Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Biggest scandal in your workplace (Mod Note in OP)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭vriesmays

fergus1001 wrote: »
    I'm not being racist by saying this but most toilets outside of Europe (especially asia) are squating toilets so they might not be accustomed to sitting on the throne as it were

Squatting is better than sitting.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭KevRossi

I work in the HSE,i wouldn't know where to begin, just to say what is in the public domain is just the tip of the iceberg
    Ipso wrote: »
    We all have interest in the sub surface part of the ice berg inhere.
    I worked as a contractor for the HSE years ago and was left speechless by the carry on of some of the wasters.
    I second that in DEASP.

Well then... let's be having ye! :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

KevRossi wrote: »

E.O's constantly fiddling with their clocks to mask afternoon trips to the nearby pub, customer overpayments galore without sanction, hilariously overstaffed with at least two people to one task, staff members taking extended sick leave and still having their job waiting for them beyond the legal time for position to be readvertised, seemingly musical chairs for HEO position where existing senior staff were swapped around regularly, general intransigence and insubordination of staff as its impossible to be sacked, standard office bitching and backstabbing but for what?jobs are already secure and no promotions for being a rat in the civil service etc etc etc etc etc. Admittedly relatively tame by the standards of other posts here haha

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭pinkyeye

oleard1987 wrote: »
    In my old job we had a manager start with us a few years back ,Came in and wanted big changes the usual
    6 months down the line and he suddenly disappeared ,Stories then started to emerge that he had been escorted off the site by senior management but was all kept hush hush

We asked plenty of questions but no one was spilling the beans ,eventually we discovered that he had been running an overtime scam in another company in Limerick and was looking at court and prison time

I actually know who you're talking about!!! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 577 ✭✭✭gerryirl

biggest scandel in a place I was in a few years ago was a fella was actually caught working.. It was the talk of the place at the time

• Registered Users Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

E.O's constantly fiddling with their clocks
    Another one in the civil service is suing the organisation for personal injuries (like a paper cut from a form, or RSI from processing one form a day), getting a payout, taking a career break and waltzing back to the office after five years as if nothing happened.

I used to be able to update my own clock when I was an EO line manager, sadly I worked in a "Betty Ford Clinic" office in the 'burbs where there were no pubs! (unless the one half a mile away with steel shutters and piebalds outside tempted us).

There used to be a CO who fiddled with his cock in the toilets all right though....

• Registered Users Posts: 709 ✭✭✭lashes34

Senior manager offering pay rises in exchange for sexual favours while off his head on coke. He got the favours - no pay rises were processed. Scumbag is married and has several others on the go.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,010 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Aglomerado wrote: »
    Another one in the civil service is suing the organisation for personal injuries (like a paper cut from a form, or RSI from processing one form a day), getting a payout, taking a career break and waltzing back to the office after five years as if nothing happened. :mad:

I know of TCOs who have done this and wandered back into the office the following year in the next competition. There needs to be some sort of method of removing these bad apples from the pool rather than using the current catch all system.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,355 ✭✭✭corner of hells

lashes34 wrote: »
    Senior manager offering pay rises in exchange for sexual favours while off his head on coke. He got the favours - no pay rises were processed. Scumbag is married and has several others on the go.

What sort of idiot thinks they're going to get a pay rise for playing "hide the sausage" ?

Another one in the civil service is suing the organisation for personal injuries (like a paper cut from a form, or RSI from processing one form a day), getting a payout, taking a career break and waltzing back to the office after five years as if nothing happened.

I used to be able to update my own clock when I was an EO line manager, sadly I worked in a "Betty Ford Clinic" office in the 'burbs where there were no pubs! (unless the one half a mile away with steel shutters and piebalds outside tempted us).

There used to be a CO who fiddled with his cock in the toilets all right though....

Ah it was my first and thankfully last experience in the civil service and it was everything I had previously suspected multiplied by a 100 haha. The general air of self importance and invincibility off the old timers was nauseating. I forgot to mention there was only one office affair I knew of between two already married with kida people, the best part was she kept a photo of her wedding day on the canteen bulletin board for some odd reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,355 ✭✭✭corner of hells

KevRossi wrote: »

Me to HSE middle manager " I can source , supply and fit the item, but it'll cost you 4 to 5 grand , however if you source and collect yourselves , it'll cost about 1200 euros
    and maybe 120 euros to fit , here's the number of the suppliers, ring them ."

HSE middle manager, two days later , " We had a meeting and would like you to source , supply and fit the item."

Boss to me ," ****in' deadly".

Necro wrote: »
    I know of TCOs who have done this and wandered back into the office the following year in the next competition. There needs to be some sort of method of removing these bad apples from the pool rather than using the current catch all system.

The public jobs.ie recruitment process is incredibly broken in general, ridiculous hoop jumping every time even for the positions of a starting salary of 24k. Cant see how it is actually attracting 'talent', private sector corporate nonsense for public sector pay.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,010 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

The public jobs.ie recruitment process is incredibly broken in general, ridiculous hoop jumping every time even for the positions of a starting salary of 24k. Cant see how it is actually attracting 'talent', private sector corporate nonsense for public sector pay.

PAS itself is a bit ridiculous anyways, charging various departments for doing the recruiting for them.

I get the idea of outside bodies being charged but charging other departments is just a facile exercise of robbing Peter to pay Paul.

PAS itself is a bit ridiculous anyways, charging various departments for doing the recruiting for them.

I get the idea of outside bodies being charged but charging other departments is just a facile exercise of robbing Peter to pay Paul.

The real kicker then being working in the civil service for absolute imbeciles with barely passed leaving certs and often knowing the right people:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 20,339 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Another phantom sh*tter story.

We had someone who would do a **** right behind the toilet entrance door so that the poo would scrape under the door when it was opened and leave a trail mark across the floor and a half poo left behind.

They did it 4 times in 2 weeks. One of the times, when someone opened the door, they not only scraped it across the floor, they then put their foot into it and slipped on the floor. Thankfully not hurt.

The ****ting stopped after that but 6 months later and very recently, it happened again. The sh*tter is still roaming at large and hasn't been caught yet....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

What the fuck is wrong with some people. Must be genuine mental health issues with people who do that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

What the fuck is wrong with some people. Must be genuine mental health issues with people who do that.

Scruffy baxtards

Of a Monday morning I often had a big Guinness dump brewing and the last thing I would do is subject my colleagues to that, out of this consideration I would nip across the road to the public jax to unleash hell. I would be mortified to be linked to such carnage.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

Of a Monday morning I often had a big Guinness dump brewing and the last thing I would do is subject my colleagues to that, out of this consideration I would nip across the road to the public jax to unleash hell. I would be mortified to be linked to such carnage.

Thats what the disabled jacks is for :pac:

TheW1zard wrote: »
    Thats what the disabled jacks is for :pac:

Permanently blocked in our place.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

A good few years ago when a large refinery was under construction in the Limerick area -the largest construction site in Europe at the time-two fitters I know went down and were interviewed for jobs there. Both were successful and submitted their bank details to payroll for their wages. However one guy got a job nearer to home in the meantime and never turned up. When his mate arrived for work he noticed a clock card was there for his buddy and clocked him in. He continued clocking him in and out until he emigrated several months later!

Few in my old work had a similar trick. Someone in HR happened to look at the timesheets and twigged that the same 3 people were clocking in at the same time every day. Turned out one of three was clocking them in 45 mins early everyday and then she was getting herself clocked out late by one of the others. Typical council though, no one got sacked.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭adam88

I did that tco campaign one year, got the job. It was basically processing forms from members of the public, we were well able to process 10-15 an hour, we were a few days at it when we were hearded into an office and told slow down. Cap was 4 forms an hour lol

adam88 wrote: »
    I did that tco campaign one year, got the job. It was basically processing forms from members of the public, we were well able to process 10-15 an hour, we were a few days at it when we were hearded into an office and told slow down. Cap was 4 forms an hour lol

I supervised a team of COs some years back and one was out sick.So one of the others (a new entrant) took their forms to process. They got on well and used to help each other a lot.
    Cue the new CO being approached by the union rep (who worked on a different floor) and being warned not to do "too much work".

I supervised a team of COs some years back and one was out sick.So one of the others (a new entrant) took their forms to process. They got on well and used to help each other a lot.
    Cue the new CO being approached by the union rep (who worked on a different floor) and being warned not to do "too much work".

and the forms...god the endless kafka-esque levels of forms..the advent of the office computer in the 70's was supposed to eliminate all of these, in the twilight zone of the civil service paperwork multiplies exponentially and quite literally made up as it goes along.

DEASP or whatever they are called now are known to be like that. I have never worked there but in another department I had a luddite colleague who fled back there on transfer when they realised our particular job was going high tech...:D (they are much happier now among the rubber stamps and reams of forms).

I'm essentially working in a paperless environment at the moment. It's good!

Never stand behind the devil in a queue at DEASP.
    He takes many forms. :)

DEASP or whatever they are called now are known to be like that. I have never worked there but in another department I had a luddite colleague who fled back there on transfer when they realised our particular job was going high tech...:D (they are much happier now among the rubber stamps and reams of forms).

I'm essentially working in a paperless environment at the moment. It's good!

Never stand behind the devil in a queue at DEASP.
    He takes many forms. :)

Yea speaking to former inter-departmental colleagues, DEASP is the worst to work in and very difficult to get back out of once you are there,tainted if you will. They said Revenue is on the cutting edge of things and relatively has their **** together.I often thought the multitude of forms to make a social welfare claim was a deliberate strategy to dissuade potential claimants but Im probably giving the departments puppet masters far too much credit.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭vriesmays

Some people can sh*t when they cough and it could fall down their trouser leg while walking.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,350 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Rikand wrote: »
    Another phantom sh*tter story.

We had someone who would do a **** right behind the toilet entrance door so that the poo would scrape under the door when it was opened and leave a trail mark across the floor and a half poo left behind.

They did it 4 times in 2 weeks. One of the times, when someone opened the door, they not only scraped it across the floor, they then put their foot into it and slipped on the floor. Thankfully not hurt.

The ****ting stopped after that but 6 months later and very recently, it happened again. The sh*tter is still roaming at large and hasn't been caught yet....

How did they take a dump behind the door, and then open/close that same door to get out of the bog while leaving the poo in a position that would scrape under the door?

What are you suggesting? That people who get injured at work and compensated for those injuries then get fired or otherwise punished?

And that's kinda how career breaks work in the public and private sector - you take your break and you waltz back to the office after three or five years as if nothing happened. What's the problem?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,350 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Though interestingly enough, Ireland generally comes out very well on international rankings of eGoverment;

7th in Europe in the The Digital Economy and Society Index (DESI) https://ec.europa.eu/digital-single-market/desi
    22nd in the world in the UN eGovernment survey; https://publicadministration.un.org/egovkb/Portals/egovkb/Documents/un/2018-Survey/E-Government%20Survey%202018_FINAL%20for%20web.pdf

• Registered Users Posts: 1,876 ✭✭✭micar

Worked in an English language school....we had this cute Chinese receptionist......at the weekend when the school was closed she'd come in, go online, turn on the webcam and do a few shows for the American soldiers in Iraq.

Someone walked in one day during the middle of a show and she was promptly let go.