Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do socialists go bald? *MOD WARNING POST 70*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 135 ✭✭Cobalt17

Ultrflat wrote: »
    Sure look at Micheál Martin :confused:

He’s like 60, Paul Murphy has been bald since he was in his 20s

• Registered Users Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭Ultrflat

Cobalt17 wrote: »
    He’s like 60, Paul Murphy has been bald since he was in his 20s

Do you play chess?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Krushchev and Gorbachev. Churchill, Truman and Eisenhower had some serious receding hairlines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭StackSteevens

Nope, but I’m pretty sure that these guys have been “full time activists” their whole life. I’m pretty sure none of them have actually held a proper job in their lives.

You're forgetting that Paul Murphy went to Brussels as Joe Higgins MEP's personal assistant. While there, his daily chores included polishing Joe's shoes (not easy as Joe usually wore hush puppies), cooking his breakfast and making him six cups of tea a day. That's why Murphy went bald so young.

Jesus that sounds stressful. I’m going to rethink my opinion of him now.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭ShatterAlan

Sure because the Navy Seals are hardcore socialists.

Since when did adherence to an economic credo become a factor in qualification for a military unit?

Now you sound like a pre-teen with a chubby for soldiers and war toys.

Ever hear of Stan Goff, hardcore lefty liberal and ex-Green Beret?

What do special forces soldiers have to do with capitalism OR socialism?

Ever hear of the GI Bill? It's a socialist program in the US that ex-service personnel avail of to fund a college education. Ever hear of the Veteran's Administration (VA)? Another socialist program where your darling Navy Seals get patched up after they step on a landmine.

Are you trying to assert that American soldiers are all hardcore capitalists because they are American soldiers?

That is one on the most infantile things I've ever read.

Your Face wrote: »
    I like Democracy. There's something sexy about it.

What's democracy got to do with it?

Since when did adherence to an economic credo become a factor in qualification for a military unit?

Now you sound like a pre-teen with a chubby for soldiers and war toys.

Ever hear of Stan Goff, hardcore lefty liberal and ex-Green Beret?

What do special forces soldiers have to do with capitalism OR socialism?

Ever hear of the GI Bill? It's a socialist program in the US that ex-service personnel avail of to fund a college education. Ever hear of the Veteran's Administration (VA)? Another socialist program where your darling Navy Seals get patched up after they step on a landmine.

Are you trying to assert that American soldiers are all hardcore capitalists because they are American soldiers?

That is one on the most infantile things I've ever read.

Navy Seals got in trouble a few years back for flying Trump/Pence flags from military Hummers.

Military personnel and veterans overwhelmingly vote conservatively in the states.

What it’s got to do with Capitalism vs Socialism is that you made a childish remark about capitalists being to scared and fat to fight. Well here’s a whole bunch of capitalism supporters who would kick your ass, and the ass of most others.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,759 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Mod Note:

Cobalt17 and ShatterAlan, quit the back and forth bickering. Any issues with a post and report it.

I’ve no problem paying taxes, although I think the current tax structure in this country discourages progression and innovation.

We need to encourage career progression and development, not discourage it.

You've just proved my point that you don't know what socialism OR capitalism is and are now trying desperately to make out like you do.

What have taxes or career progression got to do with socialism or capitalism? Go on, have a punt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

Nope, but I’m pretty sure that these guys have been “full time activists” their whole life. I’m pretty sure none of them have actually held a proper job in their lives.

If, for some stupid reason, you don't count being a TD as a 'proper' job, the same could be said of half the Dail, regardless of whether they're left or right. It's certainly true of Varadkar, who practiced medicine for five minutes before becoming a TD. I think Micheal Martin was briefly a teacher.

Sure because the Navy Seals are hardcore socialists.

Well actually look at what Admiral Willam Mac Raven said about trump he is a Seal.

Also served both George Bush and Obama.

You've just proved my point that you don't know what socialism OR capitalism is and are now trying desperately to make out like you do.

What have taxes or career progression got to do with socialism or capitalism? Go on, have a punt.

How have I proved your point? I’m not even sure what your point is? You think taxes don’t exist in a capitalist society?

Because we’ve set up our tax rate to kick in at 40% at 35k, 52% at 70k. Why would anybody in the right mind, seek a promotion, work harder, or try to excel on a financial and professional level when you’re going to be taxed to hell once you hit an incredibly mediocre rate?

Ultrflat wrote: »
    Well actually look at what Admiral Willam Mac Raven said about trump he is a Seal.

Also served both George Bush and Obama.

Ex-seal, and he doesn’t align himself politically. He does praise Bush quite a lot though.

