Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
18-06-2019, 12:02   #406
mickger844posts
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mortelaro View Post
Just link to this thread in it
I'll report your thread asking for a merge
Mod Note: Threads Merged
mickger844posts is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
19-06-2019, 08:31   #407
KAGY
Registered User
 
KAGY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 922
I've one for a while now ws2083. It does the job!
On the mobile now, but search for ws2083 on this thread and you'll find more details. Basically I have an RPI connected to it full time sending its data to several weather websites including my own. Weather.whitehillenv.com
Any specific Q's just ask
KAGY is offline  
Thanks from:
27-08-2019, 10:36   #408
fryup
Registered User
 
fryup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12,321
is this one from Lidl (don't snigger) worth a punt for the casual user like myself

https://www.lidl.ie/en/p/stylish-spa...station/p24390
fryup is offline  
27-08-2019, 10:45   #409
garroff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 505
looks like the Ascot one I have had for years. Worth the money. I have no problems with it.
garroff is offline  
27-08-2019, 20:08   #410
KAGY
Registered User
 
KAGY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 922
Quote:
Originally Posted by fryup View Post
is this one from Lidl (don't snigger) worth a punt for the casual user like myself

https://www.lidl.ie/en/p/stylish-spa...station/p24390
It will only give you the pressure, temperature and humidity. (No wind or rain measurements) you can't store historic records which I like doing.

But, if that's all you want it seems good value
KAGY is offline  
Advertisement
28-08-2019, 10:34   #411
fryup
Registered User
 
fryup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by KAGY View Post
It will only give you the pressure, temperature and humidity. (No wind or rain measurements) you can't store historic records which I like doing.
do aldi/lidl sell stations with wind & rain measurements? if so...any good?
fryup is offline  
29-08-2019, 00:03   #412
KAGY
Registered User
 
KAGY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 922
Quote:
Originally Posted by fryup View Post
do aldi/lidl sell stations with wind & rain measurements? if so...any good?
Don't think I've ever seen one, they'd need to have the "3 cups" anemometer. I'm sure that it'd be as good a quality as my €100 one
Like this one (over priced on that link)
https://www.greenfrogscientific.co.u...ather-station/

Same one on aliexpress € 64,26 22%OFF | Professional Wireless Weather Station with PC connection, weather forecast, wind speed, rain guage
https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/oXn35ooY
KAGY is offline  
(2) thanks from:
05-10-2019, 21:32   #413
giveitholly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,074
Just wondering if anyone can help me,have a maplin Gadget wireless weather station with easyweather software.Anyway it won't read rainfall anymore,it just keeps saying 0.00 the whole time on the screen,I had a look at the rain gauge itself to see could it be blocked or something and can't find any problems,just wondering could it be a sensor problem and if there is any place to get parts for this station
giveitholly is online now  
06-10-2019, 14:12   #414
mickger844posts
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by giveitholly View Post
Just wondering if anyone can help me,have a maplin Gadget wireless weather station with easyweather software.Anyway it won't read rainfall anymore,it just keeps saying 0.00 the whole time on the screen,I had a look at the rain gauge itself to see could it be blocked or something and can't find any problems,just wondering could it be a sensor problem and if there is any place to get parts for this station
Could be the Reed switch on the circuit board that is shot.
Any issues I had with my rain gauges over the years was due to a broken Reeds.
They can be replaced but you need to be good at soldering and have a steady hand. I’d imagine you could get a replacement circuit board which would be a lot easier to change.
mickger844posts is offline  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
13-10-2019, 12:07   #415
dolanbaker
Moderator
 
dolanbaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 22,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolion View Post
Hello,

Thanks for sharing info.

I'm looking for a PWS that does all the basic things but needs to have wind and UV sensor reports.
Reporting / uploading to online site nice feature too.
Rechargeable batteries nice one but I can run a cable and get a AC adapter.
A webcam incorporated or added as a second feature will be nice.

Found a nice Acurite Atlas station, does all the things I want...
Main issue that I found so far is that the wireless frequency is not approved for use in EU but rather only US.
Someone said that is illegal and it could affect some GSM band devices.

Their website is not accessible from EU either so I found some video :


What options do I have, please !?
No budget set in my mind, quite flexible here..

Thanks
One year later, this particular device is still unavailable in the EU, they are selling on ebay for about €350-400 from US sellers, as the radio link uses an unapproved frequency, there is a risk of it being stopped by customs.

I am now looking for another station as the current one has expired, have to decide whether I can afford to invest in something more durable.

Last edited by dolanbaker; 13-10-2019 at 12:16.
dolanbaker is offline  
13-10-2019, 12:49   #416
Chris_5339762
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,286
Thats the one I want as well, but the frequency is an issue.

Edit: Certainly in the UK, it isn't just an "unapproved" frequency, its actually illegal to use. Clashes with the mobile bandwidth, I think.
Chris_5339762 is offline  
13-10-2019, 13:04   #417
Mortelaro
Registered User
 
Mortelaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 1,768
2 points
Customs wont be reading the frequencies small print or have a list of banned frequencies
It's only 50 to 100 metres broadcast signal inside your garden

If you want that weather station, my advice is to order it tbh
Mortelaro is offline  
13-10-2019, 13:34   #418
dolanbaker
Moderator
 
dolanbaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 22,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mortelaro View Post
2 points
Customs wont be reading the frequencies small print or have a list of banned frequencies
It's only 50 to 100 metres broadcast signal inside your garden

If you want that weather station, my advice is to order it tbh
I wouldn't be too sure of that, a couple of years ago I bought a WI-Fi extender on Ebay, it was stopped at customs and the device sent for analysis to verify it was compliant. One Month later it was sent on to me.
dolanbaker is offline  
13-10-2019, 13:40   #419
Mortelaro
Registered User
 
Mortelaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 1,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by dolanbaker View Post
I wouldn't be too sure of that, a couple of years ago I bought a WI-Fi extender on Ebay, it was stopped at customs and the device sent for analysis to verify it was compliant. One Month later it was sent on to me.
Hmmmm, I can understand a wifi extender,its a blatant broadcasting device
A weather station wouldn't raise that flag surely?
Mortelaro is offline  
13-10-2019, 23:49   #420
dolanbaker
Moderator
 
dolanbaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 22,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mortelaro View Post
2 points
Customs wont be reading the frequencies small print or have a list of banned frequencies
It's only 50 to 100 metres broadcast signal inside your garden

If you want that weather station, my advice is to order it tbh
I did a bit of digging and found this site,
https://the-gadgeteer.com/2018/11/04...tation-review/
it appears that it uses the 433 MHz band, this is the 70cm amateur radio band that is also used by low powered devices such as remote door openers.
So I don't see the frequency being an issue, maybe it fails on harmonics or something.
dolanbaker is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet