Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
05-03-2013, 00:40   #61
jirafa
Registered User
 
jirafa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,175
I have one mounted on side of house, just above roof level.


http://i1126.photobucket.com/albums/...s/DSCF0014.jpg

http://i1126.photobucket.com/albums/...s/DSCF0012.jpg
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2011_0102LINERS0026.jpg (687.2 KB, 54 views)

Last edited by jirafa; 05-03-2013 at 00:55. Reason: omitted one photo
jirafa is offline  
(3) thanks from:
Advertisement
10-03-2013, 19:02   #62
Fuh Q
Registered User
 
Fuh Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 409
Weather Station Settings ?

I think I have my Maplins weather station settings wrong.
Im getting the wrong forecast.
Should I have the pressure set as MB, HPA or IN ?
I currently have a dew point of -6.4
temp of 2.6
pressure 1006.4 (hpa)

Last edited by Fuh Q; 10-03-2013 at 19:24.
Fuh Q is offline  
10-03-2013, 19:44   #63
tylercollins
Registered User
 
tylercollins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 839
Send a message via Skype™ to tylercollins
I've got mine set as HPA. HPA and MB as far as I'm aware are the same thing..
tylercollins is offline  
13-03-2013, 20:04   #64
3ndahalfof6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylercollins View Post
I've got mine set as HPA. HPA and MB as far as I'm aware are the same thing..
Not sure if I am in the right thread, but the weather here (aberdeen) has got very rough, snow snow snow, and I think it is heading your way, it was to be soft but it is hard and fast, 3 inches in the last 3 hours,

they did not call the artic flow, which has hit here now and is to be present for the next 2 days, batten down the hatches.

Move this to the latest weather warning thread, it is not good.
3ndahalfof6 is offline  
13-03-2013, 20:08   #65
3ndahalfof6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5,114
on the radio, people (humans) are being told not to drive tomorrow.
3ndahalfof6 is offline  
Advertisement
17-03-2013, 10:37   #66
Rooy
Registered User
 
Rooy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 839
The special price on the unit of £59.99 expires on 19/03 if anyone else was considering.
I also found a code AWINDIS8 online which gave me £5 off , so with home delivery it worked out at £65.38 , I probably could have saved more if i used Parcel Motel ,but went with Maplins delivery charge.
The exchange rate for GBP is the best it has been in a long time i think , so about €76-€77 delivery ,thanks again to OP of the Maplin offer.
Rooy is offline  
Thanks from:
23-03-2013, 18:13   #67
Deank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,897
Any thoughts on this weather station?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Watson-Profe...4062048&sr=1-1
Deank is offline  
23-03-2013, 18:58   #68
Fuh Q
Registered User
 
Fuh Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deank View Post
Any thoughts on this weather station?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Watson-Profe...4062048&sr=1-1
That looks very like the Maplins one I bought, the display looks identical.
Fuh Q is offline  
23-03-2013, 19:13   #69
Deank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,897
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuh Q View Post
That looks very like the Maplins one I bought, the display looks identical.
Is it a good deal and is the tech any good??
Deank is offline  
Advertisement
24-03-2013, 13:09   #70
jirafa
Registered User
 
jirafa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deank View Post
Any thoughts on this weather station?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Watson-Profe...4062048&sr=1-1

Deank, thats the same one,as i have.I got mine from ...http://www.wsplc.com/acatalog/W-8681...r_Station.html You can also buy any accessories for it here.http://www.wsplc.com/acatalog/Weathe...cessories.html .Here is a link with more info, http://www.digitalham.co.uk/weather/.../watson-w8681/ Hope that is of some help to you,Deank
jirafa is offline  
Thanks from:
24-03-2013, 13:10   #71
Deank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,897
Quote:
Originally Posted by jirafa View Post


Deank, thats the same one,as i have.I got mine from ...http://www.wsplc.com/acatalog/W-8681...r_Station.html You can also buy any accessories for it here.http://www.wsplc.com/acatalog/Weathe...cessories.html .Here is a link with more info, http://www.digitalham.co.uk/weather/.../watson-w8681/ Hope that is of some help to you,Deank
Thanks for that J
Deank is offline  
24-03-2013, 13:14   #72
jirafa
Registered User
 
jirafa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,175
I would go for it, a good weather station, for a handy price,without breaking the bank, and good backup service,if any parts need replacing ever.

Last edited by jirafa; 24-03-2013 at 13:24. Reason: Wrong spelling.
jirafa is offline  
Thanks from:
24-03-2013, 18:45   #73
Deank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,897
Just bought one of these from Maplins, at that price I don't think you can go wrong €65ish delivered.
http://www.maplin.co.uk/b-grade-usb-...ecaster-682792
Deank is offline  
(3) thanks from:
24-03-2013, 20:34   #74
Irish Steve
Moderator
 
Irish Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 4,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deank View Post
Just bought one of these from Maplins, at that price I don't think you can go wrong €65ish delivered.
For initial weather observing, they are fine, and there is some very good alternative software at http://www.sandaysoft.com which is a very good alternative to the supplied software, and used by a lot of people with this station.

(No connection other than as a user of the software)

Best of luck with it.
Irish Steve is offline  
Thanks from:
24-03-2013, 20:39   #75
Deank
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,897
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irish Steve View Post
For initial weather observing, they are fine, and there is some very good alternative software at http://www.sandaysoft.com which is a very good alternative to the supplied software, and used by a lot of people with this station.

(No connection other than as a user of the software)

Best of luck with it.
Yeh it's my first one so didn't want to go to mad "yet", see how I get on with this for a year of so and perhaps upgrade.

I have already downloaded the Sandysoft s/w (cumulus) after reading good reports about it.

No to get a pole long enough to mount it on, don't fancy climbing 30 foot up a ladder to mount it on the gable of the house.
Deank is offline  
Thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet