Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
27-02-2017, 22:06   #76
bertie4evr
Registered User
 
bertie4evr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 891
Quote:
Originally Posted by funkyuser View Post
Got mine today, 4 working days for delivery.

The drone came out of the box with only two props installed, the missing props were not found so I used the spares from the fly more box. I opened a support ticket.

First impressions, I wish there was a quick and easy way of enabling full atti mode.

I want to cache maps on android, not sure if this can be done easily.

Also my tablet drains the mavic controller quickly. Perhaps I can get a data only USB cable ..would that work?
The spare props were under a piece of foam under the Mavic for me.

I don't think the controller charges the phone/tablet? I may be wrong on that though.
bertie4evr is offline  
Advertisement
27-02-2017, 22:15   #77
ozmo
Registered User
 
ozmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by funkyuser View Post
Got mine today, 4 working days for delivery.

The drone came out of the box with only two props installed, the missing props were not found so I used the spares from the fly more box. I opened a support ticket.

First impressions, I wish there was a quick and easy way of enabling full atti mode.

I want to cache maps on android, not sure if this can be done easily.

Also my tablet drains the mavic controller quickly. Perhaps I can get a data only USB cable ..would that work?

Props are in black bags under the drone.
And yeah the android drain is an issue for me too- there is an app for some jainbroken androids to stop it from charging but didnt work for me. No cable available will help - but im going to mod my own cable and let you know.
No issue with IPhone.

Curious- Why would you need atti mode?
ozmo is offline  
27-02-2017, 23:00   #78
funkyuser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 58
i found the props, closed the ticket.

DJI GO 4 seems to cache maps for offline use, not sure how reliable that will be, I may have to load maps at each location, temporarily using my phones data and wifi.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozmo View Post
Curious- Why would you need atti mode?
This seems to be disccused thoroughly here:
https://forum.dji.com/thread-67813-1-1.html

I'd like to be able to select atti mode when its clear the drone is having trouble holding position due to GPS or other sensor failure. I'd like to be able to practice in atti mode, maybe I'm missing something ..i'm not sure I'm fully informed yet ..i just skimmed that thread
funkyuser is offline  
28-02-2017, 13:19   #79
ozmo
Registered User
 
ozmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by funkyuser View Post
I'd like to be able to practice in atti mode, maybe I'm missing something ..i'm not sure I'm fully informed yet ..i just skimmed that thread
Its not possible to disable via the remote on the Mavic. I think you need to demonstrate flying in ATTI mode for the Irish licence test - so for that it would be useful to be able do it..

I've flown other dji drones in Atti mode for a few minutes and its not fun or something Id do regularly though - you are constantly adjusting for the slightest wind.

Maybe its like this so operators cannot bypass the FCC/CE region checks, warranty tracking logs and the No Fly zones - which rely on GPS to be working?
ozmo is offline  
11-03-2017, 11:49   #80
Sterling Archer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,943
So how is everyone finding there Mavic Pro, any good Pictures or videos? Any good additions?

Here''s what I have so far, extension legs, altered controller cover and SD card holder

Last edited by Sterling Archer; 11-03-2017 at 14:22.
Sterling Archer is offline  
Advertisement
11-03-2017, 20:52   #81
ozmo
Registered User
 
ozmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,861
Fun Interactive image for your facebook feed:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WM9TA4PE4g4&t=98s

For a Tilt Shift look try this:
Software called filmora

Super Cheap Stuff to buy your mavic:

Lipo Battery Bag (for charging and for airplane travel) - good quality.
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/LiPo...734694652.html

Low cost Lens Filter (for sunny days) less than €8 Great picture - but doesnt fit perfectly
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1pcs...787289264.html

Very Nice Hard case for 20 Euros
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/New-...778835214.html

Protection for the joysticks - its ok for €3
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Sunn...787981991.html

Range Extender if you need one - €3
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Ante...777461606.html

Leg Extensions for €3 - Cheapest price I found - these are very good
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1Set...784147037.html
ozmo is offline  
21-03-2017, 12:01   #82
Sterling Archer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,943
Have many here, registered there Mavic with the IAA?
Sterling Archer is offline  
21-03-2017, 16:37   #83
Denisoftus
Registered User
 
Denisoftus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 683
Send a message via ICQ to Denisoftus
I haven't yet, but I might soon for the sake of it.
Denisoftus is offline  
21-03-2017, 16:49   #84
sunny2004
Registered User
 
sunny2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane_ef View Post
Have many here, registered there Mavic with the IAA?
What are the implications of registering ?
sunny2004 is offline  
Advertisement
21-03-2017, 16:57   #85
OSI
Moderator
 
OSI's Avatar
The only benefit to registering would be if you ever lost the drone and the finder had the though to contact the IAA with the hopes of reuniting you with it. The Mavic is light enough that it falls outside the mandatory registration window, so it's not required.
OSI is offline  
(2) thanks from:
27-03-2017, 14:24   #86
ozmo
Registered User
 
ozmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,861
The need to Register Drones is under examination in USA - FAA are in court over it - wonder if any of the reasons might be applicable to Irelands registration also.

Judge Tells FAA Rep: “You’re Just Making Stuff Up.”
http://dronelife.com/2017/03/20/tayl...ral-arguments/
ozmo is offline  
27-03-2017, 14:24   #87
ozmo
Registered User
 
ozmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,861
The need to Register Drones is under examination in USA - FAA are in court over it - wonder if any of the reasons might be applicable to Irelands registration also.

Judge Tells FAA Rep: “You’re Just Making Stuff Up.”
http://dronelife.com/2017/03/20/tayl...ral-arguments/
ozmo is offline  
02-04-2017, 18:25   #88
eladnova
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 108
Hi all

Can anyone tell me what Class C airpsace in Ireland means?

Can you fly a drone within Class C within certain restrictions
- max height 120M
- line of sight
- not further than 300M

OR are these "locked down" areas that require SOP from the IAA?
eladnova is offline  
04-04-2017, 16:17   #89
eeloe
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,339
Haven't really been on this forum much since before Christmas, delighted to see this thread has over 4k views tho!

And nice to see plenty of Mavic pilots/operators around the place too!

Keep it up dudes!
eeloe is offline  
05-04-2017, 20:51   #90
Denisoftus
Registered User
 
Denisoftus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 683
Send a message via ICQ to Denisoftus
Wondering how many of you traveled abroad with Mavic, so many airlines and so many rules, also lack of rules on some.

So far, I came into a conclusion that the best approach is, if not clearly stated on airline policy, to take your mavic checked and bring your 50% discharged batteries in hand luggage. Have any of you traveled yet?
Denisoftus is offline  
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet