Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Our Sport is Under Attack Again

• Registered Users Posts: 14,934 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

kowloon wrote: »
    Is there anywhere that gives an overview of gun laws in Europe in English? Legalspeak is incomprehensible enough without having to translate it.

Www.gunpolicy.org Is pretty comprehensive on global gun laws.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭JohnFitz2332

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Yeah ...Very ineffectual alright:D.Came out of nowhere , started by a very peed off Pole, formed within 14 days of the Paris attacks, and within 6 months has become one of the most effective, registered and recognised EU lobby groups on the firearms scene. They were lobbying the EU parliment,for six weeks before FACE even woke up to the fact that their members would be affected. Non stop relentelss lobbying of EU MEPS.So much so that two women MEPs stood down the might of the EU 's bullying at 3;30 AM in a star chamber meeting AKA in EU speak as a "trilouge" of the insufferable Sir Peter King and Guy Verhoffstat, demanding that a UK type gun ban was the "best for the entire EU!" They were armed with information provided by a extremely tough lady from Berlin,who spent her entire downtime while having chemo thereapy,doing research on the fallacy of the EU gun control.She was so good that even the anti gun side started to use her facts and figures and research.

The one man band has groups in ;Ireland,Germany,France,Italy,Hungary,Norway,Poland,Sweden,Finland,Assoc membership in the UK,The Czech Republic ,Slovakia,Malta,and a few others I might have forgotten. All voulenteers,keeping down day jobs and have put their own monies in the game,without a penny in return or sponsorship from the gun lobby ,as claimed by some anti gun journalists.

FUN is also a recognised lobby group in Brussels and liscensed to conduct such activity.We alaso have the top Swedish female IPSC shooter as a spokesperson,one of the best Italian gun writing and journalist on our side,a female German gun dealer and also now have in place one of the women MEPs on the council who is not going to let the EU push the lead ban thru without a serious fight.
    Our local chapter FUN IRL or just "FUNI",is in a formative stage.It needs to be recognised by a national body so as to be able to get a more substantative voice to Irish shooters in Europe.

Donations ,we cant accept them at the moment here as we are a non recognised body or have any liscensing to collect or solict funds...What would be more helpful right here and now would be "a few good men&women" who would muck in on assisting in lobbying,answering phones,emails and keeping the FB page and hopefully sometime ,a webpage straight and narrow.

Does the Irish chapter of this apparently not-so-one-man-band plan to have an inaugural meeting if that has not happened already?

Not for awhile yet...Just after I posted,there is a quiery coming in as to future plans to make FU EU open to individual membership,rather than piggybacking onto established national organisations,which I would be in personal favour of and always was. So watch this space,if it does come thru FUNI will be then making moves.At the moment we are like SF troops,we can advise on the EU situation to national orgs,but cant act with them until specifically invited to do so.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,420 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Have met about 15 lads n the last week and a bit that are completely oblivious to the new laws. Now when i say met 15 i don't mean i met 100 and 15 didn't know, i mean i met 15 and all 15 we clueless.

Are clubs, ranges and associations doing anything to inform members/non members about these changes. Two of the lads were heading out decoying and had a slab of cartridges in the boot of the car. I put them in a lock box for them and gave them the key to keep them right, but its these type of lads (that have little interest in laws/legality/politics of shooting that will be first caught.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭Brontosaurus

Should be on the department to send out letters to every gun owner about the new law changes, how could you reasonably expect all gun owners to magically know about these laws?

It's not like even if you looked it up it's clear and obvious or easy to find in the first place.

Seemingly not...Unless you are on social media,you would hardly know anything has happened at all. NASRPC haven't issued any sort of bulletin on this since August when this hit us and I mean nothing at all.Yet this can affect Gallery rifle M1 carbine,and Target shotgun,if anyone has a box/drum loaded shotgun.Only crowd who are showing any sort of intrest at FCP level is SC[OVI]

Should be on the department to send out letters to every gun owner about the new law changes,.........
    In an ideal world, but that is not the case and the law says the onus is on us to know the law(s).
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 464 ✭✭badaj0z

I bought this container about 15 years ago in TK Maxx, on the last rack you go to if you have not found anything wearable to buy. You know the one, with cheap tools and left over car bits.I thought it would come in useful eventually. I think it was designed for sat navs or mobile phones.I put it away and forgot about it until the recent change in the laws about transporting ammo. It will take about 500 .22lr or two boxes of CF. It is attached to a cable which is bolted to the floor using an existing load tie down point.