If, for some stupid reason, you don't count being a TD as a 'proper' job, the same could be said of half the Dail, regardless of whether they're left or right. It's certainly true of Varadkar, who practiced medicine for five minutes before becoming a TD. I think Micheal Martin was briefly a teacher.

Varadkar was a Doctor at a hospital for several years, but don’t let that get in your way.

If you’re that concerned about being exploited, start your own business and stop expecting something for nothing.

I do have my own business AND I don't expect anything for nothing.

Let me guess....you think socialism is the eradication of private enterprise, don't you?

What social programs do you avail of while bashing socialism in the same breath?

Do you have your own private security service, that are also trained doctors and firefighters so you don't need to rely on the Gardai, Fire Brigade or Ambulance service when things go wrong?

I hope I don't see you having a picnic in the council funded Phoenix Park with your kids on Children's Allowance Day. Go buy your own park and leave us commies alone.

I do have my own business AND I don't expect anything for nothing.

Let me guess....you think socialism is the eradication of private enterprise, don't you?

What social programs do you avail of while bashing socialism in the same breath?

Do you have your own private security service, that are also trained doctors and firefighters so you don't need to rely on the Gardai, Fire Brigade or Ambulance service when things go wrong?

I hope I don't see you having a picnic in the council funded Phoenix Park with your kids on Children's Allowance Day. Go buy your own park and leave us commies alone.

Blogging doesn’t count as a business.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Dont know why the fck Mussolini is being brought up as an eg of a bald wingnut. He was born into Socialist Royalty, named afrer famed Mexican socialist leader Benito Juarez.

He styled Fasci Italiani di Combettimento off the Italian Socialist Party. His father being heavily in left wing politics.

None of their economic policies were right wing in nature, likewise the Germans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭StackSteevens

Phoenix Park is owned and administered by the OPW and its funding has absolutely nothing to do with "the council".

How have I proved your point? I’m not even sure what your point is? You think taxes don’t exist in a capitalist society?

Because we’ve set up our tax rate to kick in at 40% at 35k, 52% at 70k. Why would anybody in the right mind, seek a promotion, work harder, or try to excel on a financial and professional level when you’re going to be taxed to hell once you hit an incredibly mediocre rate?

I don't understand why you would even bring taxes in to the discussion. Why did you even mention taxes and you not having a problem paying them? I suggested that you have no problem availing of social programs, which you obviously don't, all the while damning socialism and social programs and your reply is something about taxes.

Could you explain?

I don't understand why you would even bring taxes in to the discussion. Why did you even mention taxes and you not having a problem paying them? I suggested that you have no problem availing of social programs, which you obviously don't, all the while damning socialism and social programs and your reply is something about taxes.

Could you explain?

He deflects by changing the subject.

Phoenix Park is owned and administered by the OPW and its funding has absolutely nothing to do with "the council".

I'll take that. I am not fully aware of what public services are council charged and what ones ones are Office of Public Works.

Sufficeth to say that it's a public park open for all to enjoy. In fact I believe it's the largest one in Europe.

Blogging doesn’t count as a business.

I'm not a blogger. But why doesn't it count as a business if it generates thousands of Euros a month?

Could you explain?

Because socialist states require high taxes, at the detriment of personal wealth. If you can’t see the relationship between socialism and taxes I’m afraid I can’t help you.

I’ve no problem with social programs, I’ve an issue with the idea of the means of production and distribution being owned as a collective.

Ex-seal, and he doesn’t align himself politically. He does praise Bush quite a lot though.

Socialism and Capitalism are economic models NOT political belief systems

But Bush is was a Republican, firmly aligned with the ideology of low tax and prosperity. You’re just being childish now...

Dont know why the fck Mussolini is being brought up as an eg of a bald wingnut. He was born into Socialist Royalty, named afrer famed Mexican socialist leader Benito Juarez.

He styled Fasci Italiani di Combettimento off the Italian Socialist Party. His father being heavily in left wing politics.

None of their economic policies were right wing in nature, likewise the Germans.

Old Mussolini basically opened the doors to corporatism in Italy. He may have been of socialist leaning stock but he just sold the country to bankers for personal gain.

• Registered Users Posts: 638 ✭✭✭gary550

Could you explain?

Social programs and socialism aren't the same though are they?

Social programs & services are funded in a large part by taxation on capitalist activity which is why I never understand why people bring them up when taking about socialism?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭maestroamado

Varadkar was a Doctor at a hospital for several years, but don’t let that get in your way.

Both had unhappy stint in Health.
    It says a lot about both men, not able for lesser job but i want to be boss.
    Martin's stint was 20 years ago and he was not able to sort it.
    Varadker ducked out of it pretty quickly and i cannot remember the circumstances but the job wasn't done.