of substances harmful to his health, the other a much older woman who was pushing one of those wheeled walkers. It’s not happened to us in a decade of being in Dublin, and it’s not like we’re in a city centre property (D9).

Is this a new approach or in the words of Himself, are they casing the joint?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Hmm, I was always told beggars can’t be choosers

• Registered Users Posts: 8,907 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

It used to be common when I grew up in Dublin in the 70s and 80s (also D9), but I haven't experienced it in decades. Fashion is cyclical, though, so maybe it's making a comeback. Less people out walking the streets of the city centre since Covid 19 lockdown/restrictions, so the take is bound to be down for those begging on the streets. If the mountain won't come to Mohammed...

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Don't answer the door....

Roma gypsies at this all the time, they even have regulars they'll call on.

Get a ring or eufy doorbell cam, if it's a delivery then you'll know.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

I never answer the door to the riffraff thats what the footman is for.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭Thingymebob

The butler is on furlough :D

Not Roma beggars, definitely Irish both times but certainly rough individuals

Already got CCTV, better to be safe than sorry

• Registered Users Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

My parents had one call on the house phone a few weeks ago, someone complaining that they were an OAP and they needed money, wasn't a prank from a friend either. First time I've heard of begging on the phone other than those "Microsoft" scammers, and wonder how the caller hoped it would work.

My mum responded "I'm an OAP too" and promptly hung up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭Trouser Snake

What's your location OP?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,356 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Dont you have a gate house manned by a suitable rough type to stop unwanted visitors ?

• Registered Users, Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,175 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

I remember as a child people would call to the door at a certain time of the year looking for communion money. They were adults too. Haven't seen it in many years.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

With a smaller than normal footfall in the City Centre the 'tappers' have started to get a little entrepreneurial.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,526 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I make use of the ‘Ring’ doorbell so I don’t have to deal with any “time burglars”. The camera allows me to see if it’s in my “interest” to stop what I’m going and answer the door, itself.

I’ve no problem giving money to beggars, I’d take giving €2 to some poor unfortunate over having to listen to some lengthy “sales pitch” any day.

The tide is turning…

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

Any cold callers (beggars or sellers)or hawkers as they are called in Oz should be told to F off your home is your castle

• Registered Users Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭KevRossi

13a.jpg

• Registered Users, Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,175 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

I make use of the ‘Ring’ doorbell so I don’t have to deal with any “time burglars”. The camera allows me to see if it’s in my “interest” to stop what I’m going and answer the door, itself.

I’ve no problem giving money to beggars, I’d take giving €2 to some poor unfortunate over having to listen to some lengthy “sales pitch” any day.

I do the same myself with the doorbell. I don't want to spend 10 minutes on the doorstep fending off someone from a marketing company trying to sign me up for electricity.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Must be quite distressing for older vulnerable people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

biko wrote: »
    Must be quite distressing for older vulnerable people.

Who may well be getting a more aggressive pitch when they open the door.

I knew an old lady who in her final years got rushed at the door and burgled when she opened it. A friend moved in after she passed and a man called to the door one night "looking to fix the house alarm". Obviously a dirtbag scoping the place who'd been told of a vulnerable house. I let him get a good look at the bunch of youngfellas drinking cans inside before telling him the alarm was fine and he scuttled off to his taxi.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,367 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

It used to be very common in the 80's you'd get the usual suspects knockin round asking for a suppa milk for the babby..

These days sales men get the short sharp from most doors I'd imagine beggars don't even get an acknowledgment.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Begging on the street is one thing but calling to someones door to do it should be against the law.
    It is alright us talking but imagine some vulnerable elderly person living alone and a nasty piece of work calling to the door looking for money. If they got something off them you can bet your life that the scummer would be back there on a regular basis looking for more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

A bucket of ice cold water out a first floor window on top of them would learn them.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

I haven't experienced that since the early 80s. It was common enough then. Usually woman with a child. About 15 years ago a Roma woman tried it at my front door. Same modus operandi; looking for money for nappies and milk.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,804 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I live in a decent area but there have been one or more two burglaries, certainly a couple more than you be used to hearing about word gets around via the residents association Facebook and WhatsApp ... one thing too that’s been noticed is the regularity of vans that seem to be of the habit of driving around the estate, early evening, at relatively slow speed... occupants seemingly casually casing houses and cars....

The beggars are often doing this too. Getting an up close and personal appreciation of who is around, who might be vulnerable by calling to your front door, it’s been happening too with reasonable regularity.

A car in the cul de sac was attempted to be stolen last week, window smashed but the lads got away without taking the car.. due to a quick thinking neighbor who disturbed them.

The van, a green Toyota hiace according to the witnesses is linked to a criminal gang.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Sardonicat wrote: »
    I haven't experienced that since the early 80s. It was common enough then. Usually woman with a child. About 15 years ago a Romania woman tried it at my front door. Same modus operandi; looking for money for nappies and milk.

Roma, the Romanian hate them with a passion....

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Roma, the Romanian hate them with a passion....

Oh, I meant to type Roma but my phone autocorrected. I'll fix that now.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Sometime in the 50s my grandfather opened the door to a tramp who begged for money and was being fairly smart about it, my grandfather replied with "wait a minute" and went back inside to bring out his Lee Enfield from his time in the IRA during the Tan war, cocked it and then let out a volley of shots over the tramps head, reckoned he never say a man run as fast in his life before.

I miss my grandad.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,575 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Twice in the past week we’ve had people knocking on our front door, asking for change. They’re not charity collectors, they’re asking for money for themselves. One did look like he might indulge regularly in a range of substances harmful to his health, the other a much older woman who was pushing one of those wheeled walkers. It’s not happened to us in a decade of being in Dublin, and it’s not like we’re in a city centre property (D9).

Is this a new approach or in the words of Himself, are they casing the joint?

I am in D9 also...

Was she wearing a green jacket by any chance?

A local junkie to me who I grew up with I see going around with a pram/buggy and does be with a rather disheveled looking chap go around calling into houses looking for odds and ends...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Had them at Xmas, hard selling carol songs.

Being full of beer cheer I threw them a fiver.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

A polite but firm "I can barely afford to feed myself!" is usually sufficient.

Beggars are like stray cats, give them an inch and they'll take a mile.

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭Thingymebob

Strumms wrote: »
    I live in a decent area but there have been one or more two burglaries, certainly a couple more than you be used to hearing about word gets around via the residents association Facebook and WhatsApp ... one thing too that’s been noticed is the regularity of vans that seem to be of the habit of driving around the estate, early evening, at relatively slow speed... occupants seemingly casually casing houses and cars....

The beggars are often doing this too. Getting an up close and personal appreciation of who is around, who might be vulnerable by calling to your front door, it’s been happening too with reasonable regularity.

I checked the local estate Facebook group, and there were a few mentions of dodgy behaviour in the area in the last two weeks. None matched the description of the OAP, but possibly matched the description of the lad. The neighbours had a home invasion about four years ago (no logical reason, they’re Joe Average healthcare workers) so we got CCTV installed then.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,898 ✭✭✭circadian

Also in D9. Noticed people stopping outside my house on their bike to have a smoke at the same time every day. Same bike, sometimes different people.

Haven't seen them since my neighbour who is a Garda returned from his shift in uniform when one of them was sat there.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I do the same myself with the doorbell. I don't want to spend 10 minutes on the doorstep fending off someone from a marketing company trying to sign me up for electricity.
    How does it take you 10 minutes to say 'fcuk off'?!?