GldUercb.jpg
    EOoOoh7b.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Peppa Cig

Nice counter a negative media piece by Times UK. Unfortunately his YT channel does not have same reach as times.

https://youtu.be/v9tKZLbQ5RQ

• Registered Users Posts: 586 ✭✭✭SVI40

Peppa Cig wrote: »
    Nice counter a negative media piece by Times UK. Unfortunately his YT channel does not have same reach as times.

https://youtu.be/v9tKZLbQ5RQ

Sadly, the media are completely anti gun, and have no interest what so ever in the facts, or our sport.

They only want to push their agenda. Facts mean nothing, bit like the anti vaxxers.

"If it bleeds it leads!" and thats all the Media whores want.Buggr facts,[unless they are in their favour].Otherwise it opinionaries disguised as reporting.And then they wonder why MSM is not trusted by the masses anymore??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭oldgit1897

Cass wrote: »
    Have met about 15 lads n the last week and a bit that are completely oblivious to the new laws. Now when i say met 15 i don't mean i met 100 and 15 didn't know, i mean i met 15 and all 15 we clueless.

Are clubs, ranges and associations doing anything to inform members/non members about these changes. Two of the lads were heading out decoying and had a slab of cartridges in the boot of the car. I put them in a lock box for them and gave them the key to keep them right, but its these type of lads (that have little interest in laws/legality/politics of shooting that will be first caught.

"Ah sure it'll never happen/be grand". Thats the response i get when i ask anyone if they heard of this madness.

My legal eagle got back to me finally.He concurs,there IS a case of this law being unconstitutional under both EU and Irish laws for the Govt to act in this manner with private property of shooters,and that we would have a strong case in court against the gov on this act.
    He also agrees that an amendment grandfathering such firearms as there may be in Ireland,like the CF handguns,and mags of certain capacity to their owners, or those with restricted licsenses or being restricted to their respective class capacity is the easiest way out for all parties involved...That's the Good news...

Bad news would be having to finance such a case against the Govt were they going to be very bolshie about this...

As usual,and his best advice is ,as with any situation like this is to to wag our tounges and exercise our jaw muscles as much as possible, before waving legal writs at the PTB to sort this out,before any of his profession get involved.;)

Soo,we need to go make an appointment and a small group of us need to go to talk to Charlie&Co...Or our reps at the FCP need to speak up for us on this issue.Over to us now to do somthing.:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭yubabill

My legal eagle got back to me finally.He concurs,there IS a case of this law being unconstitutional under both EU and Irish laws for the Govt to act in this manner with private property of shooters,and that we would have a strong case in court against the gov on this act.
    He also agrees that an amendment grandfathering such firearms as there may be in Ireland,like the CF handguns,and mags of certain capacity to their owners, or those with restricted licsenses or being restricted to their respective class capacity is the easiest way out for all parties involved...That's the Good news...

Bad news would be having to finance such a case against the Govt were they going to be very bolshie about this...

As usual,and his best advice is ,as with any situation like this is to to wag our tounges and exercise our jaw muscles as much as possible, before waving legal writs at the PTB to sort this out,before any of his profession get involved.;)

Soo,we need to go make an appointment and a small group of us need to go to talk to Charlie&Co...Or our reps at the FCP need to speak up for us on this issue.Over to us now to do somthing.:cool:

I'll meet MoJ or whoever with you if numbers needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭Brontosaurus

Could do crowdfunding for the legal costs?

Dont see why not?But we arent there...Just yet.Lets see if we can" jaw jaw before we war war!"As Churchill said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭onetimecypher

Clarification from BDS in Germany (use google translate for half decent translation)

https://www.bdsnet.de/aktuelles/nachrichten.html

Because it is so complicated ,the Germans are still on a phase 1 discussion paper on this topic.Albeit discussing it at quarter to eleven at night in the Bundestag.
    On that point of German legislation.Watch the Euro news stations,RTE will no doubt NOT cover this news around the 4 to7th Nov.Intresting things are going to happen in Berlin around then....Stay tuned for more info.😉

Just looking at the German Rifle Association,the German Hunters Union and other sporting associations posts on FB and how they are reacting to the proposed German gold plating of the EU gun ban.They are targeting Horst Seehofer,the German interior minister with a post card and letter campaign.Lads over are literally writing and printing xerox paper BOXES worth of letters and postcards to fight this...Seehofers party the Christian Social Union[CSU] of Bavaria,has had to pull their social media presence off FB and ASFIK Twitter,due to the pro gun lobby members attacking both him and the party oer the weekend.They have blizzarded their email accounts as well...Intrestingly enough ,like Ireland,hunters and shooters in Germany are a minority group of society.
    Yet they punch WELL above their weight class in both political lobbying and media presence...
    Something we should learn from over here in Ireland.;)

Just looking at the German Rifle Association,the German Hunters Union and other sporting associations posts on FB and how they are reacting to the proposed German gold plating of the EU gun ban.They are targeting Horst Seehofer,the German interior minister with a post card and letter campaign.Lads over are literally writing and printing xerox paper BOXES worth of letters and postcards to fight this...Seehofers party the Christian Social Union[CSU] of Bavaria,has had to pull their social media presence off FB and ASFIK Twitter,due to the pro gun lobby members attacking both him and the party oer the weekend.They have blizzarded their email accounts as well...Intrestingly enough ,like Ireland,hunters and shooters in Germany are a minority group of society.
    Yet they punch WELL above their weight class in both political lobbying and media presence...

Something we should learn from over here in Ireland.;)

The media here always lump us in with the druggie gangs glocking the heads off each other, or the lunatic freedom fighters of the north. Guilt by association in the eyes of the public.

After much lobbying and phone calls to TDs and Senators.I get a reply back from Minister David Stanton's secetary today.

Short ..The minister cant meet with you,but he has directed dept minions to contact you and meet with you on the issues raised in your letters.:rolleyes:

Well,if they are reading this in the DOJ here....GET YOUR SKATES ON!!! There are appx 111 days all in, [including weekends and holidays]for this to be sorted out,and prefably not two days before the country shuts down for Xmas holidays where you slap somthing together like ye did this Summer amd make a complete ballsup of it..Again.:mad:

Prediction (as skeptical as always). Not a thing will done bar maybe some ip service.

After the general election it'll be kicked down the road and blamed on the previous administration (while it may be the same one again, they'll blame the previous Minister as there will be a reshuffle so people can get a third or fourth pension of office).

Cass wrote: »
    Prediction (as skeptical as always). Not a thing will done bar maybe some ip service.

After the general election it'll be kicked down the road and blamed on the previous administration (while it may be the same one again, they'll blame the previous Minister as there will be a reshuffle so people can get a third or fourth pension of office).

Yup, thats about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 335 ✭✭yubabill

After much lobbying and phone calls to TDs and Senators.I get a reply back from Minister David Stanton's secetary today.

Short ..The minister cant meet with you,but he has directed dept minions to contact you and meet with you on the issues raised in your letters.:rolleyes:

Well,if they are reading this in the DOJ here....GET YOUR SKATES ON!!! There are appx 111 days all in, [including weekends and holidays]for this to be sorted out,and prefably not two days before the country shuts down for Xmas holidays where you slap somthing together like ye did this Summer amd make a complete ballsup of it..Again.:mad:

Or put another way - "There's only about 150 of you, so suck it up."

Thats 150 possible constitutional challenges to your law.Now the thing is,maybe only 45 of them might do so,but ONE of them will as he will have EU funding and backing.I]Clint Eastwood accent[/ISo you gotta ask yourself the question,do you feel lucky...Well do ya Charlie???

Yeah those gangs and criminals who are setting off over 100 explosions and shootings in Sweden this year alone are going to be so worried about what some beardie minister has to say for himself.Sweden is now literally Fuked as a country.Parts of it are now no go areas for the police and under virtual Sharia law.Yet still this Socialist disaster continues to deatroy itself from within.Their ancestors who conquerd most of Europe in the 30 years war and raided even as far as America in Valhalla must be crying into their mead horns as to hat their people have become.

And in the same paper.
    6 Glock pistols stolen from the Swedish PMs office.
    https://www.thelocal.se/20191114/six-pistols-stolen-from-building-where-swedens-pm-works?utm_source=piano&utm_medium=onsite&utm_campaign=71&tpcc=se-just-rhs

CuZ Olny muh PoLice an MilatARy is CapaBle of SeCUring an UsinG suCh Dangerous WeapOns thaT dumB meRe Civillanz woulD lose or Have Stolen. . hurr durr

Actually reading all of those articles, that site is an utter poster boy for the futility of gun bans and laws harrassing the law abiding,and doing nothing to stop criminal misuse of firearms and explosives.:rolleyes:

Yeah those gangs and criminals who are setting off over 100 explosions and shootings in Sweden this year alone are going to be so worried about what some beardie minister has to say for himself.Sweden is now literally Fuked as a country.Parts of it are now no go areas for the police and under virtual Sharia law.Yet still this Socialist disaster continues to deatroy itself from within.Their ancestors who conquerd most of Europe in the 30 years war and raided even as far as America in Valhalla must be crying into their mead horns as to hat their people have become.

I know a couple of swedes and they are very aware of the state of their country believe me. It went from one of the best countries to live in, in the world, to an open air lunatic asylum. The Danes have now reintroduced a border between themselves and Sweden, too many undesirables coming across the border causing trouble there.

But hey we are heading down the same road and no one is calling stop.